Grand Hyatt Singapore

mexx

Need some advice. My original banquet manager anthony is leaving hyatt... have been assigned to Andy instead.
would like some comments from couples who've had andy as their wedding coordinator. Would like to hear about your experiences with him... whether it's positive or negative.

elenne

i had a peep at one of the ballrooms at hyatt... the one with lots of pillars and low ceiling... was impressed with the holding area but not the ballroom.
but looking the discussion above apparently there are other ballrooms?? what is the name of the one with the DBS ad?glad to hear there are no hidden costs!!

aigee

hi mexx,

my coordinator is Andy, so far am quite satiafied lah.. becoz i am quite kan cheong, keep asking him on the progress as my wedding is in Sept, so he send me a approximate timeline of all the event such as when to collect invitation cards, when to test food, when to send out cards, when to get guest to RSVP, by when i have to confirm the table reservation, when to finalised the ballroom set-up,etc...

so seems like he is really v experience and know what to do, when to do loh...

elenna,

yes, Hyatt has other ballrooms.. not so sure abt the one with the DBS ad though...

corgibaby

I will be having my wedding dinner in hyatt in oct... now is the time for me to do the printing for my invitation cards... sad to say that hyatt is still using the old cards... no news about them changing the design.

can i ask those who had held weddings in hyatt... which printer you engage? and how much will it cost for a 40table invite?

Many thanks!

och

hi corgibaby,

printing costs depend on the type of printing u want. i did standard printing at the wedding gift shop in marina square a yr ago for $180 (which includes etching lines) for 300 pieces of invitations. i had 44 tables.

it's probably much cheaper at other print shops, e.g. t dragon n all. i selected wedding gift shop cos i did my own cards n i wanted one of their pictures on my cards.

stacy

Hi Corgibaby

Hyatt is still using the old cards.. according to the staff there, chicago office has not come up with new design. however, you do not have to worry.. cos at T-dragon (where Hyatt works with), you can do a card exchange.. ie pick any design you like at T-dragon to replace Hyatt cards).

I did not do print price comparision but i find T-dragon pple very good. they helped with the wordings, the layout etc. the print price will differ as sometimes u want cute icons or iserts or maps etc. but i think their price should be okay lah.

hope this help

womad

Anyone can advise me on how much GH charge for lunch/tea reception per head?

corgibaby

oh dear!! I didnt chk back with you gals and went ahead to print with Acepro!!! Feel like kicking myself!! Didnt know Tdragon does card exchange!

Thanks stacy for your advise!! So how much did it cost to print your card? And when is your wedding dinner?

aigee

Hi Stacy,

What u mean that T-dragon can do card exchange? so we can pick any design from T-dragon inreplacement of Hyatt's card? is it FOC? I have collected Hyatt's cards leh.. can still change?

Hmmm.. just wanted to comment that i had my food tasting last Thusrday and we were all very pleased... the service was excellent... the Staffs were very attentive and promptly provided suggestions & advics even without us asking them. For example, when the fish was served, our parents make some comments abt the fish and ask us w/t is there other kind of fish, etc.. and b4 we could ask the staff, the person-in-charge (my co-ordinator can't make it that day) walk into the room and say that he heard that we have some qns on e fish.. and he promptly offered the advise and suggestions....

On a whole.. we are very happy with the service..
really excellent!!!!

As for the food.. it's quite nice and the portion is really very big.. it's so unbelievably big that every dish we have to confirm with the staff w/t is it the "actual" portion.. which they kept assuring that it will be the same in the actual day.. well can't comment on this until after my dinner though...

looking fwd to the next session w my coordinator to finalise the ballroom set-up ;)

mexx

how early do we need to meet up with our banquet coordinator before our wedding ? i.e. to collect cards, discuss theme, etc.

chenoa

Hi aigee and corgibabay,

May I know how many tables and which ballroom each of you are using? I herad they have diff. rates for diff no. of tables. Can also tell me what your package price is and what includes?

I'm looking at about 25 tables (+/-). Any idea which ballroom will be most suitable?

Please e-mail me at [email protected] with details. I'm also considering Holiday Inn Parkview which is offering a good deal but I would prefer Grand Hyatt if affordable.

Thank you for your help in advance.

stacy

Hi aigee

sorry i missed your msg. yes, any card at T-dragon, you can pick. For us, we decided on the spot not to take Hyatt cards, so we did not take up any cards at all. I think you have to check with your coordinator whether you can return the stack of hyatt cards.

Yes, hyatt food is superb. i din do food tasting cos the extra charge on. My guests were delightfully pleased and we were very happy that day.

Hi Corgibaby
my wedding over already.. in jun 03. if i remember correctly, i printed about 280 cards, added map and a cute icon. I would think it was less than 200 ot 180? I find t-dragon service good. they even helped you with the wordings etc. recommend layout etc.

stacy

stacy

Hi hardrock

There are a few colour themes. You can check with the coordinator, they have the exact brochures to show you. My wedding was champagne coloured, with champagne roses etc. i had chopsticks and chocolates for wedding favours. My suggestion is to make an apptmt to meet them up and check out on sat/sun afternoon, when they are doing up the ballroom.

stacy

aigee

HI Stacy,

OH.. i didn't knw can change card FOC.. anyway me already sent the cards for printing lah.. so just make do with it loh... :p Thanks for your inof though...

wow.. stacy.. your price seems to be very cheap leh... hmmm.. mayb ecoz i added my wedding photos that's why seems to be a bit costly than yours.. :p

gerlynn

Hi hyatt brides-to-be..

anyone has any comments abt GH's Camellia room that caters to lesser tables? I loved the Hibiscus room but i dun meet the minimum no. of tables...will they still allow me to have Hibiscus?

swatch2004

hi gerlynn

i will be holding my banquet at the camellia room too!

though hibiscus room might look nicer, but if your no. of table cannot fill the room, it will look a bit weired!

may be you can talk to your coordinator

mexx

did any of you have to pay for the LCD projectors at hyatt ?
also, do they provide day rooms for helpers ?

gerlynn

hi swatch2004...

oh really..so when is your wedding?? how many tables are u having? So is your stage gng to be in the centre?? coz i went down last sat to view the weddings and the stage was in the centre, decorated like a garden...very niceee....;P

aigee

Hi gem..

i don't thk Hyatt has any projector even if u are willing to pay leh.. my coordinator keep telling me Hyatt do not have projector...

as for the day room.. no Hyatt did not provide day room.. even if you want to book a room, it will be a full charge (with overnight stay), they do not provide the booking room for just day use only...

swatch2004

hi gerlynn,

what my sales told me is that they can rent a projector on our behalf and it actually cost more than you rent directly from company outside (think it's about $250)

my wedding will be feb next year, we are holding a small banquet between 13 to 18 tables. the stage will be at the centre, but not sure about the deco yet, have not gone down to talk to my coordinater yet. how about you?

gerlynn

hi swatch2004...

i went down yesterday to meet the sales...it was Andy who attended to me...any comments abt him??

my FH thinking of holding it in the Hibiscus room but we would have to pay $60 more per table...btw, is yours weekday or weekend??we r looking at weekday, thats why can afford to pay more coz the weekend rate is really XXXX...:p

gerlynn

BTW gals...

i realised there is no food tasting in the package isit??? then did u gals still go for food tasting out of your own pocket?? is there any discount given on food tasting?

swatch2004

hi gerlynn,

i have not been to hibiscus room, actually, we found camellia quite cozy and okay for us, the only thing would be the two pillars at the back. However, having a bigger room might mean that the room is not filled given our no. of tables and that's why we prefer a cozy room.
we are holding a weekday wedding too, as the diff is price is really big and anyway, ppl will come afterwork which should be okay!
think you can go for food tasting at half price, depends on if you are confident with their food.. so far, i heard mostly good comments about them!

gerlynn

hi Swatch2004...

ya i find camellia cozy too..but my FH doesnt like..he rather pay more for hibiscus..

called up hyatt ...the food tasting is 380++ for tabbble of 10...think maybe i will just go for food tasting wif my FH, MIL and parents..then only need to pay ard 200..heee...

btw, when is ur big day?? mine shd be sept 2004...seems like this thread rather quiet..n seldom see hyatt brides in SB Forum hor???

swatch2004

hi gerlynn,

yes, seldom see ppl post here!

mine is in feb next year, about 5 months more to go!

if it's affordable, it's good to go for food tasting, at least let your parents and FILs try then if anything they don't like, they will say them now but not on the actual day!

have you choose your BS and ROM?

we are thinking of holding the ROM at hyatt or outside... still thinking about it!

gerlynn

hi swatch2004..

me oso thinking of holding the ROM at hyatt...coz want it to be the same day..but hafnt decide whether to have it during the banquet after march-in...or one hour b4 the dinner at the garden...

wah...urs is getting nearer huh...must be getting busy soon...btw, ask u hor...since ur wedding is on weekday, will your relatives be taking leave? if not, then will still be having the tea ceremony during the day?? coz im not sure if my relatives will take leave....

i have more or less decide to take bridal from Camelia Houte Couture..not sure if you have heard b4 coz its pretty new...but the designer (boss) Nicole is very friendly and I trust her taste so far ...so hopefuli she will make a beautiful gown for me...hehe..but partly we decided on this bridal is oso coz she offers us quite an attractive package...

which bridal is urs??? paiseh so loh sor....:p

swatch2004

hi gerlynn,

thinking of the garden too but scare will be very hot! have you seen anyone who do it during the banquet? (after the march in)

not much to prepare as we are trying to make thing simple. my parents ahd FIL are quite easy-going and most of the things are leave for us to decide. For the tea ceremony, think only close relatives will attend and so they probably will take leave. I am not very sure also but since mother and MIL did not object so i think it's okay lah!

sure you will be a beautiful bride just take plenty of rest and do facials.. hehe.

we took a package at Bridal News which is offering something rather standard i think, but as my friends got good comments about it, i am happy to take their package.

really looking forward for the day.. hehe

gerlynn

hi swatch2004...

i personally haf not attended a wedding with solemnization during banquet..but apparently its getting very popular and common nowadays...so dun worry...in fact, since our wedding are mainly close friens and relatives, i feel having the solemnization during the banquet is quite meaningfull too...

well well...u shd be the one taking more rest and facials...coz only 5 more mths..hehe...

swatch2004

hi gerlynn,

if ppl are doing it at the banquet, what time will the banquet normally start then?

i am trying hard to keep up on facials, but then again, work is always a constraint for that. hope that things will get better when it get closer to the day!

gerlynn

hi swatch2004..

i read from the forum that people normally have their solemnization at 730 but usually start at 745pm and then dinner will start at 8pm. i guess when u state that there will be solemnization in your invitation card, people will try not to be too late...:p

swatch2004

gerlynn,

really hard to say... you know, singaporean!

but either at the hotel garden, suite or at the banquet, i picture that it will be better than at ROM, esp after SARS, think they still only allow 12 ppl in now. at least if it's hosted outside, more friends and family can witness that!

when are you going for your PS? i will do the outdoor plus indoor. Sentosa is of course one of the spot, any other idea?

gerlynn

swatch2004..

im going only outdoor..my designer agreed to talk to my photographer (Beetles @ work) to have one day ph0toshoot at Bintan...hee so exciting...

yea..i agree anywhere will be better than ROM...its quite sian to go fort canning ROM...:p

swatch2004

gerlynn,

wow, bintan! sure will be good memory for you!!

i was thinking of the botanical garden which i quite like it personally, however, i am afraid that it will be too hot! still thinking about it.

dreamer

i can ask if anyone got free corkage for wine? what other freebies did you get?

seems like grand hyatt has been pretty low profile.. no news on any bridal shows rite?

expat

I intend to take GH as my wedding venue. Since I am only inviting less than 200 pple, my friend said that only the Camellia Room suits my needs. Anyone heard about the room and how's the layout? Are there any pillars? My MIL is very concerned about pillars. I wonder why... Care to share your experiences?

gerlynn

Hi Lynn,

Im still considering whether to take Grand Hyatt too...as like u, i only have less than 20 tables..

Camellia room is quite nice..but there are pillars..if u only haf ard 15 tables, then there should not be any blockage...but if ard 18-20 tables, certain view would be brought..

If im taking hyatt, i will be taking the Hibiscus room...it is without pillars and v v nice...but gota pay more for it...

hope it helps,...

babyg

Can anyone provide with the wedding dinner info for weekday (15-18 tables), 2004.
What's the perks that given by the hotel?
Do anyone know wat's the min table for ballroomII? Is ballroom II better than Camellia?

edksdid

just 1 comment heard from my MIL who been for a dinner 2 weeks ago - sharksfins not so good, only 1 thread of it in her bowl.

mookie22

seems like hyatt's food isn't very consistent. i attended a dinner last year & the food came out hot & v good. was really impressed by the food & service. but i've heard my parents & other people saying that hyatt's food not good, altho i can't remember if they were referring to recent experiences. does it mean that it depends on which banquet team is cooking for u? quite worrying isn't it?

i'm wondering whether to consider hyatt too as the capacity of hibiscus room fits my needs. haven't seen the rm myself & worried abt the low ceiling that some frens complain abt, but earlier postings seemed pretty positive.

any hyatt brides have recent experiences to share, esp those who held weddings in hibuscus? quite anxious now as my wedding is next june & there are few hotels left for my dates. pls help!

gerlynn

hi mookie22...

i personally find hibiscus v nice...thou the ceiling is not high...its not tt low...n its very beautiful n cosy...the deco done is also great...so dun worry...

i am also considering hyatt hibiscus as my option...

puzzlerain

Hi mookie22

I agree with gerlynn.

I have just went to hibiscus yesterday to look at the setup. Tonight there are a couple holding there wedding there. You can go there and take a look. Hibiscus give ppl a warm and cosy look.
Main theme is gold for hisbiscus.

I am also considering hyatt hibiscus as my option

aigee

HI All,

I just had my dinner at Hyatt abt a week ago at the Stamford ballroom...

well.. so far the comments i rec from my guests who had attended few weddings this month at various hotels(coz it the lunar 8th mth)are all v positive... the food is good, the serving is big (enuff for 11 people)..i personally like the Yam paste w giko nut dessert.... although i do find that the shark fin i had during food tasting is slightly better then the actual dinner one.. but my guets no complaints so far lah...

the setup of the room is very nicely done too.. (if i have a pic on the set up.. i will scan & show u all)...the captain for that nite was quite responsible and helped in co-ordinating the nite's event...

i like stamford a lot coz its a square room w/o any pillars so all my guests have a good view of the stage.. i also like it's reception area the most.. it's very spacious, with few sofa sets for my guests to rest... best of all as Stamford is the only ballroom there... the whole recptiona area is for us only... don't have to 'share' the reception area with other couples...

in addition.. besides stmford ballroom there are some conference rooms.. so on that day as noone is using the rooms.. my co-ordinator set aside a conference room as my changing room... so i don't have to walk all the way up to the hotel room to change into my Evening Gown.

Actually, the only regret i have and the only thing i am not very satisfied abt Hyatt is pertaining to the wedding favors loh.. we have the pineapple tarts as our wedding favors.. and as you all knw.. on that day itself... the coule will be v busy... so we forgotten to take our wedding favors which my husband likes to eat a lot coz he like pineapple tarts.... so i called up my corodinators during the 2nd day of our stay at Hyatt asking him w/t can he arrange anything.. maybe can give us 1 or 2 for us to try... sigh.. but my co-ordinator just turn me down directly... he say Hyatt won't prepare extra tarts... which frankly speaking i don't believe loh.. come-on... it's just pineapple tarts.. can't they just send 1 or 2 to our room since we are still staying there....

..... this thing is the one and only thg which i finds that it's not handled properly and its really affect my overall grading on Hyatt...coz i thk it's actually something which Hyatt can easily do it for the wedding couple loh...

anyway.. all in all.. Hyatt is still a wothwhile place to hold ur dinner.. given it's reputation and very reasonable package...

HI dae,

my corkage fee is free for hard liquor & wine..

HI swatch2004,

i have attended 2 weddings w solemnization.. both have the solemnization after the first march-in and it is stated very clearly on the card that the solemnization starts at 7.30pm... the guests all arrived ontime leh... i thk so long as u make it very clear to ur guests that u are having your solemnization.. they shld be 'zi dong" to arrive ontime loh...