Grand Hyatt Singapore

bits

Hi circusbugs,

So you are taking the GBRs? Ya, I love the Hibiscus Rm, so did my mom, so I die die squeezing into it loh. Luckly my FH's and my relatives not much.

gingerleaf

Karen, i do not have free barrel of beer nor free flow beer at all! i was told that i 'd have to pay for it. did u managed to squeeze free beer into ur package?

oraia

hi gingerleaf,

one vote to SSR from me!

bits

Hi Gingerleaf,

I got the quotes from Hyatt in March this year and managed to book for next year dec in April. Think with a minimum no of tables, there is either a 20L or 30L barrel free. BTW, when is your AD?

Seems like a lot of hotels did not raised prices much for 2005 but reduced their perks instead.

gingerleaf

Hi Karen,
my AD is in Nov 05. Have not really comfirm my date yet. Looking at all the weekends.
My min no. of tables shld be 25. I wasnt offered anything extra, its juz the usual stuffs everybody is getting. I asked abt free beer, and was turned down with excuses like, "beer is not so popular anymore, so we are not offering it as part of the package". Weird huh.

So now I need help from u guys who managed to squeeze free beer into ur package to teach me how to bargain!!. Wahahahah. =P

gingerleaf

anyone held their dinner in hibiscus room??
was the aisle alittle narrow for u? was is ez for u to move ard frm table to table to toast??
i saw a 27 table setting today, and tot it looks rather packed. =(

limay

wow..suddenly this thread is alive! Sorry i missed the earlier postings, just got back from NY this morning.

Oraia - Since u said urs is earlier, when is ur wedding? Is it at the SSR? If so, i wana come look at ur black linen set up too..

Bugbear, circus bugs - u are more than welcome to have a peek in mine..its on the 18th Dec, at SSR. Just come by earlier - maybe btwn 6.30-7pm, cos cocktails start at 7pm. The one i saw was in the Grand BR, kinda dark in my opinion. The SSR is brighter, but we r thinking of adding gold organza sashes for all chairs, just to be safe.

Circusbugs - we didnt get the cards from the hotel. swapped them for another extra nite in the junior/bridal suite...hubby n i did up the card ourselves & got it printed in Bras Basah

bugbear

Hiya bigtoes...thanks for the invitation. I will defintely go peep peep
Wah...u and ur hubby really creative leh...i don think i can do that. Don have the creativity in me.

bigtoes

txs for inviting but my wedding is 22 Dec... think by then I wld hv decided my themne liao...

collecting my cards fr hotel soon and food tasting next mth but yet to arrange cos both families coming...

limay

Bugbear, no lah...we just tot it made more sense since the cost of external printing is way less than one additional nite stay..hehe..
Anyway, wanted it to be more personal also.

Circusbugs - ur wedding day is the same day as my hubby's bday!
Am skipping the food tasting, hopefully the food wont be anywhere as bad as Mel Tan's experience! urgh

oraia

hi bigtoes,

mine's about a wk before urs.
i haven't seen the themes, so have not decided on the black setting - may not have it tho'. will see how it goes.

ivory

hihi gals

sorry ah... MIA so long.... changed new job so very hard to log in nowadays

my wedding was over on 4th Oct.... still no AD pics yet... my photogrpher says 3rd Nov then i can collect... so u gals have to wait a while more lah

dun worry so much abt the food... its was super thumbs up!!!! all my guests feedbacked that it was the best banquet they have attended so far
i chose gold theme n my coord match red roses for deco.... super grand n beautiful.... hoped my photographer managed to take some pics so i can share with u gals on the set up

c ya!!!

bugbear

Hiya Ivory...good to see you back and so great to hear that all went well for ur AD. look forward to seeing your AD photos

Hhmm...so good to hear good comments abt the food too. Happy happy!!

oraia

hi ivory!!!!!!!!!!

so long nv see you ard!!!!

belated congratulations! how's it being mrs ivory? hehe! must show us ur beautiful pics kae?

very relieved to hear about the food! phew phew!!!

bugbear

yah...so many mixed comments abt the food lately...heheh...so good to hear good comments abt it...

bigtoes...this should put u more at ease now huh

limay

yah bugbear - but i have been to a couple of Hyatt weddings & always thought the food was one of the better ones too! My sis is attending a wedding in the Grand BR this weekend, will get comments from her too

bugbear

great!! bigtoes...afterthat come share with me her comments k? i have heard mixed reviews abt the food lor...maybe it's just individual

puzzlerain

I have just went down to hyatt to discuss about the decoration for hisbiscus room. It seem like they have change all the decoration, i have saw the black linen, very classic but a bit too black which my mum will be "bun tang" so cannot use.

My co-ordinator had shown me the new design for the centerpiece which include orchid, rose and babybreath. Stage decoration also change to only 3 colors - offwhite, white and red.

I have just seem the orchid with offwhite stage, overall white feeling....... still like the gold theme best..........

Out of the 3 types of flowers, the babybreath VIP centerpiece stand out the most and i like it a lot. It look like snowing with the light shine on it.

So still think which design to choose. Did anyone just recently went down and happen to see anyone of them to give recommendation????

swatch2004

gingerleaf,

i walked down the aisle with a wedding gown with train.. and still managed to go thru it... unless you have too many tables in that room.. if not should be ok..

bits

Hi ivory,
Congrats! Which ballrm did you take? Share your photos with me too!

Hi bigtoes,
I did not know that can exchange cards for extra nite... can you share with me roughly how much it costs to print your own cards? If not convenient can PM me. Did you still have an insert or you printed directly inside?

swatch2004

gingerleaf,

i think we had 22 tables in total.. and yes, i walked down with my "big-sized" hubby... think i won't say it's plenty of room, and you do need to watch out a bit if your gowns are with train as well

gingerleaf

swatch2004,
thanks so much for the info!! its very much needed. We were worrying abt the narrow red carpet.
Now at least i feel better. kekek

swatch2004

gingerleaf,

you are most welcome! have you seen the real thing with the set up before?

you can take a look at my pics if you want.... just leave me your e-mail..

swatch2004

gingerleaf,

oopss.. just realized that we actually requested for no red carpet, and in the pix, you cannot really see the aisle... =p

ribena_c

Hi Blur and all bride-to-be,
I think I can give you some advice on choosing the co-rodinator.. I have signed with Hyatt and will be their bride in 2005. However, I don't have a very pleasant experience with them. you can pm me, I will tell you who to avoid. Hopefully no one will have to undergo our horror experience.
Warning for all bride-to-be who are considering Hyatt.. please be tactful and firm when you negotiate with your co-ordinator. They can be very cunning.
I am so disappointed with them that I am at the stage of thinking whether to let go the deposit. but also heartache of the money too... not so rich afterall... the deposit is quite a large sum to me...

limay

Ribena - thats alot ($2k) to forfeit...maybe u can talk it thru with them? Get in touch with ur coordinator's superior...

Karen -cost of the card with inserts ($1.10 each) - so total cost about $200, way less than a nite's stay at the bridal suite.

Swatch2004 - can i see ur pix too? Urs is at the Hibiscus room ya? [email protected] thanks!!

bits

Hi Bigtoes,

Your $1.10 includes printing? If yes that is cheap and worth to consider the exchange.
Did you get to bring forward your anniversary stay too?

Heard form elsewhere some inserts alone are about $90 for about 200 plus pieces. dunno much about cards yet... can anyone tell me whether I'm wrong.

skybebe

Hi Ribena

I tried to pm you but it says that you do no accept private messages. Could you share your experience with me. My email addy is: [email protected]

I've had 2 discussion sessions with Grand Hyatt and will be going down next tues to pay them the deposit. I don't have very many tables, abt 16-18 tables, so I don't have v much bargaining power. I'm just taking whatever they're giving us in the package.

Any brides with around the same no. of tables who were able to bargain for more stuff than what they offered in the package, pls share.

limay

Hi Karen - yes - its $1.10, all inclusive - ribbons, inserts, card & envelope. Got them to print some stickers & other stuff too...Its a shop called i-Success on L3 in Bras Basah - look for a guy called Mr Ng -he's v nice

And yes - 2nites stay during the wedding, and I have a voucher valid for 1 more night for 6 mths later.

bits

Hi Bigtoes,

Thanks for your info. I thought can also bring forward the voucher for the 2nd nite stay, or in your case it will be 3 nites in all if bring forward.

limay

Bring forward? As in before the wedding? Oh..mine is in Dec 2004 anyways, just 1 mth more to go..Will stay the wedding nite & day after, then use the other voucher for an anniversary day there after!

bugbear

Bigtoes...does the shop have some samples for you to choose from, or you give them ur own designs or?? It's really cheap leh...

limay

BugBear - we did our shopping & this is the cheapest wedding card printer at Bras Basah. Yes - they have some samples & I think lots of personalised cards from past customers, but we designed our own card & have they print it. The pricing should be the same for both options.

bugbear

Bigtoes - ur's is a customized card...that is even cheaper i would say. I tot usually if u design ur own, the cost is higher cos the printer have to make some mould or something...but the price u get is quite good

So does ur card print the hotel's name or something?

limay

heya, its not a mould - u just need to pass them the PDF file of ur customised card

Nope, we didnt print the hotel name at the back of the card, just inside the insert for the location/time. Had our own copyright caricature at the back of the card instead...

swatch2004

bugbear,

you did not leave your e-mail lei....

gingerleaf, bigtoes and nalgene,

you've got mail...

gingerleaf, we decided not to go with the red carpet... because we kind of felt that the gold theme goes better without it... =)