Goodwood Park Hotel

whitely

dear beanie and sammi,

there are two different price for the room now,
$160 and $165. Why there are two different one?
I cant remember how much did they charge me if
I intend to get one, must check the contract first.

I also have overseas guests so need to book
rooms for them.

when are your wedding? do u intend to decorate
the ball room?

sammi,

did you visit their bridal show in last Oct? They tour us to the bridal room. Some of the couples might feel the room is quite
small if compare to other hotels but I personally feel that it is very cosy
and unique

sammi

Hi Whitely,

Have not seen the bridal room yet..I wanted to view it the last time i met up wif Candice but the room is under upgrading works at the moment...maybe later check with Candice again.

beanie

Hi whitely,
I am in the same situation as sammi, wanted to view the bridal suite but unfortunately the room under renovation.

My wedding is in May. How about yours? What do you mean by decorating? I tot is in the contract??

whitely

dear beanie,

mine is in June
I refer to use balloons or ribbons to deco except flowers

gar

wish to ask u guys if u all have tried the shanghai rest. at GWP. think it is chang jiang or something to that effect?

Thinking of using it as for ROM but would be dinner.. for about 8 tables...

would appreciate lots of comments on it...

ssl

Hi Gar

I've been to Chang Jiang to eat two times.

And i find that the food is really nice.
Try the XO sauce.

Think they have private rooms too but think must have spend certain amount before they will allow u to use the room.

That place is not that big though. So u could maybe ask them to give u the 8 tables in a corner or u can check if u can do it in their function room but ask the Chang Jiang chef to cook for u.

dawnie

I just visited GWP today and found the place quite unique and cosy. Am trying to decide between Grand Hyatt and GWP now.

Candice from GWP seems v.nice and is agreeable and flexible to my requested changes. Am looking at only 20 tables in the ballroom and perhaps a Poolside solemisation earlier in the day.

My only concern is the small reception area. Does anyone have thoughts on that?

whitely

hi dawnie,

the reception area is indeed considered not really spacious compared to other hotels.

Why not we think it in this way, the guests can
get seated earlier so that the banquet can start
earlier too

ssl

hi dawnie

some of your guest can also linger outside the reception area or the staircase with the red carpet which is just beside the ballroom. Or they may even wonder along the corridoors where the Cafe is which leads them to the front lobby where they can sit down to rest or mingle.

And i agree with what Whitely said, its a perk to lure ur guests to sit down earlier.

gwpbride

had my wedding at GWP back in Nov 2002.

about the small reception area --
we were worried about it at first about the size, but it turned out really okay. We waited for the guests at the recept area. People will come in thru the door, shake hands with us, then go on to sign the guest book and check the seating plan. Then, very NATURALLY, they will move into the dining area and sit there. I think drinks will be served there. However, note that while this means dinner will start early, it also means that guests will have less chance (and time) of viewing your photo albums placed in the reception area. Also, NONE of our guests lingered around the cafe or stairs that night... I guess it just didn't felt right for them.

on outdoor photos at GWP --
we took some shots during the actual day at the pools (big and small ones), at the entrance, and at the stairs facing scotts road. some shots are great, some not so good. For good portraits, you really need to allocate quite a bit of time for the photographer. We didn't want to spend too much taking portraits at GWP since our relatives were waiting for us and we had a schedule to follow. Anyways, if you like certain parts of GWP, you should definitely tell your photographer. And if you like, you're free to roam around GWP in your wedding gown!

oh, 2 more things:

no. of tables below the 23 min. should be possible - just negotiate for it.

the suites are small - all of them are! GWP is more than 100 years old, so can't compare to new grand hotels! BUT there IS a slightly bigger one and you should ask if you can reserve for it. not much difference tho. just slightly bigger.

good luck to all!

beanie

hi gwpbride,

thank you very mush for your valuable feedback. i will take note of all.

how about the food, any comments from your guest. btw, which menu did you opt for?

whitely

anyone just held her banquet at GWP recently??or
going to hold banquet soon?

ava

Hi whitely!

gd to c u here again!

i'm also waiting for someone to do a posting

since Serene left GWP i've been lost and no one actually bothered to call and confirm all the details, I guess they'll be following it exactly as in the contract ...but we actually also did have a number of verbal understanding...

what abt u?

whitely

hi ava,

I am so glad to read your posting..!!

when is your wedding date? Mine is end of next month.

I think Candice is the person of in-charge now. We normally liase with her. She is helpful, indeed.

Have you gone for food tasting? which menu you choose? We went last week.

This forum is so quiet...wondering where are all GWP brides gone

ava

Hi Whitely

yeah I'm wonderin where they've all gone also!!??!!

Mine is in Nov... still have sometime...

Is Candice really nice? I really feel a little lost, 'cos some of the details I've negotiated with Serena and she's verbally agreed to it... so i'm not sure what's going to happen now

is your wedding on a Sat or weekday?

food tasting will be closer to the date... since i've signed up the package, they've changed the menu & florist and I'm not sure what else
but serena assured me not to worry as it would be an improver version.

Food wise I'm quite confident of GWP standard
so dun worry okie

how was your food tasting?
which wedding card design did you choose?
did you upgrade to the Brunei Suite?
how many tables are you having?
what is the ballroom deco like?

SORRY i've SO many questions!

sammi

Me too waiting for some posting.. Whitely u must have had everything ready for your big day right? So exciting!

I'm still 4 months away...Next week going for my 2nd fitting of my WG...

I've emailed Candice recently to request for server on every table for hygiene purpose due to SARS, but she cannot accede...said their arrangement is 2 waiters to 3 tables and only some dishes are served. Have u requested this from her? I've attended Holiday Inn Parkview recently and they have a server to each table.

Hi Ava, what's Brunei Suite? Izit bigger than the bridal suite offered to us? How much more to upgrade?

ava

Hi Whitely

Hope you'll share your banquet experience with me when you return!

Take good care & enjoy ur special day!

whitely

Hi Ava,

I understand your feeling because I was abit lost too when I knew serena left. But dont worry, Candice is a patient and nice gal. Hubby and I think that she is very responsible to her job and costomers. In this case, I think all of you can relieve

I am not sure whether they will upgrade us to Brunei suite or not. Most likely I dont think they will do so coz it is much expensive, right? But you can check with them about yours. One of my friends' friend hold his banquet at Sheraton Tower and they actually upgraded the newlywed to their "president suite". Sigh, maybe it is because economy is really bad and also the SARS outbreak so there are not many ppl staying there. They are very lucky, indeed

Regarding the invitation cards, we chose both designs. Our parents like the traditional one because the colour tone is nice and looks elegant. Currently we have completed writing cards and will be sent to our guests very soon.
I can intro my printer to you when you need to print cards.

We will only have 23-24 tables only coz the ballroom is quite small. Regarding the waitress ratio, we did negotiate this with ex-person-in-charge but they said it is quite difficult to make it 1-1. My friend attended banquet at GWP and she said it is not necessary to 1-1 coz the ballroom is small, too many waitress will only make ballroom more crowded. She think 2-3 is fine. Well, this is only her comments.It is up to you and your hubby to decide loh.

Hope these can clear your doubt

whitely

Hi sammi and Ava,

Probably we can suggest them to add an extra spoon or chopsticks for hygine purpose. Actually I think this is already the practice of hotels but only guests like to use their own spoons and chopsticks. It really depends on different ppl.
I think due to the SARs outbreak, guests will choose not to use their own chopsticks.

Sammi,

Do u remember Beanie? I think she held her banquet in May. Too bad she is not here to share with us her experience.

I am not ready yet. Too many things to handle by our own, However, we have already made everything as simple as possible. how about yours? Which bridal boutique you signed up with?

ava

Hi Whitely & Sammi

thnks for the info

whitely seems like you're right on track
you'll do fine
just enjoy the day! SO EXCITED for you! :p

agree it's not necessary to arrange for 1-1 ratio as the ballroom is small and the suggestion of each dish serving spoon is already common practice, just remind them if you're not sure

sammi

Hi Whitely,

Dun worry lah...everything will fall in place as you get nearer to your big day...

Me oso gabar-ing...at least i did my part on the wedding thing...my FH still hasn't start the reno on my house...can die.

I've signed up with Flamingo...Shirley's great...Still hunting for my wedding shoes..tall order as got to find a 2inch one...Also thinking of getting wedding favours....but must see got budget to spare or not.

Who did you get your wine/liqour from??

whitely

Sammi,

My parents-in-law will handle wines and liquors so I am not too sure.

Nowsaday, few ppl like to take liquor so we dont intend to bring many to banquet.

Ava,

thanks for your encourgement. I hope that you are on the right track too

whitely

Hi new new,

maybe red, I bet. Normally hotels use red table cloths for VIP table. This is the advice given by my bridal boutique too.

dearie

May I know anyone hold her wedding at GWP Seafood Garden Restaurant? How is the food? What about the service? What are the bargains like?

jany

whitely

Hi Dearie,

We have our food tasting at GWP seafood garden restaurant and our banquet's courses will be handled by this restaurant.

The experience we had is some of the dishes are very delicious and special. Parents and parents-in-law like the dishes very much. The dessert "bai3 nian2 hao3 he2" (red bean soup with lotus seed) is quite special too, unlike other hotels/restaurants we tried before. Well, but it is depend on different ppl's taste. You can only take this as reference

ava

Hi Whitely!

I guess your wedding must be round the corner? or over already

Just want to wish you all the best & take care & remember to have lots of fun & SMILE SMILE SMILE!

yvonne

Hi whitely,

May I know the packages that are offered by GWP at 2004?

So, after the food tasting, how do you rate the food?

beanie

Hello Ladies,

I am back. Whitely, I am glad u still remember me.

I have always been ard, juz that this thread is always so quiet, so din post anything.

I had a wonderful wedding. Dun worry, Candice is simply great.

With regards to the waiter ratio, not to worry. Actually, for every dish, they actually ask if you want the food to be dished out. Just a point to note, they actually cleared the dish very fast. That's waht happened at my dinner. Maybe I suggest u gals bring it up to Candice for her to take note. Next, they actually change the plate for every dish. Very good. That's waht I feel is essential, at least to "live" up to it's 5* status. Also, they have separate beverage server. Meaning, those who serve the beverage are different to those serving the off. A plus point too.

Food is oso very good. Not to worry about the food tasting cause I had a fantastic one at Graden Seafood Restaurant snd the Chief Chef is very friendly too. But i personally feel that the food is better for my food tasting than actual day and oso the portion is very big for food tasting as compared to my actual day. Points for u to note too.

Next is the BM, I had Rosli and he is great too. Sevice is really good. Just need to arrange properly and things will flow according to agenda on the day with the assistance of Candice and Rosli.

Whitely, I had the red bean paste too. Is somthing special and I like it. Not too sweet.

Also, I had my photoshoot at GWP and is very nice. One of my outdoor venue.

Those having 23 tables, please take note, is very crampy. Especially towards the back of the ballroom.That's what happen to me and I had onli 21 tables on that day. So please be careful on this area.

Can juz check with me if anyone of you brides to be have any other query. I will be most happy to help.

sammi

Hi Beanie,

Thanks for the info...really nice of you. Will take note of them. Glad your wedding turned out well!

ava

Hi Beanie!

Congrats!

So happy for you everything turned out well!

Thanks also for checking in and updating us GWP brides
I guess we are all feeling a little worried...esp me! 'cos since serena left not 1 of them has called to follow up...

Beanie, was your dinner on a Sat? was the new deco nice?
sorry for the many questions

thanks for being around

beanie

Sammi,

Thanks. Just relax and I am sure urs wil turn out just as good. So how's your preparation?

Ava,

My dinner is on Friday. The deco is simple. Just what I wanted. So is fine with me. You may like to check with Candice for any upcoming wedding and pop by for a look.

One more thing to add. If u have not take a look at the bridal suite, do make an effort to do so. As I do not want you ladies to be disappointed as it happened to me. Is pretty small. As I have seen other hotels' bridal suites which are very big and nice, therefore, somehow or rather, I felt disappointed. But nevertheless, overall rating is still very good.

Me too opt for both designs of the invitation card.

Have u ladies gone for your PS? BTW who did u sign ur bridal package with. Mine is Kai Bridal, PS by Utopia and actual day photography by Photo Team.

Hope to hear more from u gals...

ava

Hi Beanie

Thanks for sharing

Which dishes did you select for your dinner?

As for me, i'm hoping to meet up with Candice soon, so that we can run through the details again.

I didn't sign up for a bridal or PS package as I wanted to keep the wedding costs low, so I'm having my friends take some photos for me
I've taken some already if you like, i can send it to you via email
My gowns i bought from Margaret Brides
and the actual day photography is with Everafter

Beanie are you still feeling the adrenaline rush from the wedding day?

I'm really glad you're back to share your experience
THanks!

Sammi what about you?
you getting excited!!?

sammi

Hi Beanie & Ava,

My preparation is on the way....going for my ps on 11 July...now very stressed as yet to slim down to my ideal....Die liao..must tell photographer to use his techniques to hide my flabs!

Beanie, when do you get the wedding cards from Candice? We call her or she calls? As I've some overseas friends to invite, so need to send invitation earlier. Also, do u have to get permission from Goodwood for photoshoot?

eggie

Hi Ava,

Did you manage to have an extra nite stay? I looked at the bridal suite n it's pretty small...there r bigger suites but it's far away on the other wing. I'm also thinking of having my banquet at gwp

beanie

Hi Ava,

The dishes I selected are:

Goodwood Combination
Braised Shark's Fin With Assorted Seafood
Crispy Golden Chicken
Steamed Fruit Fish With Superior Sauce
Sauteed Fresh Scallop & Squids Wtih Dried Chilli
Braised Flower Mushroom & Veg Cutlet With Broccoli
Fragrant Louts Rice
Cream Red Bean Paste With Lous Seeds

Comments are quite extreme for the fruit fish. Either very good or they dun like. For me, is just avg. My fav is the Cold Cut and the Scallops. Yum yum.

Oh yes, still tian tian mi mi leh. Still enjoying the "honeymoon period"

Likes to look thru our pic together. Heehee.

I would love to take a look at your pic. Send to me at [email protected]

I will keep a lookout.

Hi Sammi,

Dun be stressed. U got to relax now. Sleep early the day b4. For me, the whole session is very enjoyable. Both my hubby and myself click very well with Travis. But boy, I felt so tired that evening. Luckily the weather is good and we really enjoyed ourselves.

I collected my cards 1.5 months b4 my wedding date. I find it pretty late. U may check with Candice, I am sure u can collect it earlier if you want to. Especially if u r inviting overseas guests. U may like to check with Candice too for special room rates for ur overseas guests or helpers.

U have to arrange with Candice for the PS. Only brides that signed up with GWP r allowed to have their PS in the hotel (according to Candice).

Have u decided on your outdoor venue beside GWP? BTW, who is ur photographer?

eggie

Hi Beanie,

What make you choose GWP? I'm still considering between Conrad and GWP?

So nice can take photos at GWP. What is the nice spots for PS at GWP?

ava

Hi Sammi!

YOu'll enjoy your PS
and must be getting excited also !
Smile smile smile!

I'll also be having overseas guests so many need to collect the cards earlier.

Eggie

nope no additional night stay

Hi Beanie!

thnks for sharing the menu

you didn't take the camphor duck?

still on cloud 9 huh
good for you

i think i'll be like that also
looking at the pics over and over again

so glad for you the overall experience was good!

eggie

hi ava,
how many tables will u be having? i'm only thinking of 20 of i scare very cramp. have you seen the setup for 20?

ava

Hi Eggie,

actually i've lots of unanswered questions also, 'cos i've signed the contract as it was.

it would be better for you to check with the salesperson direct.

alternatively, you can ask Beanie
her's has ended on a sweet note
she'll be in a better position to advise

i'll be hvg 25 tables

good luck!

sammi

Hi Beanie,

Ok lah..things kind of falling into place now..just met my photographer yesterday to discuss abt my ps..I'm with Kelvin, Beetles@work, he's the tu-di of Chris Ling...can't afford the master so get the tu-di loh.. Other than GWP, my outdoor shoot location will be some greenery places, old buildings and nite shots at Singapore River facing Fullerton Hotel...Now praying for good weather as nowadays weather very erratic.

Who did you use for actual day photographer? Any recommendation? Am trying to source for one ranging from $1 - 1.2k.

eggie

Hi ava,
I had met up with Candice n seen the place. I like it a lot. Just scare that the tables r too close together n it seem crame. Another thing is the suite is small. Have you seen the suite? Other than that it's a venue i really like.

whitely

Hello everyone,

I have completed my zhong1 shen2 da4 shi4 finally. Yeah!!

I am here to share my personal feeling that dining at Goodwood Park Hotel.

Over all, the experience is really GREAT!! The ambience at ballroom is very cosy with the peach table cloths and lighting. We tried to make it like a family gathering with about 220 guests. And we really did it. According to the response from guests, they feel like making themselves at home and dined with their family members.

Agreed with Beanie's options, Candice is a good coordinator for the whole banquet arrangement. On the other hand, the floor manager, Rosli and Jeffery is very experienced with handling banquet too. However, no matter how experience they are, I think that the groom and bride play the most important role in the banquet. Groom suppose to take care and control the sequence and arrangement. He need to work very closely with floor managers by giving them clear instruction and listening to managers' suggestions at the same time. Newly wed need to stay very calm during/before the dinner if there is any unexpected situation happen. I believe that there is always unexpected things happen no matter how full-prepared before hand
e.g. there might be some unexpected guests might attend at last minute so that groom has to arrange seats for them although you RSVP very well.

Just an advice to going-to-be couples, STAY CALM always, never get panic!

Hm, now is the comment for food. Like Beanie, my banquet is handled by Garden Seafood Restaurant. However, there is few things different from Beanie because my banquet has 9 courses as it is thrown on Sunday. The additional course is "prawn" and this is the best dish among the rest (i got this comment from guests). For the other dishes, although they are quite common (like broccoli), you can still feel that the effort which restaurant spent.

The dessert is very nice! not so sweet like the other restaurants prepare. The first dish (lobster leng pan) is very grand look and this won some praise from guests, too) The standard of food is almost same as food tasting on the other day and we really appreciate for their effort.

There is also another suggestion for a small stage that GWP has. Maybe you gals can try to have a stand-mic instead. Rostrum is too bulky and it will make the stage spaceless. Moreover, maybe you should ask only 3-4 yumseng buddies for toasting section. This is more than enough other than your parents/family members. The most important thing is whether they can shout loud or not but not the number of persons.

Another thing to hightlight is how to make your guests to have deep impression on your wedding. For our experience, powerpoint presentation is very important for the whole banquet. If you gonna to have the presentation of your story, try to spend some time and effort to personalised the presentation and this will definitely make your wedding night to be unforgettable.

Enjoy your day at Tudor Ballroom

eggie

Hi Whitely,

Congratulations! I believe it's a beautiful wedding for you.

How did you handle unexpected guests? If all tables are occupied, can you squeeze it to 11 for 1 table? I'm just wondering. I think having a stand-mic is a good idea. I also feel that the stage is a bit small.

How about your stay at GWP? You like the suite? Did you upgrade?

whitely

Hi Eggie,

I think there are always some guests will not turn out at last minutes, maybe you can try to arrange those unexpected one to occupy the empty seats.

We didnt upgrade bridal suite. Like what beanie said, the room is quite small but cosy and we actually was quite exhausted after the banquet. After shower, it is about 1 am+ and you still need to tidy all the stuff that you bring over, calculate ang bao, etc. No much time on sleeping and using the room's facilities
The suite is very British style, Candice told us it is about 103-year old already, wow~~~

whitely

Hi Eggie,

I think there are always some guests will not turn up at last minutes, maybe you can try to arrange those unexpected one to occupy the empty seats.

We didnt upgrade bridal suite. Like what beanie said, the room is quite small but cosy and we actually was quite exhausted after the banquet. After shower, it is about 1 am+ and you still need to tidy all the stuff that you bring over, calculate ang bao, etc. No much time on sleeping and using the room's facilities
The suite is very British style, Candice told us it is about 103-year old already, wow~~~

ava

Hey Whitely!

Congrats!

So happy for you!!!

Must have felt like the best Family reunion ever!

Thanks for the sharing

I'll be meeting with Candice next week

if you have any further tips to share, can you email them to me at:

Thank you! & Congrats again!

Sammi!
you'll you next!

Hey Beanie & Whitely!

Thank you so much for sharing and putting future GWP brides at ease

Wishing both of you a Blessed Marriage!

eggie

hi Whitely,

Thanks for sharing. Yah, always got people last minute will not turn out one. Will try to accommodate that.

I'm thinking of having church wedding on Sat followed by dinner on Sun so that will not be so tiring. That's why i'm considering 2 nite stay. But doesn't seem anyone got free 2-nite stay one.