Grand Park City Hall

bridesept08

Isaac, i din negotiate any perks as i personally feel that GPP so far offer lots of perks as compared to most hotels here.

I onli switched 1N helper's room to be extended for my next night stay. GPP is quite flexible on this.

Can I know who is you wc? So when is ure AD?

isaac

Hi Groombride,

my wc is Michele.. She was very nice and warm when we met her up but firm in a way i guess. My Ad is in first half of 2008. Maybe not in 2007, thats why havent call me yet.

Read earlier if put stage at side of ballroom can only hold 24 tables. Am wondering can I squeeze in more than 240 guests on the 24 tables since min. no. of tables we have to guarantee is 25 tables... Coz my wife will really love to have a long march in. How many tables u planning to have?

bridesept08

Hi Isaac,

Think all wc at GPPH r quite firm, mine also.
My AD is in Sept'08 and i will be gg dwn this wkend to cfm all details liao.. think u shld drop her a call for a gentle reminder.

think i hv to forego the long march-in liao, cox i planning to hv est 29 tables...
U wanting to squeeze more than 240 guests on 24 tables?! Will tat be a bit squeezy and most importantly how the guests will feel... ^-^

Any brides-to-be attending the workshop held on this coming Sat?

mabeleve

hi!

I am attending the event! Groombride you going too?? Hey we should meet up =) My WC contacted me about the contract, but I havent had the time to meet her yet. Haha =)

Your wedding is in sept 08? Wow you book early, haha, I thought I was kiasu enough..mine is on 16/8/08 =)

-mabeleve

zenusorion

Wow... U all booked so early..

Thought book early will get more bargaining power?? :p

sathpaul

anyone going to have the stage at the side?

I am thinking of doing so...would be ncier with the longer walk in

bridesept08

Hi Mabeleve,

Yup! I will be attending the workshop too.. nw worried that they might psycho me to buy their products... hehehehe...

Aniwae i just go there c c look look... C u this Sat...

lastkiss83

hi!

i've also signed up with them during the bridal fair. groombride, my wedding's on 20/09/2008, what about urs?

nice to "meet" u all! =)

mpoon

hi all.....I've oso signed up with them during the wedding show. Btw, hw's the workshop? I've missed the workshop. Any gd products they r recommending?

bridesept08

Hi Eunice,

Mine is exactly a week ahead of you! kekeke.. so hw many tables you planning? Able to share hw is your march-in? I reali need ideas for the march-in....

mabeleve

Hello all!

I've added you on MSN Groombride =)

the workshop...informative, but i didnt buy anything..haha..

cutecat, I'll be holding mine in the Grand Ballroom, but i think Park Palace is really nice too! I have my food tasting there..ambience nice, service gd =)

-mabeleve

angielsw

I'm also holding my banquet at GPPH. have signed up during the wedding show. but mine still got long long way to go cos its in Nov '08. heehee.

bridesept08

Hi Mabeleve,

Din get to see you, maybe nxt x if we hv any workshop gg on, we can 'park-ka' to take flower to acknowledge one another.. kekeke.. btw where is this Park Palace that you gals are talking abt? Inside GPPH?

lastkiss83

hehe groombride so ur wedding's one day before mid-autumn fest ah? i wish i could settle for a sunday but there's no church service for wedding, so have to put it on sat...
i havent really thought about the march-in leh... these 2 weekends going to look at BS... u gotten urs???

bridesept08

Hi Eunice, yup yup...i even suggest to my bf that since its eve of mid-autumn har, we carry lantern for our march-in... & u knw wat? he say i'm crazy...(this guy reali no sense of humour, buay tahan).
Anywae, back to the topic, BS, I gt liao wor..nw i only looking for videography & animation...
Btw, hw many tables r u expecting?

cutecat

Groombride, Park Palace is a chinese restaurant that if i am not wrong was formerly known as Sichuan Dou Hua..

mabeleve, i had emailed Michele and Janice wanting to arrange to meet them to see the place but til now (few days already), they haven't reply me anything...sigh..if they can't reply my email..i also don't have mood to call them up already..

hdbanger

cutecat:

just call, leave a msg. i got them via a fon call, instead of email. faster response.

imo, they are more professional compared to what i encountered at orchard hotel (i won't say more, but that's how they got struck off my list).

i'd be there tom (fri) evenin (18 may), for food tasting (@ 7pm), and to view the ballroom with my photographer (@ 6.30pm). michele'd be there to 'entertain' me at the time. if need be, maybe you can join in to take a look. and then let you 'nail' michele to deal with the specifics. heh.

rjwedding

Read thru the thread. This hotel seems nice. Probably thinking of holding my dinner at this hotel too. Mine probably will be in May 2008, but I haven't decide on which hotel to hold my dinner as my actual date have yet to finalise. Now gathering more information about different hotels 1st, so once I got my date, I can quickly make arrangement with the hotel.

I just want to know how's the ballroom layout? Does it have weird corners?

mabeleve

hi R&J,

their ballroom is rectangular, no pillars no wierd corners, just that the march in is short unless you opt for an L-shaped one (max 24 tables). Else, for the short march-in, can accommodate up to 30 tables. Hope this helps =) Best is still to take a look at the ballroom itself =)

Good Luck in your hotel search!

-mabeleve

zenusorion

Jus gotten to know that Michele has left the organisation..

hmmmm.. anyone has Veralyn as your WC?? Think she has been assigned as my WC... any comments abt her and her working style? Thankx..

lastkiss83

gosh! she left? i havent heard anything from her... i just went down to sign the contract with her 2 wks back (26/5/07)... she did not mention anything! gosh... how do we know who had been assigned to us, as all along we only contacted her...

mabeleve

hi zenusorion,

veralyn is my wc =) she's really nice so not to worry! initially she may take some time to 'warm up' but once she knows u better, she's very easy to talk to and she will definitely try to cater to your needs.

so far my fiance and i are very happy with her..we're meeting her tomorrow to finalise things =)

-mabeleve

hdbanger

hmm, my coord also switched to vera. and what i heard fr her was that michele was busy handlin other things.

will probably have to meet her to warm things up. so far things are a little erratic via emails...

now i'm gettin a bit jittery, as i go down the final month to my wedding...

mabeleve

hi hdbanger,

dont worry, u're in gd hands! =) i just met vera last night..had a really gd and long chat...she's really busy now coz 2 WC (liping and michelle) left and she's very short-handed. She's very responsible and will make sure everything goes smoothly for you, Good luck!

-mabeleve

hdbanger

mabeleve:

thanks for assurance. got no time to meet her, plus my mrs-to-be is outstation. she's back tom nite, then i can meet up with vera next week to tie down on decor, and other logistics.

hdbanger

ladies:

a few quick questions for all who've used GPPH's bridal suites. pardon me if they sound silly.

for the Governor suite, although the jacuzzi is outdoor, is there any privacy? or all office towers around the area have 'free viewing'?

other than the jacuzzi, any differences between the Governor suite and the Oriental suite?

i haven't had the chance to view both suites yet, so any advice is appreciated. thanks in advance!

wtpoh

I am considering GPPH for my AD. May I know anyone has the 2007/2008 package to share with me? Do they provide free flow of beer, free outdoor solemization.. etc

Pls help. Thanks.

hdbanger

alamak:

do a backtracking of this thread, and the other one on Grand Plaza Parkroyal, you'd find the prices being mentioned several times.

as for free flow beer, typically they offer 30L barrel beer complimentary. Tiger if i don't rem wrongly.

outdoor solemnisation is not free. i was quoted $500 early this year if i wanna hold it in their garden area.

hope it helps.

wtpoh

Hi HdBanger,

Thanks for the information.
But 30L barrel beer complimentary is not really enough right?
What is your experience on the wine / beer consumption?
Are you having the solemnisation in their garden area? Does the price comes with decor?

hdbanger

alamak:

if you hold the alcohol until the dinner starts, it should be enough. esp if you split the consumption out with beer. unless your gang can really drink. my wedding will be held on weekday, so probably lower chance of overshooting.

i'd just do the solemnisation in one of their function rooms. not sure about decor price tho, you'd check with your coord..

hope it helps.

hdbanger

apologies... wrote that in middle of nite, got somethin wrong:

"... esp if you split the consumption out with WINE..."

wtpoh

Hi HdBanger,

I am quite worried with the 30L beer. Do you know whether beer corkage can be waived? Can we bring in our own barrel of beer? Thanks.

hdbanger

alamak:

ask them abt it.

if you hold the beer to only start flowin when the dinner begin, 30L shld be enough. also, these days, pple drink wine. so you expect some pple to avoid beer altogether.

i raised your concern with them too, as my guests are heavy drinkers. they assure me enough to go ard. and i'd probably let you guys know by end jul, after i'm back from honeymoon.

gregina

Hi HdBanger

Governor Suite is mainly tile flooring and on the yellowish side (old mah...). Oriental Suite looks new enough, carpetted. Normal suite but not as spacious as Governor.

hdbanger

peilin:

thanks. i had the chance to visit oriental suite (thanks to vera). my mrs is pleased with it. so we'd probably move from governor to oriental for the 2nd nite.

cutecat

Hdbanger & Pei Lin,
how does Oriental Suite look like? Compare to Governor's? I have seen Governor's but not Oriental..so wondering what is the difference?

bride2bee

Did anyone have a chance to take a photo of both Suites? I havent gotten a chance to take a look at both. Would appreciate if anyone with photos share with us...Thanks in advance.

hdbanger

cutecat:

oriental.. once enter door, see the living room. about the size of a pasir ris flat's living room. tv, sofa (can't rem how many seats) etc.

got a small hole on left, leadin to the bathroom, and the king size bed. bed perimeter walking space not fantastic. didn't see the bathroom area, cos that's my missus' interest.

but i believe it'd be smaller than the governor suite. 80% of its size, perhaps?

flythru

I would juz like to share my experience with the hotel. My wedding is over and most of my guests commented that the food is good!

Vera was my coordinator and I think that she did a gd job.

I only had 1 night bridal suite stay at governor suite. We did not get to enjoy the jacuzzi coz we were too tired after the dinner, counting ang pows and checking out the following day.

lastkiss83

hi flythru!

congrates on the success of ur wedding! looks like GPPH is the right choice. =)

pls share the photos when you have them!

wishing u a happy n blissful marriage!