Grand Mercure Roxy Hotel (formerly known as Century Roxy Park Hotel)

cuddly_miumiu

hi gals, my coordinator also Katherine. I think we need to take the initiative to contact them rather they will follow up wif us... mayb they haf quite a no. of couples on hand.

winterling

Ya..I agreed wif miumiu. I think we have to be more intiative to contact them. For my case, I always distrub Katherine. HA HA HA

To sleepygal: Yes.she passed to mi during the Wedding show. So I went directly to the printers with the agreed contract. And I just collected my wedding cards last saturday. HEHEHEHE. They do provide envelopes. Not sure abt the string. Cos I printed directly on the card.

sleepygal79

Hi Winterling,did you decide the design of the wedding cards on the spot or can take home to consider? How long does the printer take to print the cards for your case? I have not visited the printer yet. Starting to panic liao. Now very busy with the renovations of the new house. Haiz..

winterling

Hi Sleepygal, I dun think they will allow you to bring their samples back home. For my case, my hubby and I decided on the spot for the design (cos dun really have alot of designs)... I think shld be ard 10 working days ba.

Mi too... start to panic already. Still got 3 mths to our wedding date... Haven do quite alot of stuff...

Ooo you got ur own flat..so nice.. I will be staying wif my mil....

shu22

Hi, just had my ROM on 7 September at their boardroom.

xhinn

Hi, gals I just had my solemnisation done at the Grand Mercure poolside. I did my own poolside deco inside of taking their floral package which costs $400++. I've got lots of great comments by the guests. I'm now selling the rose brunches. However, I no longer have the purple organza anymore. But you can get the organza cheaply from People's Park. I have a total of 16 brunches, selling for only $1.50 each. I have other items for sale which I used for the poolside solemnisation as well. Do take a look. http://www.singaporebrides.com/forumboard/messages/153856/760218.html?1222873313
781516.jpg

xhinn

By the way, attached is the pic of the one that Grand Mercure was to provide for me if I take their floral package. Its a small stalk of fake white rose with green organza ribbons.
781519.jpg

cuddly_miumiu

hi sleepygal, dats fast.
hope dat the food will turn out gd. mayb they will gif u a checklist to comment on the food. Do feedback anything u dunlike abt the dishes....

sleepygal79

Hi Miumiu, overall service and food is ok, except that there are minor glitches here and there. Found some bigger grains of salt in two of the dish. Hubby say I so heng to have them on my portion.

winterling

hi sleepygal,

how is ur preparation? another 5 days is our big day... hahahaha... we might able to see each other on tt day.. same day same hotel...

sleepygal79

Hi winterling, preparations so far so good. Just collected my gowns from the bridal shop yesterday. Emailed the photo for the signage to the co-ordinator already. Most of the guests had confirmed their attendance already. Co-ordinator informed that there are some issues with the supplier for the door gifts, she is checking with us whether is it possible to give half the guests the small cups that we had chosen and give other items to the rest of the guests. Well, i tink will be weird if we do this. So ask hubby to inform her that we still want the cups for all the guests.

Left with the wrist corsages haven't make yet. My mum is helping me on that.

How about urs?

odie24

Hi Sleepygal,

I feel that its ok to give 2 types of door gifts... your guests will have more variety... e.g. a couple will have each of the door give instead of having 2 of the same thing. And i my cousin did that for his wedding at intercon earlier this month too... Just my 2 cents worth of opinion

winterling

Hi sleepygal,

I also just collected my gowns yesterday.. same as you, emailed the photo, attendance confirmed, door gifts done (one 1 kind of door gifts - the shot cup) wrist corsages done - wif the help of my jiemeis...

This sunday is our wedding lor... so nervous..

Btw, what time will u be reaching the hotel? Ur co-ordinator same as mine right? so u wan to march in first? hehehehehe.. what time is ur wedding dinner start?

Hi miumiu,

sleepygal79

Hi winterling,

We had the same door gifts. Did u have any extras after the end of the dinner? My Jie Meis' wrist corsages was done wif the help of my mum and partially sponsored by my sister who bought the ribbons and flowers.

I was very nervous on sun. I tink I saw u and ur hubby on Monday afternoon when we were checking out. Forgot to wish both of u congrats and forever blissful.

Well, that day we reached the hotel quite late at about 2pm. My co-ordinator was Katherine but unfortunately she had left the hotel yesterday. Both of our weddings are her last projects. My wedding dinner was scheduled at 7.30pm but eventually started at about 7.45pm.

We had some hiccups on the dinner itself so we had to feedback to the hotel and get some explanations from them. Haiz...

With both our weddings over, who's next? Good luck and best wishes to the upcoming wedding celebrations.

Shall we arrange for some gatherings after our weddings?

cuddly_miumiu

hi sleepygal79, congrats!!

Wad hiccups u had? Prehaps the next one will be mine... in March coz we are the few active chatters in this thread. Haha

sleepygal79

hi miumiu, i would say the hiccups are not pleasant ones. Well, some of our guests were wet as some of the food servers toppled drinks on their clothes. They toppled and broke some glasses at the reception area.

Hopefully they will make improvement on these areas. haiz.....

maudrey

i'm new to this forum and looking for feedback on nice venues for my late 2010 wedding. since i'm now overseas, i have to do all info gathering online. anyone care to share the grand mercure's package with me? i would also appreciate feedback on the little details of the package - favours, decor, flowers, etc? thanks.

999hearts

My hubby and I just had our wedding banquet at Grand Mercure Roxy poolside on 10 Dec 08.

We are very happy with the excellent service rendered by their service staffs. Their staffs (e.g. Peter, Mike, Shad and waiters/waitresses) are attentive and prompt to respond to my guests and our requests.

Our guests also enjoyed the nice cosy ambience setup at the poolside. It was a windy evening and we noted that their helpful staffs were holding onto the portable screens while our montage and morning highlights were being projected.

We are also very grateful to Jennifer, Director – Sales & Marketing and Evangeline, our event coordinator who have been very accommodating to our requests and the concerns we read in this forum.

Thank You Grand Mercure Roxy for creating a banquet with a difference!

dewysago

Hi 999hearts,

Wat theme did u use for ur wedding? N how much do u have to top up for the usage of the portable screen n the projector for ur montage?

999hearts

Hi Dewysago, our theme was Garden of Eden. There is only 1 theme for poolside banquet, and we chose the gold colour option. The other option is green colour. The screen and LCD projector for both upper deck and lower deck are complimentary.

999hearts

Hi dewysago, I guess you are referring to the additional projector. For us, the 2 projectors are FOC. We had 150 guests.

dewysago

hi 999hearts, thanks for ur reply. i have 100 guests, and i m not referin to additionl projectors cos we dun even have that included in our package. wat our coodinator mentioned is only complimentary for projector screen thats all. For any projector, we have to pay for rental fee.

elstrial

sleepygal, thought there's a variety of wedding flavours to choose from? now left with only 1 type?

Katherine left? She's pretty senior in Grand Mercure Roxy, right? Correct me if I'm wrong.

Hmm.. Hope my co-ordinator is still around and will be around with the hotel till Sep 2009 bah..

winterling

hi sleepgal,

Sorry to reply late.. cos i just came back from my honeymoon..

Hmm... i think i also saw u tt day... and u know.. ur tt hand flower, was the SAME as mi even the color and design, all the same sia.. hahahaha.......

Ur dinner started b4 mine... my dinner started ard 8pm.... hmmm... i oso feedback to her on my dinner.. some of the dishes were not so nice and fresh...

Think all the waitress were veri young and inexperience ba... one of the waitress oso kanna scolded by my guest... veri pity tt waitress... hai...

but overall, not bad la... i shld said... katherine and the asst banquet mrgr veri helpful and they responsed to my request, super fast...... but too bad, katherine left...

Ooo dear.... so careless.... no wonder i saw ur hubby's face like black black de....

sleepygal79

Hi elstrial, there are actually a variety of wedding favours to choose from but we narrowed down the the small glass cups. Yup, Katherine, the senior sales co-prdinator left GMR on 26-Nov. A pity....

Hi Winterling, no reply from you for such a long time. So nice, u went for honeymoon liao. Where did u go? Hey, we got the same good taste on flowers. My dinner actually started on 8.30pm. Hopefully they will trained their part-time properly to prevent such unpleasant experience for other guests. Keep in touch.

missybrooklynn

anyone held their ROM at the top level boardroom where u can oversee the whole east coast etc? any reviews and photos?

FH and i are interested to hold our ROM at the poolside but we are not willing to pay the $900++ on the marquees. even though it acts as a contingency for rain and shine. if have to add on the $900++, i would rather go for Changi Village hotel.

FH and i are staying in the east, so are our relatives and closed frds.. so we quite stuck in between these 2 places.

chinook

Hi, I will be holding my solemnisation at the boardroom on 10th May 2009. Chose the place for the same reason as you. Have paid the deposit but have yet to meet our coordinator to discuss the food and deco. I'll review it after my ROM!

missybrooklynn

chinook yay... a few qns to ask u

1) how much is the package and deposit?
2) wat is the max of capacity?
3) how long is the usage for the boardroom?

chinook

Hi missybrooklyn,

1) I took the high tea package, which is $1,199++ for 30 guests, subsequent guests at $35++.
2) The max capacity of the boardroom is 50 guests.
3) For high tea, it's from 2-5pm, with a cocktail reception at 1.30pm.

sean_ng

I have the following items for sale from my wedding last Friday.
All items are brand new and only bought few days before my actual day.
Please send me an email at seanngyl@gmail for more details.

1) Martell VSOP, 70cl, duty paid, 8 bottles, $70 each

2) Berri Estates Cabernet Sauvignon, 75cl, duty paid, 22 bottles, $18 each

missybrooklynn

HI, for those who had your ROM at their poolside, do we still need to pay $400++ for the decor on the marquee? if not it will be leave blank, rite?
how abt the fans?

im looking at hi-tea buffet though.

welly

Hi Everyone, I'm a newbie here. I'm looking for a venue for my ROM on 28th June. Can you all share with me your ROM package? I prefer poolside, waterfront, and outdoor. Kindly send it to my email [email protected]

coraine

Hi all..
I had my rom last nov in their board room...it has sea view and full length window..very beautiful view...my coordinator was evangelina...very nice lady...very polite too..i kept disturbing her every now and then bcos im really forgetful...and she was still very nice to me..

on the actual day...everyting went well..mine was a rom buffet lunch..staffs were really polite...took initiative to ask whether we need drinks or stuffs...

after the buffet, there were many food left, so we requested the food to be packed to our hotel room. And they did! =)

thumbs up!
for more info, can view my blog at
www.big-girlicious.blogspot.com

Hi Coraine,
Congrats!

I am considering that place for ROM too...I will go your blog to see the pics!

Lil Dewy,
Wow...ur wedding..so sweet! Alot of things you made? Like programme cards? and your wedding is cosy and nice I like...pardon me...is that your AD already? Or just ROM?

dewysago

Hi Gin,

Yes,we diy to cut cost and most importantly to add a personal touch.Ang pao box, programme cards, guest book all are diy. But definitely more time n effort required. Its rom cum dinner. Cos we wont be holding another dinner already.