Grand Hyatt Singapore

enuka

seafaith & all, i've confirmed my decor for the jade green orchid at the grand ballroom coz AD is in 2 weeks' time!! But I'm just wondering if it's a bit stark..anyone seen it before? Considering a change.. The red-themed table cloths are too rich for me & wish to get non-roses flowers...haiy, hard to please, hahaha..Anyone has any ideas?

seafaith

Hi Enuka,

I had taken some of the Hyatt Grand ballroom setting with Green Cymbidium (orchird)on my last visit.

Is this the one u mention for the flower? I like this Cymbidium, was use it for my PS.

431026.jpg

dreamer17

Hi enuka

but i have sign the contract with min 40 tables + 2....ur FH negotiated before u guys sign the contract of after?

Btw who have the pictures of the Rose ball?...can post it here? have never seen it before...

thank u

enuka

Seafaith, thanks!! your pics are so useful! Hmm, it's not this..they called it jade green orchids..Think the vases are tall, if i'm not wrong. But Cymbidium looks nice too! How do u feel abt the whole setting? is it a bit too stark or empty since the ballroom is so big.....haha.. Do you tink the way to 'fill' the room for a warmer kinda feel is to use roses? Hmmm.....

seafaith

i feel it's a bit pale cause the ballroom is big and not like small ballroom at SSR and Hibicus.

I show u some photo on hyatt florist arrangement and decide which is the best

431188.jpg

jen02

Hi Enuka,
Maybe u can ask ur cooridnator is there any wedding this few day. Go down and have a look for the feeling. To me, i like white orchid. Maybe u can mix the flower. Like guest table & march in stand for other flower.

ellew

Hi, i'll also like to see the Magnolia / Vanda pics!! Please share them with me...Thanks in advance. [email protected]

Hi jlwc, do share with me ur pics when ready! I'll very much like to see your classy setup. hee...thanks!

enuka

thanks haze, will try to go down, my coordinator said i've to confirm by this fri am..hee..so not much time for my indecision oso.. ;)

enuka

hi gals, didn't have time to go down Hyatt.. hmm, gotta base on the pic to decided then! prob decided on the red roses coz the ballroom is big & airy if i use jade green orchids..luckily my EG colour won't clash with red..haha..

enuka

seafaith, i saw in your pics, the red roses at the stage.. Do u find it odd coz there's just a few stalks at the white backdrop?? : )

seafaith

Hi Enuka,

No worry, they will not. In fact can more show the rose beauty.. i quite like this or maybe i prefer someting simple and not complicated. Even my gown i also like something simple...

starcare

Im new to this thread. We are planning to have our dinner at Mag/Vanda room in Dec 07. About to sign the contract but was hesitating due to the low ceilings and the pillars in the room.

Any advice? Does the pillars posed any problems?

supagal

hi all, am new to this thread.

we have shortlisted GH as one of the venue and is likely to use the Camelia room as our tables are less than 20.

The march in for camelia room is actually very short. Does anyone have any issue with that? It will actually limit the type of march in songs we can play.

supagal

i am still a bit concern as my hb's fren had her wedding in GH and apparently they were under staff and service level was not that great.

there were also a few other weddings going on on the same day and the reception area was quite messy.

but after reading all the positive reviews, i guess that may be jus an isloated case. Am still deciding b/w GH and meritus mandarin...

bel_vodka

Hi all BTBs

im going dwn grand hyatt this coming wednesday for a look with my FH. and to discuss abt the packages.

Can i noe wad things shd i ask for from them?
Are they easy to negotiate?

eveuloveme

hi emily,
the hyatt package is actually very comprehensive so not much room for negotiation.
what u can negotiate is perhaps extra carpark and cards.. also discount for additional beer.

Did anyone manage to get more cards and discount for additional beer?
One more thing I thought it would be good to share. Although it says that items are not exchangable between the 2 menus, what my coordinator actually told me is that if we want a different cooking style for a certain item, it's no problem. If we actually want to change a certain item (like maybe prawn to scallop), then we would have to top up the extra cost. Hope this information is helpful to all

Emily,
Besides carpark, you can ask for a day-use room (3pm-8pm) for your jie mei, etc. to rest while waiting for the dinner.
You can also ask them to give you a bottle of house wine to try during the food tasting.

smilez

Emily, agree with eveuloveme. Hyatt package is quite comprehensive so usually they dun allow much negiogation already. N i also dunno wat else to ask from them.
Wat time r u gg on Wed? Will be gg for food tasting 2morrow

bbp, cards they r quite flexible. As long reasonable amt, they will accomodate
I gg to ask for extra cards too.

bel_vodka

thanks eveuloveme, bbo and smilez !

smilez: i have the appointment with them at 5pm
if im not wrong. hehe.

Ya i oso tink tat since their package so good
i oso dunno wan get wad frm them le.

But do u girls noe? if next yr increase 2%
will our package change? i mean the pricing?
coz if hyatt will follow suits and increase
their price hor, i tink i wont want to tk their
venue liao..coz will be too expensive..

save more money and can go honeymoon

jlwc1974

grand hyatt is simply the best !!! the food is great ... the setting is great ... the pricing is great ... the perks are great ... and their bridal suite is simply superb ... u must really go take a look and decide for yourself ... 3D2N of luxurious living ... make full use of the gym and pool and sauna and jacuzzi... daily morning breakfast piping hot brought right into your bridal suite with table setting ... its an unforgettable wedding with grand hyatt

bunnypop

Hi any GH bride who had lunch banquet can advise - when would the program / march-in rehearsal be conducted.

For dinner, the rehearsal is usually on the same day of the dinner banquet - say around 5-30 pm. For lunch banquet, don't think we will have the time especially if we are also having the tea ceremony at the hotel.

Hi Emily,

I checked with my coordinator (Zona) about the extra 2% GST before I signed my contract. She said the prices will remain at nett. No increase.

I suggest you ask them about this increase at your appointment. Don't be pai seh! Remember it's a big sum you are paying

nikkilime

Hi Gals!

Finally signed the contract after much consideration.. Now gonna start sourcing for gowns and photographers. Any recommendations?

autumns07

Hi Nikki, you should make appointments with the bridal shops to try on their gowns and meet their designers. Check out their websites and grab a copy of a wedding magazine. I have visited 4 bridal shops and eventually signed up with Silhouette. Now searching for a AD photographer.....

bel_vodka

hi bbp

good morning! Great to hear tt ur package
remain at the nett prices.
i will definitely ask them regarding this thing
todae when i meet up with them at 5pm.
haha i wont be paiseh one.
coz the differences in 2% is alot leh..
enuff for me to go honeymoon with abit of top up le.haha

if my case is same as u as in no increase then
i will most probably tk up the package.
coz my FH loves grand hyatt for no reasons.
i tink bcoz he tink tt its branded or smething.
haha..

seafaith

<table border=1><tr><td><center><font size="-1">Nick Name</font></center></TD><TD> <center><font size="-1">Wedding/Banquet Date</font></center></TD><TD> <center><font size="-1">Ballroom</font></center></TD><TD> <center><font size="-1">Theme</font></center></TD><TD> <center><font size="-1">Food tasting date</font></center> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-1">Seafaith</font></TD><TD> <font size="-1">22/03/07</font></TD><TD> <font size="-1">Sir Stamford</font></TD><TD> <font size="-1">Red Rose &amp; Ivory</font></TD><TD> <font size="-1">02/03/2007</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-1">bbp</font></TD><TD> <font size="-1">11/08/07</font></TD><TD> <font size="-1">Grand Ballroom</font></TD><TD> <font size="-1">TBC</font></TD><TD> <font size="-1">TBC</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-1">Ix</font></TD><TD> <font size="-1">27/10/07</font></TD><TD> <font size="-1">Magnolia/Vanda</font></TD><TD> <font size="-1">TBC</font></TD><TD> <font size="-1">TBC</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-1">Shirley</font></TD><TD> <font size="-1">02/12/07</font></TD><TD> <font size="-1">Sir Stamford</font></TD><TD> <font size="-1">Black &amp; Red</font></TD><TD> <font size="-1">TBC</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-1">Autumns07</font></TD><TD> <font size="-1">10/12/07</font></TD><TD> <font size="-1">Magnolia/Vanda</font></TD><TD> <font size="-1">TBC</font></TD><TD> <font size="-1">TBC</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-1">Haze</font></TD><TD> <font size="-1">22/12/07</font></TD><TD> <font size="-1">Sir Stamford</font></TD><TD> <font size="-1">Black &amp; Red</font></TD><TD> <font size="-1">TBC</font></td></tr></table>

genesisgalaxy

Today's my 1st wedding anniversary. A year ago, my wedding banquet was held at Hyatt and this is what had happened:
http://www.singaporebrides.com/forumboard/messages/6/346076.html?1138879237#POST1607760

This year,I had an anniversary stay at Hyatt over the weekend at the Grand Deluxe room. I had made a reservation under my husband's name with the voucher index imprinted on it. I was given a reservation number and naturally, I was under the assumption that a simple reservation had been sealed and was awaiting a great anniversary stay.

For some reason, my instinct told me to double-check my reservation with Hyatt on the eve of our stay. And so, a flurry of events unfolded within the next thirty minutes:

(1)To my utter horror, I was told that there was no reservation under my husband's name despite permutating the variables of his moniker. The hotel staff transferred me to the Reservations centre and a Caucasian man ran through a system check and garnered no results. There was a tinge of irritation in his voice.

(2)I called Hyatt again and was told to check again with the Reservations centre and to place a new reservation with the personnel over there should my earlier reservation be void. Once again, I was transferred and this time, a Caucasian lady answered my queries. I was beginning to wonder why Caucasians with heavy american accents were picking up the calls. She checked the system and confirmed that my reservation did not exist. To placate my doubts, I queried if she was part of the Hyatt personnel in Singapore. I was told that it was a centralized system in the United States. She suggested that I called Hyatt again and request to speak to the Front Desk without being transferred.

(3)With her kind suggestion, I called Hyatt for the THIRD time and I specified not to be transferred to the Reservations centre. What I wanted was a simple 1 night reservation that was supposed to be in place. Upon being told that the room was subjected to availability, I was livid. Unleashing my previous year's experience with the banquet, I pointed out the stark fact that this is the second major screw-up Hyatt had committed. Rather curtly, I commented that a simple reservation could be done "at the snap of one's fingers". It was only upon my insistence that "a check with the manager" finally landed me a confirmed new reservation.

Two questions looming in my head are:
(A) Where and WHY did it go awry when I had placed the reservations days ago with a given confirmation number?
(B) Should potential tourists and local stayers be subjected to such apprehension? Imagine if i had not checked with Hyatt on the eve of our stay. We would have arrived at Hyatt, blissfully unaware of the looming disaster, and end up on the shorter end of the stick while looking like a pair of fools.

Hyatt personnel, I beseech you with this plea: Apparently, there is something very wrong amongst your levels of communication. You need to spruce up on that and your infrastructure. There is no point in paying lip service for words are aplenty. You need to understand that as a 5* hotel, customers are drawn into plying your services with EXPECTATIONS. That comes at a price and we don't expect to be shortchanged for it.

I am a living example of your stark shortcomings. A major let-down on my wedding banquet in 2005. A whisker away from disappointment on our anniversary stay in 2006. You can't beat that. Go figure.

bel_vodka

genesisgalaxy

i feel so sorrie for ur encounter with hyatt.
i read ur previous post which u show.
now im getting worried oso.
coz i got an appt with them at 5pm.

junegroom

may i know if anyone has encountered a situation whereby you cannot meet the minimum number of tables for your wedding?

What happens then? Do u have to just accept the losses or does the hotel allow you to "spend" the un-used tables on the hotel's services and products (e.g buying wine, food and beverage vouchers)?

anyone knows?

eveuloveme

hi bookan,
can i have ur email add?

hi june groom,
i think u will have to pay for the tables... or either that u pay a one off fee... like 3k? i am not sure....

bel_vodka

u noe wad? heard frm other btbs frm other threads tt services received frm hyatt wasnt very good. have anione of u came across with that?
pls kindly advise?
coz my FH realli keen on gettin up their package.
but i personally are very afraid of the truth to be come true on my wedding dae.

shiro_ger

Hi Dazzle81,

The price is dependent on which function room you are confirming.

SSR/Grand Ballroom/Hibiscus Room: $998 nett
Camelia/Magnolia/Vanda Room: $868 nett

If you need to get more details, it would be ebtter if you contact their banquet sales team directly.