Grand Park City Hall

dzxz

Hi Renee,,oh okie thks so it will be written in the contract?? cos I could not find where this information is stated...

msdomestic

dzxz: i don know if it is stated in the contract.. (its with my hubby) but i remember my co-ordinator said tat it will be given and angpow box can b lend to us too..

dzxz

oh its written in the package? oh...cos I cannot find lei...I look through their package "jade, Saphhire etc" also dont have lei

aaronjas

Hi all, I will be having my wedding at grand park tis sat!!! So excited! Anyway, has anyone seen the Orchid Suite before? Is it nice? I asked my manager about the Governor suite but sadly, it's under upgrading. Sob sob. I like the Oriental Suite but not sure if I can get it so i wanna find out about the orchid suite.

cheekrene

i saw some of the brides mentioning about the veg/halal table. it's better not to make it as 1 table. it's better to put your guest (in case he/she has friends on other table) to every table as you can save this table for reserved in case you have more guests coming at last minute. it's wiseable to ask your co-ordinator for opinion and she/he will explain to you why.

hi ete,

i did hold my ROM before banquet at 6.30pm. my JP could only make it at that time. i realise after ROM, i have to wait very long till banquet and I started to feel tired.

ete

cheekrene - so I suppose it's better to start at 7pm. Vera suggested to hold not later than 7pm.

Also, anyone know if there'll be any additional charge if i allocate 11 pax to one of the tables?

cheekrene

hi ete,

it's all depend on the arrangement on how you make and you also need to know the availability of your JP.

you can add 11 pax to a table if they are all eating normal food. no charges is included.

cheekrene

hi ete,

you are welcome.

if you have any doubts, do list down and email it to your coordinator. he/she will help you throughout to your AD.

dzxz

hmm me too also holding the ROM before the dinner start...intend to hold it at 6.30pm too...think should be okie for this timing ba....

Oh ya mine AD is on NOV.. so I will be doing the online thing by August...Any idea is it too early to contact JP in June?

ete..no prob to allocate 11 pax to a normal table..Accoding to my coordinator, VIP table can sit up to 12pax and the normal table can sit up to 11pax. But she remind us that normal table by right is for 10 pax, if put one more pax the food portion will still be 10 pax so if the table have 11 pax, the food is slighlty less in portion for each pax lo....we can do this if we know that that table of guest will not mind....Me too one of my helpers table have 11pax...I know they are okie with it hee

ete

dzxz - mine in oct. but alrdy booked the JP slot. But have yet to apply online. don't know when to do it...
He's fine with any timing but i need to confirm the time as my MUA seems very busy. She may need to run several places that day.

cheekrene

hi dzxz,

you can contact JP any time but some of them will advise you to ask them again 3 months before your ROM. but make sure your ROM timing is fixed as some JP prefer this way.

that time when i had my wedding, my coordinator told me that only 3 of the tables can put up to 11pax. if put every tables as 11 pax, the area will be very cramped which i agreed with my coordinator.

what my hubby did was to put his helpers on these tables with 11 paxs (anyway they wont have time to sit down and eat).

aaronjas

yup.. my wedding will be on the day of the wedding show! Hope everything will still turn out fine.... My ROM is also before the dinner. Mine will be at 7pm..

supergal

shouldn't have any prob i guess..the last wedding show that i went end at about 4plus..after all the lucky dip thingy..so i guess it should be fine..so not to worry too much and take more rest to be a happy bride!

mystiobes

Hi ladies, previously i have checked with my coordinator on the additional room rates (my AD in June). So expensive.. haha:

Additional night stay for Suite is $450.00++ per night and Standard Room is $200.00++ per night.

Btw, when should I test my montage ah? any idea?

dzxz

oh okie okie then I think I should contact the JP soon...any recommendation??

I haven email the coordinator to mention to her that I confirm want to hold the ROM at the waterfall there..ke ke

ete, since yours is in Oct, maybe can do online during July....if yours is at say 5th Oct then u can online register on 5th July but cos if u hold the ROM outside then any day during that 3 months ba....Mine in Nov I very KS so I will do it midnight 17th Aug ke ke ke

Hi cheekrene oh ya agree with you, if all put 11pax will be cramp..

wow stiobes, so ex ar I thought they mention special rates should be quite cheap le lei...sigh...

ete

dzxz - okay thanks... and we'll need to go down to collect the certificate n sombak in front of the admin counter right?

angelwink35

Hi all GPCH couples,

Just have my wedding dinner on last Sunday 10 May @ GPCH . Time to give some views and feedbacks . Dinner has been going smoothly throughout. Since I got guests from Malaysia and overseas , we are particular on their feedbacks on the food .And guess what, I received calls from many of them next day saying they really enjoy the hotel's dishes especially the fish and the drunken prawns .The fish are big and fresh and the prawns are indeed fresh and sweet !! The shark fins did improved on the actual day as well compare to food tasting session. Even my ang moh boss who don't eat shark fins ( due to environmental reason )and he did finished his portion on that day. Every dishes they prepare are hot and big in portion and I really don't remember receive any negative feedback from any of our 30 table of guests.

Abit sadden thing is , since we switch the wasabi prawns to drunken prawns after food tasting session, we didn't got a chance to taste the fresh drunken prawns during the wedding dinner. But overall is we are satisfied on the help and assistance we get from GPCH team especially to veralyn ,who is my main co-ordinator . Really thanks for her wise advice on switching to drunken prawns as we are indecisive at that time .She has indeed done a great job in guiding and helping us when we are in doubt choosing our dinner flora theme and wedding favours. I must admit I did send many many emails to veralyn to ensure things are going well , she will always reply my emails promptly and politely which I do appreciate of her patience and good service .

I guess the only part which I need to remind those GPCH couples is try to keep the tables MAX to 30 . And thanks to Veralyn always remind us not to have more than that as the ballroom is really really cramped with more than 30 tables . Overall is we didn't regret in choosing GPCH as our memorable wedding dinner.

dzxz

huh that part I not sure lei ete...I dont know need to sombak ke ke ......I only know before the actual solemnisation, we need to go down to collect docs but did not know is the cert (unsign one ar)....so confusing....All I know is do it online, then go down to collect docs...faint....

wow angelwink...great to hear your wedding goes so well...congrats to you.....

supergal

thanks for sharing angelwink...and also for assuring us who will be holding our dinner there soon!

hopefully, the hotel's service can be maintained all the way....

and i'm trying to keep my tables to the min. at 25..cos there will be additional 2R..making it 27..and my EG has a long train..so i definitely need a larger walking space!

angelwink35

Hi supergal,

Bride's gown also an important factor to note for small ballroom. My 1st march-in gown is those "puffy" type and I didn't think about this problem in the 1st place.

My co-ordinator actually suggest us to both walk in different entrance and then meet at the "T" aisle if the bride has bigger gown .This also allows a longer march in. Cos if both went through same entrance ...I myself find it too cramped ( can only allow one person to walk ). At "T"' aisle is just abit wider only. So by keeping table to 27 , I guess is just nice bah . Congrats on your upcoming wedding

dzxz

ete I agree....else we sure very "gan Jiong" on that day....

Wow Supergal I love long train gown...hee can share the pic...

Hmmm my EG is the Puffy one....I also scare but bo bian ..hee choose nice gown more important..that day then think of ways lo...walk slowly lo since the march in is short..hee hee take this chance to walk slow

supergal

hi angelwink, thanks for the suggestion..i'm intending to march in together with my husb on the first and on the second, do a separate..

my WG's train is still alrite..not too long but just a little puffy like yours..as i'm going to wear a bigger can can inside..EG's train will be much longer and i'm still thinking if i should change...cos i will i may have prob when it comes to table-to-table PG session..so hmmm still deciding..

hello dzxz, i haven't got my ohotos yet..just taken PS 2 weeks back..so now still waiting..you are with fame bridal rite? saw you posting there sometimes..my sis also with fame and she quite happy with their services! imagine that she top up her photos till her package cost about $6K+..so i think she must be happy with her photos!

dzxz

Hi supergal...yeah am with fame...oh really u saw me in that thread hee hee........wow top up till $6k....OMG I must control myself man....

Your sis has her AD liao?? hee can share her Prewed photo ma hee I haven had my PS will be having next month..so very scare that will turn out to be not nice.....

supergal

hi dzxz..yup my sis's AD is in last june..but she didn't put her wedding photos anywhere online and she now not staying with me le..so may be abit hard to get from her leh...so sorry about that..

but you should be in good hands ba...since she is so satisfied with her photos that she topped up so much! hehehe..but do rem to give your MUA a call before your PS. cos the bridal shop arranged for a free lancer to do her MU on her PS but the MUA actually forgot all about this and my sis couldn't do her PS on that day! she was so furious but in the end, the BS compensated her by throwing in an additional set of gown for her during her PS..probaby with more gowns, she has more pics to choose from and that's why, she topped up so much more..

when is your AD btw?

sleepy47, their wedding show used to be twice every year...last year was in march and september..this year slightly later..i went to the last one in sep but not going for the upcoming one this sat..you know which BS are they partnering with?

prissie_tan

hihi, i'll be attending the wedding show this sat =)
no idea which BS they are tying with, but i recall i saw an advert a few days ago in the papers on the wedding show.

dzxz - glad u mange to email ur coordinator =) guess i don't need to ask for u abt the waterfall reservation le..hee

angelwink - thanks for your positive feedback.really convinced that it won't be a wrong choice for me.

Btw, how do u all manage to inform ur guests abt the location of the hotel? Told a few close frens of my choice of hotel and all of them commented never heard of it b4. got the feeling they felt this is some ulu hotel wor.

supergal

i think we can include the location of the hotel on our invites if i'm not mistaken..usually the printing can be done on the card itself or on a loose piece of paper that can be included together with the invites..

hope i'm not mistaken!

dzxz

Hi Super gal...wow your sis is quite lucky in a way there is one more gown hee hee .....no prob that you are unable to get here photo...hee...okie I will remind them again when I go for my final fitting hee.....thks ya..

Hi Prissie, no prob ya...thks for offering to help me. Actually this is not a ulu hotel...many of my colleagues comment the food not bad de....I always tell them is Grand Plaza Park Hotel at City Hall just opp Penisular Plaza / Execlse (if I spell correct)

supergal

hi nana...have you signed up for the wedding show? if not, i don't think it is a practice of the hotel to invite couples (even though signed up with the hotel but haven't have their wedding banquet) who did not signed up for the wedding show leh...but if you have, they will sure send you the invitation card i guess..

dzxz, yup imagine it's quite hard for my sis to take leave liao (cos she's a teacher) and her MUA wasted her one day leave..so i very bad..asked her to make some noise at the BS to throw in something for her..and then she got the additional gown! think it's a victorian theme one..and yes, do remind them..just in case lah

hey sleepy..yup me too have no idea which BS they are partnering with leh..last time was thomson wedding..this time i didn't ask my co-ordinator, if not, think he will share ba..

i was thinking if i should go there to take a look tmr..think can sign up on the spot one...last time many couples did that also..should go there to see if they have new deco for the banquet and also, to try some of the food to see if the standard is still there..

mrs_kan

supergal> I did emailed my coordinator on tues telling him that I am keen to register for the wedding show. He replied saying that he has sent me an invitation. That's why I've got the impression that all their existing clients will be invited. But till yesterday, I have yet to receive it.

prissie_tan

I've registered for the wedding show so I had rec'd my invite le.
My coordinator told me I have to register for it for their record purposes.

Dzxz - ya, I'm aware this is not an ulu hotel, in fact it is a 4.5 star.I chose GPCH is also bcoz of the gd raves for their food.juz worried ppl get the wrong perception lor, coz most ppl never heard of it b4.

mrs_kan

sleepy47> ya... have not receive the invitation yet. U know the time for the wedding show tmr? Maybe can bring along the email confirmation and go tmr.

prissie> I agree with you. In fact, I think the location of GPCH is very good and accessible. The food standard so far has been good based on the feedback ppl gave. This is not the first time which got ppl say it's ulu. Dunno why...

prissie_tan

Nana, the wedding show is from 12-4pm.
12-1.30pm is the registeration.

dzxz, ya lor, many keep remembering it as parkroyal. I have to remind them its under the Park group hotel, so its not related to parkroyal.

mrs_kan

Any ex GPCH brides can share how did they march-in? I understand that the bride and the groom can march in from separate doors. I was thinking the groom walked in first then wait for the bride to come in, for which they will meet before walking straight up to the stage. Or both walk in together from the 2 doors? I think the first method can extend the marchin timing abit. What do u all think?