Grand Park City Hall

koi_junie

the cost is the $$ for a table divide by 10. i am thinking of getting 1 set of vegetarian for my fren too actually.. but not sure will they charge extra like $$/table plus the additional set... by right they should just charge us 9 pax normal and 1 pax vegetarian which shd not make any difference to the final bill.

starlin

i believe no one has the 2010's package.. can i request to have the 2009 package and photos of their set up? thanks in advance!

kristle

Hi junie, if u had a full table of vegetarian, then no changes to the price. but if just one headcount, the charge will be full per table + 1 extra vegetarian headcount = 11 pax price for 10 person.

msdomestic

hihi! i just finalise my wedding banquet with the hotel.. Yea so looking forward.. Oh by the way, i ask them regarding the wedding show this year.. they told me it will be in May as the ballroom will be undergoing renovation.

supergal

renovation?? from when to when renee?

will it be affecting some of the brides here? and do you know what kind of renovation they will be doing?

cheekrene

hi kris & junie,

example if you have a table for 5 vegetarian n 5 empty seats , the hotel will charge by per head, no additional charge for the table.

cheys28

Hi BTB,

just had my wedding last Fri @ GPPH (still called GPPH leh)....my overall experience with GPPH banquest staff, esp Henry.....FANTASTIC! i have nothing but full of prise for their food (i was told that the muslim was good...vegetarian as well). Most importantly, my service encounter with Henry...no words can express my satisfaction towards him.

GPPH may not be those 5 or 6 stars hotel but i would dare to say that their service is commendable. The fact that the couple will always be their ONE couple on the AD...rest assured that they will make sure that everything is smooth sailing. I mean my whole wedding dinner was enjoyable, with good photographer who runs my whole day photos on the screen (i really utlised their 2 big screens)...most efficient photographer who can actually load almost immediately the table photo for all the guest to see...plus printing photos for my guest....Wow...he's really super!

also my videographer...smart & handsome Sam..haha...quiet & will capture the most tiny little things tat is happening around the whole banquet...

Finally thanks to Henry & his team...no worries for the BTB as you are definately in safe hands. Henry has ma-chiam become my friend after our wedding...haha...i guess overall choosing GPPH is definately one of the BEST choice for my wedding planning. thanks Henry!

supergal

congrats to you cheys..

that's very pleasing to know about all these! as for your good comments for henry, i find that it's no surprise that you are full of praises for him!

btw, can i know how was your first dish presented?

mystiobes

cheys28 - congratulations! am glad that your wedding went smooth and with lotsa fun! No doubt for Henry, we also have good experience with him. =)

cheekrene

I just met up with my coordinator and spoken to her about renovation. yes, the hotel is planning to do reno in the ballroom on april 2009 but yet to confirm.

I also feedback about my food tasting to her. for those who had not taken their food tasting, do note for their shark fin soup. i had a bad experience when having their shark fin soup. it came out very orangy and it taste more like chicken soup. my coordinator was very frank with me as it happen most of the times. she had been reminding the chef not to do again but i do hope the chef do a good job on my AD.

cheekrene

hi cheys28,

thanks for your feedback. i was already disappointed with my food tasting last time. i do hope they make sure the food are done well for my AD.

how plain was it for your 1st dish? i thought normally it served with dry ice effect?

supergal

hi cheys28,

i was actually asking about how the waiters served the first dish to your guests on your wedding day itself...like did they do it with some kind of upbeat music and dance around for abit?

prissie_tan

How many wedding coordinators are there in GPPH?
Had read many good reviews about the service from Henry.
Will we get to choose our coordinator?

cheys28

during my food tasting, the 1st dish has literally no deco..just the different variety of cold dishes...so i requested them to add some garnish...so my AD, they add a mini flower pot with baby breath in the middle of the plate...plain and simple.

As for the waiters, it's just normal hotel type of serving...i did not prepare any song so i asked them to play "Be my guest". They did not "dance" though.

my food on that day are generally nice cox i repeatly reminded Henry that my father-in-law guests are all chefs from other hotels and restaurants...hence they have to be very mindful abt the quality of food.

Hi prissie, Henry is the Senior Banquet Manager. Not sure if you can request for coordinators but you may try to ask for Henry

cheys28

i guess so happened that i called the banquet line and he was the one who answered my call and showed me around the hotel. No worries abt not having him as coordinator...Veralyn should be as good as well.

generally theis banquet team are quite nice people...not those hao-lian type like other hotels...so, no worries =)

supergal

if there is really a renovation going on, i think it will just be a minor one..

if the renovation is going to be a major one, i don't think the hotel would jeopardise their image by opening to banquet booking, if they knew the ballroom may not be ready for wedding functions..

kristle

the new website seem to have update their ballroom pictures. i can see that the stage background become satin ivory white instead of the very yellowish cream color.

yuki28

Hi ppl

Just wondering if there is any feedback on the coordinators there. I went down to take a look at the hotel ballroom recently and was served by Janice. However found her very cold and unfriendly, quite suprised coming from someone in the service line. MInus a lot of marks from there. Anyone knows better coordinators from there?

mun8_12

Hi Sharon,
My coordinator is Henry. He's very nice and he replies mail very quickly too. Maybe you can consider Henry. :eek:)

aaronjas

ooo.. kinda worried when i saw the comments about the reno in May cos i'm having my dinner there in May! Ah.... hope it's a minor one!

supergal

hey jasmine, you wanna check with your co-ordinator on the renovation thingy? but i'm quite sure it won't be affecting your banquet..else your co-ordinator would have mentioned something to you at least..

mystiobes

Jasmine - I have checked with Henry recently about the renovation. He didn't mentioned about the fixed plan (as in the month of renovation), however, cos my AD is on June 09, he told me that I will not be affected. Henry also promised to update me once he has a more concrete information. =)

Sharon - My coordinator is also Henry, fast, efficient and customer-oriented. Hmmmm, Janice is my friend's cousin leh, I think she should be okay bah.. But if you feel uncomfortable with her serving you, perhaps can ask for a change?

mun8_12

Hi everyone, Happy New Year!

Btw, I'm going for my gown fitting soon. Anyone has any idea what colours should I avoid to prevent clashing with the hotel's colour or staff's uniform? What are the waiter and waiteress wearing anyway?

winnie83

This place sounds really good after reading all positive comments.

Is this hotel pillarless?

Anyone has the weekend wedding banquet quotation to share? i m intending to hold my wedding in Oct 2010.

supergal

hi winnie,

yup, it's pillarless and the good thing is the hotel only has 1 ballroom, which means chances of having another banquet (at the park palace restaurant) may be quite low (though it is still possible for couples who are looking at smaller no of tables -> think park palace can hold up to around 15-20 tables if i rem correctly)..so the chef can concentrate more on the banquet of the main ballroom

is oct 2010 open for booking already? weekend prices are around $900 plus for the 2009 packages..

winnie83

hi supergal,
yes 2010 is alr opened for some hotels.
I alr enquired abt holiday inn parkview package ytd and they sent me the quotation.

Seems that Grand Plaza City Hall exceed my budget.
My bugdet is max $888. Unless i can get discounts during wedding shows. I will call and find out more.

Supergal...you make your bookings alr? i heard wedding shows can get discounrs of few thousands off the total bill. Dunno how true?

supergal

yup, i understand some hotels have opened for bookings till first quarter of 2010 but not sure if couples can booked till oct 2010 at the moment..

if you budget is around $888 for weekends, maybe you want to enquire about Sun rates? Sun is cheaper than on Sat and on PH and yes, if you wait till wedding shows to book, there will be some cash off from your total bill..

however, not sure if this perk will still be applicable for the coming wedding shows..better to drop their banquet sales team an email to enquire ba..

and yup, i booked mine already..will be having my banquet coming oct..

supergal

and oh, so is HIPV still within your acceptable range? i attended a wedding in early Jan 2007 at the crystal ballroom..food wise is fine but i think there are pillars if i rem correctly..not sure if you are too concern on this aspect since you asked about pillars at GPCH previously..

think HIPV has a reasonable package as well..worth considering too!

winnie83

ya i attended a wedding 3 weeks ago at HIPV and its crystal ballroom too !!! And it is becos of this wedding dinner that i attend that htb and i want to shortlist HIPV too.

The crystal ballroom layout is very contemporary and with the chandeliers, really very nice. my htb and i also like the food there..all serve warm. their 1st dish presentation was very cool too... the chef danced and was very amusing. The 1st march in was cool too...they inject lotsa bubbles once the couple reached the stage ...so beautiful.

U think GPCH food is better? ya pillars are the only drawback for HIPV. But i understand they can put up screens FOC to project the montage. HIPV also undergoing renov from Jul-Sep 09. Heard that Crystal Ballroom is renovating too to make it more contemporary feeling.

GPCH dun ve pillars and many compliment on the food and service. Well...plus points here and there. I am likely to hold it on a Sat.

I ve shotlisted a few hotels and making comparisons.
Also under my shortlist hotels so far would be
1. Parkroyal @ Kitchener Road
2. Orchard Parade Hotel

If anyone has any comments, pls share.

supergal

i wouldn't want to comment that GPCH food is better cos i haven't really attend a actual wedding there before..tried the food at one of the wedding shows and it's quite good!

maybe when i attended HIPV, my fren arranged for me to sit at a table where i can't see the stage clearly and the projector screen was also rather small, that's why i didn't consider this hotel. but like i shared earlier, their package was quite reasonable..for GPCH, there are no pillars and also, the two big motorised screens are definitely a plus for me and my husband when we took all these into consideration!

but if you wanna hold on a sat and if your budget is around $888 nett, GPCH packages may be slightly over..i rem GPCH packages are like $918 and $938 (got 2 sets of menu) but perhaps if you sign during wedding shows and there is the cash-off from total bill perk, it may still fit into your budget!

my sis hold her ROM at parkroyal @ kitchener road..nice hotel but not sure whether if you mind the location of the hotel..cos it's situated near serangoon there and i find it abit cluttered esp over the weekends..

orchard parade hotel..you referring to club chinois? heard the food quite nice and before my hubby and i decided to hold our banquet in a hotel and were considering restaurants then, this is one of our shortlisted venues! worth considering!!

winnie83

Thanks supergal.
Ya i will find out more abt the shortlisted venues. Didnt see pple post a lot on Parkroyal @ Kitchener Road. My cousin chooses this place for her wedding in Oct 09 but i cannot wait till try the food then decide..Haha...

Will find out more.
CLub CHinos Yes...thats the place i refering to. Food nice i like it too..its pillarless too i rem..i attended 3 wedding there le. But only drawback is far from Orchard MRT station. those who didnt drive have to walk a long distance mann... i enuqired their package too. very attractive as well $768 nett i think for the most ex menue with yam paste. And free flow beer !!!

mun8_12

IS Orchard Parade Hotel pillarless? I dun really remember. I went down once, was considering that too. The ballroom is just opposite the restaurant. Not sure about the pillars but the ceiling is low making it feel very clustered. I walked up the stage too. Personally i dun really like it. On close view the dummy cake looks tattered and the decor is abit old too. The projectors and screen are those makeshift kind. Somehow, it doesn't appeal to be grand lor. But I like the menu though hee...

supergal

winnie, if your cousin choose parlroyal @ kitchener road, wouldn't you want to choose another hotel? cos you may not want your relatives to go back to the same hotel again isn't it? anyway, i know you're shortlisting it only lah..but just thought if i were you, i will refrain from using the same hotel

i haven't been to club chinos before and like what you have highlighted, it's rather far from the mrt station. cos for me, i find the location of hotel is quite impt cos i don't want my guests to have a hard time going to my wedding venue..tat's why i would prefer somewhere near the mrt..

limin, well i guess we can't really compare restaurants and hotel ballrooms isn't it? some couples placed more emphasis on the food rather than the ambience...while some others are those who die die must have something like a pillarless ballroom, grand feeling, 5 star hotel, nice stage deco, etc. i guess it depends on the priority of the couples. as long as both of them are happy, that is the most impt.

my bottomline is "spend within your limit"..no point having a over-the-budget for a one-day affair and making yourself in debt even before the start of your new marriage life!

winnie83

hi supergal..yah u r right. If my cousin is hosting at that venue. I want my relatives to try somewhere else. Haha.

Agree that every couple has their own thinking so do what you like...dun take pple comments too much. U are supposed to be the happiest on your wedding and not making others happy.
Of cos others must be HAPPY for you.

I have yet to get quotation from Grand Plaza...will get it asap cos not listed in webbie. Have to call them up to send me.

Times are getting bad. today discussing with htb maybe we should hold a wedding lunch instead. Cheaper and can rest earlier in hotel. But...ofcos super rush in morning. Will see how things go. I dun wish to splurge too much on the wedding. As long its simple, nice food, happy...can liao.

supergal

actually, to be very frank, if you're going to hold a banquet and is much concern on the fact that you may suffer a loss, you should consider restaurants instead..

wedding lunch aint cheap nowadays and for the price that you're going to pay, it could still be more expensive than restaurants dinner!

also, i find lunch very rush, no time for express highlights in the morning..your frens and relatives may not be able to see the fun that you had in the morning..but up to individual ba

winnie83

ya...lunch wont ve enuff time to show them the video on games played in morning.
And i agree the video is always a highlight of the wedding.

Lunch not that cheap right...i see some only cheaper by few dollars only such as $50...

My fren recently did her lunch at peony jade and the jie-meis told me its super rush lor...and the relatives come to the restaurant for tea ceremony as the couple needs to rush...

ya wedding shld not be rushing here and there super tired wan.

supergal

it depends on what the couples want i guess..i have a fren who will be doing her lunch banquet end of this year and she doesn't mind not having those gatecrash thingy..so no express highlights of the gatecrash but perhaps will show something like her solemnisation which she is going to do it in a church i think..

but one thing good about lunch will be perhaps your guests won't feel like rushing home and may most probably stay throughout the banquet..and for the couples, they have more time to enjoy the bridal suite as well!

sean_ng

I have the following items for sale from my wedding last Friday.
All items are brand new and only bought few days before my actual day.
Please send me an email at seanngyl@gmail for more details.

1) Martell VSOP, 70cl, duty paid, 8 bottles, $70 each

2) Berri Estates Cabernet Sauvignon, 75cl, duty paid, 22 bottles, $18 each

keleenly

Anyone taken the weekday package? How is the food?
I seen the wday menu look very different from the weekend one, but the price different not much.

Anyone know how much to topup if choose the weekend dishes?