Good concealer for dark eye rings ?

cost_control

I've very dark eye rings and plus the fact that I'm very fair-skinned, it is very prominent.
Can someone recommend me a good concealer that I can use to cover up the dark circles ?

Thank you !

ac

I've also got very very dark eye rings. No treatment can make it less obvious. 8(

I'm currently using Bodyshop concealor shade 01. Not too bad, but can still see faintly after makeup.

Sad. 8(

crystal

Hi Cost control & Ac,

I m presently using covermark concealer ($39) av. at Bugis Seiyu counter. Understand fm the staff that it actually TREATS!! & covers dark circle & fills in e lines (if any). Well, it covers well but seems to crack a little as I laugh a lot. Whahahaha.........

As for the colour, get help fm the staff.

Tip : Sleep early, dont party late, dont drink, dont smoke, dont watch the TV or computer monitor for long hrs in a shot. Should recover shortly.

ac

Crystal, thanks for the tip.

I don't drink and smoke, no time for TV, but I sleep late and have to face computer screen for long hours.

My case is "gone case". I suspect I injured the skin beneath my eye due to prolong rubbing (when young) and my late hours. No cure. Everyone give up hope on me.

Even if I have enough sleep, no improvements too.

Sad.

Will try covermark concealer when I pop over to Seiyu. I hope that there is a way to treat my serious dark eye circles. 8(

lukie

I've also got serious dark eye rings ... sometimes my friends say I look like a panda ... have tried using the concealer from Clinique but doesn't do much help ... still searching for a good product ... will let everybody know if I chanced on a real good one...

candy

Just to share. I too have dark eye rings. Recently I changeed my sleeping habits. i.e. Sleep early. I can see visible results that the dark eye ring is lightening.

Anyway, sleep is very important so do try your best and jump onto the bed at the right time & have sufficient Zzzzzzz

louisa

I also have very dark eye circles though it's not a matter of lack of sleep. I also don't drink, don't smoke and don't go clubbing and no matter how much I sleep, I still get dark cicles. So don't know what's the cause of the eye circles.

Have been getting quite frustrated nowadays cause people keep on commenting that I look tired. So much so that last weekend I bought a La Prairie eye treatment set at Robinsons Centrepoint. They had a promotion going on and their set of eye mask and two eye-creams cost $330/-. Quite expensive but I heard very good comments on their eye products. So decided to take the plunge. Haven't seen any effect though cos it's just 2 days. Just hope that it will lighten or even disappear after in a few months' time.

I am now using Shiseido liquid concealer. The coverage is medium but I can still see shades of my dark circle under the eyebag.

I've heard from someone that you can actually go for surgery to remove it? Has anything heard of it before?

kiroro

Hi Louisa,

I also don't drink, don't smoke, don't sleep late, etc . and have dark eye circles too. I was told that it could be due to poor blood circulation round the eye area too .

the la praire eye treatment is good but very expensive (does it contain caviar ?) i'm currently the Ericcson Bio Optic eye cream form my beautician and the eye contour mask which u leaves on for about 10 mins before washing off, and the price is not too expensive .. (p.s. hope i'm not being 'labelled' by someone that i'm introducing super high-end stuff here :p ) . so far so good ..
worth a try too.

louisa

Hi kiroro,
Yah, the eye treatment mask contains caviar. if la prairie doesn't work, I'll find out more from you about this Ericcson Bio Optic eyecream. Thanks.

I've never known that so many people have dark eye ring problems, cos I seem to be the only one walking on the street with these 2 panda eyes.

ac

Hi Louisa, I am also interested in finding out if there is any way to get rid of dark eye ring through surgery. grin.

Anyone got this info ?

kiroro

Hi louisa,

my friend told me that tea-bags work for both puffy and dark rings.. i have not tried .. wondering if anyone tried before ?

Try not to conceal too much with concealer cos the mroe u put, the more obvious it is cos it is patchy. I'm using the clinique advanced concealer and shu umera 's one

gim

found this d i y tip on the net. dunno whether it'll help but no harm trying coz its sooooo cheap!!!

add some warm water to a pinch of salt. Then you use the cotton pads and soak them before squeezing them dry and after that, put
it on your eyes for like 10 to 15 minutes.

eunicetan

ive this book by diane irons who wrote this best selling book "the world's best-kept beauty secrets" n she recommended the use of raw potato slices to remove the dark circles under the eye cos potato contains potassium. no mention of how long u r supposed to leave it tho'.

hope it helps

eunicetan

halo kendra,

i bought the book at mph for i think 2-3 yrs ago? i think it should still be there. i bought it for $29.95.

clarice lam

Yes like all of u here, I have very serious dark eye rings problem ever since young! Tried going to the beautician and stuff like that but it doesn't help at all!

So it has been abt 8 months since Louisa and Kiroro have tried their products....so I am wondering if the La Prairie and the Ericcson Bio Optic eye cream have worked for both of u? Are both of u looking bright eyed now? If yes, then u gals are my saviour! I seriously and desprately need to get rid of my eye bags....they look so horrid! Guess, even the best make up artist cannot do anything abt it! It is not only very dark but I have fine lines too.... guess like AC, I have damaged my skin around my eye area too! HELP!!!!

ac

Clarice, so we are both pandas hor ?
I am using Bodyshop concealer for my eyes and face. Works well... Took me many trials to get it right. You can try using MAC studio fix to lightly pat over the "concealed" area before putting your loose powder... It can last me quite a while. But you must be careful not to over-apply else the lines will show.

Be confident of yourself and not let the panda rings bother you too much.

The beautician on your wedding should be able to do wonders... just make sure your FH or HB get used to your "real" self. I progressively trained my HB until he is used to seeing me in my real state. 8)

gerxy

Hi all...i think some ppl r jus born with a high tendency to get eye bags....due to the face shape and the resulting poor blood circulation to the area. i for one am tt.

cynthia

Hi ladies.

Hi AC, me using Body Shop concealer too! Yah.. if put too much, the lines are more obvious. Me still have not perfect the skill of using concealer... =P

Hi gerxy, while I agree that some of our eye bags, dark circles problems are due to the genetic makeup of our body... I also believe that with the proper eye care routine and lifestyle, we can greatly reduced the eye bags and dark circles.

Hi Clarice, are you on any eyecare treatment at the moment? Dun worry too much. Your beautician will make you into a pretty bride on your wedding day.

cynthia

louisa

Hi Clarice,
I used La Prairie diligently for about 2 weeks, but couldn't see any signs of improvement. Being quite an impatient person, I stopped using it. However, I heard from my beautician that we need to use any eye products for a couple of weeks, even months to see any results. I'm now tempted to try the La Mer Eye Balm. Heard that it works like a miracle. But it's quite costly, something like $220 for a small bottle which lasts for about 3 mths. Has anyone tried it before? Care to share your results?

mayforever

I read somewhere (but I can't recall now) that dark eye rings are due to poor blood circulation around the eye area. Gentle massage around the eye area and regular exercise will help to reduce the dark eye ring. I hope to try this once I can discipline myself to exercise regularly.

lingz

Hi louisa

i bought La Mer Eye Balm few mths ago...still using it currently to see if miracle do happen to me...

This is the first & last time i will be buying it...it din work for me!!

emilia

Don't despair... I was also born with dark circles, and my doctor said it is just that the skin underneath my eyes is very fine and thin, so the blood vessels underneath show through. There is nothing you can do, except for trying not to make them worse, i.e. get enough sleep, use eye creams (gently pat it in, don't rub) and smile... with a gorgeous smile, less people will think you look tired...

I use 'Lancome Effecernes' concealer, and am quite happy with it. It feels and looks quite natural, is not too costly and one tube lasts for a whole year for me. I even use it to even out small red spots or pimples. A light reflecting concealer also works well. Good luck girls!

catz

I started suffering from bad eye bags when I went to Uni and I absolutely swear by Clinique's All About Eyes. Nothing else works! Remember, don't ever rub your eyes, like emilia said and when you put on your eye cream / undereye concealer, use your ring finger or last finger, never your pointer finger as this will stretch your skin!

As for concealers, I am on my 5th stick of YSL's Lightening Touch.

lingz

Hi louisa

ya..u r rite..my dark circles are quite bad...can never seem to get rid of it...

however, guess i do hv some bad habits like sleeping late, bathing late...which may cause it to remain dark...

But after spending so much on an eye balm..can't bear to spend again to try other brands...

clarice lam

Hi galz!

Yes, i had tried a treatment package for my dark eye circles....but it din worked.....and have bought so many products to see if they perform miracles.....but they dun!
sad right?

BTW, Catz, u were saying that Clinique's All abt Eyes is effective for eye bags but does it cure the dark eye cirlces? If it really works then I better get one......

Like Cynthia, me have not perfected the skill of using concealers too! hehehe...... so Lancome and YSL is good ne? heheh.....then may try one of it.

Lousia I think hor u better dun spend money on the
other prdts....since Flowly said it din work.....

okie.....thank u gals.....

cynthia

Hi all.

Adequate sleep is an important factor in reducing dark circles. At least in my case.

Presently, I am using collagen eye mask every 1~2 weeks and diligently using Sothys eye-care products (eye mask, eye cream) every morning and night.

I noticed that usually on Monday, my eyes looks brighter (less dark circles) especially when I have enough sleep during the weekend. Me need about 10 hours of sleep. Of course do not have such luxury during the week, eyes looked more tired loh...

One more thing, NEVER RUB YOUR EYES. That is so damaging to our eyes and the surrounding skins. Me have the bad habit of doing that, especially just before sleeping. Must try hard not to do that.

cynthia

cleo

Hi Cartz,
I went to YSL counter and was told that there is no concealer "Lightening Touch" but there is one for "Radiant Touch".

The girl over the counter told me that it is meant for lightening/highlighting the dark eye rings/marks/redness/pimple and etc.

So just to check is the "Lightening Touch" u mentioned the same as "Radiant Touch"?

Hope to hear from u soon!

catz

hi cleo & clarice,

Er... need to go and check my concealer but it's the one in a gold 'pen' form where you click the end and it dispenses on the brush. Let me go and check ok? I know it is used for the eyes ONLY. About $50+ so I usually stock up at the airport.

As for the clinique all about eyes, it's one of the few eye creams which work on puffiness AND black eye rings which is why it's so ideal!!! Most eye creams work only either on eye bags or puffiness.

fish

I would like to recommend estee's encircle. i used to have eyebags and eye rings etc, but now that I use this, they went away completely even though I sleep for less than four hours everyday : - )

translucent

Fish

Sure anot! How long does it take for the bags and rings to disappear?

BTW Cleo, yar YSL concealer is called Radiant Touch. Catzzz, answer for you, dont mind hor.
As Catz described, it looks like a pen and is GOld in color. I have tried almost every concealer and I think YSL is one of the best.

cleo

Hi Translucent,
Thanks for letting me know. I got it yesterday and was quite pleased with the outcome.

Hi Catz,
U sure it costs $50+? I got at YSL counter in Robinson at $44.65 after 5% discount(original $47).

BTW ladies, I now using Clarins Eye Contour Gel(voted to be the best for dark eye rings and bags by Her World Beauty Award 2001) but alas now still like panda....only improve a bit!

I received feedback from friends and cousins that All about eyes from Clinique is especially for puffy eyes.....Estee Uncircle(not sure if it is Encircle?!!)is good for faint lines under the eyes...But some brides in this forum (as well as my auntie) said that SK-II eye treatment film is really fantastic....but quite expensive $68 for 15ml...and it is out of stock now...my fren tried getting it.....

puffie

Hi, I'm quite interested in the Clinique's All about eyes, got bad puffy eyes and dark circles... sleep 12 hours also no use *sigh* May I know how much does it cost from the counter? My FH will be flying for work next week, thinking of getting him to get me one from the Airport

translucent

Cleo

GOod on ya. ;) Hmm i seem to remember it costs ard $60+ when I started using it 6 years ago!
Well, it is definately good news now that it is below $50.

BTW what concealer were you using before? As compared, can see the difference that YSL is better huh? Now I'm using body shop (no money for YSL). Not very good. QUite dry.

I heard from the other thread that SK-II is good too! Out of stock? Must the gals from this forum!

cleo

Hi Translucent,
I was using Chanel concealer previously and it is not good at all....min coverage and not user friendly.

YSL is very good for covering dark eye rings after these 2 days usage as well as moderate coverage for some of the acne marks(smooth & darkened type).

I heard that Covermark, Shisedo, and latest concealer from Chanel is good...no one feedback to me yet. One of my fren brought a concealer pencil from Estee Lauder and she said ok coverage but most importantly it does not gives her lines when she use on her dark eye rings unlike the YSL i am using now.

SK-II is out of stock island wide....however I went JB today and they still have stock there but very exp. at RM$138....

Hi Puffie,
The feedback I got from my aunt who uses Clinique All About Eyes is that it is good for treating puffy eyes...as for dark eye rings...she said it is so so only...why don't u try to use Covermark concealer? I heard it cover dark eye rings as well as to treat it simultaneously...u can try and see.....

I'm interested in buying SK-II eye treatment film too and c if I can get it nez wk when stock comes in...will keep u further update of the outcome.

translucent

Cleo

A model friend introduced this concealer to me.
IT is one of the lower-end brands. Maybelline or Covergirl. I cant remember. THe package is beige color. I actually ditch YSL for this lower-end concealer cos it was really good and cos of the lower price too.

Anyone knows which conealer I'm talking about? I can't seem to find it anywhere now. And I can't remember it is Mabelline or Covergirl.

cleo

Translucent,
Really....????Beige colour packaging....let me take a look in the pharmacy tomorrow...but it is in a tube, pencil, or what type of packaging???

U can't find it anywhere now....oh no...must be out of stock......

Well, I will try my luck at the pharmacy or Watson tomorrow...and keep u updated...u remember how much it costs(approx)?

I also need some lower end concealer for daily usage...every day use YSL very very expensive!!!!!

clarice lam

Hi galz!

I have heard and read a lot abt SKII skin products. Are they really that fanastic? So the eye treatment flim is really good? Then maybe I will try my luck and get it and see if it really works. BTw, Fish, is it true that Estee's encircle is really that good? U mean ur eye circles really disappeared? That's unbelievable! Btw, how much does it cost? Please get back to us. I am sure all us 'pandas' will like to find the cure it those horrible dark eyes rings and fine lines

After getting all the feedback from u gals, I have decided to get myself one YSL Radiant Touch since the feedback on it has been good so far. BTW, can YSL concealer conceals the fine lines? Will it show the lines a lot? Cos hor.....I gt fine lines on my undereye too. Advise me gals!

flyn

You may like to consider Physicians formula as another low end brand concealer. You can get it at some Guardian pharmacy. So far, it works for me...used for a few years liao. I'm using a yellow tone oil free stick. Suitable for asian skins. A stick can last quite long for everyday usage. Costs abt $11 plus i think.

emilia

"Uncircle" does nothing to me, honestly. I finished a whole bottle and see no improvement at all. Might try the L'oreal hydrafresh eye cream against dark circles to see if it works better. Has anyone tried it?

I think YSL Radiant Touch doesn't show the lines, if you choose the right shade and don't apply powder over it.

translucent

Cleo

I dont hve it now. I hvent been using concealer for quite some time. COs im a student mah. No need to doll up intil so nice. ;P
But I thought I kept it, but couldnt find it anywhere now that I want it.
IT is in a tube shape. I think it is abit retangular, but those round round tube kind. But retangular tube kind. hmm i hope u get what i mean.
Hmmm now that Herworld mentioned...dunno was it Physicians formula anot!! Cos i've tried this brand before too!!!

Cleo did you managed to find it? Her world,
what type of package is PF concealer?

catz

Yep, bought a bottle of uncircle too.. didn't work on me at all! So after all's said and done, I still come back to my faithful Clinique all about eyes!
I think it's about $30+ if you get it from the airport. Airport DFS is cheaper, esp for Clarins and Clinique products.

flyn

Hi translucent,

Your tube is in retangular or round shape? Very luan leh...lol.....u noe who am i or not? waiting for ur email leh ;) hehehe....

Well, my package name is called Physicians Formula Powder Finish Concealer and it's in a lipstick form...it's in yellow tone, not those er... light tone or medium tone (not suitable for my skin colour), juz yellow tone(suitable for asian skin). ;)

cleo

Hi Translucent,
Err....today no time to go pharmacy or Watson....will try to go this evening after work...as use YSL everyday really really very very "SHIONG"!

I quite confused by your description of the concealer packaging but "aga-aga" try to find

Hi Clarice,
YSL does show the fine lines in your undereye areas....even though if u got the right shade....as it is in liquid form hence this is inevitable.

U can try Estee Lauder (concealer pencil) if u don't want to see those fine lines.

clarice lam

Hi Herworld

eh.....so the Physician Formular concealer is good too huh? Does it show the fine lines at the undereye? If its good and since its more affordable, I will get it instead.

Thanks gals for ur advise. So Encircle is not that fantastic after alll. So which brand will u gals recommend? Clinque? SKII? heheh....very luan now!

Cleo u geeting the SKII Eye Treatment Flim....me rather interested in that too leh! ehehhe.....

flyn

hi clarice,

So far this is my so called best concealer...tried those liquid form like maybelline or cover girl...it doesn't work for me!! My dark eye rings r like panda...becoz of that, i have to put on concealer and powder...in fact hate to make up...Well, for those fine lines, that depends how well u can blend in...i juz dab it lightly to blend in. Fine lines won't disappear loh but juz not obvious lah!!

I also hope SKII can cure my dark eye rings too...tried St Ives...doesn't work... :p

emilia

be careful with putting powder under your eyes, i used to do this but my beautician scolded me, and said it makes the skin too dry and will cause even more lines. she said it's best to use a liquid concealer with moisturizer, and blend it well, then if you really must, just dust a little bit of loose powder over it.

translucent

hmmmmmm emilia, u know for the past 3 yrs i have been using foundation for my eyes.Cos wanna save money. But i always apply moisturize first then the foundation.

Gosh, but, few months ago, i noticed the skin ard my eyes are dryer. I thought im getting old!
Thanks emilia for enlightening me!

happie

Christian Dior has this concealer specially for the eye area, it has a nice milky texture and melts into the skin well, cost about $34 a tube, can try.