Grand Hyatt Singapore

mookie22

hi irene,
sorry to hear that ur coordinator couldn't even deliver such a small request! definitely not characteristic of a 5-star hotel where ur needs r anticipated b4 u open ur mouth. altho it is possible that they didn't bake extras, they could have offered u something else for goodwill instead of flatly turning u down.

hi gerlynn & puzzlerain,
just popped down to hibiscus this evening. it does look v cosy & elegant! only gripe is that the floral arrangement on each table - potted flowers with a candle sticking out - looks rather funny, if you know what i mean :D pots r not appropriate for tables & long candles dun stick out of a flower pot!

anyway, i will seriously consider hyatt & hope that they won't be too inflexible with their package, cos it isn't very comprehensive despite the price. plus many hotels having promos now.

anyone has a good salesperson/coordinator to recommend? does hyatt's package include"
- pre-dinner cocktail
- light dinner b4 reception
- day or nite room 4 coordinators
- vip parking lots?
guess there's no food tasting too huh?

swatch2004

irene,

thx for your info. I will seriously think about when to hold the ROM with my hubby!! and sorry to hear what happened to you too!

mookie,

not sure about others, but sure got VIP parking and food tasting at half price, hope the info helps!

gerlynn

Hi Irene...

dun be upset over it anymore...at least the whole wedding is perfect!!!
n all the best to your married life...

Hi Mookie...gota pay for food tasting at lower price...think there is pre dinner cocktail...as for day room, maybe u can try to negotiate...

mexx

Take note that if u want 1 server to 1 table... you got to pay extra.
And the package only include roses for deco... Not the more expensive tulips or lilies.
Actually after adding up all these... hyatt is not exactly that cheap.

mookie22

gem, quite surprised to hear that hyatt is so inflexible given their prices. seems like u have to pay & pay for everything outside the package & they don't try to accomodate or meet u halfway. i don't mind roses as long as the floral stands look substantial & not sorry-looking.

just attended a dinner @ conrad & the floral deco was big & beautiful, along the aisle & quite a few on stage. service was good too, food ok lah. price/head is abt the same for weeked but too bad it is taken for my dates.

hi irene, r u reliefed that it's over or do u miss all the preps already
did u enjoy ur 2-nite stay & were u happy with the bridal suite?

aigee

HI mookie22

sigh.. yah loh.. anyway.. i tried not to thk abt it lah... just that it's really something so small and easily done loh...

1)from what i know the std package includes free flow of soft drink during reception.. what pre-dinner cocktail are u refering to? finger foods? std package don't have finger food.. but i do get 1 hr free flow of canapes during reception as i sign up during a bridal fair hence was given some freebies on top of the std package...

2)no light dinner for the couples,

3)no day room provided for helpers.. if u want to get a room for helpers u have to pay.. and Hyatt does not have day room rate.. the room come with night stay loh...

4)VIP packing lots provided, .. anyway.. we park our car FOC during the 2 nite stays...

hmm.. actually i also saw Stamford room fully set-up with gold sashs with the flower pot & gold candle as centre piece b4 my wedding.. actually i find the whole feeling quite ok leh.. in any case.. i dind't use the flower pot as the centre piece for my dinner lah...will shos u gals when i collect my photos and upload them..

yah.. reliefed that it's over.. now waiting to see my photos esp the night shots.. :p .. e 2nite stays is great... very big suite...

puzzlerain

Just to clarify on the previous posting by me. The Hyatt promotion until 18-Oct-2003 is actually free FLOW of beer for 4 hrs and waiver of corkage charge for wine. Not too bad a deal.

gerlynn

Hi Irene..

just to clarify further doubts:
1) Is it 1-to-1 waiter or 1-to-2??

2) can we choose the centrepiece? what did u use for ur wedding??

Do show us ur wedding fotos once they are ready ok?

mookie22

hi gerlynn,
maybe I can help. I was told that:

1) the ratio is 2 waiters to 3 tables.
2) VIP centrepiece is a tall candlestine with 6 candles, roses and vines. For guest tables, you can choose either a rose flower pot with a long candle or (if I'm not wrong) a square glass with floating rose petals & tealights. U can choose to add a coloured cloth or scatter rose petals under the lazy suzy at no extra cost

gerlynn

hi mookie22...thanks for ur help...
hmm...it would be nice to have the square glass + scattered rose petals hor..hee...look more romantic than the flower pot...

so u decided ur venue liao? me gota confirm soon...coz my tentative booking has been made quite long ago..so the coordinator chasing me to confirm...he say got another couple oso looking at that date...

puzzlerain

Hi gerlynn

Who is your co-ordinates?

ratio for 2 waiters to 3 tables is for the food serving as for the drink serving it is 1 waiter to 4 tables. Have they code how much is the sash?

My tentative booking had also been made quite long with them still considering loh.

mookie22

hi gerlynn,
yes, i think the glass centrepiece with scattered rose petals should be romantic altho i've only seen the pics & not the real thing. i'm quite likely to confirm hibiscus even though i think it is very likely that we will lose $$. that's why i'll sleep on it for a few more nites ... he he ... too tired to look around further cos it is really quite difficult to look for a nice venue for smaller number of tables on specific dates

btw, do note that food tasting must be a table of 10 on a weekday, so u can't do it for only 5 pax

hi puzzlerain, sashes are $2 a pc. for drink serving, are you refering to the number of waiters for pre-dinner cocktail?

gerlynn

hi puzzlerain & mookie22...

my coordinator is andy...think we will also confirm hyatt...n taking the hibiscus too...coz think the ballroom is really nice n cosy...hehe...

ya, mookie22 is right..$2 for the sash...

hai...so if food tasting will have to spend $400+ after tax...hmmnn...think muz c later on got money or not la...hehe....

so when r ur wedding dates n coordinators???

gerlynn

oh yeah puzzlerain...btw how long have u made the tentative booking? and ur coordinator never call u to confirm?

mookie22...have u made tentative booking?> u beta do..in case the date u want is taken...u can mk the bookin and then consider if u really want...

mookie22

hi possible hibiscus gals-to-be!
i made a tentative booking for my date b4 i met andy this week. he said the system only holds tentative bookings for 1 week & they're suppose to call us to check at the end of the week.

puzzlerain, i didn't know that there are designated drinks servers. assumed that all staff can serve drinks since guests would approach anybody anyway. maybe that's why drinks service is slow at some dinners. hope it is not the case with hyatt.

just want to re-confirm, it is +++ for food tasting ($380) right? did anybody ask what type of beer Hyatt serves?

are u gals planning to show a video montage during ur dinner in hibiscus? haven't got a clear picture as to how it's done. saw on one nite that the screen was set up on stage in front of the cake. andy said that it could also be placed on the ground in front of the stage or to the left of the stage. just wondering how their staff will clear what away b4 march-in.

ultimate question: when will u gals make ur final decision too?

puzzlerain

Hi mookie22

Yup the food tasting is $380+++.
Beer serve by Hyatt : Tiger
Flower as what i have ask my co-ordinator only can choose roses(red, white, gold). No vines.
Me now still looking at Four Seasons for comparison.
I have ask my co-ordinator, i think the idea they give me is the screen should be in the ceiling not the portable type. But they also provide the portable type.
Difficult to get more perk with them right.
Did both of you saw the spiral cake that they have?

mookie22

harlow puzzlerain, that was a fast response!
About the vines, it think they were referring to the green leafy things that go with the roses.
I checked Four Seasons too but the weekend rates are a killer for me. is ur dinner a weekday or weekend?
Funny, I wasn't told that the Hibiscus room had a pull down screen from the ceiling. If so, it would be nicer & more convenient. I've only seen the standard 5-tier cake. Can u describe more about this spiral cake?

Agree that Hyatt's not flexible with perks. On the one hand, it is fair & professional of them to stick to their package, but on the other hand, other hotels' packages may include food tasting & can be more flexible with things like projectors, etc, which can help us save some $$. If not for the promo, Hyatt would definitely not be competitive enough versus other hotels. Still the promo only includes two perks, not much leh. But i think they will try to accomodate small requests ("we can look at it or discuss") such as more cards, day room if available, etc. doesn't hurt to ask nicely for such things closer to date? Of course, if you compare with Four Seasons, FS is more exclusive - bigger room with higher ceiling too. personally, i think ballrooms still look nicer than smaller function rooms.

mookie22

anyone had seabass for their dinner @ hyatt? was it good & yummy enuf? don't think i should waste $ to top up for garoupa.

puzzlerain

Hi mookie22

My is a weekend. But they have bridal show today which they offer 30bottles of wine + a barrel of beer + seat chair cover.

Yup i have misunderstand my co-ordinator. Today i went to FS and Hyatt to look again. Hyatt Projector is portable on 1 side. Disadvantage for Hibiscus room is the aisle is very narrow which i notice today.

The spiral cake you are able to see in any of the wedding magazine where they show the chijmes did by Hyatt the stage is with the spiral cake and below is a close up of the spiral cake. But Hyatt charge $500/- for that. Seabass is more expensive than groupa, dont have to change. So have you decided hyatt?

mookie22

hi puzzlerain, which hotel had a bridal show today? r u referring to FS?

i was concerned about the narrow aisle in hibiscus too but coordinator said it should not be a problem (carpet narrow but sufficient space away from tables). will probably go down again to refresh my memory. hey, did u ask about their invitation cards? read in earlier postings that we can do card exchange with T-dragon. if T-dragon's cards are cheap, might try to get GH to exchange cards for something else.

i like hyatt becos of the elegance & deco in hibiscus, suitable table nos for me & name of the hotel. given the price of the package, just too bad that the room isn't like the small ballrooms in conrad or FS. just worried that i'm spending unnecessarily or that there may be better yet more affordable hotels that i should have considered. u know, sometimes it is a personal bias but when u actually see the place or hear positive comments, that place may not be so bad afterall.

i think garoupa is more ex than seabass. it is soon hock that is more ex than garoupa. this is what my dad told me. u can read abt this in a thread on which fishes r good.

gerlynn

hi puzzlerain & mookie...

hee...so nice to see ur msgs..

im actually tentative booking for v long..ard 2-3 weeks...no wonder now my coordinator start pushing me...but maybe coz mine is weekday..how abt mookie 22??is urs weekend or weekday?

personally i think if u r looking at weekday, hyatt price is still ok...but for weekend, it seems to be v X..think FS is slightly more X isit?? but FS seems more exclusive...n its ballroom is very nice too...so muz be headache for puzzlerain?:p

i dun think i will upgrade to garoupa...i will rather spend the money either to purchase the extra dessert coz hyatt dessert v nice leh...or the cake that puzzlerain was saying..think if u r willing to pay, hyatt bridal cake can be v diff n creative...

well as for the package, i feel that it is rather comprehensive except for the food tasting..actually maybe i will go for it...can treat it as a family dinner or wat...

as for the invitation card..i think i will either exchange for other things like sash...or for the t-dragon cards...coz the existing card really quite awful leh...hehehe...

btw, did u gals see the bridal room? this is one thing that i forget to see!!! any comments? nice?

ok...enjoy ur sunday...soori for this super long message~

yeah..i think the adv abt hibiscus is its elegance and cosiness...think the aisle is ok for march in...

puzzlerain

Hi mookie/Gerlynn

I am referring to FS bridal show yesterday. Today i think is Shangri-la.

How many table do you have for both of you?

Did any of you ask Hyatt what is the price for changing the dessert to a western dessert(eg. Individual slice of cake)?

Yup can exchange the card at T-dagron. The charges for the card is $1. Can calculate to see whether izzit worth it.

Are both of you paying for the food tasting?

As for the bridal room we also did not see it as the room is all fully booked that day.

FS is not too X with the promotion. When you free can go visit FS which is behind Hilton. Like the grand staircase a lot.

mookie22

hi puzzlerain,
i'm looking @ 20-25 tables. is the lowest weekend package for FS @ $828+++? Don't have package details with me now so can't remember. would certainly prefer FS if the package is around GH's prices.

I didn't ask GH abt changing desserts. Tried their yam paste with ginko nuts @ a wedding last yr - yummy. think my MIL will love it.

Can I clarify that we can exchange GH cards with T-dragon for other cards that are worth $1 each?

I'll probably go for food tasting so that we can give feedback if necessary.

Coordinator said Grand Wing under refurbishment so couldn't show me the bridal suite. But he said it had a bedroom with sliding doors, a living area with sofa (can't remember if it is 2.5 seater) and a dining area for 6. This sounds like their deluxe suite. But from last year's postings, seemed like someone only got deluxe suite becos she exchanged perks, i.e. others possibly got only the grand room. just my deduction, not verified. but it would be good it bridal suite is deluxe suite - looks big from photo tour pics

puzzlerain

Hi mookie22

My number of table also min 20 to 25
FS price is $748+++ = $828nett.

Yup can change card that is $1 but if the card that you chosen cost $1.20 just need to pay addition 20cents more per card.

Yup i think is the deluxe suite they are offering.

mookie22

Hi puzzlerain,
oh, i had thought that the $828 was b4 taxes & struck it off my list! This is for both Sat or Sun? since it is cheaper than GH, defintely worth considering!
Gosh, hope my date is still available. Would FS still extend the promo after yesterday's fair? min 25 tables ok?

FS ballroom is nicer altho deco is not as cosy & warm as in hibiscus. I attended a dinner in FS in May this yr - food & service was good. Just thought that deco was rather bare.

puzzlerain

Hi mookie22

FS: Fri & Sunday. $748+++

FS: Just want to take a look at the Sat price at $828+++. IS your a Sat?

FS : Weekday. $698+++

FS include 2 night stay, free food tasting for 6 person, ice craving, 1st anniversay dinner voucher worth $250 ..
Promotion is also plan to ask tomorrow see whether can they extend and the min table require is 25. Just nice for you. I have ask my first date is book now i am searching for a 2nd date to see whether is it OK? Still considering.

Yup deco a bit bare but high ceiling and the table setting very nice too. Silver spoon, bowl, centerpiece flower with 2 candles on each table.
Grand staircase, nice cocktail area. Beautiful Arc window on both side.

mookie22

I think it should be 748 x 1.1655 = $871.79

I have one Sat & one Sun date given by geomancer. Think when I checked the last time, Sun was taken. And Sat's price will be abt $965! Beyond budget

gerlynn

hi gals...

ya...FS sat is 828+++...mookie22, u mean the Sun date is booked already for four seasons?

so puzzlerain urs is sunday?? i feel four seasons ballroom has a grand feel while hyatt is cozy n elegant...both are nice...really depends on yourself...

heehe...hope that the suite is niceee...think i may also pay for the food tasting so that can voice out what is not nice...

btw...do u gals know if i want the extra dessert (which i think they charge by per person), how much is it??? i think tt time my coordinator showed me the dessert bar that they have, it looks v good...

mookie22

Hi Puzzlerain,
Just checked my FS proposal and it reflected Fri/Sun rate @ $768+++ (*puzzled*) and Sat rate @ $828+++.
I feel that FS rates very well in all depts except deco (minimal) & occasional service lapses (also get impression that coordinators are not very helpful). Overall - classy, as Gerlynn said.

Apart from GH & FS, have u considered Conrad? Altho Conrad's food isn't fantastic, its ambience & deco is far better than FS. Service is very good too.

puzzlerain

Hi mookie22 & Gerlynn

Conrad for my date is both. I have check most of the hotel all is booked.

The FS broucher i have is still $748+++ leh. Will check with them again on the price.

I have ask my coordinator before, i think is addition $15 but dont know whether is for 1 table or per person maybe you can check with them.

I did not get to see the square glass with rose petal but i have saw the golden pot with flower and candles. At first also dont quite like it but saw last sat deco with the candle light up and using only red rose. Quite romatics.
Do have you girls decided to choose Hyatt?

mookie22

he he .. the 3 of us r in the thick of our preps & trying to be convinced of our deicision to go wtih Hyatt!

Puzzlerain, i was in the same boat as u. both of my dates @ conrad was taken.

I plan to go down to take a look again. Wedding this Thursday right? Didn't go down on Sat cos I was told that setting might be different cos it's a muslim wedding. The last time I went, I was early & didn't see the candles lighted up, but all chairs had satin sashes. How was the set up last Sat?

puzzlerain

mookie22

The set up is romantic. Theme should be gold.

Red rose for all guest table. Red and white rose with candle for the flower stand. Did anyone how many are they providing for the aisle. That day only 5 so a bit weird. Candlebras for VIP tables using also red and white roses.

Table overlay use golden organza and also for alternate chair.
But VIP chair they use red satin sashes.Not nice.

Do you know whether can we choose the cultery for VIP table?

gerlynn

hi mookie22 and puzzlerain...

hee..ya lor... i think i will be taking hyatt...have already consider for a few weeks...keke...

so u all saying this thurs got wedding isit?? then i will go down c c too...hehe...just to confirm again...will u all b gng down??

mookie22

Good morning Puzzlerain & Gerlynn!
Just got a "wake-up" call yesterday when my parents told me they would have about 8-10 tables, includig 3-4 for "kampung" friends. Can expect only about $40-$50 for ang pao. Plus the fact that my relatives aren't that well-off, beginning to worry that I will lose a lot from the dinner. Although I think we can afford it (won't have to depend on credit) but the extra few thousand dollars could be better spent elsewhere. Back in a dilemma again - have a beautiful wedding or be more wise & practical since it is just one nite afterall

Red & white roses - interesting, haven't seen that. Only saw the sandlewood table overlay the last time, not gold organza. That one also had the ice carvings moved from the stage to flank the entrance into Hibiscus. Ha ha, red definitely clashes with the gold theme.

Yes, wedding on Thur. I might go down again, unless I seriously have to drop Hyatt.

aigee

hi mookie22,

actually red doesn't clashes with Gold at all.. i think it highly depending on where you use the red at.. i think it will definitely look weird if the sash of the chair is red with the Gold Theme esp so if only the VIP & Bridal tables' sash is red.

However, i use the gold theme too, with bright deep red roses only.. and the effect turns out quite nice.. very eye-catching and my guests commented that the red rose must the gold teme vry grand...

i have only mange to upload some shots of it.. those who are interested to have a look can email me your email address..

I used the square glass with rose petals.. but too bad that's the only one thing that my photographer forgot to capture.. so can't show you gals...

mookie22

Hi Irene,
Welcome back!
Was refering to the red satin sashes which Puzzlerain observed for a wedding last Sat, but agree that red roses go very well with the gold theme.

Would love to see ur pics. Aiyoh, was looking forward to seeing the square glass cos Hyatt's photos not close up enuff. pls email the link to [email protected]

For an "experienced" person, what's your take on how much to spend on a wedding? I know losses are inevitable, but the question is how much. My gut feel is that angbaos for mine won't be v high.

aigee

hi mookie22,

yah loh.. actually i was a bit disappointed when i realised that there's not a single photo on the square glass coz that's what i specifically asked for from Hyatt..to have the squre glass as centre piece... but end up i didn't get to see it.. coz didn't really have time to see the ballroom set-up on the actual day.

i saw the actual one during the Hyatt Bridal Fair when i signed up.. i like it.. that's y i asked to have the square vase.. but my photographer only took the VIP centrepiece and he overlooked on the square glass for guests...

i have emailed you the link.. u may be able to see very small glimps of the square glass on the guest tables..

hmmm.. "experienced".. u make me sounds like errr... nvr mind lah.. i understand wat u meant.. juz kidding..:p

well, one have to be realistic loh.. but i also do share the feeling of wanting something beautiful since it's a once in a life time thing..;P

That's y the set-up of the ball room is one impt factor that i consider.. and inorder to have nice ballroom in a nice Hotel with a reasonable rate, we choose a weekday. ;) In any case, we don't thk that it's worth just to pay the $100+++ to $200 more just to get a weekend... rather spent the money on other things... hence, when we source around, we try to keep our bugdet to something that's <$800..

That's y i actually choose Hyatt.. the weekday package is reasonable... with it's good ballroom set-up... and i like the reception area of stamford ballroom.

I thk nowadays.. even those youngsters.. the ave angbaos they give is about $80- $88 the max (unless is your very close frens).. and if you saying your relative may not be giving that much.. then u really must be prepared loh...

aigee

Hi mookie22,

yah.. i have to agree that the yam paste is very very yummy!! all my guests love it.. and i am even thinking of asking w/t they sell for take-away.. ;).. missed it so much... ;P

aigee

I thk someone asked abt GH's changing room... well anyway..just to share.. as mine is teh stamford ballroom, i was given one of the conference room next to it as my changing room..

As for the bridal suite.. i was given the delux suite.. it's feature in GH website if i am not wrong.. me nvr see the bridal suit before..

gerlynn

hi mookie..

oh dear..so now u muz reassess if u can tk hyatt? actualli me oso have some relatives like tt...tts y i chose weekday...like what irene says...weekday package more affordable..

btw, me shd b gng down this thur too...

hi irene, can u email me ?? [email protected]

hi puzzlerain..ic..so have u decided whether to tk hyatt? Just to tell U gals...I am confirming to tk HYATT....

puzzlerain

Hi gerlynn &amp; mookie22

Me also decided to confirm with Hyatt soon as FS did not have the very hot date that i wanted. In fact i like FS more than Hyatt, but in respect to elderly i have chosen date as my 1st priority instead of hotel.

gerlynn

hi Irene..

yea think both ur gowns are beautiful...
guess u muz have a beautiful wedding...hope mine will be like that too...hehe...

puzzlerain...actually so far it seems like some people may feel hyatt is more X than four seasons leh...coz hyatt seems older so more reputable among the people..while for four seasons, some people may not even have been there b4...hehe...so hope it helps...:p

me now confirming the details n will be signing soon...so happy that finally made my decision...one less burden off...

swatch2004

have not come here for quite a while. seems quite a conversation going on here, so you gals are going to take GH as well?

gerlynn, you have your heart set on the hisbucus room, right? how many table is the minimum? my FH and I were discussing another day that we might have more than 18.. so not sure if we can change our room. agree with what you say, hope that the reputation of GH will help, then ppl will give bigger ang bao..hehe

irene, can i share your photos too? my e-mail is [email protected] ... thx!