Grand Hyatt Singapore

baby_fluff

Shirley, tat's a wonderful idea...to code ur guests' Ang Paos..

BenDi, thanks for the pointers on the DIY Ang Pao boxes. Will try to DIY it myself too but now still early for me lah..heehee

Seafaith...oh no...u mean the prices are only increased from Apr 2007?? So suay-ed...my AD is in April 07. *sad*

To summarize the various testimonials from the gals of this thread on Wedding Ang Paos, Sporeans can be very cheapo and to be very honest, it is very difficult to prevent things like tat from happening. Thus, identification measures has to be prepared to identify those cheapskates.

twinstarz

babyfluff! i reached at 3pm n Audrey Seow was the coordinator assigned to me. she's quite nice..the flowers r nice hor. but the chairs look v weird. so low n "pong" at the back. yah, even the SSR ceiling is kinda low oso...sigh. u went to AL too?? im oso considering n just the pkg fr her nt long ago. they hv a new outlet nw @ orchard delfi..think i will pop by next week. =)

hey shirley! ooohh...tot u managed to get the 2006 prices for ur AD. so heartache rite..its $40/table more...sigh. but i supposed the most impt thing is for evthg to just go rite on that day. oh! i think the coding of the ang paos is a damn gd idea too. just that if most of the guests dun put down their names, it'll be quite tedious to write each one rite?

aiyoyo

hi shirley!
the coding seems pretty good a idea. but i m a little blur. wats's 1A, 1B? Does does A, B, C mean anything?

Seafaith, the prices only increased from Apr 2007? Mine will be in March and my co-ordinator told me its the new pricing. Btw, whats the old price for Sat for the Grand Ballroom coz I only have the new pricing.

Baby fluff! who served u at TWP? he only allowed you to try 2 gowns?? the other time i was there, i tried quite a few and the co-ordinator was really nice. hows AL package like?

haywiregirl

hey twinstarz, mine was audrey too, she is a very very nice lady. we really don't know how to bargain, macam paiseh le to bargain. can anyone teach me? yesterday I met my "TAN" family and they have like 3 indv. nuclear family, told one of the family that our table is 800+, hope they won't do the same thing like 3 years ago.

* this tan family own a 1m condo at WCoast.

seafaith

Hi Aiyoyo,

From what shirley told, think Hyatt not increase saturday price and still maintain at $998 nett.

Fyi, their old price on weekday (mon-thu) $788 net, Friday + Sunday $988 nett, Saturday $998 nett.

kelly_pink

Hello Baby Fluff,
Sad to heard that you dun have a pleasant experience with TWP..I am a TWP bride and before we signed their package, we visited their boutique at least 3 times..and never once did they limit the number of gowns I could try...hmmm.. Is is because the boutique is quite crowded when you were there?? It is sad to hear such things coz I really like them and I have wonderful experience with them...and still have! In fact, I recommended a few couples there and they have very positive feedback too!!
kao_sad2.gif

jen02

Anyone any idea where to buy fake rose petals? Today my hubby and i went concourse but dun have.

How u girls tink abt the black and red themes? Wonder what colour go well with black other then red. Hehe..

twinstarz

hey jlwc, 688 is the 2006 price rite? wen did u book ur banquet?

babyfluff! realli ah? the designer at TWP wasn't friendly? was it pat? sigh..nv heard much -ve feedback so far leh. but its ok, guess i must go down myself to take a look n get a feel. watever it is, i guess its natural to wanna go with the BS / designer that makes u feel at ease, so, that's most impt gal! =) glad u enjoyed urself at AL nontheless. hee hee...

hey bendi! u went on sat too? wat time were u thr? yah, audrey's really nice n not at all pushy..felt v comfortable w her. but my FH n i r still looking ard...so we didn't bargain much yet..we will do that once we are more or less certain that we wanna go for hyatt. heh.

oh yah ladies! there's gonna be a marriot show this sat too. u may wanna drop by n compare notes w the hyatt one. =)

baby_fluff

Hi Twinstarz & Aiyoyo & Kelly,

My coordinator is Mandy Wan. I think I will be gg down to the show at Marriot's this Sat. Wat time is it? I think my FH and I are also looking at The Oriental as well..plus Goodwood Park...now opening up our options...no choice..sianz...

I went to Dang and J&C Bridal...was not impressed by Dang but J&C had this really beautiful gown tbat I just fell in love with..will try to see if they can just rent me tat gown so that I am able to mix and match with AL's package..I love Victorian styled gowns cos they look so grand..and I think I was lucky to be able to fit into tat piece and carry it off. *so happy*

Yah the person at TWP was Patrick..*disappointed* He told me he had other appointments so I couldn't try on so many pieces..only 2...and he was rather stern wif us..so tat did not leave us wif a very positive impression..Maybe I was just suay lah..*sad*

twinstarz

hey babyfluff! i dunno wat time the show is..should be ard 1 to 5 like the hyatt show. no registration needed but need to call to rsvp i think coz limited seats...shucks! 4got whr i read it from! i think its either sat / sunday's papers. haha...

i shortlisted goodwood park initially, but they r going thru a bad patch with the change of coordinator..so i eliminated it. some of the BTB in the goodwood park thread also mentioned that for the new ballrm, it seems the deco is v sparse..n need to top up cash if u wan to add deco. but if u like victorian styled gowns n stuff, i think u will like goodwood park. it has such an english feel i find. =) my FH went for a collegue's wedding thr last yr n said it was kinda nice too.

dang is popular for their CS rite? saw any nice ones? wah...think its better to go to TWP on a wkday nite then...sigh, hopefully, he wun be that busy then..

haywiregirl

Now I become very depress over the banquet thingy, wanted so much to sign with hyatt but hesistate don't know why, suddenly realize the something is the ceiling. know then I know I actually want high ceiling. I find myself very bitchy le. I really like victorian style, a lot a lot and I want to be a princess on that night, hyatt hotel doesn't give me the wow feeling, I am so upset, the SSroom, giving up as really don't have 25 tables, camelia room along the corridor really a minus point. Audrey is nice and perks are okay, I can't seem to find a place in hyatt for PS. very upset. Scarlet Hotel design really impressive, they don't have banquet. really very upset, hubby doesn't allow me to get something like more than 1k. many asked me to go for RTC, ended up my tables are too little for me to go ahead asking for proposal. very upset now. really upset.

aiyoyo

hi bendi,
cheer up.

how about meritus mandarin? they have this mini ballroom on the twentieth - something floor which has nice english settings, with those white roman pillars. i like dat place but its too small for my banquet.
mayb u would like to take a look?

twinstarz

hey bendi, dun fret. wen's ur AD? just take it easy, noe what u want, set ur budget, then see wat u options u hv that fits closest to ur requirement. chill....u'll be fine..its just the "fustrated" phrase all brides go thru every so often i guess, when things get to overwhelming...dun stress....just vent ur fustration here...we're here to listen.

sphire80

Hi Ladies.
I was down at Hyatt on Sat. The grand ballroom din impress my fiance and myself. Its dull green and black. Din hv a grand look at all. Somemore got pillars. The Vanda/Mangolia room worst.. pillars look like walls. So big.
Guess I might fall back to RTC.
Bendi, RTC ballroom very grand and nice. I was there during their bridal show in april. I fell in love with it the first sight. But my fiance keeps saying "Its only a club and cost same as an 3star hotel". We went again on Sat after Hyatt. I really like the place. RTC peaks are really good. Make a trip to RTC. The place looks magestic.

Shirley, Raffles hotel is abt 1200++ with max 25 tables. Menu not fantastic. Feel very limited with a price of bomb.

jlwc1974

thing is, try not to spend more than 1k per table, unless u r prepared to lose thousands of dollars just for the dinner itself ... why? because per table u can at most get back about $800 ... (that is excluding afew free tables to the in-laws during guo-da-li , and some miserable relatives who really give miserable ang-baos) so every table minimum lost $200 , means if you got 15 tables , its $3k lost ! if you got more tables , u lose more ! after minus hard liqour , beer , guo-da-li tables , etc etc , you could be losing $5-$7k , just for the dinner !! might as well use this $ for bridal photo/gowns and honeymoon right?

jlwc1974

the package i got was $688nett , with 1bot red wine per table (every additional bot is just $25) , 2barrels 30litre beer, 3d2n bridal suite , LCD usage , corkage waiver for hard liqour , 25% carpark , 70% invitation cards , champagne , cake , wedding favours , food tasting for 10pax , floral deco , etc etc...so while i can break even with the ang-baos , i dont need to even fork out any additional $ for wine n beer , LCD , or ever wedding favours... initially we tot of doing our dinner at Fullerton (victorian style) , but the price per table then was $1168 WITHOUT ANYTHING... no beer , no wine , just 1nite stay , no LCD , no wedding favours , NOTHING... if we add these in to the $1168 , wow , i tink i will be having a major headache now... really glad to have chosen Hyatt, our choice of hotel for wedding dinner

baby_fluff

Hi Twinstarz, thanks for ur feedback...As much as I'd love to go for Goodwood Park, we may have to seek alternative venues...my fren has also made the exact same comment as u..her colleague had such a bad encounter tat she threatened to sue them for booking the wrong date and giving up their original booked ballroom to someone else. I'm seriously considering The Oriental now...

BenDi, I can totally empathize with u..I share ur exact same sentiments cos I hate the low ceilings...plus the rooms are puny and I will have problems with regards to my gown which is really very big. Dun fret...I was quite set on taking Hyatt initially as well...but then again, everything is subjected to changes right? It's a minor setback and we should all just take it with a pinch of salt. Why dun u try Oriental, Sheraton Towers as well as Marriot? Their prices are quite similar..I am looking at them too..=)

Aiyoyo, I've seen Meritus Mandarin as well when my fren held a wedding there last yr...just didn't like the place...cos FH & I felt it was very typical of a restaurant setting..personal preference I guess..hee...maybe we are just difficult to please la..lolx.

Shirley, both the Fullerton & Raffles Hotel are priced on the high side. They should cost ard $1,300 per table and probably not within BenDi's budget. I would love to hold my wedding at Ritz (should be ard tt price too) as well but no $$...*sad*

aiyoyo

hi baby fluff,
i tink u went to the oriental court in MM. I dun like it too. I m considering MM coz the grand ballroom will be undergoing a major reno and the artist impression seems gd! and they have quite a comprehensive package. But den again, they might only be doing reno to the grand ballroom only, so might not be suitable for u. hmm..

dreamer17

Hi Sphire,

i think every individual have their own views. Hotel will always be a hotel be it 4 star 5 star...club will always be a club...and i think it cant be compare to a hotel if not hotel charge so much for wat?....btw hyatt is well know for its black theme. For me, black is always very elegant and when match with red table cloth for 2 VIP table, WOW....i tell u the whole ballroom will look very very elegant...of coz u need to match ur gown and ur hb suit to the surroundings colour like the theme, and back drop...all these are small details which some pple might have overlook so that the camera can capture u at ur best outlook and the contrast with the surroundings will be great...

For you i think u like bright places therefore u cannot take a place which is dark in colour like hyatt. mayb u shld take a look at some photos in this thread which show the ballroom done up with the black theme...also for the bridal suite, its really good too...mayb u can ask the coordiator to let u have a look at the bridal suite...

sphire80

Hi Dreamer

Actually.. I found the black theme really hip and trendy. Wht I meant was the colour of Hyatt ballroom itself. The green walls (softboards) really dont gel with black trimming. It makes the place look very old and sad. Even if the ballroom is set with black theme, the class will not be brought out. Sir Stamford room looks 80% more enchanted then the ballroom. In a room, every aspects counts... especially the walls. The light reflects the walls and brings out the gortic feel of it. But really disapointed that Hyatt's does not. I may be wrong. Neway me giving Hyatt a miss.

Hi Ah Ping.
Hyatt's BS just ended Sat. NEway they dont give extra peaks during their BS as their package is already very comprehensive.

baby_fluff

Hi Aiyoyo,

Yah I could haf gone to the other room instead of the Grand Ballroom...haiz...anyway, FH and I are on a tight budget...we went to The Oriental just now to take a look...liked it a lot but they r not cheap...haiz...so sad...Our budget is only 800++ (Nett) per table..so it's a little tough...sad...

haywiregirl

i am still quite depress. very sad...our st*pid 15 tables doesn't allow us to choose marriott and many more hotels. fullerton is very nice, really very very nice I could see. as well as oriental, way too expensive. more than 1k, now I am thinking, is once a lifetime thingy for me, i know I am going to rant like mad if I were to choose something cheaper than what I really want. guess if I were to ask my hubby to sell the share, he will probably be mad at me by thinking of spendind that much. He said I spent very much on BS, 3.5k, forgo a lot of thing just to get back the gown, no deco for car, no other gowns to change, PS at Sydney, dowry of 8888. But I already forgo my cake, wedding favors, beautiful bouquet. Can anyone slap me now.

twinstarz

wah bendi! actually i think ur FH is really v nice to give u a budget of 1k/table on top of ur BS, PS n dowry....=) dun be so upset ok? some of us may not even have what u already hv. im sure there'll definitely be a venue that satisfy u somehow. u just need to take the time to slowly go thru each of them. i think if u take the cheapest fullerton pkg, its abt 890+++ rite? can consider? maybe u should go down to the marriott show this sat to take a look, u nv know, u may find sth that suits ur requirement? wat about holiday inn parkview? its 1 of my other option too..tough i hv yet to read up much on it.

hey hey babyfluff! guess i will see u at the marriott show this sat! =) im going ard 3pm again (gotta work till 1pm..argh!!) u?? any BS appt this wk? heh heh.

haywiregirl

hi twinstarz, how nice of you trying to comfort me. Thanks a lot. I am married, so is Hubby, not FH,hehe. no way for marriott as their min req is 25 tables. they have low ceiling too. fullerton package, I have no idea, plan to have it on sat lunch as we don't have things like fetch the bride thingy, the tea serving will be in a hotel, so I am very particular the size of the room and the deco, i personally like the very grand feeling, was so sad seeing hyatt bridal suite, is it is just normal wedding, i don't bother but how to have 20 people in the rooms? my relatives are approx 20 of them and I need a beautiful room, makeup, hairdo, changing, photos will be all done in the room. I don't have local ps so that day we are like spending approx. 1k for the phototaking. then jingcha, proceed to lunch session, after that we both can rest. Anyone know if fullerton have lunch banquet?

jen02

Hi Bendi, maybe u can try Hoilday Inn Parkview. Their ballroom really very WOW. But their bridal suite really so sorry. I tink their package for 2006 to 2007 only less then 700 per table. The problem i dun like them is the bridal suite only. That y we didnt chose them. Oh.. u can try Hilton hotel too. If u like ur bridal suite to be huge, their really nice. Hm... i tink their package ard less then 900.

Hi girls, anyone dun mind can email me what tings inculded in ur package? My email [email protected]. Me and hubby actually luv the SSR reception area but we luv the Hibiscus room. Our fren say everyone will spend more time at the room then reception. Now we don't know which better. Can Hibiscus sit for 25 table? I feel it be very cramp.

twinstarz

hey bendi! oops..sorry, thot u are also a bride to be..=) by the way, i think fullerton's straits room cater to smaller crowd...u can check it out. heard its nice n cosy n has quite an english feel as well.

hey sphire,chijmes is at 800+++??? i tot its at least 1k...hee...now i can check it out as well. =)

haywiregirl

twinstarz, i am a "bride to be", just got romed so he is my husband officially.I haven't wear any bridal gown yet okay? hahha..

chijmes min 25/30 so no way for me, hilton doesn't cater my pathetic 15 tables too.

thanks for all inputs!!!!Xie Xie, still sourcing around..

jlwc1974

frankly speaking ... do u guys tink it is worth it to spend over $5k just for 'gothic' or 'victorian' style that some of the expensive hotels like fullerton and raffles offer? i tink $5k can do alot of things ... such as honeymoon , bridal photoshoot , gown , etc

haywiregirl

jlwc, of cause is not worth the money. I just hope my "depression" goes away quickily, hope what I wanted was just out of impulse. Hyatt has very comprehensive package and the most good deal among all 5 * hotel.

To relieve myself, i actually went for running at 2300hours yesterday night.

baby_fluff

HI gals,

If u r looking at CHIJMES, may I bring up some impt points..Indeed CHIJMES has a wonderful ambience..however, they are merely caterers...meaning ur food is not gg to be tat fantastic and probably not as nice as most of the hotel's menu. Secondly, they do not offer any complimentary Car Park passes and each pass will cost the guest $8.00. I would say u are merely paying for the ambience...also, i am not sure if they even have a bridal suite thrown into ur package..Just my 2 cents worth of opinions for your consideration b4 u decide on CHIJMES! =)

baby_fluff

Hi Twinstarz,

I wun be gg for any more BSs liaoz la...mainly concentrating on my Photographer & Videographer & most imptly, my banquet venue.. still a huge headache..I am more or less set with my BS but I will need to iron out some issues with the respectively BSs cos I am thinking of mix and matching their packages...will have to see how the negotiation goes...*keeping my fingers crossed*

haywiregirl

chijmes is def a no no to me now.

can anyone share with me, if I can upgrade one night of my bridal suit to maybe presidential suite at some add. cost?

eveuloveme

hi jaslyn,
u will need some songs during the cocktail before the dinner... enough for abt an hour or so...

two songs for the 2 march in.

a song for the first dish....

then i suppose when u are going round the tables u will need some songs too...

borders have a good selection of wedding songs.. u can take a look... they have romantic ones, jazzy ones.. quite a good selection

jlwc1974

i plan to have jazz songs using the black and red theme that grand hyatt offer ... very cool :D (got over 40 titles by michael buble, diana krall , ella fitzgerald , frank sinatra , etc etc)

seafaith

last night my friends told me that he and her wife went to a fren weddidng at Hyatt on last 2 month, they found that Hyatt food was not nice. Hopefully they can improve the quality of food. But, what i feel different ppl have different taste. Hopefully their food will suit for my friends and relatives.

blueybubble

Hey Eve,

Wow! Your fren and you are so lucky! Have quartets and live jazz band. How I wish I can have a live band or something. It'll be really cool! But I think my biggest wish is for my FH is secretly learn piano and surprise me with some romantic song. But too bad, he is not going to. And, wanna thank you for your help for the cam. You really save my day! 7 days to my wedding. Wish me luck!