Going Bangkok in Sep!

smurfy

Andreal,

You can see their menu here:
http://www.healthlandspa.com/spamenu.html

My hubby tried the thai massage and he said painful :p. I never dare to try but I guess you can ask them to go softer.

I tried the body polish and I quite like it. But I think I'll try the aromatherapy massage the next time I go cos it is highly recommended by the therapist there.

feifei

Hi smurfy,

Managed to find this thread back..hee..

Tks for the information. So means when we reach BKk airport, no need to pay, only when coming bk that time need to pay 500THB..hmm...Lucky I check with you, if not I might not keep any THB left..hee

I will be staying at Samran Place Hotel. so tink shuold be travelling ard in cab lor..

Andreal,
I intend to go Sam Pheng Lane as well cos heard that there are alot of Hello Kitty items selling there...hee...Do you know the operating hrs? Do they open on wkdays cos I am arriving on a thurs...

Tink the weather there should be hot like spore..

Have u planned your itinerary yet?

We intend to go chatuchak,chinatown,Silom,MBK and this Central Dept store... Do you know the operating hrs of the above?

All,
Does anyone knows if there is any shopping center next to this Siam bank at Silom cos heard that there is a shop there selling cheap hello kitty things =D...

Do u know where I can get a map of BKK and Chatuchak? from bkk airport? Is the BKK airport bery old? Sorry for askign so many questions cos 1st time go bkk...hee

hazel79

To those who will be arriving at BKK new airport, i got to know that their airport tax has increased to 700THB.

andreal

hi smurfy,

thks for the link,loks good inside.
I oso scare traditional massage..cos pain intolerance. Wana check with u at Bo Bae, issit mostly clothing? I heard of it last time but din go cos scare the guys will get bored.

feifei,

hehe, dats true! lots of hello kitty & other cartoons accesories.U fan of hello kitty issit? Bought my girl's schbag,stationery,accesories there.The stalls open ard 8plus-6pm..yup its open on weekday too.

i hope the weather is fine.i checked on the web abt it ard end Sep,got thunderstorm..aiya headache +_+

We will be miting out tomolo with the rest of the fellas to plan our itinerary. But so far our list incld Chatuchak,Suan Lum Night Bazaar,MBK,Big C,Khao San,Sampeng market,Erawan Shrine,Pantip/Lotus IT City(IT stuffs),fishing trip(Bungsamran Lake for hubby & fren)

- Chatuchak & Chinatown(8plus-6pm).Food stalls & restaurants at Chinatown still open till evening eg Hai Wai Tian, Nam Sing
- MBK & Central Dept store, u can checkout in this link http://www.bangkok.com/shopping-mall/index.html#the-emporium

Abt BKK map,u can get it from airport.Its a monthly issue. Chatuchak map u gota source ard the web.I got one but not sure if there is any major change recently..if u dun mind, i can send it to u.

feifei

Hi Andreal,

Thanks for the information =)..

Ya lor, me HK fan leh..keke... do u still rem where else got HK things?
hee

Any nice fd ard?

feifei

Andreal,

Sampeng is a lane near to Chinatown hor? Heard that there is alot of HK things ther...hee

Is the Bangkok airport bery old?

feifei

Andreal,

Sampeng is a lane near to Chinatown hor? Heard that there is alot of HK things ther...hee

Is the Bangkok airport bery old?

andreal

hey feifei,

oh ic, i only know Sampeng carries more cos they are wholesalers.Yesh Sampeng is located in chinatown (more to left end of chinatown as seen on map).

Haha..the current bangkok airport considered old to me, but it still carries adequate facilities and shops.

BTW the distributions of Official BKK maps listed in this link ->http://www.portal-media.com/web_portal/distribution.html#

smurfy

Andreal,
Ya, Bo Bae mostly clothings. Heard that there is one shop there that sells really nice T-shirts. I did not manage to go to this shop. I only stop at Bo Bae for like 1/2hr cos cannot stand the weather and don't really like the organization of the shops there. Sorry can't help you much.

BTW, how many days you going ah? Seems to have alot of activities/shopping in your itinerary. Don't think you are able to cover if you going for 3D2N package.

andreal

smurfy,

Ok in dat case,i may skip Bo Bae..wait i tao gong gong :p

We are on a 6D5N trip so dats y can put tos places in our list *smile* Certain places we been before so can cut shorter the stay & get the things we want.In the past trips,we managed to stick to itinerary so hopefully everything goes smoothly this time too.

feifei

Hi Andreal,

Tks for the informations =).

Is there any fast food like mac at the old airport?

Oh u goign 6D5N, i will be giogn 4D3N lor...so planning to go chatuchak,chinatown,Pratunum, Platimum Fashion Mall,MBK and Central Dept store....hee..duno can cover all anot... ;P.

Smurfy,
Have u been to Platimum Fashion Mall? things there cheap?

smurfy

Andreal,
6 days..no wonder you can cover so many places, why didn't include the reclining buddha temple in your itinerary?

feifei,
I went to Platinum Fashion Mall around 5+ and they closes at around 6pm. Didn't manage to shop much there but feel that the things there are quite cheap. 3/4 pants for 100baht. Worth going lar, one of my places to revisit if I go Bangkok again.

babyshannon

can I check with you gals whether is it cheaper to buy Levis jeans in BKK??
Thinking of whether to buy nw or wait till my trip next week to buy the jeans.

Another question,
I will be reaching BKK at 2+pm. Do u gals think I will have time to go to the Chinatown to shop after checking into the hotel. Heard that Chinatown close abt 5pm. I will be staying in Baiyoke Sky, is it very far away from the Chinatown?

Thanks for your help.

andreal

3days more to BKK..yeah!!

feifei,
ar..only remembered got KFC inside the departure hall of e old airport, not sure about the outside area. Wah u also got many places in yr list hor :p

smurfy,
act for this trip, i got mentioned to the rest abt reclining buddha but they not interested
hmm. btw my fren told me there is another bldg beside Platinium Mall oso sell lotsa ladies wear..u got any idea?

smurfy

babyshannon,
I am not sure what time Chinatown closes but if you reach BKK at 2+pm then have to check out and transfer to hotel, think by that time already 4+pm.

andreal,
I think you friend is referring to Pratunam Center but it is not next to Platinum Mall. It is diagonally opposite ley... so not sure if I am right.

andreal

Babyshannon,

If after check-in ard 3plus, then kinda rush.esp if u intend to go to Sampeng Market. If not, some shops (sell medicine,dried food,fruits,gold smith) and restaurants act still open past evening.

On a smooth traffic, it takes ard 20-25mins fr pratunam to chinatown. But if jam then i not too sure how long.

andreal

smurfy,

my fren kept saying nxt to Platinium Mall, not Pratunam Center. Aiya made me oso puzzled too cos i looked at map oso dun know what bldg is it hehhe. But thks v much.

smurfy

andreal,

the shopping next to Platinum mall is Pantip Plaza selling computer and pirated stuff (i check from internet :p) is this the one?

andreal

did u gerls hear the news that BBK in the state of emergency? i knew it thru channelnewsasia yest nite. So wana check those who r goin BKK soon, will you go ahead or cancel? Can someone share abt this cos im uncertain abt it thought my thai colleagues said its safe.

Aiya why near my trip, this happen :p

smurfy,

hehe no leh...thks for ur help. I also cant figure wat bldg/mall is that, scarely my dat fren tell me wrong direction, gona whack her lol

Ling,
Hope u can get the hotel room, can't help u much

babyshannon

Me too..my trip is next week...still cant decide whether to cancel or not.
I am afraid that tiger airways will not refund even the airport tax to us...

andreal

Alamak...y like dat

I tried to called Jetstar but engaged.

furnana,
so u guys trip cancelled lar..hmm.

Babyshannon,
mi too dun know how..mayb monitor the situation today & tomolo then decide with the rest in my grp.

babyshannon

Andreal,

I keep calling Tiger airways too. but always engaged..my husband says mostly likely we have to cancel the trip coz it seems dangerous..feeling so sad nw..

cc2

I'm suppose to go TODAY! Very sad! Why happen this time. Haven't cancelled all my hotel and asia rooms said will give me a full refund to my credit card. I also called Tigers but cannot get thr. Dunno can get a refund from Tiger or not. *SigH*

icecreampt

Hi CC2,
I am actually leaving next week... want to cancel my trip but seems like asiarooms will charge cancellation fee. Who did you call to get a full refund?
let me know ok? thanks!

cc2

Hi PT,

Mine is worst cos I have room bookings for today all the way till 26 Sept. I just called the general line and told them that I want to change the date of my trip. They told me subject to availabilty of the rooms on the new date. Later when I call them again and ask them what will happen to the hotel I have booked for today, they told me they can cancel for me cos it's a special cancellation. I got a email from them that they will do full refund to me too.

cc2

babyshannon,

I called tiger airways and waited for about 20 mins before they picked up the phone. They allowed a one time change, no extra charge and no need to pay the difference for the fares too. *phew* heng ah!

andreal

hey gerls,

mi, hubby and frens decided to go ahead as plan. but will take cautious over there.

I act tried sending email to directroom incase of cancelling, they told me can cancel, however hotel side will forfeit 1 nite stay charge.

cc2

This is the reply which I got from Asiarooms:

---------------------------------------------------
ASIAROOMS REPLY

Please kindly note that there will be full refund for these cancellations

---------------------------------------------------

babyshannon

Hi CC2,

Does the one time change include change of name?

I understand that tiger airways charge adminstration fee for cancellation ($50 per pax) or change of name($35 per pax).
I cant postpone the trip already coz I am unable to take anymore leave after sept.

icecreampt

Hi CC2,

Thanks for your reply. I managed to get Asiarooms to waive off my cancellation charge.

Will decide early next week whether to postpone or forfeit our tiger air tickets...

cc2

babyshannon,

I dun think the one time change include name change. Maybe u can call them and ask. They told me no additional charges for this special case even though the fares of different. So no need to pay administration charges nor the fare difference. Still retain the same booking number.

I'm changing my dates to Nov.

furnana

Gers gers..
i had called my tour agency. She told BKK had called that things are under controlled le.
She had a few customers who went today & they also had called back that everything is alrite.

andreal

haha furnana,

tink u are gladed to hear that from the agent rite *grin*

Now me watching channelnewsasia..seems calm to me at this moment. Just hope it can maintain that way through out my trip. I emailed directroom.com and the staff is nice to explain to me how's the situation over there.

feifei

Me also go as planned next wed lor....heard that its calm over there...tink should be okie =).

Andreal,
dun worry ya..jsut take care and register with MFA ya..