Grand Hyatt Singapore

bvlgari25

Hi shakingheads,

I'm a GH BTB this june. The other 2 hotels you have mentioned are exactly what I have seriously considered too. I have attended a wedding dinner at MM before. The ballroom was nice and the food was good. My colleague who had hers there also strongly recommended MM to me. Her coordinator was Fiona. Think she is good. Actually to be honest Marina Mandarin was my 1st choice but too bad my date was booked. So was debating between my 2nd choices: Merchant Court and GH. In the end I chose GH cos I heard a lot of good comments on the food. Had a little food tasting during one of its bridal showcase and the food was really nice. I can't comment on Merchant Court's cos I've not tried before.

I'm taking the Mag/Van rooms which have pillars. So if I were to consider the ballrooms, Merchant Court definitely has an edge over GH. But I'm willing to close one eye wrt the pillars as my htb and i really like the food at GH and the themes they provide. So I don't mind paying more for the food and service at GH. I do believe that it is important for our guests to enjoy the food such that it will be memorable for everyone.

Shakingheads, you will have to see which is more important to you. All the best in your search for the ideal hotel. ^_^

bvlgari25

Hi eternal_mates, no leh... think the previous time she mentioned most prob would be mar/apr. I think usually should be 2-3 mth before AD. If you're worried that they forget maybe juz give them a call and check? Cos i know of some places the coordinator forgot and the couples actually have to send reminder. Hope GH doesn't have such problem.

pebblydiamonds

hi eternal_mates,
i think u have to call them up urself. mayb if u wanna be kiasu abit can call abit more than 3mths before? i don't think they keep track about when which couple should go n meet them for tiedowns etc..

happycake

I am not a Grand Hyatt BTB but I had my company's D&D there last year.

At that time, we had the black and red theme.
I would say it is very nice and classy!
As for the food, it is delicious too and the portions were big. Maybe cos my table were all girls so we couldn't finish the food.

For those who are considering, I would recommend it for your banquet.

pebblydiamonds

yeah i think better to ask early. or at least call early to book appointment for the meet-up. then if u don't have enough invitations, u have more time to get somemore from them and send for printing.

cyys

hi Hui,

sorry for the delay, have sent you some pics (tho I don't have many pics with the pillars in them). hope it helps!
my wedding was some time ago, so my coordinator has left since then.

piyo_piyo

Hi Cy,

Thank you for sharing your pictures with me :> u looked very pretty and gorgeous... I havent signed with Hyatt bcoz will go down n take a look at Four seasosn hotel before we make decision.

pearlypearl

Thanks, Tabitha!!

Btw, by any chance, do you have her email address too? Thanks again!

pebblydiamonds

Hi Tabitha: how come u know the date is taken by me? u looking at Mag/Van? or SSR? haha. but u know i think on the AD itself, Myra won't come down.. i think we'll be working with the banquet coordinator from there already. Altho all our tie-downs and liaisons will be with Myra as contact person.

eternal_mates

Just an update, food tasting is 2 months before your wedding day. As for choosing of the table linen, decor etc, will be 1 month before the wedding day.

tabbygal

Oh no pebbles, jus found out that Myra has quit! She transferred us to another coordinator. So sad... Initally we were considering Mag/Vanda then changed to SSR as HTB don't like pillars.

pebblydiamonds

ya!! i received her email last night.. felt so sad..
my fiance said, as long as Hyatt honours whatever they promised us, even though the coordinator has changed..
yeah SSR is nice.. i like SSR la.. but sigh.. more ex, and has a cap of 30tables.. scared we will need more..

tabbygal

Who's your new coordinator? Mine is Sam aju. Wonder how he's like? I like Myra but maybe cos she's blissfully married now so no need to work liao.
For my fiance and i, we felt easier to scale down then have to find people to come so chose SSR.

piyo_piyo

I went to Hyatt yesterday to take a look at their ballrooms as they have quite a few weddings on that nite. I'm wondering how come some of the rooms did not hit the minimum tables requirement and they allowed to have wedding there? For example, the couple only have about 16 tables in Hibiscus room but minimum tables requirement for weekdays is 20 tables n weekends is 25 tables. Because i only have 16-20 tables, so only can take camelia room. But i like Hibiscus room, more like a ballroom whereby camelia room is just a normal function room, nothing spectacular.. Do u think i can negotiate with them to take the Hibiscus room?

euanterence

Hi Hui

If Hibiscus is booked on the same day as ur AD by another couple, it is impossible to change it to there. I guess its business tactics that if you are only taking less than 20 tbls and u wana take hibiscus, Hyatt might lose extra tables should other couples who have more than 20 tables want to take Hibiscus but have been taken up by yourself.
I had the same prob before, wanted to even up the tables to 25 or so but as all the rooms have been booked, i had no choice but to take Camillia Room. However, am quite happy in the end as the setting was really very cosy and intimate.
However, you have to note that if you intend to have 2 projectors, the maximum no. of tables Camillia can accomodate is only 18tbls,not more than that. If 1 projector, maybe 19 tbls as they dont want ur guests to be sitting uncomfortably.
So at the end of the day, your guest list have to be very firmed that you will definitely not be hitting more than 18tbls.

jasminewys

my ad is on 28 nov 2009 and i have already booked hibiscus room during the wedding show in june 2008...

n i attended my friend's wedding in hibiscus room in 2007... it's a good n cosy room in my opinion...

princessng

Hi Jasmine,
May I knw what r the perks that you get when u booked during the wedding show? I realise Hyatt is very very rigid. Thanks

topaz

hello! just like to check how's the food and the ambience and experience here?planning 30 tables @ Mar 2010... will appreciate your feedback. Thanks v much!!

jasminewys

hmmm.. cos i signed up during the wedding show i got the standard free projector, one additional wish and some 100 dollars pete's place voucher...
the package is rather comprehensive to me as compared to the other hotels that i've viewed... like pan pac... merchant court..

besides, i'm impressed with the level of service, quality of food and the decor of the banquet hall...

princessng

Thanks for your reply. . . For us, we couldn't get additional wish n as ours is a weekend dinner, only 2 wishes. I tried to ask for 1 day room for helpers but to no avail. kinda disappointed as when we kinda say other hotels r not so rigid, the coordinator told us that as our date is a hot date, we can go to other hotels if the other hotels really can offer that to us. =(((

jasminewys

hmmmm.. i was advised to wait till the wedding show when i signed uo last year... for the additional wish...mine is also a weekend dinner...

which room are u using? date? usually year end are all hot dates...

u will be given 2 nights free stay.. maybe if u really need the day room, can get them to convert to two rooms on the same day??? or offer to downgrade to a normal room instead of a suite???

not too sure... cos my coordinator Mandy is very nice and professional.. humorous and offers good suggestions

cocosweet

Hi GB BTB, can anyone share the perks that you are given?
I am planning to take Mag room on weekday. i only have 3 wishes and tried to ask for a day room for helpers, but my coordinator Marie is quite *stringy* with the perks..
and if compare to other hotels, their perks are quite limited.

princessng

Hi hi.. mine was very much the same as what was presented. Nothing was change yet.. will meet my coordinator again to see the draft contract. I dunno if I can drag till another wedding show to get an additional wish as I dunno if there is one. sigh...
Yes I agree they are quite strict with the perks considering the current economic crisis and compared to other hotels.
Is there any success stories on getting perks? Or any coordinator to recommend?

miwako

Hi, I'm still deciding between GH and FS. My gf had her wedding last year at GH, and the service was quite bad, perhaps due to the 5 weddings they had on that day. GH offers me the same Cam room for our 1st proposed date, while FS offers on another date. We're still deciding between them, mainly becuz (1) GH will be like deja vu for my gfs and I due to same venue, same food wedding favours (2) bad experience (3) the date!
Any advise?

cocosweet

yep jo. Marie was very stringy with the perks. i am still waiting for the drafted contract. keep my fingers cross that she will be able to accede to our request. If she dont, we also have no choice but to accept it as we have already decided that we want GH. BTw,Does anyone know when the next wedding show?thanks!

sean_ng

I have the following items for sale from my wedding last Friday.
All items are brand new and only bought few days before my actual day.
Please send me an email at seanngyl@gmail for more details.

1) Martell VSOP, 70cl, duty paid, 8 bottles, $70 each

2) Berri Estates Cabernet Sauvignon, 75cl, duty paid, 22 bottles, $18 each

nfk22

Did anyone has their wedding at the Magnolia/Vanda room? May I know what are the comments about the Magnolia/Vanda room? Is there a lot of pillars and distracting for the guests and does it look like a ballroom? If you have any pictures, kindly send to me at [email protected]

daryllimps

I have a wedding dinner package on 28th November 2009(Sat)with Hyatt to let go.Just after the hari raya ph. It is at the Hibiscus room for min25 to 28 tables... paid a $5k deposit for it.. per table of 10 cost $1174 incl tax and cess. negotiated for a lot of perks n cos i signed up during a wedding show, got more perks... really cannot bear to let go but cos i got an increase in number of guests..

Pls contact me at my email: [email protected] - Daryl or [email protected] - Jasmine
Alternatively you can call me on my handphone at 92739592 - Daryl

piyo_piyo

I heard from my coordinator, coming 28/2 will have a wedding show in Hyatt. I just paid my deposit yesterday and very satisfied with the perks that they gave. As my wedding day falls on sun, so i only can choose 2 wishes. But my coordinator promised to give me complimentary LCD projector and additional 1 wish. Not only this, she still gave one free spa package for me and my partner :> Therefore, i'm quite happy with the perks they gave. Think u gals should sign up during wedding show, got more perks. As my coordinator gave me these perks according to wedding show offer.

carebearz

It could be the couple paid for 20tables but only had 16tables. I've got friends who couldn't meet the min no. of tables but they still paid up for the min no. of tables and use the extra payment to exchange for something else like dinner vouchers etc.

xbb07

I was at Hyatt yesterday, like the place very much.However my co-ordinator is Marie, she did not offer any additional perks.. Can anyone recommand any good co-ordinator?