Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel

deannen

Hi cheys28

thks alot =) nov08?? u r really fast..i was looking for june/ sep dates.... but i heard some of the 'good' dates are being blocked out already..is it true? i cant make it to the wedding show on 29 july thus i thought i shld go down & see the coordinator. any good coordinator to recommend..i saw somewhere in this thread, there is a coordinator called sheena..anyone else i can look for?

and also the deposit for the grand ballroom must be 5K, not neg?

scavenger

I think the coordinators there are mostly approachable, think Jeremy and Sabrina is pretty friendly when I met them up the last time round.

I have not heard of the themes yet.

ilobechoc

Can anybody pls advise if the stage in Waterfront ballrm can be moved to the either end of the rm to enable a longer march-in? as compared to the usual short march-in when the stage is at the centre (refer to Archive April 25,2007 )

Many thanks!

cheys28

initally was looking for Nov & Dec dates but alot of the weekends were booked!!! Despite that the "Tong shu" is not out & people are booking the weekends liao...i was quite surprised also...the coordinator whom i liaise is Theresa..she's not bad...and she's the one who told me that they will be launching 4 themes during the wedding show. Deposit for Grand Ballroom is $5k, not negotiable leh.

Anyway after researching so much abt GCW, i'm in a dilemma also cox i may not be taking up their hotel *sob sob* reason being that i can only confirm 25 tables, which is insufficient for the Grand Ballroom...and i'm not keen in their Waterfront Ballroom due to the low ceiling, short march-in and the projector is quite small too...although there's 2 of them...For those who want to view Waterfront Ballroom, you may need to wait for some time as i've called up them and they do not have any wedding from now till that wedding show. Personally i find Riverfront Ballroom is much cozier but the march in is also very short.

treegirl

me booked my ad at grand ballroom in Jun 08..yes, the wedding fair package is applicable.

Btw, can i knw wat did you all negotiate for, apart from converting the helpers room to anni stay? For e projector, necessary to have 2 projs? if not, wat can u change it for?did you all ask for extra waiver of wine corkage, apart from the 1 wine given per table?

cheys28

given their perks, actually nothing much to negotiate..unless u wan to try to check whether can upgrade the "1 yr anniversary" room to Superior. As for waiver of cockage, tink they are quite strict abt it unless you have alot of tables then maybe can negotiate.

jv33c

Hi all cheys28, you have their 2008 package same as mine ? how cum nvr c e "1 year anniversary rm included in my 2008 package ??

Kindly enlighten me

jv33c

Oops i scroll back the thread, I saw hw e 1 Yr Anniversary Rm cum abt oredi

Hi Cheys28, will u be attending the Wedding show ?

parmida

Yeah, I dun think i need one, let alone 2!! Do u gals think its possible to change tat to something else? like cockage wavier? or anything?

deannen

i pop by GCW this evening to take a look @ the ballroom layout..it is a L-shaped march-in. tonite's theme seems to be 'white wedding'..simple but sweet. i heard that they will open up the curtains when u go on stage to do the champagne pouring..is it true?
the 2 projector screens are huge =)

any idea is June weekends are all packed? I dun mind Sundays...

I have spoke to Jennifer..any comments on her? Pls advise...thanks

cheys28

POny: nope, i can't attend as i'll be away to HK..

As for the projectors, i doubt can change to other perks cox it's already there and no doubt they did mention that they will "usually" charge for 2nd projector, they always use it as a gimmick and to be seen as an extra perk...afterall there's no actual cost involved afterall it's already installed there..

by the way, just had a discussion with my bf...the decision is that we may not be gg for GCW *sob sob*...after much thoughts....cox we can oni hit 25 tables and therefore no way to get the Grand Ballroom...secondly, he din like Waterfront Ballroom cox of the pillar...We may be gg for Grand Plaza Park Royal @ City Hall...Nevertheless, i will still come into this thread to see if i can help you gals in any questions..afterall, i did quite a number of reseach for other hotels also...so roughly i know what are the "hidden" terms also... Meanwhile, GWC perk is still considered attractive given their food, ambience and service...i certainly hate to give up GWC

jv33c

Oh cheys28,
so sad..u ve bn gathering info on GCW.

I just went again tis afternoon & last nite just for their garden view (day & 9)
Have been diverted to Sheena as Alvin is resigning soon, very sad, he is much better.
Sheena just back from her own wedding holidays(seems not as good as Alvin)

Hi Deannen,
These are the availability on weekdays (Sun-Thurs) in June 08 as @ last mth subject to latest changes :
02 - 05, 09 - 12, 16 - 18, 22 - 25, 29 - 30 June

Hi Treegirl & Parmida,
if u follow thread closely, next year's perks are the best but also the most expensive package. other hotels also increase prices next year
(if u notice) ->oh no wedding is getting very EX!

Rgds

jv33c

My worry is also Sheena's Buddy = Jeremy. Coverage for her when she is not around.

If u all follow this forum closely. he d not received a very gd review.

Am worried, can anyone recommend me a better Marketers besides Best Alvin ??

Wonder if I can change now.

ladycraft

Hi there, have been to GCW recently and I really like the Grand Ballroom. However my expected tables is abt 20-25 only
Will be attending the wedding show this 29th July.

507009.jpg

blur_queenie

oh, i like the white concept! Cos mine is lunch so it make the whole place look bright and light hearted. Wonder if it will look good in Riverfront Room...

shice

Would like to comment on something.. back in the archive, i've actually wanted to change my coord Jeremy coz somehow we dun have same freq. Thats probably the first couple meetings. But subsequently, he's quite alright.. and we were quite glad to get the perks we wanted so we signed with gcw.

Overall, just wanna say jeremy is quite alrite.. dun disregard him at first impression.. =)

scavenger

Have to agree with SHICE, i met up with Jeremy & Sabrina. I would say both of them are approachable and nice to talk to. I love the Riverfront Ballroom, very cosy and comfy.

ilobechoc

Hi Pony,

Can you also enlighten me as well on regards to the "1 year anniversary rm"?? was about to sign the contract with them soon

ilobechoc

Hi Nana,

Is the 1st pic(white theme) posted the Waterfront Ballroom? seems like it cos there's 2 pillars. & also is the pic take from the main centre door? looks like a longer march-in,as compared to the actual distance, if pic was not taken from the entrance. Am trying to see if theres any ways to have a longer march-in *i hope*

momo23

hey brides, i would like to comment on my coordinator, Jeremy. Our first impression of him wasnt v good too.. looked a bit blur in my opinion.. But subsequent meetings with him changed our impression. Hes very approachable and helpful. We managed to get the perks we have wanted despite the promotion being over. Also, even now, we just called him over the weekend, and he 'entertained' us for qte long, still said its ok for us to call him anytime we have questions.

parmida

I've spoken to jeremy and we are going to pop by tmr to see the place, unfortunately there's no actual setup to see tmr..

Hi pony, I realise the perks are not bad...but as wif good perks, it comes wif higher price..

deannen

Hi pony

latest update
>>>>
Hi Deannen,
These are the availability on weekdays (Sun-Thurs) in June 08 as @ last mth subject to latest changes :
02 - 05, 09 - 12, 16 - 18, 22 - 25, 29 - 30 June

>>>now only 14 June left. i have blocked out 28 & 29 June tentatively for now...pend my MIL to conf the date. My coordinator is Jennifer. have not met her yet but she sounded really nice & helpful over the phone...My other choice was conrad but GCW's perks are too good to give it a miss & my hubby liked the spacious ballroom =)

For Sunday the min table is 30 but the grand ballroom can accomodate up to 65...do u tink they will separate the ballroom into 2? one with 30 tables & the other with 35 tables? scare they will do it for the $$$

jv33c

Hi ilobechoc,
some of them no need the helpers rm (included in e perks) & change it into 1 yr anniversary rm next year

Hi Parmida,
u should go c e actual setup for better idea, empty ballroom cun c muc stuff (need a lot of imagination + their sample photos are outdated)
perhaps go during wkends.
yap high price as they ve recently been push up to higher level of reputation due to gd svc + fd + 5 Star Hotel. @ least ard tt area

Hi Deannen,
u only want weekdays package ? during that month only ? for weekends (Fri & Sat) will be available as @ last month :
06, 13,14,20,27,28 June
left 14 June only ??
I dun tink they will spilt up as they promised 2 projectors & they are in place cover 2 sides so is impossible to divide

glad tt Jeremy had impoved, however m worried abt my actual SM = Sheena though previously many pp say gd abt her but perhps she s stil a bit honeymoon mood or rather I have met a better 1 earlier = Alvin , just e initial meeting abt half an hour or so he gave me many suggestions & laughters , can u imagine tt kind of service ?
he s very prompt in my email replies & requests too. It was really such a pity tt m gg to miz his service.

musjan

pony, where did u read not so nice comments about jeremy? dun recall reading it but abit concerned coz he is my coordinator.

jv33c

past archive files, however , no matter hw gd or bad previously , we should look @ e present moment which s e most important.

look @ all those b4 u engage, once engage , u got to judge by your own feel & connection i guess

deannen

Hi pony

i am looking for weekends packages (sat & sun)..when i spoke to jennifer she conf dat few days left leh...anyway we have just met her today...the ballroom will not be 'separated' as u said.. so =) to hear dat.
anw jennifer's service is quite good..very friendly & accomodating.

maybe also bcos my hubby & i very straighforward type, we see we like, price ok, svc + food good then ok liao..we are pending my MIL to conf the dates before she starts preparing the contract for us =)

jv33c

Hi Deannen,
their weekend = fri & sat
instead of sat & sun. reason being : next day pp got to wk.

glad tt u fd a gd svc person :0 )

parmida

pony, i met up wif jeremy earlier on.. ya, need alot of imagination for the ballrm but then they wun have any wedding till 28jul and by then i feel that it would be rash for me to decide..so i decided to go down just now just to have a look and feel of the place...

the package is indeed attractive but then the waterfront ballrm that he recommended got 2 pillars and so im hesitating..

snowbells

was sad to hear that Alvin has resigned. I m being assigned to Eddie. Has anyone heard abt him before? I hope he is good. I'm going to miss him.

cheekychick

Hi all, im attending the GCW show coming mth end too...juz to take a look as im having abt 20tables..

Hi Deannen, a lady by the name of Jennifer called us to cfm our registration for the GCW show
She ounds very nice & frenly

Parmida, heard dat both Waterfront & Riverfront have quite short march-ins? I haven't seen both personally but for the pillars..isit possible to arrange the tables such dat no guest's view will be blocked?

parmida

Cheeky, yup the waterfront got short march in.. Jeremy, the coordinator, said that they can arrange the tables so that everyone gets unblocked view, the waterfront can accomodate up to 28 tables max, and wif tat at least 4 tables will be partially blocked.

jv33c

Hi snowbells,
Alvin will be the one holding the wedding show, so u will still get to see him if you are there

Parmida, when s your banquet date ? how many tables are u looking for ?

treegirl

Jus a question..for those Fri and Sat brides to be, do you all feel disadvantaged? cos their wkday packages are so much cheaper...for e same perks....are we at a losing end?

miyublurz

hihi snowbells~

My cooridinator is Eddie ...
I think he shd be fine lah...
except dat sometimes u will have to take note of little details cuz he might leave it out ...

Like my draft contract
He made a few mistakes ...
but he's relatively accomodating n prompt ...
hope this helps to make u feel better~ =)

cheekychick

Thks Parmida! Guess i can take a closer look during the show
I will only have about 20 tables thereabouts...

Hi Treegirl, personally, i dun feel dat im at the losing end (i only like sat) cos its a personal choice. If u feel dat u r at the losing end, u can choose to hold it on a weekday rite?
I guess weekdays are always more value for $ as weekends are more popular...its to encourage more couples to hold on weekdays bah...

cheys28

i did check my coordinator before that for longer march-in at Waterfront Ballroom, you cannot have too many tables...in fact 22 tables would be abt the maximum. On the other hand, she indicated that it will be abit weird too cox when the bride & groom is facing the guest, they are in fact staring at the 2 pillars also...just for your review

deannen

hi cheeky_chick

ya she is quite sweet isn't she =)

anyway for those of u who are holding in the smaller ballrooms, my personal opinion is to add on to the decoration to create that intimate, cosy feeling. so, pillar or not, it won't create the 'weird' feeling of something getting in your way... i pop by to view the smaller ballrooms the last time i went to see the grand ballroom layout..the couple who is holding their wedding there decorated the ballroom with lotsa red roses and tealight candles..tink they top up one cos normally the hotel/ florist won't be offering such 'creative' decoration in the normal wedding package.

deannen

hi smiles

rdg ur question abt wedding favour, my coordinator Jennifer told me that they changes it every year but standard one, they have bears, candles dat looks like roses..dat is all i rem. But i tink they might be launching something new @ the wedding show on 29th July cos i did askled her abt themes, wed cards design etc etc..she keep telling me 'nothing is firm as at now' cos the hotel are working on something new..i tink they want to create the 'wow' factor @ the wedding show to entice more couples to sign up with them on the day itself..she also mentioned that the package is good till april 2009. FYI. =)

momo23

hi deannen, thanks!
yar thats wat my coordinator told me too... i hope they do have some new unique wedding favours.. and some WOW themes tat we can use for our wedding at end of the year

parmida

Hi deannen, Ive spoken to jeremy too and he said the same thing as jennifer...think its becos they want to have a surprise...