Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel

eniroc

mine is from Yvonne Creative..=).. will post up all my pictures after 3rd Oct haha..so now can't let people see before my AD. =p..

guinguin

mine is my dream wedding
PS in march 09..

eniroc

im going dwn to meet up with Elizabeth this evening after wrk.. not sure when to select the themes.but i did saw an old GWC theme in some webby..all in light Pink..sooo sweet..but when i email her the pic..she said this theme no more.. =(.. sad..as pink is my fav colour la.. heee..

Rinez, could you share with me your experience with Yvonne Creative? I had shortlisted JnM Design which now merge with Yvonne Creative. But had heard some negative comments abt Yvonne Creative, so wanna hear from you.

had also shortlisted silhouette (but troublesome cos al-carte) and my bridal room... anyway taking leave to go gown shopping along tanjan pagar with my gf tml.. weekday shld be less crowded... heez

eniroc

Hmm..my experience with YC so far still quite good..juz that recently her lady boss admitted to hospital, and maybe becoz of that..the staff is abit "garang gabok" la..becoz i onli liase with Yvonne herself for my everything..so onli she know best..when handed dwn to another lady..abit blur lor..but jus a small hiccups..nothing serious..i love my gown she made for me..oops..i tink we off topic liao..=p..

excitedbtb

I have been there to attend a wedding myself but i dunno which ballrooom is that. It is the one with a waterfall scenary behind the stage. I think that is beautiful. Does anyone know is that the grand, waterfront or riverfront ballroom?

deerixp

if it's a garden landscape should be grand ballroom at level 4 (no pillar).. weekend min 40 tables..
i think for waterfront ballroom (with pillar) can accomodate up to 28 tables max..

dreamz81

sammi> oh your is when next year? mine is Jan 09 and my coordinator gave me 2 florist contact. So far I only been to June florist, but the service of the lady not very good so wanted to go to JM to take a look if their feedback is good. You went down to see the decorations already?

val_21

Hi dreamz81,

My wedding also Jan 09 but haven go visit any florist yet. We can confirm the theme now already? btw, GCW did not give me JM lei, they only gave me June florist. But seems like June florist feedback not so good hor.

happi_bride

just had my wedding dinner at GCW last Sunday.. their service was really good. the banquet manager - chris ng was very efficient, experienced , gave good guidance and assurances. Im so nervous when standinn g outside the door... thumbs up with his service! the staff helped with my gown etc...the hotel coordinator sheena tan is also equally efficient -she always replies to queries soonest ~ very helpful and experienced.

food was good, one guest commented that she did not know that hotel food can be so good, the beancurd rice was good, the mango/ strawberry pudding was refreshing and unique. most of them also liked my red wine which i got from hotel too..
my relatives were full of praises for the overall food and experience at the hotel (according to my dad)..

v good! my hubby and i are > 100% v satisfied (not withstanding that the banquet team has to prepare food for all the 4 ballrooms as that day was a hot date for weddings) !

eniroc

Hi all..sorry for late reply..my package was last yr's rate..so it's diff from now already..but i check with Elizabeth..it's more or less similar..

shice1

hi all, my wedding also in Jan 09.. but my coord only told us to go to JM florist.. Din mention abt June.. hmm.. Do you think we can go and see both?? Btw, just go down to the florist and said that you're holding dinner at GCW izzt??

dreamz81, val.. when r u both intending to have ur food tasting? wan to share reviews?? =)

sammi0819

Hi Shice, yupz... just call n book an appt with the florist, tell the person tt u are holding a wedding dinner at GCW. Understand fr my coordinator that they wun ask u for any verification.

Only after u meet up with the florist and choose yr stuffs, they will send the order form/invoice to GCW for the hotel to verify

Hi fanny, which ballroom did u use last Sunday? I was there to view the rooms... possible to share pix? I kinda like the bronze theme at Waterfront room... hopefully they still hv that next yr...

val_21

Hi shice,

I just saw the compiled list. We are holding our wedding on the same day, 3 Jan 09. But my is a lunch, same ballroom as you. So you are the one that booked the dinner long before me, haha...I booked in end dec 07. I went merchant court too, but dinner also being booked le.

shice & dreamz81

By the way, I have not decided when to do food tasting yet. What abt u gals? I haven settle on wedding cards yet also, thinking of doing it before oct comes.

guinguin

hey darkchocolate!! r u the 1 in sept09 forum?? if we want them to print our design.. need to top up more leh..

fanny, glad to hear tat! think we all feel more relief now abt their service & foods!!

hmm.. actualli wanna ask.. is it a must to go for food tasting?

dreamz81

val> that time my coordinator also give me June florist. but recently I asked my coordinator again cos don't really like June florist and he gave me JM's contact. maybe they just added ba. I went to June florist and they say can confirm the decor le and that was i think in July or August. My wedding card i think most likely gg down end of this month or beginning next month. I want to get it printed earlier so that I do abit at a time.

shice> when you make appt with the florist just let them know you have a wedding banquet package with GCW. Food tasting can only go in Nov right? sure sure we can share reviews.

annix

oh I'm so glad to hear good reviews of the food and staff! I just attended my friend's wedding last sunday... the staff serving our table was slow in giving us our spoons when he changed plates..and our drinks were not topped up... but the worst thing is my friend's gown was burnt by the tealights hanging from the stage backdrop..

val_21

dreamz81,

Ok, then I shall call up my coordinator to ask for JM contact. Oh ya, so when go florist, is only settle on deco for the stage n ballrooms rite? then table cloths all that is with hotel? Seems abit difficult lei, wait we choose the theme then table cloth doesnt match etc...

annix

oh nonono!
i do hope GCW isn't so unprofessional...
my friend's wedding is at another hotel which is near GCW though...

shice1

hi val.. we booked in jun 07.. hehe.. that time, we shortlisted btw merchant court, swissotel and GCW.. in the end choose this hotel, coz somehow it's quite exclusive and big enough.. =)

So glad that u're holding the lunch before my dinner.. at least we don't have to worry that the ballroom is being booked for some other conference, or watsoever.. haha.. You don't have to get chased away, and i don't have to get my dinner delayed.. =)

dreamz, val, thanks for ur advice on florist.. think i'll probably make appt for both florist to look see in nov.. hope it's not too late.. for invitation cards, we're gg down to t-dragon this weekend.. but i don't think we'll be printing with them.. outside seems cheaper..

Food tasting - planning to have it in nov/dec.. have already asked my coord to see when we can have the food tasting. We'll share the reviews then.. but is there any changes to the menu?

jsoh7783

hi all, im a BTB at GCW (dec 08). thinking of NOT gg for food tasting & get waiver of one table instead... logic is like, cos its food tasting, sure they do swee swee mah. hahaha... if anyone goes food tasting, will most definitely appreciate ur sharing of the reviews!

i doing my cards wif tdragons. connie is very nice. but true, did find it kinda ex. never go check outside price thou. its like the 'complimentary cards' thingy dun seem to count cos the printing cost itself seems to work out to quite abit. juz my sentiments, duno how e rest of u feel?

jsoh7783

oh ya, wine. besides fanny jo's feedback on red wine provided by hotel, any further comments by anyone about the hotel wine? i asked my coordinator if can sample wine during food tasting session, she quoted me $60nett per bottle. any idea wat wines (red & wine) the hotel provide?

val_21

Hi shice,so qiao, we also shortlisted the same 3 hotels. We din go for merchant court coz we dun like the ballroom + we heard negative reviews abt their food. As for swissotel, is coz my uncle is a chef there, but their prices too high and my uncle commented GCW perks is quite good. So we ended up with GCW.

guinguin

hi annix, phew! haha.. tot GCW so unprofessional! shock of me! haha.. hopefully their service is good!

janice, im nt gg for the food tasting.. i agree wif wat u said, food tasting the chef onli 'purposely' cook for 10 guests, definitely will cook much better than usual.. imagine in wedding banquet, so many tables.. i dun think he still can maintain his 'level' of skill.. this was told by few of my married couples friends..

annix

hey janice and guinguin,

same here...I opted for the waiver of 1 table instead too!
anyway if wan food tasting subsequently.... just pay lor oops....
see the parents whether they wanna try the food anotz :D

guinguin

annix.. my families told me not to go for food tasting. for mine, bcoz im taking the Galleria Ballroom where consider small scale, they not giving me any foc food tasting, i need to pay 50% of the table price. thus we feel no need to.. might as well keep that 50% money to pay for my other tables..

dreamz81

val> yup you will choose the stage deco, aisle stands, centrepiece and reception table deco. table cloth is with hotel.
Yah lor had the same feeling as you also. i thinking if can go see wat table cloth colors the hotel have first then go decide on deco with florist.

annix> so far i attended 2 wedding at GCW. 1st one the service was not bad, 2nd one the waitress servicing us was bad. then they have a manager that go ard to gather feedback on the waitress in the middle of hte banquet and i think the waitress know i commented badly on her so the next time she serve my chopsticks she like slam the chopstick on the table la. i got so pissed off. i think the manager saw it and switch the waitress of our table. i think it all boils down to the waiter or waitress serving that table. but at list the banquet manager did take some action.

shice> where you printing your inserts then? any cheaper lobang to share? can we take the card from tdragon without printing the inserts?

janice> you gg to get from the hotel? not ex meh? you get from outside suppliers can get like $18 to $20 for a bottle leh. your corkage waived?

guinguin, annix> ah for me definitely must have food tasting one. when we first place deposit for the hotel, my mil first qn is is the food nice a not. she scare later relatives complain cos that time they got a relative who had his wedding at Ritz Carlton and the relatives were like complaining they give so much ang pao for such lousy food. then they also complain the food so later, after dinner still have to go for supper.

guinguin

hi dreamz.. wa lao.. those aunties complaint so jialat meh?? kaoz... mine shud b alright bcoz my banquet in GCW all friends + colleagues, relatives onli me & htb families members.. relatives will be at diff place at another wedd dinner.. phew..

understand, some parents may quite mind about the foods.. bt i heard GCW improve alot compare last time was so so...dunno leh.. any1 here attended GCW dinner b4?

actually not just relatives complain. friends will also complain. my fren's banquet, her fren was complaining about some dishes to the extend they din even touch the food, take photo as evidence somemore... aiyo...

how much does t-dragon charge for printing of the inserts?

guinguin

i found tat those ppl too much lor.. ppl banquet food nt nice can comment bit lah.. need to b till e extend to snap photo as evidence meh... no offence but feel bit not respect to the host..

shice1

dreamz, when do we actually go down to choose the stage deco, aisle stands, centrepiece and reception table deco?? it's with the hotel as u mentioned right? so we gotta make appointment with our coord again? After that then go down to florist??

I'm looking at Hi-Tech Hotstamping

Normal paper with gold printing
First 200 = $80
From 201 to 300 = 20 cents each.
Price exclude 7% GST.

It at AMK industrial park, quite ulu. No extra charge for inserting logo (but limited logos) and fast services (about 1 week can collect)

Some printing companies charge extra for logo (inserting picture) or writing Chinese words. You have to ask them. At least i find cheaper than T dragon.

You can just get the card from T dragon without printing with them.. then of coz, e prepared to see their black faces.. haha..

verena

hi dreamz81, my future MIL first qn is also whether food nice or not. Cos her other relatives had dinner at other hotels and food not good. So she scared she'll 'lose face' and told my HTB that she'll add dishes or upgrade dishes if she feels deem fit, after our food tasting...haiz...