Going out

watching

I was wondering which of the term applies to me: paranoid / insecure / rightfully on guard / something else?

My significant other related this to me.

Recently, a mainland Chinese woman made a business trip to my significant other's office. My SO shares a room with another female colleague. When the mainland Chinese woman came in to introduce herself, she totally ignored the female colleague and only focused solely on SO, even after SO subtly attempted to get the woman to engage with colleague in their conversation. It's social etiquette that a person coming in should take the initiative to make contact, so I thought her conduct was somewhat rude and weird. It occurred to me that the woman may not be aware of our ways though. When lunchtime came, apparently the woman had not had gotten our currency to pay for her lunch, so significant other cordially offered to pay for her. In response, she offered to buy him dinner. A few days later she asked SO to show her around after office hours, that got me on guard. SO knew I wasn't keen on him going out with her on one-to-one gratitude-dinner date with her when he first told me that. Regardless, he said okay to showing her around after office hours. The sight seeing spots are all closed by then, the only thing they could do was just shopping. (Which she could do herself instead of a man tagging along with her to shop. She was also travel-savvy, going all the way from one end of the city to the other end by herself on her first night. Why would she really need him?) When SO told me he was going to show her around the next day, I said I won't forbid him on doing anything, I don't want to check on him in retrospect, if he wanted to do anything funny, there's no way I prevent it but bear in mind, I would want to go out with other men when my time comes. SO said I have no trust in him, which I contradicted by reminding him I have no qualms whenever he goes on group outings with a mix of female and male colleagues till late at night.

My arguments on not wanting him to go out with her are:
1) This was a one-on-one, business trip turns private date.
2)The woman focusing on SO and ignoring the female colleague.
3)After the woman learned about our prosperous nation, she enquired about p.r. permit, the fastest way obtain one is to find a willing partner of our nation to get hold of a p.r. permit.
4)My own insecurity which stems from SO ogling obnousxiously at "young things with silky fair skin" in his horny ways. He looks at them from head to toe without discretion on the streets, even after they have walked passed him. As if he is on the prey. It shows me a lack of respect. I probably encouraged this unconsciously, I too like looking at pretty girls at the streets but not to prey, but as eye candy and to catch up on street fashion. (it's a female thing) When I see a pretty-thing, I say look!
5)He is always saying, whether he means it or not, if I don't do this and that, he will go looking for others.
6)We have been having our low moments due to other issues the past months.
On the exterior, she is more compatible.

S.O. arguments:
1)I was on vengeance mode, if he can do that, so can I. I have a pretty face, I would have no problem getting men to ask me out.
2)In regards to the first point made, I did just that. Many years ago, I went out with a guy who liked me when I was already with SO. I "justified" it by saying I wanted to go on a once in a lifetime boat trip and I needed more friends. I was feeling really down that time. SO never restrained my decision in doing so.
3)As long as SO does not have ill intention, why should I have reservations about him spending time with her? If he wanted to stray, he could have done it a long time ago. To me, it´s not about straying but the uneasiness. Let me quote someone on this, `Even if you do not think anything much of it, if you know your partner would be hurt by it, you are already crossing the line.`
4)He was upfront about the woman the first place, he could have kept it from me. To which I answered, there are people who have the urge to talk about their secret-potential-conquers, even to their partners. I too am upfront about everything to him.
5)He said she's engaged to which I answered, having an engagement/married status does not prevent anybody from desiring more.

In the end, he decided not to go because he felt I threatened I'd go out with others. He had to make up an excuse to tell the woman he could make it due something that came up last minute. The annoying thing with SO is, after taking my feelings into consideration, he came back feeling disgruntled. He was feeling grouchy, he harped on lack of freedom. I do not forbid contact with the opposite sex but in accessing the situation (especially the point where the woman asked about p.r. and focusing too much on only him), I deem it not a wise move for me to support his date with her whole heartedly. He is the type of person who seeks my affirmation in almost everything, whether it´s a big or small. Always a follower, never the initiator.

Before I get bashed for even using the nouns, "mainland Chinese women", let me announce I have mainland chinese women friends. And please, don't poke fun.

in short, you cannot control your partner. No matter how slutty u find that person. Being sensitive and understanding to you has to be something he does himself willingly. You can feedback but that's about it. Really pointless to use threats. Now, the damage and scar is already there. Do you want a relationship that is not based on mutual respect and trust but threats?

Think about it.

Also, there are some obvious double standards...
"I probably encouraged this unconsciously, I too like looking at pretty girls at the streets but not to prey, but as eye candy and to catch up on street fashion. (it's a female thing) When I see a pretty-thing, I say look!"

You are quick to excuse your own behavior as a female thing without realizing its a male thing to look as well. Men instinctively prey. This is the truth. What he could have done is be more discrete abt it to be sensitive to your feelings but no... he will not suddenly become not interested and tempted to stare. It will be unrealistic to expect that. Yet, you are quick to condemn him but excuse yourself.

Let me quote someone on this, `Even if you do not think anything much of it, if you know your partner would be hurt by it, you are already crossing the line.`

This is a terribly abused reasoning. It justifies all unreasonable demands to control a person. There is no room for negotiation. Its simple what you want for your own reasons. And non compliancy to it simply equates to crossing the line and hurting you. This is a terribly flawed logic. Insisting on it is directly hurting the relationship... the very thing it is accusing the partner of. There is no respect, no room for compromize and negotiation.

I duno if its because u were upset and emotional when you wrote this post. But, the exchanges you detailed indicated how confrontal your relationship is. You should not be thinking about all these distractions but looking at your relationship with him. Why bother to control him when your relationship is bad in the 1st place? Ironic isn't it?

"I was wondering which of the term applies to me: paranoid / insecure / rightfully on guard / something else?"

none of these terms.

Rather... opinionated, confrontal and strong headed. And also blind to your own issues. That's the reason why you do not seek to understand nor respect his feelings nor thoughts. Its simply you know it all. You read his and her intentions blah blah blah and you determine what should be done. Its a relationship isn't it? 2 persons exist, not just one.

hweebs

ehh...my thoughts: you may probably trust your SO, but you certainly don't trust the Chinese woman! Saints may also be tempted, if a temptress decides to work on him. Does she know that your SO already has you? I wonder if you need to show up to 'stake your claim' kind of thing. My thoughts are that if you 'stake your claim' instead of getting him to avoid her, it will be about not trusting 'her', rather than not trusting 'him'. What do the rest of you think ah? Is this drastic or what?

hweebs, the guy isn't dumb, he could tell what she is up to.

Depends on TS 'stake her claim'. If she is to go with this idea, I suggest to arrange to meet him nearby after dinner or something. No point insisting to meet the woman. Why must one plot such xiao dong zuo? I duno abt other men. I simply hate women that does that. Thinking that they are so smart and the guy is so idiotic and blur to know. Plain insulting to the trust in a relationship.

hweebs

no lah...of course if this happens the guy has to know...unless he is dumb he will definitely know. I was thinking of this as directed to the other woman, rather than directed to the man, you know. If like that also is insulting to the trust in the relationship?

" He is the type of person who seeks my affirmation in almost everything, whether it´s a big or small. Always a follower, never the initiator."

You're the boss in the relatonship!

Hi watching,

Might be a good call to stop him from going out, from a relationship point of view. In terms of biz, maybe not. Well if the lady came to visit your bfren for biz, I would expect her to ignore the other person too. When I visit my biz associates, same applies.. Just hellos to the peripheral figures but keep focus on the main pple I deal with.

For the other aspects, let's just say u're very much in control... Eventuallly if things ever break down, I would think it's becos he learns the important of freedom and life.

hweebs

i'm kind of curious here...don't couples display their togetherness by things like couple rings, photographs, joint ownership of things and such? I thought the reason people do this is to inform the world that 'hey, he's/she's taken' ? I gave the suggestion on the basis that couples do try to 'mark' their significant others so that other people will keep their hands off...so I'm wrong ah? Please enlighten me.

watching

Milo,
I know very well it's a men thing to look. I am not even excusing myself to look at pretty girls calling it a female thing. I was merely pointing it I may have encouraged him from just-looking to ogling. I certainly don't expect his interest in beauties to subside.

I never saw myself as controlling him. His seeks my opinion on his own intiative in almost everything. Our issue is indeed not about the woman, but ourselves.

Hweebs,
Yes, she knows he has me. And yes, I do trust him. I just feel uneasy about the plot. S.O. even suggested me tagging along for assurance. With all due respect, I found it silly to want to go, to stake my claim. S.O. is not very bright when it comes to reading people, really. I got him through with his mess with HIS family because he couldn't anticipate their next move.

When she asked S.O. to show her a photo of me, he didn't have one. She has since left for China but before she did, she asked him to send my photo in digital format. Again, a weird request. This is her first time overseas, I acknowledge she may not understand what is proper conduct in a different culture and what's not. She even told the colleagues her boyfriend asked to be engaged so she wouldn't do anything funny outside China.

Doll,
I used to be very domineering in our relationship but I toned down quite a lot because I found it suffocating and unfair for the other. In every relationship, there will one who is more dominant but I don't want ours too tilt to much to my side. Tables are taking a turn, he is behaving more aggressive to the point of telling me to fvck off when he's losing an argument. Everytime we have a blow, my love for him dies a little.

Powder,
Could you elaborate on why it might be a good move to stop him from going out with her from a guy's point of view?

relax ok? u will drive ur man away if u continue to be this jealous n insecure... let him do his own things, and not worry abt whether or not he's gonna cheat on u someday. Jealousy makes a person Ugly - ooze charm to keep him enticed instead

yeelin

junkie is right. when my hubby used to check on me on who I'm with for lunch, why am I 20mins late, who's that guy's voice in the background, my heart dies a little. It drove me away.Watching, don't make that mistake

Hi watching,

It was from a relationship point of view... As a guy I dun think it's great for biz nor for the freedom. I was being neutral and genderless when I. Think it might be good for the relationship.. It stops the possibilty that might happen, and it also opens more issues for u guys to sort out...

tulipzz

Watching,
I think you're absolutely right in asserting your rights as being a ... girlfriend? If not, you're no different from being another female friend to your SO.

It's just like telling a wife she should let her husband go out with another woman who's eyeing on him because if not, she's just being paranoid and silly. You're right to 'stake your claim' on your SO. If not, he has no right to tell others you're his SO.

You're not insecure, jealous, domineering blah blah blah at all! If being in a relationship does not differ you from an ordinary female friend, then there's no point being in a relationship. And I second what you do totally - if he's going out alone with another woman, you absolutely should be able to go on a date with another man. A relationship ought to be exclusive. It has nothing to do with freedom. If he wants freedom, he ought to give you the same kinda freedom.

I thought your SO sounds like he's intrigued by the new attention given to him and he enjoys being wooed in a subtle manner.

You sound like an intelligent girl who certainly knows what you want in a relationship. You don't need all the wrong advice. Do what you think is right.

"I never saw myself as controlling him. His seeks my opinion on his own intiative in almost everything. Our issue is indeed not about the woman, but ourselves."

Well... for sure. This is how you see yourself. I dun need to write much, just quote your own words on how he see the entire thing. This is how he sees you :
"In the end, he decided not to go because he felt I threatened I'd go out with others. He had to make up an excuse to tell the woman he could make it due something that came up last minute. The annoying thing with SO is, after taking my feelings into consideration, he came back feeling disgruntled. He was feeling grouchy, he harped on lack of freedom. I do not forbid contact with the opposite sex but in accessing the situation (especially the point where the woman asked about p.r. and focusing too much on only him), I deem it not a wise move for me to support his date with her whole heartedly. He is the type of person who seeks my affirmation in almost everything, whether it´s a big or small. Always a follower, never the initiator."

It isn't so difficult to understand why.

Tulipzz,

u wrote : "If he wants freedom, he ought to give you the same kinda freedom."

you probably missed out this part...
"2)In regards to the first point made, I did just that. Many years ago, I went out with a guy who liked me when I was already with SO. I "justified" it by saying I wanted to go on a once in a lifetime boat trip and I needed more friends. I was feeling really down that time. SO never restrained my decision in doing so.
"

The relationship out to be exclusive by choice from both parties. Not by threats. There is no point in the relationship when both are not able to respect nor trust each other enough. Resorting to threats to control and dominate.

All the 'intelligence' somehow complete make her blind to her double standards. The way you spoke about 'right' is pretty naive. No relationship is about right. That's precisely what couples fight about all the time. Over rights in their own perspective. What right? Your partner has the right to have his mind of his own. Personally, it totally pisses me off for a partner with zero EQ to realize that and insist fighting on their own version of rights. Maybe its just me. Without that respect, the relationship is already lost.

hi Watching,

in addition to milo's point abt the occuring Consequences of resorting to threats:

1) super-poor Application to a fairly-understandable intention;
2) you are rather assuming with him and tend to view certain things in your perspective;
3) in his opinion - you seem like a bully, even though he has an equal part to play to it;
4) powder's point - because of the accumulated-suffocations, it seems like he is starting to "fight for his freedom";
5) with or without reason, you can be too Domineering for your own good. maybe it's habitual by nature.

hweebs

watching,

in any case, glad the woman has gone back to china. Yup, it is weird she wants your photo...why she want? To compare whether she is prettier and more attractive than you, or she needs evidence your SO is attached? Also very weird that her bfren says he needs to tie her down before she comes to s'pore...bcoz she will do something funny outside china?

actually after re-reading your thread, i wonder why your bfren is adding on to your insecurity. Who will feel more secure after hearing bfren saying that 'if you don't do this, i will look for someone else' all the time? And ogling other girls openly, it's rather disrespectful of the gfren isn't it? I don't know...these are my thoughts. And I think it's natural to be kanchiong in such a situation...just your reaction (said I won't forbid him on doing anything, I don't want to check on him in retrospect, if he wanted to do anything funny, there's no way I prevent it but bear in mind, I would want to go out with other men when my time comes) like a bit defensive like that. I agree with tulipzz on this: a threat is a threat. When you feel that there is a real threat it makes no sense to pretend there is no threat and reflect on your own shortcomings.

abt the 'right' to 'stake claim'...

must do it subtly hor. dun grip too tight else one day it'll snap and he wants out. then u'll know there is no such thing as 'rights' over ur partner - u can stand there talking abt ur 'right' but he walks anyway... And u will be the one left behind...

hate ownership man...

Go for the His/Her tattoo with full name , ic number n laser photo at the navel?. Can't go wrong... Who the hell wanna be with a person whom every time u go down on them, u see another guy or girl? Hehe

hweebs, maybe you can explain which part suggests the bf threatening 'if you don't do this, i will look for someone else'? Let alone all the time??

I read the post several times and saw the threats the other way round leh.

All she explained was that she kind of encouraged his open behavior of staring at other women. Something that she is actually uncomfortable and insecure about. Funny why then she did not once feedback about her discomfort to him and ask for him to be more discrete about it??

"When you feel that there is a real threat it makes no sense to pretend there is no threat and reflect on your own shortcomings."
Does one being threaten justifies any reactions that she deems fits in the name of defense? This is a shocking comment from a counsellor frankly. No one behaves completely rational when under such threat. Shouldn't one be encouraging the couple to learn to be more sensitive each other emotions than resort to threatening each other in retaliation?. Communicating to discuss, assure than revenge? Actually, her bf was open to discussion and negotiation. He volunteered the information and even asked her to come along. I see the willingness to assure. What threat are you talking abt? And this same guy trusted her to date someone else interest in her. If I'm him, I will be damn DL. But, I will not be threaten by such shit at all.

Anyway, such threats of being able to go out with other men because of her pretty face is really limited and short term. What happens when she age and there are younger sweet things around? What bargaining power does she leverage on then? The womens' charter? Really laughable to think themselves as being clever with such tricks. And why keep a man that doesn't know how to respect her but only respond to threats?

I have colleagues bringing me for dinner alone when I travel to the regional offices. I have never seen any issue with that at all. Even if the colleague might be more bitchy. I just take the needed precaution to avoid them getting overboard. What's the big deal?

yoz milo, i think hweebs was referring to "5)He is always saying, whether he means it or not, if I don't do this and that, he will go looking for others."

anyway, they are treating each other like primary sch kids... that is the sad fact.

vios, agree. When I read tulipzz commenting on how intelligent she thinks TS is, can literally fall off the chair.

"don't couples display their togetherness by things like couple rings, photographs, joint ownership of things and such? I thought the reason people do this is to inform the world that 'hey, he's/she's taken' ? I gave the suggestion on the basis that couples do try to 'mark' their significant others so that other people will keep their hands off...so I'm wrong ah? Please enlighten me."

Like use tissue pack to "chope" seats at hawker centres and foodcourts meh?

This is for me... couple does things for different purpose. Its never to inform anyone of anything. Its simply us expressing affection for each other NOT FOR OTHERS to see or be informed of any message.

Of cos, others could have other intentions. Personally, I find these intentions silly. A commitment in a relatiosnhip is not an ownership. Its a person that we are with. Someone equal and needing our respect. Not a subject or object or pet we take ownership for.

renerene

I digress....

Quote: "couple does things for different purpose. Its never to inform anyone of anything. Its simply us expressing affection for each other NOT FOR OTHERS to see or be informed of any message"

Milo, you forgot about wedding band, wedding banquet, engagement party, etc?

Irene, quite clearly, those are not intended to place a 'reserved' either

Rather, its more for the family. Married also can have affairs and divorce. I can do fine without them if my partner and our parents are fine with it. And of cos, we did enjoy ourselves, the entire preparation etc was a wonderful and memorable experience NOT for anyone else but us.

Frankly, it will be TRAGIC if the intention of the marriage to place the taken stamp on each other to block off suitors. What era are we in now? Does anyone still think it can somehow give a sense of security by the mere virtue of a martial status? And drown adulterous couples in cages? Such false sense of security is nothing more than a lie that many choose to live in.

watching

Sorry for not getting back earlier. Was on a lovely date with my S.O. last Sunday.

Powder,
The woman did not say hello to the female colleague. To clarify the business part, S.O. questions the purpose of the woman´s trip. He said his line of work has little correlation to what she is doing. It was more like she was on vacation, taking photos of people from this branch (doesn´t come across professional to me but that is irrelevant in this thread). The Chinese branch sends 2 persons a year on these `business trips`, she was lucky to have been chosen. The only advantage I can think of for him is social networking.

There is no leash nor cage. I´m no tyrant. Some forummers have made it out to be me holding him under my thumb but he seeks my views himself willingly and when I don´t support them, he feels discontented. He ought to be forming his views independently.

I know you were saying it may have been a good move to stop the possibility that might from a relationship point of view, I was asking you from a man´s point of view. à am curious how your thoughts may differ from some other men's´ thoughts. (I´m not turning this into the battle of sexes.)

Tulipz,
Yes, I thought too he was intrigued by the new attention. No girls have shown interest in S.O. throughout our relationship.

Milo,
Truth be told, S.O. said he wasn´t keen on bringing her out, he felt more obligated. I also chose not to tag along on sight seeing or dinner because she only said to treat him to dinner, not me. I also don't want to make an effort for HER sake.

I am not downplaying my "domineering part" but please do not make it anymore than it is, saying a scar is already there. Your tone sometimes appears to charge like a raging bull, not much nuance in it. (I am anticipating, `I don´t do politically correct statements / do diplomatical statements'.) I say this because you seem to be hyped up by what I wrote, so I wonder if you are projecting your past experiences in mine. You take no notice of some of the other things I wrote.

As for you being taken out on one to one dinners by colleagues (I assume female), is it business over dinner (and reimburseable) or were those just social calls, paid by them? Do you also get a tour which you ask for, do you ask for a digital format of their significant other´s photo? Do you ask about the quickest way to obtain a p.r. permit in a wealthier nation?

At the risk of being condemned, I wrote about the part of me going out with some guy. S.O. could see I was spiraling down emotionally that time, so he let me go. I´ve had more suitors than just the boat guy when I was on cloud nine, but I never went overboard, I was in better circumstances.

Beauty will wither like flowers, I know. He´s not with me just because of my face. There´s more to our relationship than just the exterior. Tell me Milo, why do people marry. About me `never once` told S.O. to be discrete about ogling at girls, I did. Perhaps the message was not intercepted well. We tell each other things, so much so that at times, he would come home telling me he saw a pretty chick at this and that street.

Hweebs,
It crossed my mind there is a possibility she wants proof he has me. The territorial mechanism set in after I heard a string of her enquiries. Even if we have our own issues, why pretend all is well when something (a possible 3rd party) is tingling? Who in their right mind would just sit there and relax and one thinks something is amiss.

Yeelin and Junkie,
I don´t check who´s on the phone, what he´s up to normally.

Vios,
I agree with points 3 to 5.

hi watching,

answers to your questions.

about the dinners with colleagues, its beyond business for sure. In fact, mostly social as a host to a visitor to their country. Often, it is not reimbursable but it didn't stopped their hospitality either. Everyone often insisted to feed the bill regardless.

Do you also get a tour which you ask for.
My colleagues are so friendly and helpful to recommend all the places that I should visit. Even walked me around places of interests.

Do you ask for a digital format of their significant other´s photo?
No, we exchange FB account and we can see all the photos online. Does it matter?? What's the problem with that??

Do you ask about the quickest way to obtain a p.r. permit in a wealthier nation?
No, but lots of questions about NS, housing etc. In fact, I often encouraged them to work in sgp if they have the opportunity. And I need not think beyond anything with just sessions. I do not need to read their intention to want to know more about Singapore at all. Does it matter? Its just a social dinner. A friendly host to a visitor. I think nothing much beyond the casual talk cock session.

If the person is coming too personal for comfort, by all means, one should exercise some measure to avoid any invasive questions.

Its definitely not a raging bull...

you started by asking everyone "I was wondering which of the term applies to me: paranoid / insecure / rightfully on guard / something else?"

And to that, its really my frank reply to your questions that you posted. You had not provided any details about you voicing out your discomfort and feeling disrespected by his actions. Only your suggestion that you contributed to his behavior. So, how do you think anyone would have think otherwise. right?

The point about the pretty face is always coming from your own points. Do reread your own message. As I mentioned, you are probably emotional at the moment and not realizing how self opinionated you were sounding.

"At the risk of being condemned, I wrote about the part of me going out with some guy. S.O. could see I was spiraling down emotionally that time, so he let me go."
At what risk? Don't tell me you intend to come in here to paint a fake & pure picture of yourself to win some agreements? No right? This is not your intention of your post in the very 1st place. So, I really duno what risk you are talking about here.

Also, u wrote : "but please do not make it anymore than it is, saying a scar is already there."

I really do believe the relationship is already strained. You are just not believing nor accepting the clear signs that are written all over what you have already been sharing. Read what you wrote on what your SO thinks about the entire incident. Tell me, there is no scars... you guys going doing just great. HALO?!?

In summary, you have displayed double standards in your own views and insisted on them. Everyone has their own reasons. But, you only accept your own set of reasons. I don't see how you can respect your partner and continue to insist on judging him with your own pov.

watching,

You are domineering.. can even see from your language..

But it may backfire on you.... and you resorting to "veiled" threats? It is necessary? Since your are the dominant partner, why do you need to "threaten" him.

You are entitled to one of a lifetime for the boat trip. How about him? As you said, no girls paid him any attention. If could be one of a lifetime for him to have a girl ask him out for dates...

You are only seeing things from your perspective.

And regarding dinner with over-seas colleagues or business associates - it is really nothing. Not as if they are sleeping..

Just to answer some of your questions to milo:

"As for you being taken out on one to one dinners by colleagues (I assume female), is it business over dinner (and reimburseable) or were those just social calls, paid by them? Do you also get a tour which you ask for, do you ask for a digital format of their significant other´s photo? Do you ask about the quickest way to obtain a p.r. permit in a wealthier nation? "

Yes. I do dinner even socially with colleagues or business associate of the opposite sex .. What is wrong? It can be paid by anyone.. it matters?

As for tour, yes, why not? When we have people from overseas - mostly Asians and first-timer they will ask. You won't know the lengths that these people from China and Taiwan will go out when we visit them there. Arranging a tour for them is nothing compared to what they are willing to do for us when we are there.

Ask for a photo's of SO is not unheard of. I was once hosting an American lady and she asked for my wife's photos. just curiosity.. and she showed me her fiancee's photos as well. What is the big deal? Yes, it is not a normal request but if not comfortable, just ignore.. Don't have to think too much.

As to PR question, again, this is sometime just a question for conversation. When I was with the American friend I did asked about how easy to migrate to the US.. and get the green card.. It does not mean I want to move to the US.. Just a topic for conversation.. Again, don't have to look too much into it.

My say is this: just relax and don't be so uptight.

watching,

i was also referring to the amplification of one's freedom to prove a point whereby the intention is more like a threat than to encourage the individual need to catch up with friends. not only it breeds resentment, it doesn't make you seem right even though you feel that your reasoning is sound. same goes for him as he too resorted to such.

she might just be rude in certain mannerisms as far as it goes, but doesn't mean that she's interested in your bf... and for me, her intention of dinner was merely a form of gratitude... and, what's so weird abt enquiring the fastest way to a pr? doesn't mean she wants to seduce your bf and marry him for pr. i bet you're just viewing in that perspective?

don't just bank on assumptions and paint the whole picture with your brush - even when he tried to explain his stand.

like i said, even though i can understand that you were guarded, ie.woman's instinct - the application of some arguments to this situation was sorta off-track - and as a result, you were as disgruntled as him.

really, you could explore more than just that.

watching

Milo,
Oh, chronologically speaking, I noticed you added the last few paragraphs after some other forummers' postings in your own last post.

The risk of being condemned for what you'd call double standards. I come here to seek objective opinions, while being honest I would not appreciate biased comments made by those projecting their past ordeals into mine. Maybe you weren't, maybe it's just your way of bringing messages across. I did mention we have been having our low moments, haven't I? I am foretelling my ordeals, aren't I? But to say a scar is there based on our squabble of going out with the woman?

By the way, adding someone on Facebook is possible in most countries but China has limited access to Facebook. My S.O. doesn't have a Facebook account.

Sm,
I was talking about reimbursement to determine whether it was business or leisure. Might not be a good directive in the asian context. And ha ha, "it may be one of a lifetme chances for him to have a girl ask him out for dates".

I find it very strange for someone to ask for a digital photo of the person's partner before that she leaves for her country. After learning there is no photo on the spot to show makes the request more weird. It's akin to sending a hard photocopy by mailing it the old fashion way to her. It's not the same as you whipping out your wife's photo on the spot. If you don't have it then and there, the person shouldn't insist.

Vios,
Totally agree. I may be reading too much into it, admittedly there is a tinge of jealousy.

Anyway, thank you all for giving me feedback. Good to hear how some men see it.

watching,

the purpose of our posts or at least mine is not to run you down but perhaps to let you see from another perspective. I can understand the insecurity especially when it is a woman from china - where we all have pre-conceived notions of them being husband snatchers.

But your reasonings take some convincing. I can see where you are coming from but it is all very much self-centred.. Perhaps you can for a moment, stop being yourself and think in the shoes of your husband?

The request for photo is strange for sure but we don't have to look too much into it. At the end of the day, unless you cannot trust your hb, what is there to worry about. Anyway, your hb told you all that about request for photos?

How can someone insist on your giving photos? They can ask, beg, borrow, threaten.. but still they cannot insist that we provide.

Women from PRC are more direct. They don't beat around the bush as much... it is a plus point but at times it can be deemed as inconsiderate.

They made weird requests.. I shall not say much but it is just a matter of getting used to it. And if we are not comfortable, we should tell them. Their culture is different and we don't really have to think too much about certain things unless it is critical.

hi watching, fyi, a tip for you... to access fb from china, all you need is use a proxy site. Just search online for such proxy sites to bypass blocks. I have done it numerous times when I'm in china. But, seriously, I dont care if he has a fb account or not? I was only answering to your questions.

Your double standards in seen in how you can give reason for every single point about you but rejecting his reasons. Maybe you guys are perfectly fine with threatening with each other. If you insist that its totally no issue, fine with me. Its really your relationship, you asked for comments and I gave mine. Simple as that.

"I noticed you added the last few paragraphs after some other forummers' postings in your own last post."

I have no control to lock the thread while I update my reply to you. Others for sure can also respond to the thread. And you too can edit your msg within 20 mins after posting. But, what is the point you are bringing across here? Not as if I'm twisting my words after you made a dispute or something. So, I dun understanding your point really here. Its definitely better to add on the original post than have many replies. I only reply with a new msg after you have responded or that it has time-out beyond the 20 mins window.

By the way, how you know your SO has no facebook account?

You can only know if he has facebook account.. but not the other way round.. unless you are with him 7 x 24 hrs..

I have a male friend who has a Facebook account in which he uses a pseudo name. Wife is possessive and controlling, so he doesn't have a real Facebook account.

Quite a number of my male friends chats with me and other lady friends on MSN as their wife forbids them to call or SMS ladies.

When there is a will, there is a way.

If you have a sensitive spouse and highly insecure.. highly dangerous for your spouse to know your facebook account.. ha ha.. what if some girls joke joke said they miss you..

doll... she is up-tight with quite a few things as seen in here.

But, rest assured, she has complete valid reasons for them. But, not that anyone else need to agree with it. You ask for comments, expect the comments.

one more point ...
"while being honest I would not appreciate biased comments made by those projecting their past ordeals into mine"

What past ordeals? I'm talking exactly about what you described, not sharing my grandfather story with you. Its obvious you don't appreciate it. But, it doesn't suddenly becomes my past ordeal. Its simply my pov which you do not agree with. You are trying to be open in your discussion when you are not acceptable to any other point that isn't quite inline with yours. To simply discount it as BAISED and PROJECTING my past ordeals into you is plain bullshit. Everyone is different and for sure will have a different pov. Is that too much for you to take?

SM, I wouldn't even call this sensitive. Its selective sensitivity. i.e. sensitive to her own interests and not so to others.

I cannot have a sensitive and highly insecure spouse. I don't want my life to be analysed and I don't want to be questioned over the smallest things.

why bother to ask for opinions in a forum if u can't take criticism?

a highly strung high maintenance woman riding on high horse... up so high that she can't see the ground below.

watching

sm,
I know he doesn't have a Facebook account because when he's home (we co-habit) surfing the net, he usually goes to his regular sites, I sit next to him while I'm on my own computer, so I know. And we have no secrets from each other, i.e. I told him I was going out with the boat guy and he told me his encounter with the woman. He's not the regular Joe with a regular social life. There're people who don't confirm to social norms of having a pack of friends. No point having a Facebook account if he doesn't indulge in friendly-activities or have the need to catch up on people's life. His interest lies elsewhere.

Let me rephrase, instead of using the verb "insist", she "asked" for a digital format and she'd view it back in China. Whatever for? Let's say she's someone with the same nationality as you. What would you think of her request? I had wanted to eliminate the stereotype of mainland Chinese women.

Milo,
I know about the proxy sites, hence I said "limited access" to Facebook in China. I also thought you won't care if he has a Facebook account, I mentioned it because you were talking about Facebook, in the context of you replying to me about adding those overseas female colleagues on your account in regards to S.O. who was asked to send a digital photo to her. I was driving at he doesn't have a Facebook account, so it won't be like how you add anybody on your account.

Speak of the devil, you read selectively, coveniently leaving out, "Maybe you weren't, maybe it's just your way of bringing messages across." As for you "editing" your post, you weren't exactly "editing", you were adding more comments which change the ambiance of your original post. At times, I see some regular forummers forming a front, not to say they don't think independently. They are not that unrefined to those buddy forummers who they call "bro", even they disagree.

Junkie,
You missed out on me thanking them for their feedback. I may refute anything I don't deem logical, isn't this a free forum?

watching,

As for you "editing" your post, you weren't exactly "editing", you were adding more comments which change the ambiance of your original post"

oh really?

By the way, adding someone on Facebook is possible in most countries but China has limited access to Facebook.

Instead of focusing on just limited access... look at the entire statement. You can twist all you want but everyone has eyes to read. Nice try though. It further proves my point really.