Grand Hyatt Singapore

amy_fleur

the bees,
You must be quite put off. Perhaps you can consider changing the coordinator? After all she's the person you'll be liaising all the way til your AD, and I'm sure you wouldn't want to be left angry half the time.

Mine was Mandy. She was really professional and helpful. Even though I didn't pick Hyatt in the end, she was still very understanding and displayed good service throughout.

Regarding your request to see the ballroom. I guess if the coordinator isn't free or isn't down for duty (eg during the weekends), she would usually ask us to view ourselves. I can understand that.

But yeah, I would be equally put off if she persistently refuses to reply to my requests for appointments, of which Mandy hasn't done that to us back then. So you may want to consider speaking to Mandy.

Her email addy's [email protected]

blueybubble

Hey the bees, i think sharonlyn is a new comer. haven't heard of her name before. so probably she is not trained in pr skills or smth. you can always try to contact other GH coordinators. if their service is stillbad, then maybe u can consider other hotels. but personally, i think GH is great!

summeritz

dear ladies,

i'm planning to hold my wedding dinner at hyatt in dec'07.

my hubby n i fell in love with Sir Stamford Room which is really grand & classy. in addition, i find that their package is pretty comprehensive wif great perks plus great service fr ailing (catering sales manager)!

anyone here signed up their wkday package care to share their experience wif me? i v much wanted to sign up one but pretty worried about the wkday attendance. cos we are only looking @ 20tables, we couldnt take up the wkend package.

pls share if u have similar experience! thks.

seafaith

Hi Summeritz,

I also had booked my banquet at Hyatt Sir Stamford Room and it's fall on weekday.

My banquet will be next year march... so still dunno how the attendance... pray hard the attendance will be fulled.

tulips02

I have also shortlisted Grand Hyatt, will be visitng the place this sat. Have anyone got any remark about Audrey? I'm meeting her.

summeritz

Hi Seafaith,

yup, tat's the prob we face if we hold on wkday. anyway, hope it all turns out well for u... ;)

i'm actually still considering between a few hotels cos there's still some time to my AD in dec'07.

Will update u if i sign up Hyatt wkday's package eventually... their sir stamford room plus the black theme is just so tempting... =)

eveuloveme

hi summeritz,
i had my wedding back in 05 DEC...also 20 tables at the hibiscus room, on a thursday.

i had no problem with the attendance... however there were pple who didn't turn up last min... they only informed me the day before or even on the day itself...

these will happen i think regardless of weekdays or weekends.

only around 5 people didn't turn up..

what is important i feel, is the rSVP... we got to tighten the rSVP so that we more or less have a confirmed no. of people attending..ESp relatives... or frens of our parents / in law.

i have 2 RSVP.. i got my sisters to help do the second RSVP.. which i feel helps alot..

i think there are a lot of advantages having it on the weekday.. firstly u don't get double invites cos weekdays are not so popular... the chances of ur frens being invited to another wedding is lower...

the dinner starts on time as most guests will arrive after work..

the consumption of beer and wine is lesser as the guests will need to work the next day.. hehehe

however the set back is... it is harder to look for jie meis or brothers cos they have to take leave in the day time... and also the chances of guests leaving earlier than usual! since they need to work the next day...

hope this helps!

summeritz

Hi eveuloveme,

thanks for sharing ur experience with me!
wow, good for u that ur wedding attendance turned out so well wif only 5 "missing"... hehe

i've gone thru some other feedbacks in similar topics in e forum as well.... guess i feel more slightly more assured now... hehe

i dun mind holding on a wkday actually... still trying hard to convince our old folks tat it will work.

btw, wat is RSVP? i'm abit lost... haha

eveuloveme

hi summeritz,
RSVP is the reservation... if the guests are going, they got to confirm their reservation with you. if they are not attending, they will have to inform u as well.

summeritz

hello eveuloveme,

oic.... okie, i noe wat u mean.... haha... sorry, i so blur.

i'm gg to visit 2 more hotels tis wkend... hopefully can come to a decision soon. =)

blueybubble

talking about RSVP, there are people who RSVP that they are coming and yet they did not turn up, with no reason or whatever, and didn't even contact me at all. i seriously wonder why I invited them in the first place.

havavi

My company D&D just over at Hyatt. We had total of 56 tables and there are still rooms behind for more tables. so its very spacious. It the Black theme. With the yellow flowers and lights that shone on it make the whole place looks elegance. But people who wear black kind of morph into the chair, as you will only see the skin part. But the food is still same as before, not nice. The only nice food is the roast chicken, very crispy!

tulips02

Just went to see Grand Ballroom/I/II on sat. Overall ambience is very nice but there are 4 pillars in the middle of the room. The whole is very elegant n posh. But dun think we will take tat place cause parking n traffic will be n issue for us on our AD. Our AD is Xmas next yr.

Overall i think if you dun hold your AD on a public holiday or some festival i think it should be great.

miffy80

hihi.... any1 knows whether we have to top up for the rose ball (i.e. taller red roses) for the VIP tables?

really appreciate it for your advice. thanks alot

bweebschan

Hi, I'm an Oct 06 bride and have pretty much settled everything with Hyatt by now. I chose the black theme with red roses and the red rose balls for the VIP tables. Can anybody kindly send me pictures at [email protected] if you also had a black theme wedding with red roses? Really eager to see if its nice
Also, I have about 65-70 tables and am wondering if the ballroom will be very cramped, any experiences??

tagra

Can anybody pls send me pictures of your wedding dinner held at Hyatt. My email add is: [email protected]

Also, can anybody pls recommend me the name of your co-ordinator whom you find them friendly and willingly to negotiate?

Thks!

i_not_sotong

Hi Big Toes!

thanks so much for sharing the photos.
i noticed that the vvip tables are in the centre of the big room, right ? ;)

the tall round roses sure look beautiful..! wondering whether u top up for the tall roses at the vip tables and the organza for alternate seats for the guests?
if so, how much issit?

tagra

Thks Big Toes!

Does anybody knows when is the next coming showcase? Emailed to the salesperson, but sadly, nobody responds to me.

Thks!

limay

Hi Sotong,
Nope - we didn't need to top up for the rose balls/alternate sashes...but that was in end 2004, I think they are more fussy with the freebies now...

hikki

Hi all can i just check with anyone who has gotten in touch with hyatt recently? i would like to check the favours that hyatt is offering for my wedding (this dec) cos i can't make up my mind if i ought to get my own. and any recommendations as to what i can ask for in replacement should i do away with their favours? anyone who knows what they are giving as options, kindly let me know? thanks!

bailey

hi, i would like to sign with hyatt for the wedding dinner package but they would not offer me any perks on top of what's included in my package. can i check if anyone manage to get anything additional from them? can email me your additional perks at [email protected]? thanks!

ultrabear

Are my eyes playing tricks on me??? extra unused wedding cards still wanna sell???
kao_angry.gif
Mai cheapo leh.. not say you buy them from Hyatt.. be nice and give them to those who needs it.. I'm sure whoever takes them from you will buy you at least a kopi or a decent meal.. S$20 for unused wedding cards.. haiyo.. so embarrassing!!!!

jlwc1974

Jameson (ultrabear) r u really 35 already ? u sound like a 15yr old :D *lol* ... well if you want the cards i can give them to u for free , cheers!

ultrabear

jlwc, thanks but no thanks... i can always get them FREE from Hyatt... I sound like 15?? thats nice of you... why put up an act trying to speak and sound mature?? just relax and speak out straight... its the context of the message that counts...

i_not_sotong

i'm intending to get a projector for my upcoming wedding. Could you provide the contacts and charges? Not taking from Hyatt coz of the high costs. Thanks very much!

dreamer17

hi sotong

can try rh*ma m*dia..cheaper then hyatt...and they provide set up also...and if u using 2 projector, they can also provide the splitter FOC

clclwedding

When is the ideal timing for food tasting? 1mth or 2mths before AD?

Also, when should we collect the invits, discuss the ballroom setting, book extra rooms and stuff? To be discuss with the coordinator on food tasting day or earlier?

My AD is on 7/1/07.. another 3mth+ more.. panic!

lyons

<font color="119911">hi girls, any recommendations for good wedding coordinators? I know someone mentioned ailin? Really need help cos I need to confirm with them but need to know who is nicer and more willling to negotiate

cutebear13

anybody already sign up with Grand Hyatt already? like to find out more on their ballrooms, etc. I am infact looking at their Magnolia/Vanda Room.. Any comments??

In fact i am going to meet one of their coordinator, Zona this coming wednesday. Any idea how is she?

barney

Hi Evelyn,

I have booked with hyatt for mag/vanda room.. there are very big pillars which will block some tables if you dun mind.. other than tat, the price is really worth it..

smilez

Halo Ladies,
My wedding is ard the corner and is still unsure what kind of theme to get.
Any1 having their wedding soon? If yes, can email me at [email protected] so I can pop by to view the actual setup pls?
Many Thanks!!

I will be using the Mag/Vanda room as well.

Bride, my coordinator is Ailin as well.
Have not had my wedding yet, so will revert after the wedding.

smilez

Halo Barney,
Of cos, I dun mind

Mine is on 20th Jan, so still got another 4 more mths to go.
Thus, now see if any1 having wedding so I can get more info.
When is ur AD?

hovonwed

Hi smilez,

I will be going down on 27 Sept to see the setup of Mag/Vanda room and to discuss on the package.

According to my co-ordinator, there is a wedding held on that day itself. You could arrange with your coordinator to go down and have a look.

Can anyone advice me on what other additional perks I could request from Hyatt?

As my AD is on a weekend I could only chose 2 of wish lists. Any idea if I could request for 1 more. What is the changes?

smilez

Hi Hovonwed,
Thanks alot!!
Ok, will email my coordinator and chk it out wat theme it is.
For perks, the last time i din ask for anything extra as its pretty comprehensive. see wat else u need. E.g. additional room for solenization etc. Not sure on the wish list as I book the package a long time ago

blueybubble

Hi Evelyn,

I had mine at Mag/Van room this June. Seriously, for the exact same food as the Grand Ballroom at such a low price, I wasn't really bothered by the pillars. They also had flat screen TVs behind those pillars.

If you are not having a lot of "programmes" on your wedding night, I think it shouldn't be a big problem. Enjoy your prep!

cutebear13

sorry for the late reply..

yap, will be meeting zona tomorrow. let u all know how is it ya..

blueybubble, ya i agree with u. I have heard that there is pillars in that room. but with the price they are offering i think shld be worth it??

btw, is there any more extra things which i can ask for on top of what they have offered??

hovonwed

Hi Evelyn,

How many wishes are you entitled too? What will you be choosing?

Mind sending me your wedding proposal?

I am also thinking hard of what other perks I could request from them.

I will be meeting them next wednesday.