Grand Hyatt Singapore

shiro_ger

Twin,
I thought it will be cramped. But like i said just now, Zona assured me that it will not be so. Because our defination of cramp may be different, dats why i thought it would be good to go down and judge for yourself.

If i am not wrong, you can choose Magnolia room (min 25 tables) or stamford ballroom with the same black and red theme (if i am not wrong). Just that there are pillars in Magnolia room. That's why the pricing for Magnolia may be slightly lower than SSR (To compensate for the presence of pillars). Magnolia Room is quite big, too.

Personally, i prefer SSR coz it is more personal. As explained by seafaith, SSR is the only bigger functions room on mezza9 level and there will not be cases where guest might walk into the wrong wedding ballroom.

Just signed the agreement with GH and finally, 1 task down on my wedding preparation list.

seafaith

Hi Twinstarz & Yunxi,

The photo i have for Hyatt black theme is same as what Shirley posted as above. I also get this from Agape.

No worry, SSR with 25 table is just nice and not cramp at all. But, if go to 28-30 table then sure will be very cramped. Further more, all the theme that hyatt have can be applied to any hyatt ballroom. Just individual preferred i think. I have read some bride magazine that the bride hold their banquet at Hyatt with Red theme, turn out very nice like oldies Shanghai. I am thinking of that too. But still not yet decide.

Hi Shirley, are u also booked for SSR?

Oh ya the first 2 photo that posted by shirley cfm is SSR.

baby_fluff

Precisely Twinstarz, my sentiments exactly.

anyway with my number of tables 30-35, think i can only settle for the magnolia room..btw, does anyone knows wat other themes does Hyatt offers>? Other than the red+black and red theme?

twinstarz

hey shirley! thanx..hyatt's hving a bridal show? when when?? wah...u must be realli glad to hv finally settled the headache of looking for a venue. when's ur AD by the way?

hey seafaith! ok, noted. i like that 4th pic that shirley posted. is that the centre piece for all tables? its really nice!

shiro_ger

Hi Seafaith,
Ya, i have booked SSR for my wedding next year. My coordinator is Zona.

Hi Twin,
This is what i heard from my coordinator when i last spoke to her. Coz i already signed the agreement, so din asked for more details. You might want to call them direct for more details. Actually i find that that GH package is quite comprehensive. So-far managed to cover whatever my fh and i is looking out for, except free flow beer. I also heard that most hotels do not offer any more free flow beer, wonder how true it is.

twinstarz

hey ladies..i just went to read the archive of this thread n i think i realli scared myself! so many lengthy complains on the service n the sound system..sigh. i hope evthg goes well for all our weddings though ***keeps fingers crossed for all of us***

hey shirley, could u send me zona's email or contact? have heard favourable feedback abt her her services! =)

babyfluff! magnolia rm is the 1 with the pillars?

shiro_ger

Seafaith,
My AD is 15 Oct 2007.

Twin,
I raised the sound system issue with Zona on my 1st appointment with her. She didnt really try to take sides, but she felt that we shouldnt so-called "blacklist" them just bcoz of 1 incident. What they can help to do on their side is to test out the sound system on the eve and afternoon of the AD itself. If have problem, then they can rectify immediately.
I will send Zona's email to your email addy. I dun have have DID coz i usu communicate with her via email. She has been very prompt with email enquires.

aiyoyo

hi twinstarz, baby fluff!!
i am here too! went down to hyatt just now.
the one with pillars is the grandballroom/1/2, which is something i dun really like.

baby_fluff

Hi Twinstarz,

I cannot PM u cos u dun accept PMs..btw, the bridal showcase is this coming sat 1pm to 5pm. Yah most unfortunately, Magnolia Room is the one with pillars. =(

Wat was the complain abt the sound system? Can share?

haywiregirl

Well, maybe we should just go down together, i mean 3 couples and try to push our luck for some "more" perks.Hahaha, I was there too with my husband.

fyi.I was in my uniform today meeting Audrey Seow.

We just need 15 tables, no other room can choose, only camelia. Saw the place, along the corridor, not much of privacy, just in case the hibicus room has other function, it will look "messy", Audrey was telling us that if we think the place is bit too crowded, we can always get our guests to be seated while viewing our PS in oversea.

aiyoyo

hi bendi, u were at hyatt today too? wat time were u there? in ur uniform? wats ur uniform? i was there meeting zona au.

haywiregirl

I was there around 1830hours - 1930hours.
I was in Nurse creamy white uniform with my ah beng husband.
we were trying to ask for a better bridal suite, find it too office. but then she said unless we downgrade which is not to advisable. We will be having some performance on our dinner, piano is needed and she said rental from 500 onwards, but if we bring our own keyboard, then she will fix it up, she also said no need to rent their LCD as too ex, asked us to bring then they will fix as well. Find Audrey is very accomodative, all the things I asked, she said yes except the room thingy. FOC wine can be mix with red/white, take home the rest if not opened.Photos, theme and invitation cards are ready for us to see when I asked. Allowed to check in 1 day before dinner. Invitation card can ask for more. we are wuite happy that she actually showed us the bridal suite where others don't do that.

jen02

Hi Girls, am newbie to tis Hyatt forum. Today me and my hubby went down to have a look at Sir Stamford Room and Hibicus room. Wow.. tis two room really left a great impresstion on our mind. Thanks god finally found the hotel for us.

We be tinking of gettin Sir Stamford room, our coordinator say min 25 table. Anyone can get 23 table for the room? Check with our coordinator, the chair bows it be $10 each! we find it very expensive. Anyone can get cheaper? He say we can get outside but they muz check for the material. Which cannot use orgnizer. Anyone have idea wat kind of material isst allow? So headache. My hubby and i luv the black and red themes. Hehe.. So happy.. Haha..

seafaith

Hi Jenny,

Are u looking for the weekend banquet? If weekend then the SSR and Hibiscus room is min 25 table. My is on weekday, so manage to get min 23 table for SSR.

Meantime, what u mean the chair bows need $10 each? Can let me know more?

twinstarz

hey hey aiyoyo! so qiao rite...meet u n babyfluff in this thread as well. heh. yah, i heard almost all the rms hv the pillars prob..cept for sir stamford..but that rm can't meet ur 50 tables requirement.

hey babyfluff, how do activate my PM function ah? the complain was by this bride who had her slideshow presentation thingy ruined by the sound system...n that the staff were nt helpful abt resolving the prob. the post was fr quite long ago though, so hopefully all that is solved now. anyway, like wat shirley said, she also raised this with zona n they already hv preventive measure in place...shld be ok i hope. =)

shirley! thx! got ur email on zona's contact. wah, ur AD is after my intended date (june 07) but u already booked the hotel venue...lucky u! 1 headache resolved. did u compare with marriott by the way? im quite torn btw these 2....sigh...

hey jenny! welcome to the thread! i love the sir stamford room too! the black theme is just gorgeous rite.

shiro_ger

Hi Twin,
Hee... me and fh kiasu mah. Actually have shortlisted fullerton, marriot, meritus mandarin and hyatt. But have strike off fullerton coz my fh's sis held hers there last year and food is only average. We find Meritus Mandarin's ballroom abit yellowish and it is with pillars, so strike this off as well. As for marriot, per table pricing is lower than hyatt but they have higher table requirements (think 30 or 35 tables on weekdays), so we strike out marrriot as well. We decide to hold a simple wedding so that we can account to my future mother-in-law. But then, i felt that there is more room for negotiation (for perks) at marriot.

Jennifer,
Are you refering to 2006 or 2007 weddinf packages?

aiyoyo

hi shirley,
Meritus mandarin has got pillars? I have also shortlisted it, will be going down this sat to take a look. Isn't mariott's per table rate the same as hyatt's? the weekend rate is the same. u referring to weekday rates?

shiro_ger

Ya, i am refering to weekday rates. I recalled my fh's sis commeting that there are pillars in marriot's ballroom, duno whether i heard wrongly or not. If i wasn't just having a small celebration, might also consider marriot coz the perks which my fren has is quite attractive.

For meritus mandarin, the one that adeline (the coordinator) brought me to has pillars. There is another room without pillars, but can't remember whether is it for a bigger or smaller capacity. You may want to request to see both rooms on saturday. They are directly opp each other.

baby_fluff

Welcome to the thread Jenny and Jennifer! =)

Twinstarz, maybe u could go to your profile to activate it...in any case, if u can't, y dun u just give me ur email then i'll email u instead!

Gals, anyone gg for the bradial showcase at Hyatt's this coming Sat?? =)

twinstarz

babyfluff! i activate liao. u try k? else, u can email me : [email protected]
im going for the bridal showcase! but im trying to find out if must register n all. do u noe? u going oso??

hey shirley & aiyoyo! yah, marriott's ballrm has 1 pillar but 1 of the bride who had her dinner thr mentioned that she had 45 tables n nt a single table was blocked by the pillar, so, not that bad i guess.

baby_fluff

Twinstarz, done..me PM u liaoz..i dunno leh..my coordinator told me tat we did not need to register..just go there beow can already as it's meant for 2006 couples and we are 07. Me will be there at 11am cos my coordinator wants us to be there b4 the show..wat time r u gg? The show is from 1pm to 5pm.

sphire80

Hi Twin.. According to my coordinator.. no registeration required. There'll be no boutique or photography companies. Its solely Hyatt.

shiro_ger

Hi Seafaith,
Think they have increase their pricing already. Mine is based on 2007 pricing package. The following is their latest pricing.

<table border=1><tr><td></TD><TD>Weekday</TD><TD>Weekend </TD></TR><TR><TD>Camelia Room</TD><TD>$728 nett</TD><TD>$868 nett </TD></TR><TR><TD>Magnolia / Vanda Room</TD><TD>$728 nett</TD><TD>$868 nett </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sir Stamford Room</TD><TD>$828 nett</TD><TD>$998 nett </TD></TR><TR><TD>Grand Ballroom I/II</TD><TD>$828 nett</TD><TD>$998 nett </TD></TR><TR><TD>Hibiscus Room</TD><TD>$828 nett</TD><TD>$998 nett </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

jen02

Hi Seafaith, am looking in weekend. Duno if they allow me 23 table then reserved 2 table. Have u sign up with them? Today my hubby call our coordinator whole day, but seem they so bz. No one at desk.

Oh.. i plan to put chair bows for guests chairs as well. Our coordinator say each chair have to add up $10. Which nearly make me faint. For the table cloth, if we wan to add in another colour have to add in $20. Wah liao.. got scare off abt the price. Wonder if i take the black and red themes. Will the guest table cloth be black and red too? If that the cases i dun tink i need to add more money in liao.

Oh.. did u girls get 1 more night stay? What kind of stuff can i ask for it? Seems that our coordinator very hard to tok too. My hubby thinking of changing our coordinator but scare it not good idea. Trying avoid confict. Hehe..

How u girls tink abt the wedding favour? I plan to take away the favour they provided me and take the money to buy a favour outside. Isst possible? Remember there once a couple i know, they held their wedding at Beaufort sentosa and they allow them to refund the favour and they buy it outside. I dun really like the idea of cakes and chocolates.

sphire80

Hi Jenny

I dont think Hyatt allows refund for favors. I'll try to serve the favor (without packaging) for cocktail session. Then get my own favors lor. But not sure if they'll agree to this.

twinstarz

hey shirley! there's been an increase in price???!!!! ohhh nooo....sigh.

sphire &amp; babyfluff, thx for the info, i'll just pop by for a look then!

babyfluff! got ur PM! will sms u later. =)

baby_fluff

Jenny, who is ur coordinator? Yah..as wat Sphire says, there is no refund for the wedding favours...u will only get a little additional stuff ie. more car park passes or an extra room for ur helpers etc.

Yap Twinstarz...prices have increased by another $20/table...haiz...prices of hotels always increase but ang baos will always remain the same...i heard from my frenz tat they even received newspapers as ang baos and many $20 ones too...so sad right? So u gg down tmr to Hyatt ah?? Gd gd..me gg to be there! lolx! =)

seafaith

Hi Shirley,

Thanks for your adv. Too bad they had increased the weekday table price and still maintain the weekend price. For the SSR and hibiscus room weekday price, they had increased $40 per table. Lucky me signed the contract on last December before they increase the price.

Oh ya shirley, is the Hyatt price for Friday/Sunday same as Saturday? Last time there have $10 diff for this 2 weekend date.

Hi Jenny,

Which co-ordinatir u talk to at Hyatt? My co-ordinator also always not at the desk. Think they always need busy for others entertainment arrangement. If u can't get them, just leave a message or send them an email. They will back to u. This is what i do. I also record the timing that they call me, so next time i can call them at around that time. So far my co-ordinator really help me a lot.

For the minimum table, try talk to co-ordinator, see whether they can help or not.

For the chair bow, for me i not really want to spend this type of money. I had seen hyatt wedding banquet before, quite nice, think no need add anything. U just drop down and have a look, see will u like it ok or not. I am very simple person cause i don't want spend too much money on the wedding and better save more money for our honeymoon which more memorable.

I don't think Hyatt will refund money to u if u don't want their wedding favour. Think they will allow u to change for others perks. I'm not thinking to get my own favour cause i feel it's waste money and some more, not everyone will like the favour u choose and sometimes got ppl don't want take it also. So wasted. As for the chocalate or cake, think my guest can eat it if they are too hungry but the banquet still yet to start. Especially for the kids.

Hyatt actually having very comprehensive package, that's why they not much room to move on the negotiation. Maybe u can try to get more car park and the cards.

I got 2 night stay for the bridal room and one night stay for the helper. If no use u can keep it for others day or on your universary.

Happy planning ya!

baby_fluff

Yah Sphire, I hope my frenz wun do this to me...I will feel very hurt if I were to receive newspapers from my frenz..I'm not too sure if they have the Ang Pao boxes. According to their list, they only offer the Guest Book..anyway, will check wif my coordinator tmr. U'll be gg as well right?

Shirley, the rates for Fri &amp; Sun are different frm Sat's rates.

shiro_ger

Babyfluff and Seafaith,
The 2007 wedding package that Zona has sent to me has indicated that the rates for Fri to Sun, except eve and PH, is the same.

Seafaith,
What are the perks that you get from Hyatt when you signed with them last year? Can share? PM me, k?

People,
I have judged for myself what baby fluff had said. I attended a wedding as a jie mei and when we opened the ang bao at night, we found newspapers, which was given by a close friend of the bride. Then there is another $2 ang bao where the whole family of 5 came. Wah... mean people are still around lor.

eveuloveme

Hyatt doesn't provide ang pow box....
But u can request for them to lend u a crystal bowl or something to hold the ang pow if u want.

baby_fluff

Hi Shirley &amp; Seafaith,

Yah pai sei...the new list indicates the same rates thruout Fri to Sun and PH and eve of PH. I was looking at the hard copy list (gotten from my fren) which apparently is outdated..My apologies...

Btw Seafaith, do u think u could email me the perks tat u have gotten last year as well from Hyatt? If it's ok for u, my email is [email protected] Thanks a mil! =)

Shirley, I bet those cheapo ppl did not put down their names right? Did u guys guessed their identities by the process of elimination? Maybe we should indicate at the bottom of the invitation card that we will thank the guests in the Hong Kong way ie. Using a loudspeaker and opening the ang bao in front of them to announce Mr &amp; Mrs So &amp; So have contributed $2 in their congratulatory red packet to the newly weds. Haha..sure very malu one...but tat's exactly wat they do in HK...not bad right? lolx...

twinstarz

hey ladies..sigh. i just got the updated pkg fr zona. thr realli is an increase of $40/ table man. shirley, u really v lucky! managed to secured the old price for ur Oct 07 AD! =)

hey babyfluff! wah lau...newspaper &amp; $2 ang pows???!!! that's damn mean! i will be so furious lor...hahaha. heh, din noe they do that in HK...wat a cool idea! but then it'll be a really long draggy dinner..esp for those who hv many tables.

see u gals at the bridal show tmw! babyfluff, i think i will only be thr ard 2 or 3 leh. wat time u leaving? u having ur TWP appt as well rite?

blueybubble

Gosh! So the newspaper and two dollars thingy is quite rampant! Heard it from another people as well! I was thinking of asking the reception people to open the ang pao on the spot, but like not very nice. think the only thing they can do is to scribble the names down very quickly if no names are written on the ang paos. wonder why people can be so mean to do that!

jen02

My gosh, tis forum really run so fast. Hehe.

My coordinator is a male. I forget the name. mostly is my hubby who call him. Hehe. He try to ask for one more night with him over the phone, but seems he wouldnt let me have it. How u girls tok to them huh? Maybe i can try. Haha. Hm.. for the gift i try to tok with our coordinator. If cannot refund then i ask them if possible i dun wan the gift and turn it be to a chocolate fonder after the wedding dinner. Hope it works. Hai.. find very hard to get helper room leh. If can, i turn it be our 3 night. Hehe..

Tomolo am going there ard 4pm for the show. Wat they be showing huh? Isst those bridal show?

Wah!! Cant imaging how bad singaporean are. My hubby's sis had her wedding at Swissotel. I remember there a table of frens, they dun even give a cents for whole table! That really so bad. Even worse, a family of 6 juz give a bottle of red wine which bought from duty free! Another 2 couple give cooking pan! Cant imaging that. That a lesson for us. We plan to dun invite those ppl.

Hm... my hubby be tinking, all angbaos if no name, we ask our jiemei to write it down b4 drop in the angbao box. Hehe.

Girls, i did the Angbows box myself. It very easy. I bought the furry cloth and a pack of white pearl at arab street. Last time we bought white fake flower from Bangkok. Then juz DIY myself. My fren who see it say very nice. Overall only cost less then $20. Maybe u all can DIY it urself too.

haywiregirl

oh my god, my sis's wedding, malay gave $20, family of more than a table(about 12) gave $500, another big size family of 4 gave $200. She had hers at MM but breakeven la. she is lucky. My mum checked with some of my aunties, they said if hotel they will give $80/pax but this family of more than 10, I think better give each indiv. family a invitation card. if not the "TAN/LIM" family come and give $500 for ALL.haha.

shiro_ger

Twin,
Mine was the 2007 pricing package even though i signed earlier, 828 nett per table for SSR.

Girls,
What my fh's sis did for her wedding is to come up with a column of individual codes (next to every name)for her guest list. Then the ang bao box, we put at the furthest end from the guest (even tho they are still able to reach it). When the guests came, either my fh or myself will take the ang bao from them to check whether they put names. If not, then we will put down the code so that it is faster (just in case 1 group of pple came together). I think this idea not bad, but we still missed out a few ah cats and ah dogs.

jaslyn~00

do you all use the song provide by haytt?if yes, can share with me how big the range is to select the song?do they provide chinese song as well?

blueybubble

Hey Shirley,

That's a good idea! Is the code according to the table number?

Hey Jaslyn,

I think Hyatt provide songs, but my coordinator said that preferable, bring your own cds. Anyway I asked someone to arrange all the songs for me. So that I wun have a headache sourcing for songs. If you wan, I can pass you his contacts.

shiro_ger

Hi Blueybubble,
Yup, the code for table 1 starts with 1A, 1B, 1C or A1, B1, C1 etc. If it's a groom's table, then maybe code it as 1A, 1B etc. If bride's table, then A1, B1 etc. This is done so as to differenciate between groom's and bride's table.

baby_fluff

Alamak Twinstarz, I had just gotten out of the carpark by the time I read ur message. Actually I was there at 11.15am already cos I was talking to my coordinator who wanted me to go b4 the show.

Unfortunately, my room, the Magnolia room, is actually just an amalgamation of all their little function rooms...With the ceiling so low, I am starting to have my qualms abt that place. U see, I dun like having low ceiling ballrooms...just dun feel right for me..*sad* But I will be gg down again on Tuesday evening to see the actual set up...hopefully it will look totally "transformed" as wat my coordinator assures me of..

Yah me went to TWP and Amanda Lee yesterday. I had a very good experience at AL but not so much so for TWP cos both my FH &amp; fren were quite put off by the designer's attitude.. He told me I could only try on 2 gowns and isn't superbly friendly I would say.

Nonetheless for AL, I showed her my hand-drawn WG design and discussed wif her on the type of gowns tat I liked, she came out with some sketches on the spot..cool isn't she? Cos I guess she knew tat I wanted something quite different from her usual designs &amp; she was very helpful. She told us wat could be done &amp; wat could not be done &amp; we were all pretty impressed..Think I'm gg for AL instead of TWP. =)