Grand Hyatt Singapore

puzzlerain

Hi skybebe

I have just had my wedding on 19th Dec. My dessert was yam paste. So far all my guest, comment the food was nice especially the yam paste. Overall it ok just that the mike was not working properly that day.

puzzlerain

limay

I had my wedding last Sat - everything went well, EXCEPT we werent too happy with them setting up the tables only at 6pm (there was a function in the room till then) & there was a little mess up on the table seating!!! We also didnt get the banquet captain we were assigned earlier.

But other than that, we had the black theme, and people commented that it was really classy
Comments on the food, wine, etc was fabulous (one of the better chinese wedding dinners)

Zen - we had the garden wedding solemnisatio thrown in FOC in 2003 (set up, flowers) so you might want to bargain that as a package deal.

limay

Hey Marilyn - thanks
no pix yet, all still in several digicams, or downloaded but not on website (no cable connection @ new place yet). Pix from the professional photographer wont be ready till a fortnights. Will load up some online after our honeymoon!

fat

Hello Bigtoes, congrats to your AD again. Infact I did went down on that day to peep at your ballroom. It was beautiful! Both me & hubby really like the theme. I know the set up was very late coz both of us also waited quite long and when we return back, we oredi saw your family members all standby at the recept area liao....we were so pai sey to go into the room coz they might tot that we are one of your guests....kekeke.....
We also went to view the grand ballroom on that day too....happen to have 3 weddings in total on that day.....the ballroom was beautiful too.....
well, too bad I dun have that many guests to have that room.......

limay

Hey ...fat - thanks!

Actually, i didnt even had a good look at my own ballroom, cos i didnt get to peek in before the wedding started (since they were still setting up) :eek:P Have to wait till my wedding pix are ready.

Yah - there were 3 weddings that night, 1 woman even came wrongly to mine & dropped her angpow into my wedding box. My sister had to fish it out. hehe

romed

hi,I am preparing my wedding for June 2005. Anyone knows if 24 bottles of wine is enough for a 25 table wedding? I am understanding Hyatt is charging corkage charges.. does any brides or ex-brides knows the cost involved( like cost of corkage per bottle etc)??

puzzlerain

Hi skybebe

My room was hisbicus. I have took the normal setting with babybreath and red rose. Very nice. So far very satisfied with the decoration just that some of my guest did not took the paper weight cum message reminder in the shape of the fortune cookies as they did not know it a gift.

oraia

hi michelle,

it depends on whr ur guests are heavy drinkers. we had 25 tables and we only opened about 24 bottles cos not many of our guests drank. it also depends on which day ur wedding is on, i suppose. usu ppl drink more on sat evenings.

corkage i think is about $100 for 12 bottles if they haven't changed it.
u may wish to check w hyatt.

hope that helps!

swatch2004

hi oraia,

have not seen you for a while...

belated congrats for your wedding.. and wish you a blissul married life ahead...

how was your wedding? any pics to share??

skybebe

Thanks, puzzlerain for the info!

I forgot to congratulate you on your recent nuptials! Wishing you a wonderful and blissful life ahead!

Hi Michelle
You only have to pay corkage charges if you intend to bring in your own wine. You can also opt to purchase wine directly from Grand Hyatt. For that, you won't have to pay corkage charge.

oraia

hello swatch!!

yup haven't logged in much as i have been flying in and out of sg since wedding hehe.

how've u been? thanks so much for ur well wishes!! i so miss my wedding!

eh... no pics unfortunately... they're rather huge, so am too lazy to upload anywhere!! :p
but have to say hyatt was great, ev thing went perfect!

which country are u in now?

skybebe

Puzzlerain

When you said that the mike wasn't working properly, did the banquet manager tried to fix it immediately? Was that solved or did the problem last the entire night?

isobellies

hey beezusgal,

i'm also looking at early 2006, jan/feb. but if hyatt is only having their show in june 2005, do you think that it's a bit risky and the dates we want might be taken up ah?? :S

oraia

hi swatch,

hehe
i was just in hk for the past week. returned this afternoon...

honeymoon was quite ok - we went to bali, and then hong kong.
not quite used to married life - i can't believe i'm married still!

is ur hubby still in melb?

incredible

Hi Oraia

May I know how many barrels of beer did you have to order from Grand Hyatt for table of 25? I am having 30 tables, so am wondering how many barrels of beer I have to order.

oraia

hi puccagal,

my pkg (when i signed it in 2003) had a 30L barrel free. i think grand hyatt revised their pkgs after that tho'.

i didn't buy extra beer fr the hotel that night, so i think beer consumption was below 30L.

again it depends on whr ur guests drink alot. u cld play by ear - eg. if beer seems to be running out before halfway thru dinner, u cld considering buying another barrel fr hyatt. if it's already twds the end of the dinner, then perhaps u can go on a per glass basis... which will be cheaper than getting a whole barrel.

hope that helps!

incredible

Thanks oraia.

Hmmm.. did your guest drink a lot of wine instead of beer then? How many cartons of wine should I prepare? Is 12 or 24 bottles of wine enough?

oraia

hi puccagal,

no prob! my guests didnt' drink much i think. overall, they consumed about 24 bottles (i prepared 36 - 3 cartons). usu when u order ur wines, they shd be able to estimate the no. of bottles u need to cater for depending on day of wedding and no. of tables. if u can, try and get ur wines on consignment, so u can return them.

happy new year!

swatch2004

hi oraia,

i also still can't feel that i am married after all these times..hehe.. probably becasue we are still living apart..

he is in sg at the moment, and i am back to hk after 2 weeks of holiday... =p

skyblue_77

hi, I was abt to sign up with GH. But after reading all the msg. The mike was spolit, music was not proper play, black out twice during dinne...etc ... Now i need to consider again ?
But what is the overall rating ??

skybebe

Hi skyblue

I guess it depends on how much you want Grand Hyatt for your wedding venue.

For me, I was all along quite biased towards them cos I had a great experience in service and quality of food when I arranged a work function with them several years ago.

In addition, the fantastic service I receive from my coordinator, Andy, and his assistant, Karina, has repeatedly confirmed that my choice is right. I hear from time to time about things going wrong but then, I hear more good stuff abt Grand Hyatt too, more than things that go wrong.

Anyway, I figure that if things do go wrong on my wedding dinner (hope not too drastic), it'll be something for my hubby and I to laugh abt many years later when we're on our rocking chairs and talking abt our wedding day....hahahaha!

incredible

I keep hearing about Andy, has anyone been served by a lady coordinator named "Abigail"? She has been assigned to me by the hotel and I haven't met her yet. just wondering how she is.. Any has any experience with her?

whiteboat

Hello PuccaGal,
Abigail is my coordinator. She's very professional and I enjoyed working with her so far. When is your wedding and which ballroom will you be holding your dinner?

Skyblue: Our main choice for choosing GH is the quality of food and the ability to hold more than 35 tables. So far, most of my friends who have had dinner at GH gave very positive feedback on the food. I think the mike and music issues were isolate cases.

xoxo

Hi Little_whiteboat,

so u be using the Grand Ballroom as well? I'm using Grand too. when is ur AD?

Jamie

char99s38

skyblue, what hotels are u considering? perhaps u could offer us some ideas too?

Actually, we were almost convinced that Hyatt was the hotel that we'd pick hands down. However, after attending a friend's wedding in Dec, we began to have second thoughts.

Good points about Hyatt: huge food portions, the food is pretty good, and it has many diff ballroom sizes to suit everyone.

Bad points: my friend used the grand ballroom and we were seated near the centre of the ballroom. Our view of the stage was thus partially blocked by pillars, and the sound system was bad. Guests in the centre and near the back continued talking even when the emcee and best man was speaking. I couldn't hear what the guy was saying despite there being a mike. As the couple came in at the start, the music paused for a few seconds... Also, the cost for 2006 is $958 nett per table, which is a substantial increase... That's why we are considering various hotels now...

All said, I think Hyatt is nice if u go for the Sir Stamford Room, which has no pillars, and make sure that ur sound system works. The main gripe I have is the close to $100 increase in price for 2006...

Just my 2 cents' worth... We're still busy looking for a venue too... =)

whiteboat

Hi Jamie,

Am using the Magnolia/Vanda room instead cos we do not meet the requirement of min 45 tables.

Charlene: Heard about the price increased. Perhaps you may want to find out when is their wedding shows and how much cheaper will it be? Yes I do agree with you that $958 nett per table is very pricey. That is about the price of fullerton, ritz and conrad already!

skyblue_77

Little white boat: Yes, sound system might be isolate case. But they do play a important part
during your dinner to create ambience.

Charlene: If ballroom is being blocked by pillars, maybe you should look for other ballroom ...etc Marriott, Oriental or pan pacific. And there are too many weddings on the same date.
***Btw, GH price has increased $$ for yr'05.

isobellies

hey skybebe,

if i'm not wrong i think they increased by over $100... i just went to see them recently and was rather shocked at the pricing. for the same price, there is also hotels like conrad available, which is soooo much nicer! so hyatt is off the list for me now..

skybebe

Hi Iso

Sorry cos I was abit confused by the postings. Some said that the price increase was for 2006 but seems that the $100 price increase is now for 2005 banquets too? That's alot. I hope GH will reconsider.

All the best for your preparation, Iso!

isobellies

hey skybebe,
the latest info i got from GH (apparently applies from now till 31Jan2006, not sure about beyond that) is:

Camellia/Mangnolia/Vanda:
Weekdays - $768nett
Fri, Sun - $948nett
Sat - $958nett

Sir Stamford/Grand/Hibiscus:
Weekdays - $788nett
Fri, Sun - $988nett
Sat - $998nett

Hope that helps!

beezbride

Take note that for the new price they will be giving 1 bottle of red wine for each table, complimentary food tasting, 1 20l barrel of beer (for special dates),¨ SGD$60.00nett credit on all in-room dining during the Bride and Groom’s stay. for the new package. Hope this info is useful

bits

Didn't know that increase is for 2005 too. But I don't agree that the extra perks balances the increase in price. If increase $100 for 25 tables, $2500 can pay for food tasting, wine and beer and still have lots left over.

But most hotels are increasing their prices too, esp since this year is deemed to be good for marriage. Those whose AD in 2006 better secure the pricing ASAP before they increase again.