Grand Mercure Roxy Hotel (formerly known as Century Roxy Park Hotel)

jen_ong

Hi upset

so sorry to hear tat.... i also holding my wedding there next yr. is it possible to share ur experience with me?

upset

Champagne broke, no bridal suite, waiter did not serve drinks to my father and my sister had no baby chair. Decor was very nice as commented by friends, family and relatives. Have no reception scroll until now.

upset

But i have to say that the ground staff was very nice. Was told by my mother-in-law that she fell and a bellboy immediately went to help her up without them asking for help and one of the staff cleaning the rooms on level 17 helped us to look for our bridal bouquet. He was very helpful.

jen_ong

dun be upset
it is over, enjoy ur marriage life nw!!! But i tot in the contract had stated they will give bridal suite?

upset

I was supposed to check in at 10 am but it was not available. They had given the room to someone else. Then they say give us a room and it was a much smaller room where i could not even have my tea ceremony. i was still not too bothered by it until people complained to me that the waiters did not serve drinks generally and one of my friend also fed a fish with plastic to his daughter. What really got me angry was the after service after everything had happened.

jen_ong

hai.... too late liao i had already booked the hotel liao. i did check with traders hotel tat time but they dun hold any poolside dinner.

upset

Is it? i'm not sure whether they have poolside but i went traders for company annual dinner in one of the rooms. Excellent service. I would have taken traders if i had not booked in advance with roxy already. Juz make sure the waiters serve drinks without the guests asking for it. Seems that you have to keep asking the waiters to refill. They do not take the initiative to do it.

upset

I believe that generally the bride and groom will be happy if the guests did not feedback that the service was bad as the couple will be too busy to notice. For my case, i invited only close friends and relatives which was why i knew that the service was bad and was upset esp. since most of the bad service occurred at the vip table for my family.

airex

Hi upset,

as I've posted before abt Grand Mercure, I tot I was the only one who was disappointed.. I was one of the guest then (my cousin's wedding).

upset

Hi Kate,

I'm oso veri disappointed. Worse still, my relatives and family kept asking me y i chose this hotel when the service is not up to standard.

dabee

Hi upset:

when i saw your comments, i also felt upset about what happened. i hope that you hv got over it by now. if ur relatives keep asking why u chose this hotel then tell them joking my next wedding i definitely wun chose this hotel liao ok. i am sure then they wun ask u again.....

who is ur hotel co ordinator? what about during the diner? who is the banquet co ordinator? did u complaint? should threaten not to pay.

mine that time sept 04 was a young modern indian man, cant rememeber his name, i think is mike? he was really good. he basically supervisor everything from the sound system from 5pm with my hb n his best man till all my guests left. u see alots of unforeseen situations are beyond our control..... like mine, 2 or 3 china man guests went and swim in the pool while my guests are eating. of cos, i am angry i complaint to mike n he managed to chase them out but after a while another gp went to swim again. my red table VIP relatives dunno wan to be angry or wan to laugh. in the end my bro n cousin starts to tease them booo at them everyone along the poolside are laughing at them BUT they still continue to swim. angry, hotel has done their part to put up a sign to say that pool is closed for private function, and no swimming after 10pm. but still got such idiots. angry. only my hb still so cool, joking tell our guests, there are performers in pool pls look!!!!! ha ha ha.

i think my diner night is 2 waitress to 3 tables. only VIP table is one to one. mine is a thurs luckily hotel manage to find enough waitress/waitress. their service ok. all my guests are alcoholic, and beer is chargable maybe that is also why chargable items are served super fast. my hb wanted to offer beer during the cocktail. the total beer consumation broke the hotel record, 140L that is eq to 7x 20L barrel!!!!!!! some of my guests even order guniness stout, ciggs leh!!!! mike did ask my hb about all these special requests n my hb said ok. till he saw the bill next day. ha h ah aha

i had a total of 23 tbls 1 reserve. i think only 12 at the lower deck n the rest at the upper deck. we arranged VIP 2 tables in front of stage then at the lower deck are actually our friends and all the relatives (half girl side half boy side) at the upper deck. our relatives are ok, i think they are happy to mingle ard on their own, is like they hv the whole upper deck to themselves. they can drink sing song n shout all they wan. so they din complaint much. the weather is ok not too hot not too cold. i din order the mist fan for them cos must pay i think $15 each. we did tell our relatives n friends that they can come in bermudus n t shirts, casual, pls wear something that they are comfortable cos is OUTDOOR. so we din hear anyone complaint about hot. my cousins even wan to wear bikinis n they wan to swim in the pool. before wedding i did ask hotel if my guests can swim during the diner they said NO. so u can imagine the hoo ha my cousins made when they saw the china man swimming, now think back actually was quite funnny. as for the food, i would say normal too. so so only lar. they are warm when served.

i booked a hotel room for my bridesmaid i think hotel kind enough to give 4 breakfast coupons, extra must pay. then they dunno about the coupons and order room service for breakfast, actually is chargeable, but i neg hotel din charge. me n hb also dun hv time to go down to eat, hotel also kind enough to let us order room service for breakfast.

the bridal suite is really nice and huge i like it alot!! just like a small apartment with big living room dinning table n small kitchen.

sorry gals my AD photos are not digital, hence no pics to show u all.

dabee

jen

u booked liao? which day?
dun worry. maybe now u can let ur co ordinator know that u heard alots of bad comments like not enough waitress, food cold, no bridal suite....blar blar... then ask them to take note, u dun wish to hv all these unhappiness on ur AD if not u wun pay them!!!! give them abit of pressure.

have fun!!!!!

o ya, all my guests are surprised that this hotel has so nice decor, n a amazing bluey pool. the flower decor by heaven's touch is also very beautiful and romantic

trixter

I am keen to sign up with this hotel, however, I've been reading abt their poor service in other threads, thus am rather hesitant. However, these threads are quite back updated, thus I am hoping to hear their service has improved :>

I must admit the co-ordinator's service isn't that 'sweet' as well. But I really like the ambience and the price is within my budget..

Please let me know if you are a present/past bride, or have been a guest to a wedding dinner there...hope to hear some hopefully-good-feedback!

Thanks alot.

sereneken

hi Trixter,
i ve jus signed up with Roxy. ya, i have also read in other threads some negative comments abt the hotel, but like their S/pool alot (will be having my wedding by the pool)... so far, my co-ordinator quite ok. hope everything will turn out well

trixter

hi serene!

thanks for your feedback!

I believe you coordinated with Charlotte? Yez, I love the poolside ambience too and am considering their poolside sit-down dinner.

When is your AD? Actually I am going down this evening to see an actual wedding there tonight!

Do you mind to share with me your package details and I tell you what they offer to me?

sereneken

hi trixter,
my co-ordinator is evangelin. my AD is 29 Apr. wat abt u? too bad, i can't go and see the actual wedding tonite.... maybe later u can tell me how u feel about it.

i'm having buffet dinner. I'm taking 14 tables tentatively so no much perks. Maybe u wan to give me ur email address, i can send the details to you.

trixter

hi serene!

i'm so excited to see your reply so fast!

yours is evangelin? good arh? do u mind if you give me her contact?

my coordinator not very "friendly" one lei....sad.

do you msn? give me your email address??

sereneken

hi trixter,
sorry, din provide much info cos in a rush the other day

so far, my dealing with evangelin quite ok. but she will be gg for her maternity leave in end Apr or May. hehe, now i'm hoping tt she will deliver only after my wedding day, cos afraid of any hiccup if other coordinator is to take over. Is Charlotte ur coordinator? i normally call the hotel main line (63448000) to reach her.

btw, how do u find the wedding on 10 Feb?

Happy Valentine's Day!

jen_ong

hi all i also holding my poolside dinner next mth in roxy hotel. finally saw someone toking about roxy here. I also saw some bad comments so cross fingers tat everything will be ok on tat day.

trixter

hello serene..

so sorry for the late reply...was down with fever last few days..i saw your email but lazy to log on to my mailbox again...so i reply you here hor...

hai, i went to see an actual wedding last fri and must say i was very disappointed la..

the poolside is quite narrow and the stage is tiny...lighting not bright enough..worse, the foyer is narrow...there is a bar besides the pool area, so there are some ang mohs drinking beer and enjoying the show lor..

anyway, since u already confirmed your booking with them, then go ahead..but i'll suggest u double check on their lightings and stage arrangement again .. i thought the upper deck is quite dark lor...i wonder the pple can see their food or not..

yes, i communicate with Charlotte, the asst mgr, but she'll be leaving end of this month..

there isnt much deco either...u gotta make sure they provide you some flower decoration ok..

enough said..

jen and serene, sorry, I really didnt mean to "pour cold water"...but i'm only stating what i felt..

you may want to go through the details with them again and add in more lightings or deco...

good luck!

sereneken

hi trixter,
aiyo, not good to get sick... do take good care of yourself!

thanks for your pointers, will take note of them when going thru the details with my coordinator. ya, like you mentioned, ve oredi confirmed the booking so got to go ahead as planned. Now jus hope that everything will turn out well

no worries, you are jus stating your true feeling
so guess u r now sourcing for other hotels...

hi jen,
may I know when is your AD and who is your coordinator? ya, i'm also crossing my fingers

sereneken

my AD is on 29 Apr. my coordinator is evangelin too. ya, she is ok so far. r u doing the chinese cuisine? how's your wedding preparation?

sereneken

hi trixter, thanks!

hi jen,
ya, esp with the house moving... anyway, happy bzing
me too, buffet dinner, simple and unusual

xiaohei

Just attended the poolside wedding last sat and I agree the setting is great!! Too bad they have to seperate into 2 sections and all the helpers have to run up and down including the groom. Also it is a bit warm esp for those in Jackets (poor guys).

The food is so so. For our table, the steam fish has already turn cold when they serve not well cooked also. Not sure about the other tables. The crew is alright although a bit slow in serving drinks, at least nobody topple any red wine.

For me the whole experience is quite refreshing & romantic becoz this is my first poolside dinner. Feels more westernize compare to those in-house traditional dinner. Brides should like it but I doubt the same for the grooms becoz they will be sweating like a pig in that suit loh.. keke

A dream come true for the bride!!

sandsand

Hi All!

I'm actually helping my best friend source out some hotels for her own AD in 2007... can i ask, mecure hotel, ballroom got pillars? hows the price? anyone mind sharin their package with me and perhaps an email we can send an enquiry to?
or u can PM me..

cutecat

They are having wedding show in november..Any of you gals going? Look like not much of the activities in this thread..was just wondering about poolside dinner..Anyone can send me your poolside dinner photos pls?

missyserene

hi, am new here..

am interested in grand mecure roxy too. my love with my FH blossomed at east coast & the proposal was by poolside too...so grand mecure is 1 of my choice.

can any1 email me ( [email protected] ) photos of your wedding dinner there? plz....

thanks truck loads..

yappy123

Hello everyone! I need urgent comments on these 2 hotels:
- Grand Mercure Roxy Hotel - Ballroom (opposite Parkway)
- Hotel Rendezvous (near SMU)
I heard some bad and good comments on both. As such, hopefully someone who has recently attended a wedding dinner or had theirs at these 2 hotels, please give me some feedback. My dinner will be end next year and I need to confirm the hotel now. Really can't decide on any of them. Please give me some feedback if you have been to either of them or both. Thank you very much.

P/s: Btw, if you are attending a friend's wedding at either of these 2 hotels, which one will you give more ang bao? Whats the current rate for now? Prepared to lose $ but not too much. heehee!

Thank you for reading and posting comments!

yappy123

Hello everyone! Please ignore my previous thread. I need urgent comments on these 2 hotels:
- Grand Mercure Roxy Hotel - Ballroom (opposite Parkway)
- Hotel Rendezvous (near SMU)
I heard some bad and good comments on both. As such, hopefully someone who has recently attended a wedding dinner or had theirs at these 2 hotels, please give me some feedback.

My dinner will be end next year and I need to confirm the hotel now. Both are about same price. GMRH is newer, more grand with a modern hotel look, spacious, better menu and carpark and better perks. HR sounds more 'classy', is more convenient and elegant with a old English Colonial style but not as spacious both in the reception and ballroom. Really can't decide on any of them. Please give me some feedback if you have some knowledge of them. Thank you very much. All help is appreciated.

P/s: Btw, if you are attending a friend's wedding at either of these 2 hotels, which one will you give more ang bao? Whats the current rate for now? Prepared to lose $ but not too much. heehee!

Thank you for reading and posting comments!

try to help la

for me - i 'll give $80 for both & more for close frens

i prefer hotel R
bec of locatn more central

cynthia_ngc

I went down to the wedding show @ Roxy hotel they are nw giving S$608nett/table on Sun-Thur

wedding show was sponsor by The Wedding News, the gown looks fashionable and from my rating 7/10.

Hotel are giving exec suite located at either 16/17th floor for wedding couples. Suite looks like High Class 2 room flat. (2 bathrooms, 1 master bedroom, 1 living room with full length window facing pool n the city and a kitchen.

Poolside dining is very english style, but its separated into 2 decks. if you are seated at the upper deck you are unlikly goin to see the stage which is located at the lower deck. (additional S$900+++ for compulsary marqee set-up)

Ballroom hold MAX 25 tables with 4 HUGE pillers. if you have 30 tables for your wedding in the ballroom = 20/25 tables in ballroom n 5/10 tables in poolside. people seated in the poolside will only be able to see the stage through projector screen.(additional S$500+++ for marqee set-up)

mayng

i attened a wedding Mecure Roxy. the room has pillars but very cosy esp with a lower ceiling. service ok.
nt too sure if the samll room u are talking abt

yappy123

Hi cynthia! I was there too last sunday. Did u talk to any of the coordinator? They offer you $608 nett per table for Sunday? I thought it was $548+++. The 3% discount per table was for the weekday package. For $608 as you claim, did they offer free flow of beer, how many complimentary bottles of wine and night stay?

yappy123

Btw, I also feel its a rather cosy place. Yes, the dumb pillars are a let-down but in any case, there are 2 projector screens for those who are blocked to see. Plus most 4 star hotels dun have pillar-less ballroom. Think I may take Grand Mecure. When is yr wedding Cythia? Mine is on dec 2007.

yappy123

heehee... me too. Evangeline is my coordinator too. Very helpful and nice lady. Maybe we were in the same lift coming down after touring the bridal suite.
So yr package is the $608 net per table? Is it the weekend or weekday package? What are the perks you are given?

sereneken

I had my poolside wedding at Mercure Roxy April tis year. Overall, was satisfied wif their svc and food.... my guests din complain about their svc, and my hubby and I find that their food quite nice (we ve the buffet style one).

There are some hipcups though...not enough carpark lot, VIP ribbons wrongly tie to 2 tables instead of 1 (but I shall say that partly our fault cos of our last-min ever-changing request).

Just an advice if u r planning a poolside dinner... ve the misty fan (extra cost) cos can be quite stuffy cos of the masquee.

It's a memorable event for me cos I have always wanted a poolside wedding...

tenxten

I'm going to have my wedding at Grand Mercure Roxy next month. Church wedding at the poolside and dinner at the function rm.

Overall, the hotel coordinator, Evelyn, is friendly and very helpful. She tried to accommodate all our requests if possible.
Btw, all requests we have made go thru without a hitch...

On the food side during food tasting, my parents and future-in-laws are very happy and agreed that they are surprised that the food is that good...

Well, hope the info will be helpful to you all.