Grand Hyatt Singapore

eveuloveme

hi bubble,
ehehe did u tell ur hubby u wanted that?
welcome for the cam!!
no worries.. but must return after use lah. aahhaa

good luck for the wedding! no worries it will be great! KW will be a great help to u!

haywiregirl

blueybubble, all the best girl, must be very excited. on 11th? which ballroom are you taking? Feel like going down on that day to see your room deco. can take more pics of your bridal suite to show? hehe..thanks!!

pigletz

Hi hyatt brides,

I am considering Hyatt 4 my banquet...b4 tt i would like 2 find out:

1. Anyone incurred loses durin their banquet @ hyatt? How much?

2. Wat are the norms for Ang Bao fm frez & relatives?

eveuloveme

hi anna,
i managed to break even for my thursday banquet last year...
this despite having quite a few $20 ang pows! heheehhe so no worries lah!

normally frens and colleagues tend to give the market rate.. so most of them would give at least $80...

relatives usually give a big angpow say $500 but they take up the whole table tat kind. eheheh
but also depends on ur relatives i guess. i had relatives who gave market rate... but also those who gave $500 but come whole family...

it really depends on ur relatives! heheheeh

pigletz

hi eve,

tks..yah my concern is on the relatives (both my IL & parents side) cos sum of them duno the market rate...so give less than $80 (faint)

moreover my father is paying for 15 tables (he inviting his frez) scare he'll need to fork out cash...heart pain leh.

i m nw lookin @ magnolia/vanda rm but wf the pillar around & low ceiling very sian leh....the grand ballroom very nice but 2 expensive. headache....

bring my IL & parents to view the venues we hv shortlisted...(restaurants, pines, noble hse & hyatt...) all love hyatt...but the price ah!

eveuloveme

hi anna,
i think regardless whether weekday or weekend... the frens or colleagues will give at least $80... it will be a good mix.. hehehe most people do give more than 100 if they know it is weekend...

relatives no choice lor... cos cannot tell them the market rate also ahahah.. but i think if ur relatives know that it is a 5star hotel at orchard.. then maybe they will roughly know it is not cheap.... i do have relatives who gave $1k per table that kind... so not too bad...

hmmmm maybe can invite more frens and relatives? a good mix of people shld be fine.. so far those who lost money (from other hotels) are those who cannot fill up the tables... my colleagues under invited so she had about 5 tables not filled with 10 people.. thus loosing ard 3k...

which i think is still not too bad.. heheheeh
u have other choices? or other hotels u looking at?

pigletz

hi eve,

yah...frez r still ok. initally oni wanted a small private events...26 tables. suddenly my FATHER say he want 20 TABLES which is excluding my IL & our frez (he paying 4 himself) so i hv to look 4 bigger places.

my dad very particular on FOOD, so he wanted restaurant...both me & FH dun wan cos the mood is not there.

Another place we shortlisted is pines(location is not ideally good) hv to cater transport.

Where as for restaurant...got pros & cons. Pros, food is good & cheap. But we don't hv a hotel room to rest & change.

u hv any plc to recommend?

eveuloveme

hi anna,
hmmm actually i didn't really do my homework and i went to only hyatt and four seasons before i booked hyatt.. so cannot really tell u abt other places..

i think four seasons is good too.. hehehe only one ballroom...

hyatt food is good no worries.. the cheft is award winning.....

my school used holiday inn parkview for the prom last year.. and i like it! the service is good... the ballroom is nice too...

and only one room... not like hyatt has 5!!
marina mandarin i went for banquet before.. the food is good.. i heard pan pac good also. hehehehe

pigletz

eve...venue is the most headache thing! price, food & svs.

oh pan pac...too exp around $1.1k per table. wanted to try holiday inn pv..but my frez fm hotel industry say food nt good leh.

oh RTC was oso one of my shortlisted venue...but location...hehe is terrible

btw which function rm did u take at GH? N who is ur co-ordinator

eveuloveme

i used the hibiscus room... we love the yellow colours..

my coordinator was Zona... she is GREAT and helpful! very nice lady... and very good service...

pigletz

which theme did u choose? black o the orchid...

love both the theme...at GH. Tink my IL & parents would approve of the black theme. hee hee old pple lah.

will be meeting audrey tml...for dicussion. the min table for the grand ballroom is 45...not sure wther they allow me to sign up at 42 tables....

eveuloveme

hi anna,
we didn't choose the black theme...cos my il won't allow! ahahaha also my hubby didn't like the black theme.. we had the white theme..

are u online? u have msn?
mine is [email protected]

hi bendi,
i forgotten the suite... i think it is grand suite or smthing... but the suite is really beautiful.. the bathroom is the size of a bedroom.... so cool!! heheheeheh

conxie

Am pretty new here...coz oni got to discuss our my marriage plans 2 days ago...

Am planning to hold my AD in Sept 2007. Am wondering if the banquet price listing is out for the year for Hyatt Hotel? Or do anyone has any other suggestions for a banquet for 650-700 guests?

Will really appreciate the info...

Thanz!

My email addy is [email protected]

haywiregirl

thanks eve, i went to the webby too. I actually seen the bridal suite but find it small. is like very cramp, so many things in the room, esp the dining table. I was thinking of upgrading to the grand duplex suite, is stated that this is a 2 storey suite, but don't know how much to top up, the presidential suite need to top of $5k plus.

Just found out that the grand duplex suite is actually the same price! well, I called the hotel and asked and the rate is valid to around aug, not sure if 2007 still the same, I mean same price for grand suite and grand duplex suite. really hope can bargain it, most likely we are taking Grand Hyatt.

ahping

Can anyone who has their wedding at the magnolia & Vanda room email their pic to me. COs i want to see the layout of the table as well as what will the pillar affect the view of the stage.

twinstarz

hi eveuloveme! just wanted to check, did u hv any prob with the sound system or the bright lights on your AD? seems like these 2 issues r the most recurring prob in Hyatt....dun wan the whole mood to be ruined by it.. hahah...pls advise?

hey bendi! gald u more or less settled on ur venue. =) u seem less flustered now.. haha .. =)

haywiregirl

twinstarz, thanks a lot. afterall, is still money issues, I was worst than this when come to HDB and condo, hubby said my mood like weather. not that we cannot afford, is always not too wise to get something way too expensive, that's why hubby only willing to buy me a burberry bag eventhough I said I am willing to get a LV myself.

Talk about this sound system thingy, can we check prior the banquet starts? I am also worry about the volumn of the music, sekali too soft, sekali too loud. people who seat near the speakers sure rant about it but seems like guests will never tell the couple how bad the banquet was as it will affect them, just like me, everything I will say "is fine, is nice.." but behind the screen, lot of nonsense. The light issue, I saw eve's photos, like no light got light effect, is it the PS style or the ballroom really dark?

haywiregirl

just got an idea to share with you girls. I couldn't find any special angpow box that I like, when browsing my rom's pic, found this vase i have and decided to use it as a "angpow box" is unique and now I just need some organza, ribbon and fresh flower. I WANT TO MAKE ONE FOR MySELF
375720.jpg

eveuloveme

hi bendi,
regarding the light issue:
saw eve's photos, like no light got light effect, is it the PS style or the ballroom really dark?

i think it is the PS style... i dun have the light problem at hyatt.

hi twinstar,
hmmm nope i dun really have the sound effect or light problem... there will be a rehearsal at 5.30pm before the dinner..

would be a good idea if u could tell the banquet manager when it u when the lights up and lights dim.. they will settle it for u~

twinstarz

hey bendi! wow! i like the flowers in the pic... niiceeee.... =) heh heh. whr was ur ROM?

eve, thx for the advice. hope evthg goes well if i do sign up w hyatt..still kinda torn btw marriott n hyatt. sigh..location r both good. hyatt seems to hv better perks..but the ceiling n the gren walls in sir stamford rm...arrggh....

haywiregirl

My rom was at my cousin's condo poolside. Nice place and new, that's why. Can show u some of the photos but hubby said our texts not up so cannot. but show u a bit. ahaha..PMed you.

twinstarz

hey bendi!got ur PM! nice pics u hv, they all turned out so sharp...flowers were beautiful too! =) who's ur photographer???

haywiregirl

Hi twinstarz, all pics have been touch up by my hubby, if you see the real hard copy of my photos, don't think you will like to have them to take photos for your big day and the only photographer told me directly that they are not very very experince photographer. *rolling eye*
I don't recommend them, and you know what, my parents are not in the photos, except the family potrait and he took many for my hubby' family, only his parents and one bro. reason being,"they came all the way from m'sia" I replied him by saying my parents also travelling 8 hours to attend my ROM. I got so upset, reason having this ROM was because my dad is sick and he is looking forward my ROM,as I have no time to prepare it. Didn't know turn out to be like that. so upset. that's why i am willing to spend more on our AD and our ps in sydney next year, we are going with my parents.at least this is what I can compensate. the photographer said sorry and willing to take family potrait for FOC, i didn't accept because we are not cheapo or harap his foc service. basically the photos are not well taken. very the not professional type,wanna try journalistic but failed. many photos I have to purposely pose for him to take like holding hand, smilling more. the rings photos, we asked him to take during the makan time. family potrait also.

haywiregirl

many photos over exposure and he said sorry, said didn't know will turn out like that, well, don't think you like to listen this after your ONCE AND ONLY AD

twinstarz

hey bendi! thanx for sharing n i understand ur fustration. really hope ur sydney PS goes well to compensate for your ROM pics. =) hey, on the bright side, ur hubby does good touch up! =)

seafaith

Hi Bendi,

Understand from others hyatt BTB, think the weekend (Fri-Sun) price all are same at $998. Think this is new price, last time was $10 diff btw Fri/Sun and Sat.

Somebody pls correct me if am wrong. Thanks.

Rgds.

amy_fleur

Can you recommend any responsible and good coordinator from Grand Hyatt that we can liaise with?

Can someone also share what are some of the goodies (other than those in the wedding wishes) your coordinator was willing to include in the package FOC?

eveuloveme

hi amy,
u can try zona. she is a very nice lady..

as for the goodies.. it is quite hard to negotiate.. hyatt doesn't really give out much stuff..

maybe can get more cards and more parking coupons.
heheh

ahping

Bridal Showcase
Date: Saturday, 1 July 2006
Venue: Sir Stamford Room, Mezzanine
Time: 12.00pm to 5.00pm

Anyone know whether is there any additional perks given in the show?

haywiregirl

I've received that as well, we will be going down on that day, hopefully they will have some add. perks but don't really think so as their package is really very comprehensive.

lambzzz

<font color="0077aa">Hi Ping and BenDi -- the bridal showcase at hyatt....must we hv some kinda invites from hyatt before we can go?</font>

cherbie

Hi Girls!

Can i check with you if any body has a picture of the bridal suite?
Is it big enough to hold a mini rom inside?

Tks!

lambzzz

hi bendi - thanks man.... n i saw ur ROM pix above....did u do e flowers decor urself??

hi cherbie - sorry...cant help u with e pix man...but i did tot o doin e same s u...but my fren advised me not to cos after e ROM gotta do some tidy-up o e suite....v troublesome....

haywiregirl

cherbie, i've seen the room and find it really really small. well, some may say it is big, but the dining table is really a big set back.

kayabread

Hi, does anyone know an email address to make enquiries with Hyatt? They have a phone number on the website but it's not convenient to call them during office hours. Thanks very much!

starrry

hi guys &amp; gals in hyatt forum, not too sure if all in tis fourm are fans of hyatt. hyatt price has went up. am looking for people who hv picked up the old hyatt package and want to transfer. do email me at [email protected] &amp; thks in advance.