Grand Hyatt Singapore

bits

ya oraia,
got any PS photos to share?

bugbear,
what are the things that you have confirmed already? your AD is next year end too right? You should start booking yr photographers early too before they raise prices. I'm not taking videography...too expensive, will ask friends to help take.

oraia

hi bugbear/ karen,

not yet, gowns not read, PS not done. so hehe, no pics to share :p

i didn't engage a videographer, cos to us, we prob wldn't watch the video too many times. so decided not to get one. i heard fabian lim (not sure abt the surname) is v good. u may wish to chk out his works. moomedia is also not bad i think for videography.
not sure abt the prices tho', sorry!

hi babyface!

which ballroom are u taking?

best1208

hi oraia,
ur wedding is 4 mths from now and yet ur still so cool . if my gowns not ready , PS not done think i would have been panicking now.

hi babyface,
so when is ur AD and how many tables u have? I also booked the grandballroom recently.

chubbybaby

hi best

glad to know that we will be using the same ballroom

according to my co-ordinator, they will be engaging a new florist and it will be nicer with a different theme. also heard that they will be increasing the price per table.

my AD is 9 sept next year and i have abt 35 tables. how abt u?

oraia

hi best,

hehe, ev thing in good time lah... i settled drips and draps of stuff thru' the months... will prob be super stressed in oct/ nov :p

just finished buying my shoes this evening.

hi babyface,

congrats!
wow! ur wedding date v nice... 9-9-05.

ur coord is not bad - 35 tables u can neg for grand ballroom?

chubbybaby

Thanks oraia!

Initially i wanted 18 sept but it was taken up already

yah, i think she's quite a nice lady cos she actually agreed to letting us use the grand ballroom without much hesitation. guess we are also quite persistent. heehee.....

however she told me that they will not be closing ballroom 2, so there might be a smaller corporate function going on but definitely not another wedding on the same floor (anyway, dun tink ballroom 2 alone can hold a wedding). so i'm praying hard that nobody booked that room!

bits

Hi oraia,
we will patiently wait to see yr PS photos... yr PS should be done by Sept end right? If not how are they going to rush out everything by yr AD?..

Hi babyface,
is 9 sept a weekday? u are lucky, can get grand ballroom booking with just 35 tables. think if it is not a friday or weekend, not many people will have corporate function on, then you can enjoy the whole foyer to yourself.

bugbear

Oraia!! U really very standard leh...if i were u, think i freaked out big time already.

babyface, i settled my BS + photographer already...now slowly settle the venue and still deciding if i want videographer...if budget tight, i will do away with videos...as for AD photos, am getting a friend to do it. He's doing AD photos for ppl.

Don worry...i don think ballroom 2 will have weddings...cos Hyatt ahs got a few more rooms that can would be an even better choice for smaller dinners

oraia

hi karen,

heeee.... i may not upload ah.. *lazy* see how lah... :p

ya.. my PS is end sept.

hi babyface,

hope there won't be a corp function beside ur ballroom lah.. even tho' it's not a wedding, it's still preferable tt u get the whole area to urself.... abit strange to mix the guests leh...
*pray hard!*

chubbybaby

BugBear,

What's your BS? Mine is sophia, cos fiance likes their photos and didnt wan to shop around further, so we settled for that. he's those impatient kind, will face black black if i'm too indecisive.

And thanks for your assurance

Oraia,

yah, funny to have 2 functions on the same floor at the same time. tink i need to go temple pray liao :p

bugbear

babyface, for BS, i am with Flamingo...
Sophia has in-house photographer izzit? For my photos, i opt for Montage. Flamingo ties with a couple of photographers
I also did not go shop shop ard...Flamingo was the 1st and last BS i walked into...

chubbybaby

BugBear,
yah, they have 3 in-house photographers.
Wow, flamingo must have captivated you so much that u didnt shop around :p

my good friend just signed up with montage too, the photos are very nice

oraia

babyface~ hehe... no lah, unless ur date really v popular then will have 2 functions on one floor. i think grand hyatt tries as far as possible not to do that, esp when it's a wedding.
but can still pray nonetheless lah! :p

bugbear~ wah! heee... so fast decide liao? v good!
how much is flamingo's pkg, just out of curiousity?

shellzzz

Hi all..

Posting my 1st msg here.. =)
Right now searching for a hotel banquet location.. (hopefully in Sept/Oct '05) really in a dilemma on which place to choose from.. went to hyatt's wedding show some time last mth & really like the place a lot.. esp hibiscus room.. but keep thinking of the cost per table... sigh.. $888 seems a little steep.. was hoping to spend a max of $800 each table.. anyone has any recommendation to share? how about suggestions for other hotels?

Thanks in advance.. =)

bugbear

babyface...i signed up with Flamingo cos owner is a friend of FH...so i just signed with her lor...i heard a lot of unhappy comments of ppl and their BS...so i thought sign with friend, can at least guarantee service & quality lor...heheh...

Oraia...Flamingo offers many different packages...different price for different photographer...my package tied with Montage is going at $4888...photograph is the basic package...so i most likely have to top up for more photos.

oraia

hi shellzzz,

the $888 nett is for weekends i believe? since u like grand hyatt and find the weekend price too ex, how about considering a weekday banquet? that may bring the cost down a little.

just a suggestion.

hi bugbear,

i see... ok... montage has v nice pics, u're in safe hands i'm sure. flamingo has got pretty good comments, so you're doubly safe

am asking the price cos i thought a friend might be interested. thanks!

shellzzz

Hi Oraia,
yupp.. if I didn't remember wrongly.. think $888 is for a sat.. how much did you pay for yours? Gathered a little from an earlier thread that you'd be making your way down after the church wedding? that's what I hope to do too.. =) settle everythin in one day..

oraia

hi shellzzz,

u've got a church wedding too?
i'm paying 868 - sunday price.

yup, i'll be gg down fr church. one day finish ev thg heee... too tired to drag to 2 days :p

hv u settled ur bridal studio yet?

shellzzz

yupp.. confirm having church wedding too.. =) but have not confirmed the place cos most are open for booking only next year.. so gota wait la.. no choice...
hahaa!! irony yah.. to have settled the not so urgent stuff instead of the more urgent one.. durhh!! hopefully can settle the banquet thingy soon.. now thinking of Traders Hotel.. For BS, I'm with 'Z' Design.. =)

chubbybaby

Oraia

When is your wedding day?

Bugbear

So your FH knows Shirley from flamingo? I think with her reputation, you dun have to worry a single thing. just be a happy and beautiful bride

oraia

hi babyface,

this dec.

hi shellzzz,

tkae ur time to choose the venues lah... but better decide soon before all the ones u have in mind are booked up! good luck!

bugbear

Hi hi...

oraia...let me know if you friend is interested...can help to make arrangement with Flamingo for your friend

Babyface...yah...i sure hope things will be smooth...now i am more worried that as friends, difficult to 'talk' lor...u know lah...paiseh to have too many comments, etc :p

hi all, trying to find out if grand hyatt caters to 16 tables? i was told by someone else in another thread it does. does any one know the price package as well. thanks!

bugbear

Hi Elin, I believe Hyatt does cater to 16 tables...cos their min is 15 (i think) the package price for 2005 as below:

Minimum 15 tables & above
S$728 (weekdays) S$888(Fri&Sun) S$908 nett (Sat)

All prices are nett.

xiao_cloud

To all Hyatt Brides,
Anyone knows whether hisbiscus room has the facility to play MP3 music? Can we bring our own laptop and connect it to the speaker or something and play from it?

puzzlerain

Does anyone know whether can we bring our own cake to the hotel????

Has anyone start to collect and print the invitation card?

xiao_cloud

Hi Puzzlerain,
We selected our card a week back and in the process of printing them. Not too sure if I have a high standard or what. Was quite disappointed with the card selections offered by the printing company. Nonetheless, we still chose from the lot as we don't want to spend extra $$ on the cards.

bugbear

xiao_cloud, don be so disappointed with the cards...personally, i feel that guests do not bother much abt the cards...the just note down the day, venue and chuck the card somewhere...so i think so long it's presentable, it's good enuf...don have to spend extra $$ on that

puzzlerain

Hi xiao_cloud

So you exchange the hyatt card with the selection offer to you? Did you need to add money? So which printing company did you go?
Me agree with BugBear that dont have to spend extra$$.

So BugBear do you have any recommend where to print cheaper?

oraia

hi puzzlerain,

yes, u can bring ur own cake into the hotel. am doing tt.

i think the cards are fr t-dragaon if i'm not mistaken.

xiao_cloud

hi bugbear,
thanks for your comforting words. Yeah, my collegues told me that too.

hi puzzlerain,
No. we din. Went down to the printing company that ties with hyatt. Told them we're hyatt couple and they show us the hyatt cards. The design are not that fantastic but think it's better than the one that hyatt showed us.
Din bother to search else where for printing as our wedding is in early oct! No time liao! We just chose the normal ink printing which only come up to $120 dollars for printing on the inserts. Don't like gold prints as it'll make the card so glaring!hahah..Futhermore it's more expensive. As the printing cost is not too expensive, we don bother to look else where..

yes, i did take a look at other cards. Have to top up money if you chose cards outside hyatt selections. Top up ranges from $1 - $5 i think..I quite like some of them but FH don't really like them. Futhermore it's not cheap.. Say you have 200 cards, you need to pay $200 extra (if you chose the cheaper range) and may be another 100+ for printing cost.. So, we just dropped the idea.

Oh yeah, for inserts you have to buy ribbon from them too to secure the inserts to the card. Not very expensive. The one i chose is less than $20 for 1 whole roll.

bugbear

Wah...printing of cards also got so much to consider

Hehhe...puzzlerain...sorry ar, i don have lobang yet...but if i ever find any, will keep u posted. I think it's cheapest to go to the printer that ties with the hotel right?? So they won have to charge u for the mould.

puzzlerain

Did any of you get more cards from hyatt??
HOw many % more do you think hyatt will give?

Its ok bugbear,so when your AD??

Xiao_cloud dont you like the pink card from hyatt??

oraia

hi karen,

ordered my cake fr pine garden.
yes, i'll prob be serving it on top of the dessert. it's really yummy cake! not too heavy, v refreshing!

limay

Hey people,
Our wedding is in the SRR room in Dec - just want to check with you all if you managed to weasle the projector rental FOC? My coordinator is Andy and he mentioned that rental is $400!!

Does anyone hv a recommendation of where i can rent the projector for a reasonable price? Thanks!

bugbear

Hahah...Puzzlerain...i haven't confirmed my date and venue yet...still deciding :D

Bigtoes...maybe u can try borrowing from ur company??

swatch2004

hi bigtoes,

i got married at hyatt in feb this year... think really hard to get the projector FOC from them. In fact, we rented it from another guy in this forum.. may be you can go back to the earlier date of this thread and take a look (may be early this year)... as i don't have the contact anymore...

just to remind you all... make sure you check with your coordinator whether the DVD player is provided..in my case, i did not find out on that until the wedding day, so we have to run around to get one as we don't want to pay for it!

hope this helps!

limay

hey swatch n bugbear,
ok, thanks. Meeting my wedding coordinator next week - will see how...my company has a couple of projectors, just that i am still pretty new here, not sure if the HR guy wld allow me to borrow one for the weekend...but shdnt be a problem

zann

puzzlerain,

Have you already sign? I guess usually should not be a problem to ask for more cards unless the hotels are so particular?

However, is best when doing negotation, if you think u need more cards, ask for it before you sign. In fact for any hotel is the same, try to negotiate for the things you need before you sign the agmt. So lets say the agmt is for 60% you can try to ask for more like 70% etc if you think you require this much.

swatch2004

hi puzzlerain,

we did get more cards from the hotel, just tell your coordinator how many you need, and they will normally be ok with it... =>

gerlynn

hi swatch2004, puzzlerain and all brides-to-be here..

i have not been in the thread for months..sad to say, i had cancelled my wedding.since then, i have not entered into Singapore brides forum till today, i happened to be searching for infor for my friend's upcoming wedding.

Basically, need you gals help. DO u all know of any managers or management people from hyatt whom i can speak to? when i cancelled my wedding at Hyatt, my coordinator insisted that i cannot sell away my package nor transfer to anyone. After much persuasion, he allowed me to utilise it for my private function, but subject to minimum 50 people, which means that I have to topped up at least another $1K. Since then, he has not replied to me when i request to reduce the number of people so that i can utilise the $2K deposit which i paid. Until today, i realise from other threads that other hyatt brides were allowed to sell away their wedding package. I think this is very unfair for me and I hope that I can speak to someone to resolve. Anyone of you know who I can speak to?

Hope someone can help...

xiao_cloud

hi gerlynn,
why don't you just go to hyatt and request to see the GM of the hotel? Last time I worked part time as a receptionist at one of the hotel in singapore and when matters brought up to the higher management, things get resolved. The guest wrote a letter of complaint the GM of the hotel.Just a suggestion.

limay

Yah, gerlynn, just need to be firm & point out that they are practicing double standards - u shd be able to sell urs if the couples who cancelled were able to do so.
Just have to make some kinda fuss and I am sure they will give in (from my experience on stuff like these in general)! Good luck

swatch2004

hi gerlynn,

sorry to hear that... think xiao cloud and bigtoes are right, the only way to resolve it is to bring it to higher management... try to speak to the director of the catering/banquet or sth like that... usually those ppl will be more helpful