Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel

deerixp - about 8 more mths!! soon! soon!

sammi - u mentioned the white/crystal setting sounds nice and classy!

Maisie - black theme sounds mysterious and nice!!

maisie

yes yes..like those gotic feel...but scared grandma n elderly folks dun like oni....hope next few mths will have new themes...haha..maybe fat hope... lol..

how i wish grand ballroom will install crystal lights...

sammi0819

maisie: yep all black with silver organza over the black table cloth... =) my 2 VIP tables were white with gold organza thou...

ystday i told elizabeth abt my concerns when i read about JM... she told me that its actually the way of her phrasing is not tactful but shes ok ...

like u all i also think that the deco looks too simple n cheena...

but i guess their official florist is JM, they used to work with June florist if im not wrong...

i wonder if they allow us to work with other florist at no extra charge?

sammi0819

I guess u gals can try to meet up with JM earlier... juz come up with some excuses ie u nit to travel the week before yr AD or sumthing, dun think they shld reject you

To make the meeting fruitful, what you can do is, bring some photos of the theme that you like and discuss with JM.

guinguin

guess as what sammi said may help...

gals, any1 know we can bring our own pillowcase there? elizabeth told me their bed was custom made, therefore unable to fit in bedsheet wor..

guinguin - u took 6 rooms yet not very good rates... =S

as for JM.... i guess we really need to insist... 1 week b4 actual day really seems quite worrying for us.. esply when this is a once in a lifetime event... they shld try to accomodate to our meeting request actually...

wow sammi ! thanks for sharing! the duckies are cute haha

guinguin... may i know how much u paying for the superior room (per room)? if inconvenient its ok kekeke

deerixp

berlinda: thanks thanks.. 8 months plus.. wow.. now come to think of it beri fast also..hmm.. i didn't do much things yet..

sammi: the bedsheets are simple & nice.

icager

Sammi thanks for sharing... @ least i feel relieved now...

Belinda : Have u signed up for their wedding show aldy? Maybe will see u there too...

guinguin

hi sammi, thanks 4 sharing.. the bedsheet provided by GCW?

berlinda.. i need to chk wif my htb 1st.. rate sent to him tat time, and he scan thru he claims kinda exp lor, even he called elizabeth also nt much can disc..

ngie22

Jere's WiFe,

huh... u still got time to sleep? I tink u'll be busy preparing liao lor... hahaha... BTW, ask u ar... Your MUA, is thru the bridal studio, or ownself employ one? Because, i wana know if those MUA which are attached to Bridal Studios... will they follow u throughout the morning session, until the "Jing Cha" time... And at nite, will the MUA follow the bride from before the dinner, until the last part when the bride prepares for her 2nd march-in?

maisie

can sleep for 2hrs..check in 2pm...then slp till 4pm..lol..

normally MUA will come early morning do bride and leave le..wont follow thruout jing cha...

then in the early evening, they will go hotel direct and make up for bride...if the package for MUA includes 2nd march in, then they will stay till 2nd march in and leave...

some oni include 1st march in hair n make up..for 2nd march in have to top up..depends on the terms and $$ with MUA...

ngie22

Oic... no wonder I see my friend's wedding day... her MUA just passed her a bag of makeup after the MUS done my friend's makeup, in the morning. And by the nite, the MUA came.. and left shortly after doing my friend's makeup for the nite... My poor friend, left with the makeup bag, and she got to touch-up herself!!!

deerixp and Icager

i havent sign the contract yet

i think i should be meeting elizabeth end of this mth or 1st week of aug to pay 1st deposite...

then 16 Aug... might get representative to go down to pay remaining and spin the lucky draw thingy cos me and bf not free...

once i get the contract i will email u deeprixp... but u need to remind me hahahaha

dun envy babe... 1 friend told me... once in a lifetime wedding.. if ever we kana "tok" .. just treat it as its just ONCE in this life time. Just Enjoy the wedding.

After i hear her say this i feel better hahaha

ya maisie.. u book early get good date and the date u want... ppl who book now cant get ur date liaoz.. so *smile!*

hi ngie... mines 29 Oct 2010 Friday hehehe

Urs?

hweecheekoh

hi... meet up with jeremy for discussion. planning my wedding on mar 2011. he say need min 40 tables,cannot less than that for grandballrm. but think 40 tables really alot. currently we only hve abt 35 tables. anyone knows if can bargain for lesser tables?

ngie22

berlinda: ooo.. I almost chose tat date too! But end up i took december. hahaha...

jere's wife: i tried asking jeremy for 35 tables for Grand ballroom... but he said cannot.
But guess 40 tables should be fine now for me... hope by next yr, nothing copes up.

koh hwee: Think they'll rather not risk the 40tables minimum rule.. because your date is still very very early. I think maybe to the hotel, they'll rather wait and see how. Wait to "catch bigger fish".....

ngie22

cheergal,

currently, the additional perks will be for the upcoming wedding show coming on August 16. But, they are also promoting the same perks now.

Trust me... it has everything u want... almost lah. As compared to other hotels out there.
Give the coordinator a call and take a look at the venue... then they'll tell u in details wat are the perks.

slyz

Hi Btbs,

am frantically finding a hotel for my wedding. Initially already reserved 2 locations but now, my guest list is getting bigger and have to look for a bigger ballroom.

Headed to intercon as 1st choice but the perks were low, then we went to conrad, better perks but realised we need more tables. now, im so close to december09 and we havent found a venue.

Wer're currently looking at the last 2, Grand Corpthorne and Merchant court.

Can anyone give me more comments about GWC pls? do they give better perks, or is the bridal suite nice? are they hospitable? what wedding favours are there? thanks!

ngie22

tearsofjoy: Price for a Weekend Wedding dinner is $1068NETT, regardless which ballroom u choose at GCW.

cheergal: Am not sure which creditcard is ideal... Have to see what promotions those creditcard companies give at tat point of time.
Also, I read from other pages... saying that, try not to apply for special extension of credit limit for this wedding banquet. Because, if u do so, the creditcard company will require u to pay the full amount, within 7 days. Not only that, the creditcard will NOT GIVE YOU ANY CREDIT POINTS, despite u signed like 7K, 8K or even more, using tat creditcard limit extension system for wedding banquet.
Which is why, some couples in forum advise other couples, to pay by seperate credit cards instead.... At least, u can earn the Credit Points...

ngie22

sam:
actually, if your date is not a very auspicious date... there are many hotels out there which cater for bigger ballroom... Like, Marina Mandarin, Oriental Hotel, SwissoTel Stamford, Grand Copthrone Waterfront, and Merchant Court etc.

I personally never attended any weddings at Merchant Court before. But heard from my friend who went scouting for Banquet Venue, she striked off Merchant Court, because the ballroom is on the same level as the lobby and restaurant/cafe/buffet. Thus, she didnt take it, because she wanted more privacy for her wedding and her guests.

GWC, if u are looking at their Grand Ballroom, its very ideal. Because the whole level 4, belongs to u. And there is a desinated smoking area (for smokers) on the same level. What I know is, most hotels don't offer that, and smokers have to go all the way out of the hotel to smoke.... Perks wise, we are sure that GWC offer pretty attractive perks. Bridal Suite, I think noting to rave about... just that it's bigger than any normal room.

If u like a beautiful bridal suite, can consider Swissotel Stamford/Fairmount. Their bridal suite is located on the highest level of the hotel, and the view is breathtaking! But all I can say is... just the Bridal Suite "wowed" me. The suite is also gorgeous! Love the idea that the bathtub is so near the bed... and we can even see the breathtaking sky view, from the bathtub! Marvellous! But, then again, I would not advise wedding banquet to be held at Stamford/Fairmount, especially during December. Because its during festive season, there will be many shoppers around tat area... and carpark will be a pain, as the hotel and shopping mall, share the same carpark. It could get worse, if there are other weddings held on the same day as u.....

slyz

hi ngie!

thank you soooo much for your very kind advises and thoughts.

actually i am not very particular about the suite, it's just that, conrad has got very beautiful suite, makes it difficult to forget. hee.

my hubb love the idea of both GWC and Merchant court because we're trying to hold our wedding on a wednesday (we're both wednesday babies), and wednesday, after dinner, can still join friends to club/pub.
And i think he prefer GWC more, however, the wednesday 09/12/09 that we wanted is already taken up.

now, it's more like, whichever hotel that gives a better deal, we'll take. if it happens to be GWC, we'll just have to change the date.

my cousin's wedding is to be held at madarin oriental hence we wunt be taking the same hotel. we also have a friend who did his at swissotel stamford so we try not to hold it at the same place.

i quite like marina mandarin though but my hubbs was hoping for a venue nearer to hang out places after the dinner.

Oh well~ thanks again for the wonderful input. Very much appreciated!

hey sam, u can check Orchard Hotel too.. see got the date u want a not.

Orchard Hotel and GCW are under the same management..

my friend had a wedding in OH.. nt bad! pillarless and big! i think recently they have promotion too.. u can try to call and ask if 12 sep still available...

twinklystar

hello sweets,

my htb and i are planning to hold our wedding in oct'10 and are looking at GCW and some others. However, I spent the past 1 hr reading through all of this yr's comments given by the different btbs.

now, im starting to think twice about going to GCW due to :

1) the florist, JM.
-Eg, only until last week for appt, old fashioned, limited choices, to pay extra for other coloured flowers??. i certainly wouldnt want a grand ballroom with or-biang/cheena set ups. haha!

2) the matching of table linens and deco.
- i only come to realise they do not have wedding themes in GCW. only afraid that the colour i choose and 'imagine' will not turn out as how i would like it to be.

3) read about the WOW factor.
-i personally nv attended any weddings there hence dont know if there'll be reflection when it comes to taking photos. i am absolutely sure, if it is a WOW factor, many fmaily and friends would like to take pictures too.

4) L-shape march in?
-to imagine it, it does feel a little weird or maybe i am too traditional a.k.a stuck with the old times. lol.

5) yam paste is my favourite dessert, however it seems like, not many plesant comments about it.

btbs who have held their wedding or are almost done with all the selection of linens, deco, menu, pls pls pls pls pls assure me all these are easier than i imagine.

i bet my input is very chiong hei (cantonese for long winded). hehe! hope to hear from you girls soon! thank you very very very much!

deerixp

I.s: hihi.. i would suggest that u go for the wedding show during August to c if u like it. they should have setup available on that day.

Maybe u can share ur concerns with the coordinators on the day. =)

maisie

hi ls, when you visit the coordinator for discussion, they have a file with them. it consists of some pictures of the table setting with different colors, the pictures of the food and wedding flavors etc..