Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel

musjan

i have received the contract from GWC, will be using the Grand Ballroom for my dinner on 15 Jan 08. but just abit concern about Jeremy, the sales coordinator. he seems abit laidback. anyone of u have liased with him before?

and also how soon in advance do u confirm the decor u want? not sure when to do so coz i read that u need to take all this into consideration when u choose ur gowns so that it all blends in well together.

please help... thanks!

cho

attended the BOWS "open house" and felt tat GCW's sales manager wasnt v impressive!

cant recall his name.. he seems v blur.. ask him everything oso dunno..

can anyone recommend a good coordinator?
also, can any GCW brides share their photos as well?? my email is [email protected].

thanks v much!!

shice

I'm interested in GCW. Could any of you share what perks did you gers manage to negotiate successfully for?

moonlightmist

anyone here has gone down to T-dragon?
I've seen the website, the cards are not very nice..or is their website not updated? Do they have nice ones?
did anyone here not take their invites and got your own?

lilo__stitch

I will be having my wedding at GCW one month from now. I booked only in Dec last year. So far, the experience has been quite ok and i am quite confident GCW can do a good job for us.

Min, I did my cards at T-dragon although i drop the printing of invitation cards from the hotel's package. They were quite nice to still give me the contact to make things easy for me. Tdragons also has a lot of designs of wide variety. However, if you are taking them via the hotel's package, you can only choose from those few.

So, I wish all of you a great time preparing for your big day! If there is any queries you think i can help with, do pm me. ;)

mage

I also dun like the cards given by GCW so I don't think I will be taking the invites from the GCW's package. Might just design and print my own or something.

moonlightmist

hi mage,
yah i thought the cards given dont look very nice from the website..
but if dont take the cards like quite wasted huh..
any chance of changing the cards to any other perks?

cho

has anyone had the wedding in the smaller ballroom?

can comment on the food and quality of service and ceiling etc of ballroom?

mage

Min, I think you can negotiate with your coordinator to exchange the cards something else... maybe try for bottles of wine?

cho, eh.. my AD not due till Jan 08 but I've gone and see the Riverfront ballroom. Its rectangular in shape and the ceiling is high and pillarless. HTHS!

annpaul

hi ladies...just wanna share my experience here! i know how frustrating and helpless brides can get during the preparation stage. i had just been thru it. i came here to look for advice from ex-brides and really appreciated their help then. so think i should come contribute too! hees

We had our wedding a month ago in GCW Grand Ballroom. we had 40+2 tables and had to use that 2 reserves on that night. We sourced for quite a number of hotels but chose GCW in the end coz
1. we loved the ballroom with the garden at the back
2. pillar-less ballroom
3. exclusiveness
4. enjoyable working r/s with our coordinator

We were both very busy at work prior to wedding hence a lot of things very last min. dont have time to prepare. But our coordinator Sheena Tan was superb!!! strongly recommended for her patience with us man! and we trusted her for things we didnt even have time to think about and they turned out so perfect~

we were changing sitting plans and all the special meals arrangement up to the last min and she happily accomodated. she was prompt in her service thru out also. not once did i have to wonder if sheena had MIA! thats a relief!

june florist did a WONDERFUL job in decorating the place! we confirmed a deco plan months before the weddin but didnt have time to reconfirm. the guy Ben told us to trust him, he'll do it nicely. on that day, i didnt go down to check on the deco coz was busy preparing with make up and stuff. hubby did went down but didnt tell me whats going on downstairs. when i marched into the hall, its the first time i see the deco, i was blown away! so dreamy and romantic!! Ben from June florist did a great job!! my guests commented the deco was nice!

we love the grand ballroom! we chose the L-shaped march in coz more unique and we love the garden behind. when we poured the champagne, the curtains behind us opened slowly to reveal the garden, it was very lovely! people just starting clapping...

the food was good. my guests enjoyed them a lot.

what was not so good but we already knew was the bridal suit. its not the biggest and nicest we've seen but large enough for a newly wed. the bedroom is very cosy tho. and we love the red cute bedsheets they use.

one funny thing tho, theres only one toilet and its outside at the living area. most other suites i've been to has got 2 toilets. and the bathroom quite closed up! haha no windows. but we dont need 2 toilets lah. coz we've got helpers room so suite is only for 2 of us.

just one piece of advice after reading some of your posts. dont get too hung up with the suite. esp the view! your curtain will be drawn most of time unless you got totally unblocked and private view. and if you're going for honeymoon, no point getting hung up abt the view lah. you'll get more time to sightsee on your honeymoon. the wedding night is more for the both of you to enjoy each other loh. got nice bed can already! haha

and it'll be nice to spend 2 nights coz 1st night cannot enjoy wan loh. either very tired or lao-sai ing! haha really...my hubby was so sick the first night after drinking all the funny concortions that we just went to sleep that night! haha

okies...long enough entry...hope this helps! =P
lastly we had a terribly great time despite all the last min headaches. we were still panicking until the night before. till we come to a point and say no point worrying anymore. just drop everything and enjoy. seriously brides, just stay away from the planning and coordinating, you'll be a happier bride! all the best! =P

shice

Hi annpual,

Thanks for your wonderful assurance.. I guess that just assume most of the btb for GCW.

Congrats to your successful wedding!
glad it went so well and smooth for urs.. I hope mine too..

btw would you mind sharing your photos? I guess i might not be the only one who is interested..

momo23

hey annpaul
thanks for sharing your experience with us.
Really thanks for ur great assurance!
Glad everything went well for you!
Hope it will go well for all the btb of GCW

yeah, same as shice, i am interested in seein ur photos too as i am taking grand ballroom too!

Also, when you think its a good time to contact June florist?

musjan

wow annpaul, reading about your experience gave me the confidence in GWC. Hope my experience will be as good as yours. Just a question, do you contact the florist after u have chosen ur AD WG? I was told that its better to do so so that the colors will be in sync.

heat

Hey i got confused with Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel and Copthorne King's Hotel Singapore.. It is different right? how's the difference in the wedding deco?

mage

Anyone tried to ask for long table settings instead of the usual round tables? Do we need to pay extra if we want the long table settings?

alysgal

hello
Can i join in too?
Have a tentative booking with GCW in dec 2008.
Anyone knows of the coordinator William? Any comments?

miyublurz

Im booking GCW soon ...
will be signing the draft contract soon to book the date ...
so far we have already negotiate with the coordinator wat we want ...
and then on their wedding show ... we will go down n see wat are the extra perks n will sign the actual contract n pay the deposit ...

My coordinator is Eddie ...
He seems to be rather nice n hopefully everything turns out well ..

shice

when's their wedding show? is it coming soon?

Btw their perks given during the wedding show, will they be applicable for wedding bookings in 2008? coz i heard some wedding show perks only limited to that current year only.

strawberrysusu

Yes, could anyone tell me when their wedding show is? We've also gone down to do the negotiation, but didn't know there was a show. Miyublurz, when is your AD? Thanks

miyublurz

From wat the coordinator told me ..
it shd be on the 29th July 2007
Stay tuned!

He say he will update me with the wedding show details ... and I suppose the perks shd be applicable for both 2007 and 2008 cuz my AD will be on 2008 and he told me n my HTB to sign on dat day ...

shice

does any one know from ur coord what kind of perks they will give during the wedding show?

coz i gg to sign soon.. manage to neg some perks to our liking.. not sure if wanna wait till wedding show..

strawberrysusu

Hmm we didn't even know about the wedding show. Our coordinator supposed to be Sheena but she was busy so we met Jennifer instead. Will check with them
thanks miyublurz!

heat

hey guys
I want to check how kind of perks they hv offered for those who have signed up ..( other than those featured in e package).

babyiguana

Hihi..

I was attended by Alvin Koh from GWC.. His service is superb! Very approachable guy.. Nearly wanted to sign my ROM session with him but due to last min changes on the date, have to postpone. But Alvin was very nice and gave us alot of advice and suggestions. We managed to change quite alot of dishes on the menu..
Feel free to email him @ [email protected]; contact 90062347

miyublurz

my coordinator sent me the details for the wedding package for their wedding show on 29th july ...

and the perks r rather good ... do go down n take a look!

cho

anyone has been to waterfront ballroom? any pillars?

Also, currently m liaising with Jennifer.

Any comments?

miyublurz

im nt sure if i could actually send u the wedding package for their bridal show cuz its nt released yet ...

but i can give u the one dat they sent me ...
when i first enquire abt their package ...

strawberrysusu

There are pillars in the waterfront ballroom but not the river front one. We personally preferred the riverfront, but the waterfront one has a nice reception area tho. You should ask them to show you around - it's good to take a look before deciding, I think

mage

Whoever is using Sabrina as coordinator, please be more wary as she is super duper blur. Because of her GCW is going to lose my business.