Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel

dreamz81

faith17> i also booked for Jan 09 like last year oct. I thinking during this yr Mar show they also open for some months in 2009 already. Which month you looking at?

nfk22

hi faith17,
my coordinator is elizabeth. usually she is very prompt in replying. i think for the last quarter of 09, it is not open yet. maybe u can call eliz again to check.

faithz17

thanks for all ur replies... sorry i meant after Apr 2009 with the perks and all... wat elizabeth told me was tt during the Mar show they only give perks for weddings till Apr 09 anything beyond they will charge additional $50 and the package dun have any perks, so it's for those who die die want to secure a particular date... so she say when they allow bookings after Apr 09 with perks she will call me... haven't heard from her yet... for me we are not really particular about the date so we chose to wait... anyone managed to book for end 09 (we looking either Sep or Nov) with perks already??

deannen

im holding my wedding end of this mth =)
i would like to chk with past GCW brides rdg the AP 'drop-in' slot at the recption counters.
Anyone of u used it or u brought along ur AP box?
cos i went down to take a look at the ballroom recently and i saw the drop-in slots for the APs but they are at the extreme ends of the reception table (which is quite long)..i was thinking
1) will it be 'incomnveient' for the guests to drop the APs
2) maybe they will forget to drop the APs since the slot-in is not obvious??
pls advise me.thanks

mstomrs

I've not held my wedding yet (mine's next yr) but my coordinator did show me those reception counters with 'drop - in' slots.

For me, I will prob b using ang pow boxes cos I feel that the drop-in slots are not prominent enough. Plus when the banquet starts, it will b quite inconvenient to bring the ang pows along,and can only collect them after the banquet.

I also heard that if using those reception counters with 'drop-in' slots, then the hotel's not able to cover the counters with table cloths and skirtings. (My personal opinion is that the reception desk looks better with the table cloth and skirting..)

deannen

Hi mstomrs

thanks so much for ur opinion, i thought they will not be convering up the recption table...if thwy are, the i think AP boxs are much better...thanks!!

dreamz81

Actually my fren had a wedding there and she chose the slot-in reception table as we felt that it looks more classy than their table cloth table design. After the deco was put on the table, it looks very nice.

I think you can actually shift the tables to have the 2 slots in the centre instead. What I did for my fren was to do a top "cover" with a slit to put on top of the slot.

deannen

Hi dreamz81

that is a very smart idea..ok cool!! i chk with my coordinator =) thanks so much....

Hi mstomrs
i think you can put those fanciful scotchtape around the area & put a cute little sign with 'AP in here' =p

faithz17

personally i think better have AP box cos firstly more prominent, secondly, if person "forgot" to write name and just quickly drop inside, can easily fish it out and write the name! ;p

mstomrs

just wondering if anyone here has already registered for the upcoming wedding show?

Btw, if we have already signed up with Grand Copthorne recently, can we get complimentary entry to view the wedding setups?

I think for some hotels, they allow couples who signed up already to attend for free..

shice1

when is the upcoming wedding show?? think should be able to talk to your coord for free entry.. just that no lucky draw or freebies bah..

nfk22

hi mstomrs, yup u can ask your coordinator for the complimentary ticket to the wedding show. from my experience, they are ok to give.

mstomrs

hi, thanks for sharing...

i have asked my coordinator but my coordinator says everybody (even those who signed up) must pay to enter?!

hmm..how leh? Guess no choice must pay loh..

If anyone is getting complimentary entry for this year's wedding show, can let me know pls? Thanks!

supergal

does anyone know whether if the waterfront ballroom is column free?

also, does the grand ballroom, waterfront ballroom and riverfront ballroom at different levels?

i saw the set-up pics for the grand ballroom posted by one of the forumers and i thought it looked really beautiful..wonderful if we have the choice to choose the deco if we were to choose another ballroom??

smartkel

I am also interested to hold our wedding at the waterfront ballroom coz of the smaller turnout.
Any commment of the food? If anyone has picture of this ballroom to share, please email to me at [email protected]. Tks in advance

dreamz81

mstomrs> i try to find the photo, my fren should have it.

deannen> no prob, cos i was thinking of doing that for my own wedding.

nfk22

Hi supergal,
different ballroom got different set up. so the set up for the grand ballroom is not applicable for the other ballroom. for grand ballroom the background is usually the glass panel & landscape while the other ballroom is wall. but other ballroom also have a few pretty nice design to choose from.

grand ballroom is on a different level from the rest (lvl 4). Not so such about the rest.

Hi virgo,
i think the food is the same regardless of which ballroom you go to cos the menu is the same. from mine & my HTB & friend's experience, GCW's food & wine are good =)

nfk22

Hi supergal,

my friend told me that both waterfront & riverfront ballroom are on the same level, level 3. one of them is pillarless, and if i nvr remember wrongly, it's riverfront.

Hi alamer,

if i'm not wrong for 2009 Fri & Sat package is at $1058 and Sun-Thur is at $908.

supergal

hi qunqun,

thanks for the information...yup, waterfront is the ballroom with pillars and when both me and my HTB saw the pictures of the set-up ballroom sent to us, we don't really have that 'wow, it's nice!' feeling.

however, we are still very much attracted by the perks that will be given at the wedding show..but we can't meet the grand ballroom tables on a weekend..so still considering GCW at the moment..

poseidon_gal

anyone know wat are the perks given for this coming wedding show?? can share? what is the minimum table requirement for grand ballroom for sat?

momo23

hey all, i used the AP slots and did up the table top with table cloths and deco set up.. it looked good to me lah.. dun worry its not prominent.. afterall ur recepts w be there to direct.. i have the 2 ends separated for guy's side and girl's side.. my girl friend even did up cute signage for me which was placed at each end

pinklady23

anyone has sign up with GCW already? I would like to check if the cancellation and postpone clause stated in the contract is a norm practice for them?

cheriz

Hi Shice,
Jeremy has moved to corporate events. He was my co-ord but Elizabeth took over.

Just want to share that my wedding last nite @ Riverfront ballroom was a success! Made my parents really proud :D

Relatives complimented the food & decor (JM Florist)and the banquet operations team were really helpful and assuring. :D

GCWF bride to-bes, all the best!

mstomrs

Hi Aatiyah, congrats on the success of your wedding! Can share some pictures? Btw, for the deco wise, do they have themes? What did you choose?

pinklady23

Hi Aatiyah,

Congrats on your wedding...juz want to ask if the charges for postponed or cancellation of event stated in the contract is a norm practice for all hotel?

shice1

Aatiyah, thanks for the news.. but how do u get to know that Elizabeth took over? so sad.. they never inform me abt anything one.. i wonder who to look for now..

pinklady23

Hi to all who have sign up package with GCW,

I would like to know if the cancellation/postpone charges is a normal practice for them? Was this clause inside the contract when you guys sign it? hope to hear from anyone of you soon...

mstomrs

Hi Joelle,

what are the cancellation/postpone charges in particular are you referring to? I don't quite recall cos' the contract is currently with my htb. I only know that we're liable to be penalized (should be a certain %) should we cancel our banquet, and depending on when we cancel.

Should be standard practice...

Maybe you can let me know more about what you're referring to and I can check it out on my contract.

You can PM me if you want.

happi_bride

hi cheriz> congrats on your wedding and great to hear that it went well.... wow.. im using the same ballroom as u....

if u dont mind, can u share your pics with me.. wanted to c how the decor goes..

thanksss! my email is [email protected]

did u leave it all to J&M or u had some ideas on what u like. want?

cheriz

Hi All!

Thank you for all your well wishes!

MstoMrs, when I get my pix fr my photog I'll post them on my multiply and show you all k? :D cant wait to see them too!

Shice, during one of the food tasting meeting Jeremy revealed that he will move to corporate, and then said that ELizabeth will follow up with us from then on, so tt's how we knew. Subsequently we met Elizabeth up to give her feedback on the dishes, and has been liasing with her right up to our wedding day. Hv you tried calling the hotel to talk to any wedding co-ordinator abt your case?

piggip, guess they are using both. We were given June Florist but the lady did not provide a satisfactory svc, so we enquired with our co-ord and got JM's contact. They dun hv a 'package' or 'themes' per se, but they did show us photos to choose wat we like to hv and stuff. For my decor I did not ask for extra items/flowers, but im happy w how it looked, so no complains really :D

Joelle, im not too sure.. but i think like wat mstomrs said, it shld be quite a common practice to hv cancellation/postponement charges... exactly the range or percentage of charge, that i really dunnoe..

hope my reply helps!

cheriz

Hi Cherz, my dishes were:
1. Prawn cocktail combination platter
2. Braised shark's fin with 4 treasures in green broth
3. Roasted crispy chicken in pipa style
4. Stir-fried fresh scallops with asparagus, honey pea & black pepper corn
5. Braised sea cucumber & mushrooms with garden vegetables
6. Steamed garoupa with chn preserved cabbage
7. Fried Glutonous rice wrapped in beancurd skin
8. Sweetened Taro cream with sago & ginko.

pinklady23

Hi all, thanks for the reply. I understand that I have to pay a certain % of the total revenue if I would to cancel the banquet. But what abt postpone? Postpone also need to pay?

shice1

Aatiyah, Jeremy called me yesterday. Thanks for you reply. btw, how's ur food tasting? which dish is nice and you would recommend to us all?

ohoh

Hi Aatiyah

Congrats on your wedding! Glad it turn out well.
I choose June florist and I do agree that the lady abit....
I regret not checking out JM cos I was running out of time...

cheriz

Hello all!

Dear fanny, sorry missed out on replying you. I'm waiting for my pix too. Will mail you some when i hv them k?

Shice, I had my wedding liao. Haha, liked all my dishes, so i'll recmd those? A note on the shark's fin - my shark's fn is green. tho i knw my family didnt mind the unique appearance, i think some may not be used to it! Taste-wise its quite like any other shark's fin

Winwin, hehe, when's yr ad again? Congrats ya!

ohoh

Hi Aatiyah

Can I check with you, did you prepare your own march-in music? What format did you burn your disc in?
I have my songs in MP3 format but I think GCW's music system can't accept it?

guinguin

I am considering Grand Copthorne Waterfront as well. Could anyone can advice me Galleria Ballroom? Is it pillars or pillarless?

Appreciate your help. Thanks gals...

cheriz

Hey winwin!

I'll count down to yr wedding w you. :D Take extra gd care of yr hair, face and do all the pretty things during this time ya! Hmm im not savvy when it comes to music files.. wat we did was my hubby burn all our mp3s into an audio cd so we just gave the cd to the technician and voila!