Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel

faithz17

yah cos now this period no perks for late 2009 yet mah... i'd rather wait... hopefully their promotion will include the above... which going by past promotions they do include... otherwise i'd rather find somewhere else cos i dun want to burst my budget... every penny saved on banquet can spend on house or honeymoon which i think is more worth it lor...

mstomrs

I think that this yr's wedding show perks will depend on the response and the no of dates they have managed to sell so far... if the response is good, don't think that they will b too generous with the upcoming wedding show perks..?

Btw, wat date r u looking at? If its a sunday, then if book too late, the date u want might not b availble.. But if its mon - thurs, then it should still b quite worthwhile waiting... (Mayb u can check out wif the hotel how many sundays r still available for booking?)

simplejer

Hi anyone can send mi the perks they offered for wedding show?

as i'm goin to book the place with them soon..in the mid of nego. heard tt they do have the uob credit promotion too..

hows the coordinator - thersa lee? is she gd?

iambride

Hi simplejer, do you mind to share with me what you nego for? My coordinator is also Theresa but I have not started with nego...

mstomrs

hi Simplejer, when's your AD?

Which wedding show perks r u referring to? The one at vivocity last month? If I'm not wrong, it should b either free flow of beer or 1 bottle of wine per confirmed table. Think they r oso giving a standard room for coordinator (w/o breakfast). These should b under the UOB promotion..

U managed to nego for more than these?

simplejer

Hi Mstomrs

Well I onli got to noe these perks le..haven realli go nego..thought of changing the standard room to another nite of bridal suite le..but donno can or not..

My AD will be in dec..how abt yrs?did u manage to get more?

simplejer

hi I am Bride

what i have is the 1 Mstomrs mention in the post..may be i will like to have more perks..cos i onli have less tables..

mstomrs

Hi Simplejer,

have signed up with the hotel for Sept AD 2009..perks not bad i feel. But i wasn't able to get 2 nites of bridal suite stay..Wasn't able to convert the standard room to bridal suite either. (You can try asking but they r pretty strict on it.)

Your AD will b in dec this year or next yr? Btw who's your coordinator?

simplejer

hi Mstomrs

My AD and solemnisation will be on dec 08..wow its still a have another yr to go le u r early..but i will be having outdoor solemnisation n buffet at the pavallion there(cross finger**hope it wont rain on tt day)..plus back up room

My coordinator is Theresa Lee. Donno she gd ma? Who's yr coordinator?

red_letter

Hi hi I will be signing up with gcw too. Ya they are very strict on the extra night. I can't get it too. But overall, the package quite ok. That's why after discussion, me and FH decide to take it up.

iambride

Hi Mstomrs,

Congrats on your confirmation! Do you mind sharing with me what are the perks that you manage to bargain for?

Also who is your co-ordinator? It's been 2 weeks since I met mine and she has yet to revert to me!

mstomrs

Simplejer,
so u having solemnization and buffet for lunch, followed by dinner on the same day? Whew..so packed! Btw have u signed on with the hotel? If not, i feel u can try nego for more perks on top of wat they r offering.. No harm trying cos I believe the hotel will look at the overall situation like how many confirmed tables and how early/late you book etc..

I did not manage to get everything I wanted at the end of the day..but should say at least 70 - 80% satisfied? I also swopped away some things in exchange for others..So its more like you lose some, you gain some..

I am Bride,
Sure no prob, u email me ok? So have u finally managed to meet up with the coordinator again? Your coordinator sounds like such a busy person..

Rinez,
if i'm not wrong, wkend package for 2009 should b $1058. How much did u sign up for yours?

Emily,
have emailed u the package!

ashwif

Hi everyone... I just heard from one of the catering manager that the wedding show will be held on 19 July 2008. Hope this helps~

dreamz81

Anyone held a wedding recently? I would like to view some photos and hear some feedback on GCW partner florist - June Florist. Trying to decide a theme for my wedding so that I can align all my wg, eg, activities to the theme. But first must see will the florist be able to create the theme I want without me burning a big hole in my pocket.

iambride

Hi Nikki A,

Wow that's good news! The last Time I met them they couldn't confirm anything. Thanks for sharing... The person I met said that they had very good offers last year, hope it will be the same again.

Hi Dreamz81,

If you need to look at June's work, you can meet up with the any banquet and view the past work. They showed me during my visit too. Some were pretty impressive and I asked if those had additional charges and they claimed that it's all in the package.

piggip

I want to check for those who had held their wedding banquet at GCW or attended wedding their recently, how's the food there and comments from your guest? As I have not attended any weddings there so quite concern on the food standard at GCW. Thanks.

jinger

a ... i tot is on 13th of July for the wedding show? the co-ordinator emailed me when i asked them. maybe they have changed the date but agar is in jul 08 haha ..

cheriz

Hello Ladies,

it's been a long time since I last visited this thread (after taking up their package during the July 07 show). Just want to share that I had my food tasting last week and my family were really happy with the food (taste and presentation) and the portion given. I'll be hvg my AD on 15 June 2008 @ Riverfront Ballroom. Hopefully can post some pics here then!

ohoh

Hi Cheriz,

can you share what are the dishes you had?
I having my food tasting soon so will have to decide the dishes. Can't quite make up my mind...

cheriz

Hi winwin,
my dishes are:
1. Prawn cocktail combination platter
2. Braised shark's fin with 4 treasures in green broth (so the soup's really green, but most said looked unique and tastes good, so dish remains. Only 2 commented the green looks a lil odd for shark's fin)
3. Roasted crispy chicken in pipa style. (we requested change of sauce only)
4. Stir-fried fresh scallops with asparagus, honey pea & black pepper corn
5. Braised sea cucumber & mushrooms with garden vegetables
6. Steamed garoupa with chn preserved cabbage
7. Fried Glutonous rice wrapped in beancurd skin (family loved the cute personal serving)
8. Sweetened Taro cream with sago & ginko. (had wanted to change to the traditional 'orh ni' but decided not too as this is a light, refreshing version!

Hope this helps :D

ohoh

Hi Cheriz

Thanks for the reply. I realised what I am going to choose is 2 dishes different from yours. 2 & 4.

What's wrong with the sauce for the chicken?

Also, how was the fish? We didn't quite like the idea of the chinese preserved cabbage...

Winwin's planned food tasting:
2. Braised Shark’s Fin with Conpoy, Crabmeat and Bamboo Pith (different)
3. Roasted crispy chicken in pipa style.
4. Baked Prawn wrapped in Bacon with Honey Sauce
Stir-fried Prawn with Assorted Pepper in Spicy Sauce (different)
7. Fried Glutonous rice wrapped in beancurd skin (family loved the cute personal serving)
8. Sweetened Taro cream with sago & ginko. (had wanted to change to the traditional 'orh ni' but decided not too as this is a light, refreshing version!

ohoh

Hi Cheriz

Thanks for the reply. I realised what I am going to choose is 2 dishes different from yours. 2 & 4.

What's wrong with the sauce for the chicken?

Also, how was the fish? We didn't quite like the idea of the chinese preserved cabbage...

Winwin's planned food tasting:
2. Braised Shark’s Fin with Conpoy, Crabmeat and Bamboo Pith (different)
3. Roasted crispy chicken in pipa style.
4. Baked Prawn wrapped in Bacon with Honey Sauce
Stir-fried Prawn with Assorted Pepper in Spicy Sauce (different)
7. Fried Glutonous rice wrapped in beancurd skin
8. Sweetened Taro cream with sago & ginko.

cheriz

Hi there Winwin,

My family commented that the sauce tasted like chee cheong fun sauce. They preferred the other type of more typical sauce ( I cant rmb if it's fine salt and pepper or something, the kind that goes w roasted chicken you know?) Even requested for keropok Haha but the chef says it wun go, coz this is roasted chicken in pipa style, the keropok will turn soggy faster, so we are only changing the sauce.

As for the fish, I dun rmb much of the chn preserved cabbage part coz the garoupa really tasted good! It helps that it is really fresh and the sauce is very 'qing(1) tian(2)'. Everybody agrees that it is more 'presentable' compared to the alternative dish, which i think is pomfret.

Actually the bacon dish sounds good. But we can't serve pork dishes so tt's why we chose the other one. But tt's nice too!

I guess it is up to you and your family really, and the chef will meet up with you after dessert is served so you can really chat abt every dish, tweak the taste to yr pref, etc. Oh also, there's like a checklist given (2 sets) right from the beginning for you to rate presentation and taste and make any notes abt each dish.

Enjoy the feast yeah ;)

ohoh

thanks for the reply. Looking forward to the food tasting!

anyway, u selected ur wedding favours? what's available now?

cheriz

Hi winwin,
Ya i selected but subjected to availability.. I wanted last year's boy and girl key chain. but my co-ord says they may run out... Keeping fingers crossed. Now they hv a pretty victorian-looking round decorative porcelain box, a colourful key which guests can copy on their own, saucers that come in two designs - one is a couple bear and one is a chn groom and bride. :D

When's yr food tasting? Share yr review k?

journey

Hi Snuffle
How u get to know that the wedding show for GCW is on 13 july?
is the registration open?
I wan to go. hee hee

journey

Hi folks,
I'm looking at holding my dinner at GCW.
I did went down to view the ballrooms but at that pt of time, my AD not fixed so didn't ask in detail.
Are they open to discussion on free wine?
will they give Free flow beer?

nfk22

the wedding show is confirmed on 13 Jul.
My wedding dinner is on 13 Jul and when I asked whether there will be other events in the daytime, my coordinator confirmed that they will be having the wedding show.

During the wedding show they will throw in alot of perks. For last year, there's free flow of beer and 1 free wine per table and many other perks. So long as u sign before or during the wedding show, u r entitled to the perks so it save u the trouble of having to bargain with them. my experience with GCW is that they are pretty accomodating to our requests. I think the registration is not open yet as I think they just fixed the date.

Hi cherz, I printed mine at tdragon too.

cookiefleur

I'm interested in signing up with GCW too... but am aiming for Jan 09 wedding... is it too late? anyone has their package details to send to me pls? [email protected]

Also, any good co-ordinators from GCW to share?

journey

Hi qunqun,
Congratulations!
Thank you so much for the info.
i gonna keep a lookout for the registration.
I'm looking for the perks of beer and wine. it really helps. So i guess i have no worries of holding my dinner there!

wish me luck to get my ideal ballroom and date.

Hi Cookiefleur,
Perhaps you could give them a call to check on the dates availability.
their Fri & Sat package is at $1058
Sun-Thur is at $908

cheriz

Hi Cherz,

I had 112 cards to print, did the hot stamping on inserts and bought half a roll of gold strings, cost me abt.. cant rmb, but less than $150.

Hi treegirl,

havent tried braised hashima. Sounds very exotic!

nfk22

Hi Cookiefleur, I think my coordinator is pretty good. If u r interested, you can PM me and I can give u her contacts. You can then ask her to send you the package details and check the dates.

Hi Cherz, my coordinator gave me a folder with all the wedding info including the pricelist of tdragon:
a) gold/silver foil hotstamping on card: $120 for 1st 100 and thereafter $0.40/copy
b) gold/silver ink on standard paper insert: $100 for 1st 200 and thereafter $0.20/copy.

if u want additional picture e.g some cute cartoon / "Xi" word etc, it's $10 one-time charge.

the type i printed is the most ex kind so think not a very good basis for comparison. I print copper foil hot stamping on card. $160 for 1st 100 and thereafter $0.60/copy.

treegirl

Hi Aatiyah,

Cos me n hubby thinking of changing the shark fins dish...bt then dun knw if braised hashima is nice...tried the braised lobster soup during food tasting.
not nice at all.

cheriz

Hiho treegirl,

Oic.. what are the other ingredients in there? ive only eaten the hashima with typical white fungus and red dates (home-made by my auntie), but i yahoo-ed it and found that there quite a few ways to cook it. Tung-Lok as a double-boiled Manchurian version. Another recipe has braised pear in it.

But i suppose it is still essentially a very nutritious 'tian tang', so it shld be nice and sweet. Sorry cant help much... :p

faithz17

hi qunqun, who's ur coordinator? care to recommend? previously i spoke with elizabeth but she was supposed to call me once the 2009 bookings are open but haven't heard from her yet... thanks!

mstomrs

Hi faithz,

maybe you should call the hotel again? Cos the 2009 bookings are long opened already...Many other ppl have started booking. I booked mine already...