Grand Hyatt Singapore

ram

Congratulations Coo! i'm glad n relieved tt the feedback is so good. btw which ballroom u hd yr banquet? hmm, wat do u mean by upgraded room? cos i thought bridal suite is already big enough.. another bigger suite was given to you?

i heard fm my friend who attended one recently at Hibiscus Room. she said due to the low ceiling, the background music was abit loud n the chatting/talking from each table makes the ballroom very noisy.. i will hv mine in sir stamford room, with only a slightly higher ceiling than hibiscus room

however the food is good n the set up is nice too. other than the "noise" created by low ceiling, it seems tt there's no other hiccups...
just one more, some guests r hving some diffuclty to find hibiscus room though..

is it also true tt the food served by Grand hyatt was not from its own kitchen but sub-contracted? does tt mean the quality/standard of the food might not be consistent

och

hi coo,

glad to hear of ur happy wedding day. wow, u managed to get a room upgrade. i never managed to get one, despite asking a couple of times.

hi ram, i thot stamford has a lower ceiling than hibiscus??
i thot hyatt has its own banquet chef. i was under the impression that there is a kitchen behind the grand ballrm.

ram

hi och,

hd double confirmed wif my coordinator who confirmed tt stamford's ceiling is slightly higher. but think doesn't really matter, cos is juz slight.

oh, forgot to mention one more pt, my friend also said the bridal suite has a low ceiling too?? n she hd difficulty finding the bridal suite as it seems tt hyatt has 2 towers, thus got to go to the other lift lobby.. ??

ram

perhaps this friend of mine is very observant/critical - she also mentioned tt the reception area is too dark....

och

hi ram,

i agree with ur friend actually. hibiscus reception area is rather dark cos the staff deliberately dims the lights to create the mood.

it's true that hyatt has 2 towers. u hv to use the lifts fr behind the lobby to get to the suites.

interested

hi, can I check how much is the price per table for Grand Hyatt on wkday and wkend? Thks

bluechin

Coo,
Thanks for your sharing your good feedbacks with us. Congratulations too!

Ram,
Hyatt has a kitchen just behind the Grand Ballroom and they also have their own banquet chefs. So to worry.

bluechin

Interested,
So sorry.... i signed up some time ago so i'm unsure of the current prices for year 2003 onwards. U may like to get a quotation from the Catering Sales Dept of Grand Hyatt.

ram

thks och n bluechin!

oic..guess i need to remind my guests if they r coming to the suite.

if they deliberately dim the light, that means the area can be brightened up if we want. tt's great.

how abt the noise? is it really so noisy??
wat can we do to reduce the noise?

coo

Hi Ram - I had my dinner at the grand ballroom. I suppose the ceiling is higher but I've noticed that the atmosphere in all the rooms is quite similar. I happened to like the style of GH cos it's very warm and inviting. Especially nice in candlelight which I used. I am also a fan of dim lighting, but perhaps some people may not prefer that sort of lighting. Am sure the staff can brighten it on request though.

I think I got the room upgrade cos I didn't want a lot of things like cards etc etc. I got it on condition that the room was available. Deluxe suite or something. The original room shown to me as the bridal suite was a bit too small for my liking so I just tried my luck. The deluxe suite was huge! bedroom, dressing room, dining table that seats 6 and living room for abt 6 people too. But yes, you have to walk over to the other tower to get to the suites. Not too bad though.

I do not know abt the issue of contracting out the cooking of the food, but the food was apparently good and fresh, so it doesn't matter.

muddled

I confirmed my venue with GH during the bridal show and am in a little dilemma over which ballroom to take. I was bowled over by the grandeur of the Hibiscus room and was really glad it was available on the date we chose.

After signing the contract with our coordinator, we went browsing the wedding decor in the other rooms and found that Sir Stamford room is equally alluring (saw this when fully set up). My hubby said the stamford room is wider, and will give us more space to maneuver between tables during photo-taking with guests.

Having weighed the pros and cons, I'm still in a fix! We expect about 25 tables and both rooms are available till date. Should I give up Hibiscus??
Advice greatly appreciated!

maddy

Hello Muddled,

I'm going to be a Grand Hyatt Bride too...

I just booked my package with them.... Im using the Hibiscus room for my church wedding (holy matrimony) in the afternoon and then using the Grand ballroom for the wedding dinner...

Since u are having 25 tables and they will add 2 reserve tables, think Hibiscus room will be just nice...
and I like hibiscus room more than the Sir stamford room cos I like the "gold theme" in Hibiscus room.... it's gold in col and the stage look awesome with the gold settings... plus u can choose to put gold sash on alternate chairs which i think it will look very nice!

Sir stamford has one advantage over Hibicus room is that it has large foyer for people to mingle during cocktial time for the dinner.... so see which is your priority...

maddy
^_^

muddled

Hi Maddy,

Thanks for your advice and Congrats to your forthcoming wedding. It's great you'll get to use both lovely ballrooms in a day.

I used to think Stamford room lacked the elegance of the Hibiscus room but when it's decked in full decor, it actually looks really pretty. My coordinator mentioned that the ambience for both is similar, except that Hibiscus is more gold and the other is pastel.

My hubby, being the ever practical person, cannot understand why I should get stressed over such a "minor" issue. But he doesn't understand! And this is only the beginning of our planning. Many more things to fret over.

maddy

Hi muddled,
Thanks for your reply.
I'm actually not using both ballrooms in a day, but actually spread over sun and mon... sun afternoon for matrimony and mon night for dinner cos weekday dinner much more cheaper...

How about you? When's your big day?
Mine will be oct next year...

muddled

Hiya maddy,

My wedding's in Nov next year. Like you, I'll be holding my customary wedding on a public holiday and the banquet the following evening (a weekday).
Think it's becoming quite a common practice eh?

How are preparations coming along? I'm still looking around for photographers and such...

maddy

Hello Muddled,

Mine is 19th Oct next year... so no public hols leh... which day is yours? My preparation more or less quite settled... recently found a studio.. it's Everbliss... not too bad... the package quite good too... they even take cre of my ROM dress and makeup for my ROM this dec...
so now I'm looking for lunch venue near ROM place to treat my friends... how about yourself? Have u ROM already?

muddled

Hi maddy!

My banquet's on the 26th Nov.
I am still undecided over the ballroom.
Oh well, I'll probably go down this weekend to take a peek again. If this goes on, I think the hotel staff will probably recognise me...
My hubby is tearing his hair out trying to accomodate me.

Good that you've found your bridal boutique. I have only paid the deposit for my WG.

I ROM-ed in Aug this year. It was a simple but sweet affair. You must be getting excited as December draws near! Found your ideal bouquet and accessories?

luncheon

Hi, jus check with all. Anyone know how much is luncheon gor Grand Hyatt?? Thinkin of doin my wedding in one of the Saturdays as it is cheaper and & chances of ballroom available is higher.

Thks!

woodstock

Hi Luncheon,

I'm having my wedding luncheon at Grand Hyatt Hibiscus Ballroom. The price per table starts from S$630 (inclusive of the +++ taxes). I've booked my packages 3 months ago and I think they may have revised their prices. It's better to enquire directly.

luncheon

Hi Woodstock, thanks for your advice!!

Luncheon still so expensive??? Thot might be cheaper!!

Woodstock, who can i tok to huh???

maddy

Hello Muddled,

Yup, indeed I'm excited about my ROM! went to source for makan place today near the ROM so to treat my friends.... do u have any good recommendations for places for lunch near ROM?

^_^

woodstock

Hi Luncheon,

I think the price of weekend luncheon is around the same price as weekday dinner banquet. Considering that it's weekend, I think the price is quite alright.

My coordinator at Grand Hyatt is Lynn Tan. You can call her at 6416 7057.

muddled

Hi Maddy,

Wish I could help but I did not source for any eateries during my ROM then. How about checking with the ladies in the ROM threads?

All the best for your preparations! Go pamper yourself, get manicures/pedicures/beauty treatments, etc.

bluechin

<FONT COLOR="0000ff">Hi All,</FONT>
I’m finally back from my honeymoon!
Was busie unpacking my luggages, arranging presents, wrapping them up and delivering them so I didn’t post msgs here till now.

The weather’s perfect over at Perth. No rainy days at all….. mostly at 24 degrees in the day and 15 degrees in the nite. It was windy though…..thus making the weather cooling and perfect for hubby and myself.
We had a wonderful time over there. I tried sandboarding too! The farm stay was more perfect than I thought! Our chalet faced a lake!

My wedding went on really well too! My ah yees had a great time extorting ang baos from my hubby and also all the sabos they did.
We then went to Punggol Marina &amp; Changi Airport for photo shooting that morning. Also had some morning drinks and snacks at Coffee Bean with all our helpers.

The tea ceremony was really fun as well…… we managed to get my bro &amp; sis to serve tea to us!

As for the wedding banquet. Grand Hyatt was really attentive to us. Helped us in all ways they could. Our guests loves the dinner, the more than sufficient serving and especially the dessert. (my favourite too!)
The video montage was also a hit among the guests.
They were also thrilled by the ballerinas dancing in for my first dish. My customised cake was very pretty.....more pink than i would like it to be. Was told we were the first Hyatt couple to use their chopsticks as wedding favours. It was nicely tied with ribbons and our names printed on a card. My friends loved them!

All thanks to all our helpers and also Nick (photographer) &amp; Jimmy (videographer) for doing a great job in helping us complete all the table to table photoshoots of the 63 tables. (we had 2 reserves which were not used!) Nick shot a total of 18 rolls of film
Daniel (our MC) did a great job too! He was really helpful and professional.

So glad everything went well that day.

Will try to go through the postings asap.

Will go back to work tomolo.
No mood to work. *SiGH*

ram

congratulations bluechin!

feel happy for u tt yr wedding went on so smoothly!

oh, now hyatt has chopsticks as wedding favours. we hv more choices now.. how abt the ballerinas? r they fm hyatt's normal package too?

och

hey bluechin,

glad to hear that ur wedding day went so well. take a gd rest. looking forward to seeing u at the forum again.

mio

Hi bluechin,

Congrats to u and happy to hear that everything went smooth for ur wedding... Is it possible to show ur actual day wedding photos to us when they are ready??? Thanks.

neko

Hi bluechin,
Welcome back. Miss you so much

Thanks for your invitation again. Your wedding was really great and enjoyable. You look really pretty

Must keep in touch!

aigee

Hi bluechin,

Can see that u are really very happy... ;) so glad for you tat everything went smoothly...

Actually i also intended to use the chpstick for my wedding favors although i haven't seen it b4... but tot tat it will be something diff to give chopstick..now tat u say it's nice.. think i will confirm use them.

u customised a cake? Hyatt did it for you? is it a real cake? how much you pay hur?

wow.. ballerinas.. very unique idea... are they your Ah Yees?

slk

hi bluechin,

great that your wedding turn out well. hope you don't leave us from here. must keep in touch with the SB brides

bluechin

<FONT COLOR="ff0000">Good morning Ladies!!!</FONT>

Sorry for taking time to reply.... wanted to reply yesterday nite but becos my hubby's cousin wanted to use the PC which she used till the wee hours.

Thanks for all your well-wishes.

<FONT COLOR="0000ff">Ram,</FONT>
The chopsticks is actually an upgrade…. U can check with your coordinator for more details.

The ballerinas were not from Hyatt. I paid $400 for their services.

<FONT COLOR="0000ff">Och,</FONT>
Glad to see ya here again too!

Do drop by this thread more often as well.

<FONT COLOR="0000ff">mio,</FONT>
Sure, I will definitely show the pics to u ladies when they r ready.

<FONT COLOR="0000ff">Neko &amp; Delannie,</FONT>
So glad the two of ya and your hubbies enjoyed the wedding.

U like the desserts rite…..
Hyatt was very nice….. they kept my share for me……
Except the mango sorbet cos I think they melted.
but I managed to eat the rest of the desserts.

<FONT COLOR="0000ff">aigee,</FONT>
Do check for more details about the chopsticks with your coordinators. My colleagues and friends r still praising about them till today. My colleagues placed them by their work stations. It would be a good wedding favor for your guests.

Yup, Hyatt has wonderful desserts so I asked the chef to customised my cake. The price will vary from different designs but mine was quite complex because of the flowers and ribbons. Except to pay at least $700 for a real cake. (top up)

The ballerinas were little girls not my ah yees.

<FONT COLOR="0000ff">SLK,</FONT>
Ai yah…. I will not desert the SB Brides….. made many good friends here.

Your wedding’s coming up….. How’s your preparations?

bluechin

<FONT COLOR="119911">Another thing to add for all Hyatt Brides is that.... Should u come up with unusual ideas or any other requests.... I'm sure Hyatt will try their best to do a good job for you.

Both Hubby and i are really glad we chose Hyatt for our wedding and may even intend to have our 50th anniversary there if we are still around.
</FONT>

babbit

Planning to hold my wedding banquet at Hyatt on 7 Sep but they are only left with the Magnolia room. Anyone seen that room before?
My actual customary wedding is on 6 sep (saturday), still trying to figure out how to put 2 days in place. No church. Anyone has experience with that?

bluechin

Hi Babbit,
I had my food tasting in the Magnolia room.
It's not too bad.... Magnolia room when opened up till Magnolia Room IV can accomodate 42 tables.

neko

Hi bluechin,
The chopstick is in my display cabinet now
Very nice
Hyatt is really nice to keep your share of food for you. We had a great time there too. The food portion is really lareg, We were so full that night

Hi Babbit,
You may wish to see the ballroom first before you commit. There are 4 pillars in this ballroom. You may wish to see if these pillars will block the view of your guests (depending on the number of tables that you are having)

bluechin

Hello <FONT COLOR="ff0000">Neko,</FONT>
Glad to hear that u still kept my wedding favor.

How have u been? When will u be doing your photo shoot? Early 2003?

neko

Hi bluechin,

How is your marriage life? I still haven't plan for my photo shooting. I have just selected my ROM gowns i think 2 weeks ago. It is a simple ivory gown. Still souring for the flowers.
I went to Say Yes today and saw the picture of your ROM bouquet

Will show you the photos after my ROM
Keep in touch hor

bluechin

Hey Neko,

So glad to read your message here again.

Marriage Life is wonderful and i'm still enjoying it now.
I'm sure u will have fun with your hubby too in future.

When's your ROM?
What kind of flowers r u looking at? I try to source for u.

Nick will be delivering my wedding day pics to me tomolo. We must really arrange to meet soon together with Delannie ok.

<FONT COLOR="ff0000"><FONT SIZE="+2">Happy New Year!!!</FONT></FONT>

cotton

Hi Bluechin,

Wow glad to know that Hyatt did a Great job on you big day? I am having my wedding dinner on March 03 at Magnolia room. Haven go for the food tasting yet, still deciding which menu to take. Which menu did you select? Do u like the deserts? Heard that u had chopsticks for ur wedding favours! Really like this idea for my wedding favours too. You mention that u need to upgrade inorder to get this wedding favours?

bluechin

<FONT COLOR="ff0000">Hello cotton,</FONT>

Congratulations on your coming Wedding.

Btw, who's your coordinator?

I didn't really select a particular menu cos i've made some switches here and there and have also asked the chef to come up with different dishes for my guests.

I love the Desserts at Hyatt and the chef did this special dessert for me cos i Love Mango. So they created <FONT COLOR="ff0000">Mango Dessert Extravagant </FONT>which includes the following for my guests.

<FONT COLOR="119911">1) Mango Spring Roll with Raspberry Sauce

2) Mango Sherbet with Sesame Tuille

3) Mango Profiterole Coated with Chocolate

4) Mango &amp; Strawberry Short Cake
</FONT>

I think for the upgrade to the chopsticks, i think you could try finding out from your coordinator and see what he or she can do for you.

I'm sure Hyatt can help you should you have special requests.

So how's your preparation for your wedding. It's really getting closer to March.... and you must be so excited.

Hear from you soon!

neko

Hey hey bluechin,
I have read your thread in Carol's Photo and got to know abt the good news... can't wait to congrat you again (Not long ago from your big day. And here is another big project for you in 2003
) So happy for you and your hubby. Must take care of yourself. Hmm.. in this case, you may not be able to attend my wedding liao. But I can still visit you
Ha ha, I am just as excited as you are... i just can't stop myself from imagining how you would be like in one year time
Hmm, got to tell my bf your great news too.
My ROM is on 8 Feb. I'm looking for flowers that are purple or blue in color. Still cracking my head now...
Sure, hope to meet up with you and Delannie too. Don't know how's Delannie. Seems like she is still quite busy nowadays.

Happy new year to you, your hubby and your little sweet heart

bluechin

<FONT COLOR="0000ff">Neko,</FONT>

Haha.... u also found out.
Yah, so fast hor..... Honeymoon Baby actually.

Your wedding will be in September 2003 rite? Hope i'm not in confinement then. Do u have this patang thing that pregnant lady can't attend your wedding?

Aiyah, in less than a year's time i will be a fatty bombom.

Wow, Feb 8th just after my birthday. That's really fast.... U muz be really excited.
Mee too like you have a preference for purple or blue flowers.
Do you like my ROM bouquet? If u liked it, why dun u place an order for it?

Yah, i think Delannie's quite busy lately, called her the last time but she was quite busy so we barely spoke. Must meet up soon..... need to pass u the picture taken with you and Delannie at the banquet.

Happy New Year to you too!

delannie

HI Bluechin &amp; Neko,

Sorry gals, i'm really too busy lately with my year end closing &amp; audits

Congrats to Bluechin again in this thread

When i first saw the good news, i told my hubby too
We are very happy for you
So are you the "QUEEN" in the family now? Wow..your Mother-in-law must have prepared alot of tonics for you
Heehee...can't wait to see you become a fatty bom bom ;p You must share your experience with me &amp; Neko ok? Next time we need you to advise us leh....

Bluechin, when do you want to meet us? I would prefer a weekend as my weekday timing is uncertain...

Neko, so finally you manage to convince your bf to dress up on the ROM
Congrats too hahaha....

As for purple flowers, what abot turlip?

cotton

Hi Bluechin,

Thank you for ur advise will contact my co-ordinator regarding this. Congrat to ur pregnancy, is a good news!

Actually I dont really like the Desserts in both of the menus. They are the sea coconut sago or "Tang Yuen with lotus seed" something. I prefer Yam paste or Longan Almond Jelly. Dont know how flexible are they. My co-ordinator is Cynthia.

I am so stress, so many things to prepare. I be not in SG for 2 weeks next mth so quite tight for me!

aigee

Hi Cotton,

just to let you knw tat i have checked w my coordinator abt having yam paste as the dessert and he say no problem at all... so dun be so stress.. you should be able to change your dessert..

emmie

Hi cotton

Cynthia will advise you on the choice of desserts available. Think other than those listed on the menus, there's also yam paste, mango pudding and longan almond jelly. no worries!

bluechin

<FONT COLOR="ff0000"><FONT SIZE="+2">Happy New Year to all of ya here</FONT></FONT>

<FONT COLOR="0000ff">Delannie,</FONT>

No worries I understand that u have been busie…… really looking forward to meeting Neko and you soon…..

U told hubby ah…… his reaction must be Wow so fast?????
Yah….. got so many types of new food to try nowadays……mil even prepared some confinement food to get me prepared.
So mean….. want me to be fatty bom bom hor…..
I’ll try to help if I can when it’s Neko and your turn.

Btw, does your mum or mil “patang” pregnant ladies from attending your wedding dinner? Let me know okay.

<FONT COLOR="0000ff">och,</FONT>

Thanks a lot! I’ll take good care of myself.

How have u been and when will it be your turn?

<FONT COLOR="0000ff">Cotton,</FONT>

Thanks for the well-wishes.

I’m sure Hyatt’s able to change the dessert for you as mentioned by aigee and Emmie.

Dun worry okay…… Try to do one thing at a time and come with a check list for yourself….. This way u wouldn’t panic…… U may like to start with a Wedding Day Schedule now. All will go well for ya.

delannie

Hi Bluechin,

We are not patang! I will be happy if you and Neko can come for my wedding

Take care ok