Grand Hyatt Singapore

ednix

Hi Ling!

If you happen to have any pic of the black & red theme, can send me as well? Will be paying the deposit for the banquet on Sat!

Thanks a million!!

phy

I am planning to get marry at Hyatt...Haven't really seen the ballroom yet but I like the hotel itself. Read from the post, got lots nice feedback abt the hotel. Beside Guan Li, who else is good in their service? Any more thing that I need to take note abt the hotel? Is the sound system really bad? I am in panic moment, my wedding is early next year but I dunno which hotel to go to and all....And my date have not fixed yet coz has to wait for approval...I am doom

Can I have the picture also? [email protected]

namipandora

Hi! Any idea whether the low ceiling at Sir Stamford Room is a minus point? And what do you mean when you say the sound system is bad? Oh, and has anyone tried their live band before?

jazzi

just wondering if anyone managed to catch the Hyatt bridal showcase last Sat? Would like to find out if there are any perks that were offered on top of the standard package, as we're planning to go for the grand ballroom?

uptowngal

I need urgent advice. I was served by Anthony and Radiance last Tue. They were eloquent in their presentation and my fiance and I were quite happy with their presentation. But after that, we realised that they are quite inflexible with their perks.

Radiance at first told us that we must confirm whether we want the package by 13 June. Then on Sat she changed the goalpost to 9 June. But I couldn't make it tonight so I asked her to extend to 10 June.

She also told me that I need to pay 5k deposit, then 50% of balance payment 1 month before my AD on 2 Aug 2009 and remaining 50% on nite of the dinner. I've done some checks & realised this is NOT THE NORM. Feel damn cheated now.

Also, they didn't inform me that Hyatt has a balinese garden that can be used for solemnisation?? I just saw it from the forum archives

Should I just change coordinators? I read in the archives that Mandy is good. Can someone please give me some suggestions! Should I call Mandy tomorrow, tell her I'm v.unhappy with a colleague of hers, and ask that she assists me instead?

shilo

Hi Serene

Ok, i was abt to chose Hyatt but just let u know, this is Hyatt's policy. Each hotel has different policy of their own. Regds to the deposit and balance payment, it is true. Mandy tells me the same

As for Balinese garden, they are going thru renovation, thats why they dun open up.
So not to worry ok.

uptowngal

Spoke to Mandy this morning. She in turn spoke to Radiance who gave me an "update" this afternoon, which is as good as no update 'cos she basically said the progressive payment stands. Radiance says Hyatt is doing the same as what hotels like Ritz Carlton and Shangri La are doing... but I think Hyatt isn't quite at the level of Ritz and the Shang!

Moreover, my point is, like in property sales, if u opt for progressive payment, u'll get a discount off the retail price lor. 'Cos of time value of money. So if hotels want to head down this route, they should also consider doing this.

I asked R if Hyatt had bad experience in collecting payment from couples after the dinner. Radiance said yes, some couples have fedback tt they find it difficult to make full payment after the dinner thus they prefer to have progressive payment.

Of which I told R that my feedback would then be that I prefer Hyatt to revert to what the market norm is - full payment only after the dinner.

Anyway, I ultimately told Radiance that I prefer that Mandy takes over and so we've arrange to meet Mandy next week. Just hope that she keeps her word when she says she has made a "no obligation booking" for us. 'Cos R said the same thing but when Mandy checked this morning, she said the date I want is freely available.

shilo

hi gal

though mandy takes over, but the hotel policy stands still, right?

it is up to individual hotel to how they like to have payment mode.

I once wanted to take Marina Mandarin, but they said they must have full deposit , otherwise space gone and it happens to me. So i have no choice to let it a miss, cos it is their policy.

THough Mandy makes a non obligatory booking, means tentative book the date for u, but they still collect $5K deposit, and then they collect another deposit again. and then final payment. So I see they still decide the same policy

uptowngal

No idea. I have requested that Hyatt either reduces the progressive payment from 50% to a much smaller amount like $2-3k, or instead of paying 50% 1 month before the dinner, I'll pay say 20% 1-2 weeks before the dinner.

My point about the non-obligatory booking is that Radiance said something but did not do it. Coupled with some other things she said that turned out to be wrong (or in her words "a miscommunication"), I think I'm not willing to be the hotel's guinea pig for training her.

There're a couple of other stuff that we want to discuss with Mandy - like changing the 2nd LCD Projector that was included as 1 of our wishes (it was just thrown upon us) to something else, and so on. Essentially, we haven't really gotten any additional perks that're outside the package offering. But we just want to swop around some of the stuff that are being offered.

cleop

UptownGal I think in regards to the payment policy, different hotels will have their different guidelines. I am a GH bride in year 2005 and i am a very happy with their service and food which some of my relatives do recall that they can't find anything as comparable to the banquets we have nowadays from 5 star hotels. In my own opinion when it comes to selection of hotel for your wedding day, you have to decide which hotel caters to your needs and whether you are alright and comfortable with the hotel in terms of the atmosphere and the payment policies that it(hotel) can provide for you. Of course in terms of coordinators i do believe that it is also an important factor i looked at when i engage my coordinator then. Personally i have not met Mandy before but i have met Sam Aju because of my friend's wedding coming up in Dec, 2009. FYI, my friend insisted to have it at Grand Hyatt because of my wedding, the everlasting impression it has created even though it's 3 years ago. I have met Radiance before though it's short but i think she is not as bad as you have said her to be. I beg to differ the opinion that you have mentioned that Hyatt -Radiance used your case as a guinea pig because a big hotel like Hyatt would allow someone to ruin their long standing reputation just like that. I think even though you switch to Mandy as what Ocean Claudia has mentioned you still have to follow the payment policy set by the hotel, think Mandy would do the same if not i will have to inquire why we (my friend and I) are given a different treatment and i will insist to request the same thing for my friend.

ilovemocha

oh dear,infact i wasnt noted abt the "paying 50% deposit one mth before the wedding banquet". For those who have done their AD, is that really true for all brides?
My coordinator is also Mandy

cleop

Ocean Claudia...I do agree with your points. In the past i have met some hotels who needs me to place a higher deposits than Hyatt.

UptownGirl if you really managed to obtain the progressive payment as mentioned, please do let me know because i too want to make sure my best friend got the same payment policy from Hyatt too.....

Thanks in advance......

shilo

Dear Uptown Girl

i think u shd check with Hyatt. IF payment for 50% one month before is unacceptable to u, maybe u would like to switch hotel, otherwise there will be unhappiness especially money concerned.

Each hotel has their own policy and we cannot compare her with others. I know Hyatt is not so flexible cos this hotel sells by itself . They also have their reasons for doing that

however i hope u are able to get thru the negotation. At least u try

namipandora

Hi, i think for Hyatt, the downpayment is part of their policy, it's actually stated in the policy. And i have to agree different hotels practice different things. Moreover if wedding date is next year, all the more the hotel would need a 'guarantee' that you will not 'jump ship'. This is part of business, the deposit acts as part of the 'in case they lose a potential customer' if you ever back out.

Personally i think the staggered payments is better, at least you won't find yourself payment up everything at one go. If we depends on ang-bao, may end up panicking if ang-bao don't meet the payment.

@cleop, thanks for reassuring that the food and service is ok there. I am also wondering about it at some point, and now going through the contract as well, and yeah, the 50% downpayment applies to me too.

d0lphin

hi hyatt brides/btb, i have heard many comments that the lights in the ballrooms are very dim. Anyone had issue on that?

bvlgari25

Hi lye ting (starfish_pooh),

I do have a few photos of mag/van rooms. The pictures are taken with the rooms in their 'raw state' i.e. without the banquet tables set up. If you're interested probably you want to leave your email add so that I can send you the pictures.

kitty_ng

Hi hyatt brides, i jus had my wedding at SSR last sat. Everything went well, with appropriate lightings and very good sound system
I would say all my guests were very impressed by the quality of food that hyatt offered and the service. It was simply excellent
Our coordinator and captain that attended to us were very professional as well.

d0lphin

kittyng, glad that u hv a wonderful experience. I m a hyatt btb (ssr too) last week my colleague attended a wedding on weekdays at ssr and she gave me many bad comments. This makes me worry.. I think it oso depend on luck? Any tips to share with us too?

kitty_ng

Hi june, thanks! Congrats on your wedding

For us, we feel a thorough trial run is very impt. We actually sent our coordinator our cd of animation, montage & songs to let em try & test out the sound system, way before our AD. On AD, my hubby did a thorough trial run to ensure everything goes well. As for the food, it's been very satisfactory during food tasting, except for little changes. Hyatt has taken our feedback serously and the food turned out to be even better

surfersp

hi all, i have signed my package with Hyatt last yr in sep.. would like to know when did the "50% payment one month before wedding banquet" started? cuz in my contract nothing of such was mentioned at all....

anyta

Hi, the coordinator also told us of the 50% payment a mth before the banquet. Do not know when they came up with this.

kitty_ng

Hi Alex, I oso signed my pkg with hyatt last sept. It was not reflected in the contract. Neither was it mentioned before my AD. I cleared all my balance only when i checked out

So probably it's newly implemented only.

hi any ex-GH brides other than Kittyng who experienced perfect sound system?
was scanning thru the archive n horrified to see so many complaints regarding the sound system and service.

anyta

redrubberslippers, i'l be going down to hyatt tomorrow to negotiate. pls let me know if they'r flexible enuf to waive corkage or somethin.

ifkg740

I had my AD on the 22nd Jun at Grand Hyatt. Everything went very smoothly, except for a small technical hiccup during our video but that was resolved very quickly. My coordinator, Desiree, called me immediately after the banquet and apologised for the technical hiccup.

BTW, I had my soleminsation done right before the dinner. My coordinator kindly arranged for a room next to the dining venue for the event. The room was done up very nicely and we even had servers helping us with drinks for our family and friends who joined us for the event.

We chose the black and red theme.. turned out to be really classy... friends were full of praises, even the older relatives liked it.. My photos are not ready yet but I do have some taken during the bridal show.

Service and food was excellent (feedback from friends and relatives).. Most said it's one of the best food they had for wedding banquets. We had a server to every table so the needs and requests of our guests were met very quickly. Our captain has been very professional and helpful throughout the night.

Sound system quality was pretty good. We had a wedding band that evening and they did not have any problems with the sound system at all. Grand Hyatt has even kindly loaned us their grand piano for my pianist (that helped us to save some money).

As for the change in payment terms, that has been recently changed. I was informed about "the 50% downpayment one month before AD" when I went for my food tasting in early Jun but it was vaived for my case as the new policy was not implemented yet when I signed up during the bridal show in Mar'08.

All in all, I have no complaints and only praises about the service and food from Grand Hyatt. My corodinator, Desiree, has been most helpful during all the times when I needed to clarify things and make changes. She even gave me her mobile number when she was away on holidays in Europe so that I can call her if I need to (talk about quality service, taking into consideration the hours of time difference between Singapore and Europe). I gave her some pretty difficult 'problems' but she handled them extremely well.

Well done!

Anita A, the discussion went quite ok imo.
as we intend to have only 25 tables (wkend), we are entitled to only 2 wishes. we asked for more items like projector, helper's room, waiver of corkage for hard liquor provided we are not like bring many many bottles then its really too much la..they did not reject n will get back formally so i would say there's some flexibility.

Jessica Khan, congrats on ur wedding! nice to hear your gd experience, which function room was yours?

ifkg740

Thanks, redrubberslippers..

The helper's room shouldn't be a problem, pending on their occupancy rate. We had our helper's room from 2pm to 8pm.

As for hard liquor, we managed to waive the corkage but they have to be duty paid.

We booked the Magnolia/Vanda room for the dinner. As we were the only function that evening, my coordinator arranged to have us upgraded to the Grand Ballroom. We were informed of the upgrade one week before the dinner (as she needed her boss's approval). She has also kindly made the arrangements to have sufficient signage to redirect all our guests that evening.

To be honest, she need not have done so as I would have been none the wiser. These are some of the little things that she has done and I'm fully appreaciative of.

Jessica Than, thats really nice to hear!
i tot grand ballroom needed at least 45 tables? how many did you have?
btw how did u find the bridal suite? i hafan had an opportunity to see it yet

kitty_ng

Hi jessica, congrats on yr wedding!
Mine was a day before yours.

For my case, we were lucky to be given an overnight stay for the helper's room. My jiemeis were so delighted & impressed as they were given a suite
But your upgrade to the grand ballroom was really great....hee

d0lphin

hi kittyng, how did u neg for an overnight stay for helpers? that's really great~ Did u do it when you sign ur contract or after?

jomel

Dear BTB,

I have check with Hyatt 2 Sats back regarding their prepayement. They just started this policy around apr-may this year.

Understand that some Hotels only collect deposit like 5k and they do not collect prepayment till the event is over.

but.... just would like to share, most 5 stars Hotels collects prepayment before 1 month prior wedding. some even do prepayment 90 days, 60 days and 30 days prior wedding.
the reason for Hotels to collect prepayment is to prevent late payment or "bad debts". if a couple were to owe 50grand, can you imagine how much the sum will be if they have at least 2 couples every weekend, owing the same amount?

i believe if you have shortlisted Grand Hyatt as one of the Hotels, you should be aware of the cost you are going to pay. its just a matter of paying earlier or later
as long as you are happy about the Hotel/Ballroom and associate who handles you wedding…. don't let small things like prepayment make you upset.

so far, the associates whom i have met in Grand Hyatt are very professional and helpful! I sincerely would like to compliment Andy Chan and Andy Chia
They showed me the excellent service which Grand Hyatt can offer!

Hope all of you will find your perfect venue soon

kitty_ng

Hi june, i did not negotiate for it but it was thrown in for us when we did our express check-in. So i was pretty amazed too
Think it shd also be subj to availability.

ifkg740

Hi Redrubberslippers,

I had initially committed 31 tables. As I mentioned earlier, there was no other event in the hotel that evening, so I was 'upgraded' to the Grand Ballroom despite that I could not meet their minimum requirement (please note this is definitely subjected to availability).

I also requested for an upgrade of the bridal suite. My coordinator, Desiree, could not commit although she mentioned that she will try her best. In the end, we got upgraded to the Grand Corp Suite. The suite is extremely spacious and very nicely decorated. We even had a small kitchenette. Too bad we forgot to bring our digital camera that day, so we didn't have any photos to show. You can take a look at the link http://singapore.grand.hyatt.com/hyatt/hotels/rooms/room-description.jsp?chooseLocale=&start=11 (the suite is exactly as in the photos.. thumbs up!) Again, I would like to stress that this is subject to availabilty but I believe that the coordinators will try their best and make your wedding a memorable one.

Personally, I agree with Jomel. If you have already decided to hold your wedding banquet at Grand Hyatt, would it make a difference to pay that 50% one month earlier or after the event? Afterall, you are pretty unlikely to change your venue by then, right? This is my personal view, that's all.

katsim

i considering hyatt as my choice. can i check out how does the mag/van ballroom looks like?
any pictures u guys managed to take?

TIA

jomel

So sorry katherine.
I don’t have the pictures. Can’t help you.
Why not you drop by for site inspection?

ifkg740

Hi Katherine,

Sorry I won't be able to help you on the pics for Mag/Van ballroom as well...

I still might have the floorplan of it if you need?

ifkg740

Hi xbox,

Mandy has always been getting good reviews here on the forum.. so she should be pretty professional in her work..

As for my case, a few of my requests were not agreed upon immediately. I was informed of the upgrade of the ballroom one week before my dinner. And I did not realised that I was upgraded for my suite until I checked in.

When is your dinner? Maybe it's still far away, so they are not willing to commit themselves yet. I requested for the upgrade of my suite about 2 weeks before my dinner and my coordinator could not commit then as well.

Just bear in mind that they will try their best to make your night a memmorable one. I'm sure they will try and accomodate your requests if they can.

If you don't mind, maybe you can tell me what are some of the requests you have asked for? Hopefully, I can give you an idea if they are plausible.

ultimatemocha

Hi Jessica,

Yes, i have read alot of reviews. Infact, i am forefeiting their wedding favours cos we are gg to have ours for the guests so not sure ultimately they can have some other incentives given to us. My AD is quite soon.

Will pm u abt the requests

thotties

hi xbox, we just signed our contract with her yesterday and are concerned about what you have mentioned. Could you share your requests with me as well? thanks