Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel

troco

hi shice,
think for the promo during the wedding show, u can choose for a waiver of 1 table on AD or complimentry food tasting. i choose the waiver for 1 table cos the food tasting is @ 50%. so ur food tasting free is because u book 45 tables or wat??

shice

i neg for the waiver for food tasting for 10 pax.. i GUESS the reason why i'm able to get free waiver is becoz i confirmed 45 tables.. the more tables u confirmed with them, the more perks they give..

btw when i say i "confirm" 45 tables, it means that before/during the wedding, u realise that u got 430 guests, u still have to pay the full 45 table pricing.

troco

hi shice,
oic, so u got a great deal!!! so have u decide on which theme to go for and which BS u go?? actually GCW r very strict on the packages when u book less tables lor...sian!! i only book abt 35 tables then they gave me the anniversary free stay at their hotel!!

shice

yah.. agree with you... GCW look at the number of tables u confirm to decide how much perks to give..

hmm.. my AD still quite far away.. so theme-wise, i'll probably decide next yr..

I'm still reading up abt BS.. but will confirm with 1 by end of this yr... coz we might be looking at overseas photoshoot..
if there's enough money left after the BS pkg.. heh..

troco

good choice..recce around b4 u decide on 1 BS. my AD is 9 mths away but still havent decide on the theme yet...

treegirl

Hi Jv,

Yup!! they are not giving me cheaper rates..my coordinator said that e rate is $230++ per room..if for walk in customer will be $450++.
haiz..so ex lor..think mus book other places for my relatives instead

jv33c

Hi Treegirl, yap i find tt expensive too, but 1 of my FH's relative ne high class + want to be together w another family who want to save $$, my god !
516769.jpg

Hi Shice, yr 2nd nite on bridal is it converted from helpers' rm ?

jv33c

Hi Shice, wow u really got a good deal.

Hi Tro & Co, as per attached pict
U may look back e previous archive, other ladies have posted it there too.
517189.jpg

troco

Hi Jv,

Tks 4 yr photo

But this pix is not the 1 @ the Bridal show?
The tablecloth that I saw tablecloth was not shiny,
My FH n I like the black concept but don't know
the elerly relatives mind anot......

Girls,
any sugguestion?

jv33c

Hi Tro & Co, this pict above is from e Weddg Show
Its Shiny effect came out only under "Spot Light" or example my Camera Flashlight

It looks classic in e smaller ballrooms like riverfront or waterfront
or best for lunch wedding under sunlight & windows in those ballrooms but not suitable for GrandBallroom as e walls dun suit @ all

Here's another close up pict of e normal table
517249.jpg
its better to compare e normal tables as well as VIP only 2 tables afterall ha;p

alysgal

Hihi!

Do you girls know how much in advance we need to tell GCW what wedding favours we want?

Have u girls decided on it already??

newbie_quest

hi everybody

I just checked out the wedding banquet 8 course lunch on a Sunday in 2008 is priced at weekday rates...i m able to get $739 nett per table. Very worthed it!

blur_queenie

Hi Newbie,

I 'm having lunch on a Sunday too and the price doesn't differ from yours but i booked in Feb this year.

Smiles,

I chose the saucer with cartoon prints on it.

strawberrysusu

Hv finally uploaded some of the pics from the wedding show on my blog. You can take a look at them, tho they're not that well taken ;-). My id is suetanhy (on multiply). Have set it for "everyone" so you don't have to add me

newbie_quest

hi Atiyah

For lunch banquets, there will be some differences from the dinner. Once cfmed, we will have the complimentary tasting at 50% instead of 100% free. And for the cocktail reception, they dun serve canapes...the other perks r about the same....the dishes r the same as weekday dinner...and they dun have free flow of beer...think is because normally lunch time pple dun take so much beer?

deannen

Hi Jv

i agreed with u..i was looking @ Susu's pixs & the black theme is alittle 'off' in the grand ballroom cos everything is so beige/ white so i tink the gold theme looks better...now they ve this new seat cover to add to the look but i tink we might ve to pay extra to ve the seat covers on..anyone got any ideas?

and for the wed favours, u gals ve the webby dat i can take a look @?

and anyone print their wed cards from other printers instead of t-dragon?

troco

hi deannen,
u want to print ur wedding cards urself izit?? i going to print them myself as i in printing line.....

deannen

Hi Tro & Co

im considering dat option but havent really conf yet...cos my coordinator mentioned dat we can collect the wed cards & go to other printers to print our inserts OR we can top up to design our own cards. if we go to other printers then we have to pay for everything ourselves

deannen

Hi Tro & co

u mean u own a printing co or ?

i havent chk out the price yet my AD is in June next year but my working schedule is pretty tied so i ve to soure early..cos after - off xmas/ cny etc i only have like 6-7mths to plan everything & conf...

deannen

Hi Tro & co

ic =) okie, lemme sort out the rest of the stuff & if i need help, i will PM u?
Thanks for ur offer anyway!!!

atiyah_cheryl

Hi Newbie,
I did not look carefully, yours is lunch. I thot dinner can bargain such gd price! *blurz.. But yah, $739nett is a gd deal nveless.

To the rest,
when you girls talk abt other printers... does it mean that gcw will still "provide" cost for stationary or no more liao? And you just pay for all the printing + stationary cost? Erm, is my qn clear? Heehee..

newbie_quest

I m a GCW BTB too!

Customary date: 18 October 2008
Lunch banquet Date: 19 October 2008
Ballroon: Waterfront
Coordinator: Eddie

vel

Hi gals... my AD date is on 30 Dec 07... when do u think i can collect my invitation cards? do u call the coordinator to arrange this or they will actually inform u to go n collect the invitations?

momo23

hey velynn,
tot we are supposed to liase with t-dragons directly? have u checked out w t-dragons liao?
if not, u can start now..they have qte a few designs for u to choose, jus pay for the printing cost w do

strawberrysusu

Hi Velynn,

My AD is just one day before yours
think we are supposed to liase with t-dragon directly. I haven't gone down either. Seems to be good to go down so you can choose your designs personally, if not I suppose you can liaise with your coordinator and choose from the limited selection the hotel has as well.

Jojo, did you go down to the wedding favours shop or choose directly from your hotel coordinator?

shice

<table border=1><tr><td>Nick</TD><TD>AD</TD><TD>Ballroom</TD><TD>Coordinator </TD></TR><TR><TD>smiles</TD><TD>18-Nov-07</TD><TD>Grand Ballroom</TD><TD>Jeremy </TD></TR><TR><TD>Susu</TD><TD>29-Dec-07</TD><TD>Riverfront Ballroom</TD><TD>Jennifer </TD></TR><TR><TD>Vel</TD><TD>30-Dec-07</TD><TD>Riverfront Ballroom</TD><TD>Eddie </TD></TR><TR><TD>Melissa</TD><TD>5-Jan-08</TD><TD>Grand Ballroom</TD><TD>Theresa </TD></TR><TR><TD>jojo</TD><TD>6-Jan-08</TD><TD>Riverfront Ballroom</TD><TD>Jeremy </TD></TR><TR><TD>musjan</TD><TD>15-Jan-08</TD><TD>Grand Ballroom</TD><TD>Jeremy </TD></TR><TR><TD>jv</TD><TD>11-May-08</TD><TD>Grand Ballroom</TD><TD>Sheena </TD></TR><TR><TD>fion15</TD><TD>18-May-08</TD><TD>Grand Ballroom</TD><TD>Eddie </TD></TR><TR><TD>troco</TD><TD>28-May-08</TD><TD>Grand Ballroom</TD><TD>Theresa </TD></TR><TR><TD>Atiyah</TD><TD>15-Jun-08</TD><TD>Riverfront Ballroom</TD><TD>Jeremy </TD></TR><TR><TD>treegirl</TD><TD>21-Jun-08</TD><TD>Grand Ballroom</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>deannen</TD><TD>28-Jun-08</TD><TD>Waterfront Ballroom</TD><TD>Jennifer </TD></TR><TR><TD>ohoh</TD><TD>6-Jul-08</TD><TD>Waterfront Ballroom</TD><TD>Jasmine </TD></TR><TR><TD>fanny</TD><TD>14-Sep-08</TD><TD>Riverfront Ballroom</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>miyublurz</TD><TD>9-Oct-08</TD><TD>Grand Ballroom</TD><TD>Eddie </TD></TR><TR><TD>sherz</TD><TD>18-Oct-08</TD><TD>Grand Ballroom</TD><TD>Sheena </TD></TR><TR><TD>Newbie</TD><TD>19-Oct-08</TD><TD>Waterfront Ballroom</TD><TD>Eddie </TD></TR><TR><TD>mei</TD><TD>16-Nov-08</TD><TD>Grand Ballroom</TD><TD>Sabrina </TD></TR><TR><TD>luvben</TD><TD>23-Nov-08</TD><TD>Waterfront Ballroom</TD><TD>Sabrina </TD></TR><TR><TD>Alys</TD><TD>15-Dec-08</TD><TD>Riverfront Ballroom</TD><TD>Theresa </TD></TR><TR><TD>shice</TD><TD>3-Jan-09</TD><TD>Grand Ballroom</TD><TD>Jeremy </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

vel

Hi gals... i emailed eddie.. then realised that i have to go t dragon.. alamakz.. cos tt time alvin told me not to worry until they contact us.. they will liaise for us for the collection of cards n selection of flowers design all sorts

chum.. now really need to rush.. hehehehe

Hi Susu,
u haven not gone dwn yet too? hws ur bridal shoot? done le ma? mine is in oct 7

zookeeper

just to give some comments after our "food tasting" during our fren's wedding dinner last fri... we were rather disappointed to find out that food wasnt that fantastic after all.. alot of us find the shark fin too gluey, taro (dessert) tasted like "melted plastic" and the fried udon was very bland.

we only like the cold dish and fish. =)

newbie_quest

Hi Zookeeper

Which ballroom did your friend held his or her wedding last Friday? I thought your friend would have their food tasting session before their banquet and would have comment on their food?

So in the end did u let your friend know? should feedback to their coordinator if the food wasn't up to their standard... cos' all my frens commented that the food there are quite nice...no one complains actually...so was surprised when u commented the food wasnt that fantastic...

This is a cause of concern for us who will be holding our banquets in the near future...

newbie_quest

Hi Jv

It is actually a barbecue set with 8 pans...i havent opened up actually...intend to give to my MIL to be used during family dinners etc....

deannen

Hi Tro &amp; Co

if u r entitled to the bbq set, u will receive a Citibank letterhead letter from ur coordinator then u will need to go down to the address stated there to collect..i ve yet to colect mine cos they only open during office hrs..sigh

zookeeper

Hi Newbie,

my fren's wedding was in the grand ballroom. i'm pretty sure they had their food tasting session before too.

will probably feedback to our coordinator abt the food as my fren and i have the same coordinator.

initially we were thinking of not having the food tasting (&amp; save the 50%) since the reviews for food here were good. think we better have it now to play safe.

and one more thing to note, my fren had the "roman" theme (i don't know whats the actual name for that theme) its the one with stands at the red carpet and with a cloth draping ard it.
a few of my frens commented that its not nice and worst thing was one of the stands fell during the couple's second march-in. =\

iceglacier

hihi.. I had my wedding at GCW almost a year ago, and the food on my AD was very good, and all the old folkies were very happy.

However, my food tasting was a disaster. My MIL didn't like the food. Part of the reason I guess was because we made the wrong choices during the food tasting. We ended up choosing all the 'brown' looking food and everything looked very brown and unappetising... So in the end, we got the co-ordinator to give us pics of all the food, and we took a gamble and revamped the whole menu. Luckily for us the food was very good during the AD! phew!