Grand Hyatt Singapore

cindeekoh

hello girls,

i am thinking of Hyatt garden...but have yet to speak to the hotel about it. My AD is next June but we have not gotten any venue booking yet. we only talked properly about it today and we realized that we have nothing to start with...only a few bridal magazines..but i want it outdoor loh...came across hyatt and saw the garden...very unique...does anyone has any idea wat is the maximum capacity for that place? am starting to get gan cheong liao...cos i heard most of the hotels have already opened up their booking for next yr...sighz

btw, ivory, may i take a look at your photos too? hope you don't mind. my email @ is [email protected]

xoxo

Hi Cindee,

u might wan to refer to Grand Hyatt website. They got all the info there. There r some pics for the function rooms there too.

Hello Cindee,

Just call them up and discuss with their coordinator.
You might be lucky enough to see the actual set up this month.

yuckie

Yesterday i went down to see the black theme set up at the Grand Ballroom. Wow must say that it was indeed really nice leh... too bad , didnt bring along my camera if not , shld be able to take some pic.

I guess i am going to have that black theme for my wedding.

yuckie

Hi Limay

didnt hear anything from Hyatt side leh. Cos it was my co-ordinator who informed me about this then asked me to go n have a look.

But she told me that the couple who had it yesterday was a upgraded one. they were having the Shanghai theme with those red lanterns all this.

Think i shall go for the black theme cos it is so much nicer compared to the white theme.

Hi Lynette,

I was not informed of the "Shanghai" theme by my coordinator. But he said that the black theme would still be there (seems like no plans to scrap it off).

Do you have any pics of the white theme? I haven't seen it before.

yuckie

Hi Tsukushi

The Shanghai theme was the couple forking out extra money for that. For those lanterns and red red cloth... etc...

Hmm.. ya i go have a few pictures of the white theme. I have saved them up and using them to compare.

I can email it to you.

lourdes

hi lynette, can email me the white theme as well? thanks alot

anyone having their wedding in the grand ballroom on 22nd of may this month?

eveuloveme

anyone know anything about the new invitation cards that hyatt is providing?

how about the themes? what are the different themes available? thank you all so much!

Hi Lynett,
can you email me the pics of the white them?
my addy is [email protected]
thank you so much

yuckie

Eveuloveme, Makino, Lourdes

I have emailed you the white theme. Actually is just the table top in white colour and chairs in white.

Right now, hyatt is offering 2 choices, either a white or black.

me looking more at the black theme cos i kind of like it lor cos is classic look.

I have also asked my co-ordinator about the new invitation cards, she said in the mid of discussion. No firm decisions yet.

Btw, anyone who wan to have a look at the Black theme , can pop by at the Grand Ballroom this friday. the couple is having the black theme. But somehow do bear in mind that, this is a upgraded theme, they paid more to add in those sash, this n that.

Hi Lynette,

Thanks for the pix! The white theme just look like 'no theme' to me.
Did the couple of the white theme top-up for alternate sashes?

preci0usm0ments

Hey Everybody..Just wanted to share with you guys that there is a Bridal showcase for Weddings in 2005 at Grand Hyatt on the 28 May from 1-5pm. Heard there are lots of perks like 2 barrels of beer, free wines for all table and free night stay for helpers etc.Looks like a good deal..those still looking for venues in 2005 should check it out

yuckie

Hi Makino

I not sure abt the alternate sashes. But i did enquire from my co-ordinator , seem like have to top up.

Ya, that is the normal table set up for the white color.

If u do wan a theme to be done up, have to pay for extras.... ;(

eveuloveme

Hi Lynette,

Thank you very much for the pics,may i know when u take them? hmm i agree with makino that the white theme look like "no theme", it looks so bare.

i hope they have better themes soon...

beezbride

The price is the same for all colour themes that are available. You only pay extra when you ask for extras or thing that are different eg. square tables, alternate sash, special flowers etc.

But they only have black and white themes currently, I think?? And white theme is like no theme cos it looks quite the same as all other places.

ah_blur

took up GH package. Anyone got free projector from the wedding planner? How come have to pay S$350 to use the projector? Juz tinking it so unfair lor

ah_blur

I'm tinking of the black theme as well after viewing all the positive remarks from here
anyone have pic to show?can share wif me?btw how did your relative reacted when they saw the setting? Thanks

email add: [email protected]

eveuloveme

hi ah blur,

nope didn't manage to bargain for the use of the projector, hahah cos i think i only have 20 tables not much bargain power. in fact i didn't manage to bargain for anything at all, except for beers.

hope it helps

limay

Ah Blur, how many tables are u getting? We had our wedding at the SRR in Dec (26 tables) & managed to get the projector for free, also got them to throw in alternate matt gold sashes for our black themed wedding, & the baby grand piano rental. Changed the wedding cards for 1 extra nite at the bridal suite (total 3 nites). They were quite generous with the flowers too.

Maybe u need to be more persistent? Good luck!

hi eveuloveme,

Did you bargain for seat covers? I think they are not included in the normal package.

Hi Bigtoes,

We were told that the cards are really cheap to them, and they are only willing to give us some rebates for things like room service. Projector is 'impossible' cos they need to rent it from an external company, and sashes are impossible too as they need to rent it and it involves manpower to tie them up. Oh yeah, piano is again, impossible cos it's 'spoilt'. I guess you're really really lucky!

limay

Makino - we werent all that lucky...they didnt start the table setup till 6+pm (there was another conference in the ballroom before that), & ended up quite rushed cos some of our guests who came early were stranded outside the ballroom!
I suppose it depends on which coordinator u are dealing with too..some are not as flexible on the freebies...dont see why, esp. since they raised the table prices for 2005!

Bigtoes - I guess small hiccups happen.
But it was lucky enough that you've got so many perks compared to most of us!

ah_blur

Hi Bigtoes,

Thank you so much for sending the picture! The place was so classy and nice!
You look great too. I was still not convinced when i 1st saw SSR. Look so dull without deco.

skybebe

hi, i'm interested in brides or brides-to-be who are having their wedding at grand hyatt, what type of flowers did you or will you choose for your set-up?
I like roses and was thinking of using it in the set-up but wonder if it may be too common as all the set-ups i saw in grand hyatt were done in roses. So I was thinking perhaps orchids? Anyone saw a set-up in orchids?

Hi skybebe,

You can request your coordinator to show you the pix of a setup with orchids. I think besides roses and orchids, you can choose baby breath too.

When is your AD? Not sure whether by that time they will have changed their setup already.

gs1979

Hi gals, i tried calling up grand hyatt yesterday but alwaz cant get to tok to the wedding coordinator. Anyone care to share whos the coordinator??

eveuloveme

hi ah blur and all,

wow i didn't bargain for chair covers too, cos i tot it is included in the decorations! my coordinator was telling me hyatt doesn't stinge on decorations, so i tot chair covers are given.. look like have to bargain for a lot of things, and if want to "up" the decorations must top up. hmmm so dissapointed.

and the card designs are not too good too, praying they come up with something nice, cos when i signed up with them in feb, they told me that they are in the process of re designing their cards.

argggghhhhhhh, i am starting to regret.... should have sign up with four seasons, at least i know they include piano in the package, and also lots of nice flowers, and they have nicer invites too....

xoxo

I was at the wedding showcase today. The card is diff fro the last x I saw it think during Jan 2005. This xthe card is much better than the one I saw in Jan. Still plain but better loh.

Jamie

xoxo

Hi eveuloveme,

If I'm not wrong, the theme and favours more or less about the same. Even flowers they use also the same. The only changes I realise is the invites. One is red with the chinese word "xi" and another is white with 2 small hearts. White one is better. Some changes too for chair covers but dunno on extra cost or not.

Din really stay long, me juz drop by only. Took a quick look and left... so not very sure also...

Hi jamie,

Thanks for sharing!

I have seen the red invitation card, and it looks something like what T Dragon has on their website.

How does the new chair cover look like? Can describe a bit?

As for the favours, I think they are having the fortune cookie, cake and choc. Not sure whether they are keeping it for next year.

bits

Hi eve,

It's SSR. Beige wallpaper with green at the bottom. Hibiscus is warm orange.

Does anybody have the weekend lunch prices?

lyd

Anyone know if Gary has left? I was handed over to him to handle,but when I tried to email him, the email was rejected.