Grand Hyatt Singapore

jan_jan

Hi Gintonic,

Paiseh, perhaps, I shld clarify the favours would most probably be replaced for 2005 weddings. For 2004, they may still retain the same items. Don't worry!

Think I will put my ice sculptures at the door entrance too!

Hi Fong! Regarding the bridal suite, I remembered previously, someone has actually posted a pic of the suite in this thread. Can chk. If you want, can go to the website and the pic is included inside also. Or if you want, you can sign on to the Bridal Fair that GH is organizing on 3 Jul and you can actually view the bridal suite on that day, taste the food, including a dessert buffet and also view the latest decor and table setups And also...if you book a wedding with them on that day, you will probably be entitled to a $500 rebate, free food tasting, free wine corkage, win a wedding on GH and also be entitled to a chance to win some Tiger beer promo. But this time, no free flow of beer.

Did I miss anything out? I think that's what the coord. said the last time I met her. Hope this info helps. Phew! Such a mouthful of words.

Regent, don't really know their package, but seen a wedding held there once. Their recep table is quite in the open, unlike GH, whereby if you book Stamford or Hibiscus Rm, you get your own recep area to entertain guests. Don't feel so exposed lah. No offense to regent lah, it's just my two cents worth of opinion. I personally won't like passer-bys to walk past my reception table and gawk. But each hotel has its strong points. Heard Regent's food is very good. The most important thing is that your FH and you must feel comfortable with the place.

gintonic

Hi fong,

when I met up with my coord last week, we actually request to take a peek at the bridal suite. But they can only shown me another suite which is similar to the bridal suite. Dun worry abt the deco, you will definitely love it cos the deco is so zen....

oraia

hi mookie,

orh.. i see.. thanks!
ideally i would love to have soon hock instead cos i love that fish, but i think must top up quite alot leh...
will see how it goes.

i see... am thinking of who to "arrow" to be emcee heeee. that's why.

did you have any "programme" during the dinner other than the usual cake cutting, toast etc?

think swatch posted a pic of the bridal suite sometime ago.
quite nice. i think there's even a bang& olufsen tv or something.

fong

Hi jan and gintonic

thanks for the advise....

jan.. agree w you on regent... the reception area is quite open... but quite like the ballrm... GH stamford rm oso very nice... choose hotels oso very difficult......

mookie22

hi oraia,
i agree with you too on soon hock, yummy, but sure very ex! i didn't have any special programme, even gave up doing the photo montage slideshow becos we didn't have time. but i think the family members appreciated our thank-you speech. Good luck with "arrowing"!

fyi, the suite is nice & spacious. there were B&O tv and hi-fi - quite awesome. we enjoyed replaying our dinner music on the hi-fi and the super-sharp picture quality of the tv. i even re-heated my or ni dessert in the microwave oven in the pantry, yum

hi fong,
i think both hotel's ballrooms are nice. besides the reception, another major difference is the location. hyatt is more accessible than regent. if i'm not wrong, regent's march-in will be straight while GH stamford's will be L-shaped. go with what "feels" the best for both you & FH.

swatch2004

glad to see the thread alive again... how's everyone's wedding prep?
mookie, your pic ready??

hi fong,

got the pix for the suite, it's the same as the pix GH posted on their web. leave me your e-mail if you want to view the pic... but may take some days to send to you....

oraia

hi mookie,

heee.. mabbe i go and chk how much i must top up for soon hock.
aiyah.. surely v ex one. heee.
i'm also not planning for photo montage. so am wondering if it's all gg to be v boring hehe.

wow!!! the bridal suite sounds heavenly

swatch2004

oraia,

about the programme.. we had a photo montage, a friend doing a speech for us (which is really nice), and after the second march in, we were sabotaged by our friends... so i guess the atmosphere was quite good at the banquet... but if you don't want any, it's also okay, it will be a bit more quite, but the guests will be enjoying the ambience and music loh!

fong

Hi Mookie22 and swatch2004...

thanks for the advise... will go to the website see see... but swatch2004..if its not too much of a trouble..could you also send me the pics...
thanks ah... my email address is [email protected]

mookie22

hi swatch2004,
sorry, although my AD photos are ready, I had been busy printing copies for overseas relatives. i haven't even started for relatives here, let alone upload onto the web. PS photos were done on film and we haven't scanned them either.

now, still owe AD photographer our selection of photos for the coffee-table album. sounds like a lot of work!

swatch2004

hi mookie,

haha, it's like that one lah, i am still giving out my wedding photo... consider that my wedding was close to five months ago... so you are pretty efficient already... =)

charmo

hey all, still distributing my invite cards..BabyG is the next one rite? i was thinking of taking a peep during your wedding...
I'm caught between having my solemnisation in the suit or having it before the banquet starts, any suggestion? my wedding website will be ready tomorrow..and busy with my house, will be shifting here and there, so gonna be very very busy and scary!

swatch2004

hi charmo,

it depends on whether you want a more intimate ROM or share it with all the guests loh... that time me and hubby worried that ppl will show up late so we decided to hold the solemnization in the late afternoon.. some of our friends just took couple hours off to attend the ceremony.. and we get it done at one of the small function room at hyatt.. it was very good ambience and sweet memory...=)

charmo

jus my 2 cents worth...

if u put the solemnisation b4 ur dinner then all the guests will turn up on time rite? cos they know they will be witnessing ur solemnisation?

me jus thinking lor...

fuel4food

I'm thinking to place my deposit with Hyatt.
What do you guys think? Is is worth?

Although, the place looks grand, and the coord keep on stressing that their food is the best amoung other 5* hotels. Cannot even get a complimentary food tasting...sign...

swatch2004

charmo,

how many ppl are you thinking about? i think my coordinator used to tell me the room can cater for about 20... may be you can ask your coordinatory to show you the room before you decide whether to hold the ROM inside?

just my two cents worth

fong,

sent the link to you already!

mookie22

Hi Charmo,
I think I know who you are and vice versa

Both Swatch2004 and circusbugs have a point, so it depends on what you want. If you prefer a more cosy solemnisation, it might be better if Hyatt is able to provide foc a function room, compared to the suite. Although the suite is big, you may be restricted by furniture layout & no.of pax. So it is best to check out the suite before you decide. Do ask the coordinator regarding both options and request to view the rooms.

Also, if you want to take a peek at the wedding set up, you can check with the hotel on the dates for the next weddings to be held at Hibiscus. This way, you don't have to wait till BabyG's date. I think the best time to drop in is about 6pm when most things are ready and guests are not there yet.

You must be really busy doing wedding preps & moving at the same time! Get as much done as you can and rest well. You don't want to have panda eyes, like I did, on your AD. Happy wedding preps!

Is your wedding site up? Do you mind sharing with us? Maybe can pick up a few tips from an expert like you!

babyg

Hi Charmo,

It's ok, u can take a peep at my wedding setup, I will be using the hibiscus room. How abt u? When's ur wedding?

I hav just went there to look at someone setup last saturday after attending the herworld bridal show. Did u attend the show? It's really a good chance to see all the available setup.

fuel4food

I have went for their recent bridal show.
I was impressed by their bridal suite, esp. the coporate suite. Is worth the money.

charmo

hey mookie....think i know who u are now!!! hahaa...yes i'm busy now...but more with the house.good thing is i have my company's stuff to help me with lots of things such as photography, website, coordinator etc...my website is just launched : http://www.touchmotion.com/wedding
Enjoy! BBG, my wedding is on 28 July at Hisbiscus Room. should have gone for the bridal show, i tot its more for people who are considering signing up.

mookie22

hi charmo!
thks for the weblink. you look gorgeous.
i especially like those where you r smiling.

btw, where is your new love nest?

fuel4food

Do anyone knows what is the best time to make reservation with the hotel, and who is the best coordinator to approach in terms of giving us a better discount.

Pls advise me. Thank you

charmo

my new flat is opp. tiong bahru plaza, it's called jalan membina, reno just completed, still have to pack here and there, and wedding drawing nearer..how about u? where are u staying now?
to those who went to the bridal show, any particular set up for hisbiscus room which you find really nice?

dearie

Hi charmo! Visited yr website n find yr pics really cute n animated
u look great in the pics btw.

I like the version of the song 'so nice' used for yr website. May i know who sang it? Tks!

charmo

dearie and circusbugs, thanks! my invite and website are done by my company, i.e. my hubby and his designer. you won't believe it, my web guy found this CD in chatuchak market in bangkok! The pub is my friend's boss's pub...and i got their permission to use it.

milo66

Hi charmo, you look so pretty in your pix and the web is soooo nice.

Btw are you the charmo that posted on the orange cube under home and deco?

scobido

hi charmo

i like your pics and the photography in your web.

may i know which bs u engage? or iz freelance?

what is the min and max no of tables that hisbiscus can cater? mine is only a small group, less than 20tables.

charmo

hi moo, my BS is Thomson wedding collection at T.pagar, their photography is good.min for hibiscus room is 25 tables.
Hi circusbugs, i'm meeting anjali the coordinator this sat to discuss, thinking of gold theme, any other suggestion from the recent bridal show?
milo, think u sms me just now, faxed the quote from orange cube to u already

fong

hi swatch2004

thanks for the pics... wah u so slim so pretty... which bridal shop u go?... ur gowns very beautiful too...

swatch2004

hi fong,

thanks, so how do you like the suite?

i was with golden horse awards, but the gowns i wore that day were from Hong Kong as I am from Hong Kong...=)

ivory

<font color="aa00aa">Mookie…</font>
ya… I noe usually they dun allow reduction of minimum guarantee… have just emailed to Andy… see what he says lor… hai… have to meet up again.. mayb have to forgo some of the freebies…

<font color="aa00aa">BabyG / Charmo…</font>
wat favours u choose? does Hyatt has choco favours ah? Think I might wan chocolates, cos min on weekdays.. pple sure very hungry after work one… got chocolate better lor…

<font color="aa00aa">Charmo…</font>
ur website is so fantastic!!! You are so beautiful

swatch2004

oraia,

posting here now...;o)

charmo,

think 27 tables would be quite tight, better check with your coordinator

ivory,

have not seen you for a while, think it's ok to reduce the no. as long as not too much. we did increase and then reduce the no. of tables till the day before our wedding.... and they just adjust for us loh..

ivory

<font color="aa00aa">oraia...</font>
kekkeke... if have then really good lor... but must see the selection of their choco n tarts... dat day i attended 1 wedding, its black square thin slice of choco with the chinese "shuang xi" moulded on the surface in white choco... very nice... din get to eat though, cos our fren was yelling he very hungry so we just pop all the choco into his mouth to stop his noises.. hahahaha...

<font color="aa00aa">swatch...</font>
errr... my tables very drastic reduce leh... from 50 tables to 40 tables... n its stated in the contract min guaranteed guests 500pax leh... i got try n speak to 1 of the coord n she so inflexible, no means no.. now see if Andy can help us with this or not lor... its all bcos of the stupid political issues by my relatives... wan to kill them liao... always see us no up.. *ggrrrr....*

charmo

Hi Ivory, thank u
i have not choose the favour yet.may consider photo album since it's more practical....
my coordinator said 28 is the max,should not be problem, but i dun believe..after seeing feeback in the forum...but there's no way to reduce the no. of tables now

ivory

<font color="aa00aa">charmo...</font>
hai... cos now then i realised the min guaranteed tables for Grand Ballroom is 40 tables.. so actually can no need to guarantee 50 tables one... mayb i tell Andy can close off 1 ballroom instead of opening up 3 ballrooms for me lor...

the more i think the more i wan to scream at those dog eye see pple down relatives!! huh!!!

ivory

bcos they look down on us cos there's no 'da xue sheng' in my family, n we dun live in bunglows/semi-detached like them... initially wanted to invite them so count in the tables, then something happen n make my father so mad so he say dun wan to invite all the relatives from his side liao... so have to reduce lor...

oraia

hi ivory,

ya.. i tink got leh... they have heart shaped chocs oso i think.
quite nice!

heee. relatives are like tt lah.... i oso got problematic ones.. dun worry kae?
dun stress!

swatch!!

heeee... *waves*

charmo

ivory, then dun invite them, i only invite people i really want to see on my wedding..what for entertain all these insincere peopl...money is not everything

babyg

Hi Ivory,

I have the pineapple tart as my wedding favours. Tried one and it's really good.
Have opted for the photoframe initially but dropped it after thinking that the guest might just dump it after the dinner. and I heard that Hyatt no longer carries the chopsticks...

ivory

<font color="aa00aa">oraia...</font>
got heart shape choco ah? good good... nearing the date mayb i ask my coord wat other shapes available

relatives... seems like all relatives are problematic... does it have anything to do with dialect groups as well? my mum's side no such stupid politics one leh...

ya... now not inviting them liao... wait i see them liao sure vomit blood... given their character, will sure say how come ur hubby looks so old n skinny, u look so fat, how come so little tables, y din choose higher class hotel... *faint*

<font color="aa00aa">BabyG...</font>
besides choco n pinapple tarts, the other kind of food favours will be fruit cakes ah? anything else?

to me not really logical to give chopsticks n such cos nobody will wan to keep them... esp if oni 1 pax attend the wedding, then he bring back 1 pair of chopsticks which he will neber use cos he will still use his family chopsticks one lah...