Going Bangkok in Sep!

pinky_girl

Yes, I've booked my tickets. I actually booked my tickets in June with tiger airways cos they are having a promotion then. Now only left with hotels. Which hote will u be staying?

blurrz

me not too sure which hotel me wanna stay... got a few... samran place, eastin or bangkok palace...
how abt u?

dazednconfused

HI all...
I'm a BKK fan and I love staying at the Centre Point along Petchburi Rd. which is only a 5-min walk to the Pratunam Wholesale Centre. And a 20-min walk to Siam Sq and MBK. The rooms are Centre Point are large! Service is good. Breakfast buffet is nothing spectacular but it is sufficient. Centre Point is definitely a better choice compared to Asia Hotel and Samran Place. I always book thru www.sawadee.com
I hope this helps!

blurrz

centrepoint quite ex hor...
me might settle for twin tower or eastin hotel... at pratunam area as well...

pmiyakie

Hey Ling,

I also planning to go on 28 sept straight away after my ROM. Planning to take SQ flight departing 1930hours. Havent book with the travel agents yet. Last year when i went, i stayed in Arnoma hotel, this time maybe thinking of Grand Diamond hotel. Any travel agencies to introduce with Cheap and good service. Thanks

reinstar

Hey peggy,

Grand Diamond is not bad. got a pretty good massage place downstairs too, and centrally located. i'm going to BKK on 20th Sept and i intend to stay at Centrepoint too.. just like what LS said! heard quite alot of good comments!

bookings wise, i recommend you guys to book online. Many times they are alot alot cheaper! places like sawadee.com and asiarooms.com give good rates.

from airport you can grab a cab straight to your hotel.. very easy!!

hazel79

I actually plan to go BKK this coming Fri but can't get any flights so i have decided to travel on Oct 6 instead for 4D/3N via TG. Coincidentally, Oct marks my 4 years wedding anniversary...heee....Will be staying in Baiyoke sky.

babyshannon

I will be going from 25th sep to 28th sep...staying in baiyoke sky too..
book the tiger airways...only 125 per pax include taxes..
intend to go for shopping n spa...any nice recommendation?? havent been to bangkok for a few years already..
is baiyoke sky near to any shopping area??

hazel79

Babyshannon
I stayed in Baiyoke for my 1st trip to BKK with my hubby. Buffet breakfast spread is quite good cos even after the 3rd day, i will not get sick of the food
Room is spacious and clean too.

Below the hotel there is Platimium market that sells lots of clothings, accessories at wholesales price. I think it is open daily from 9am - 6pm? Sorry i am not too sure of the timing.
Don't foget the all time favourite MBK and chatuchap weekend market. The newest shopping mall is Siam Paragon.

Sorry no idea about spa, haven't been to any yet. Now still trying to do more research so as to fully utilise my stay there.

Enjoy your stay

babyshannon

Hi Hazel79,

Is Baiyoke Sky near to MBK?? Can I walk from Baiyoke Sky to MBK? Roughly how many mins?
I will be there from mon to thur. thus, i think I will have to give chatuchap weekend market a miss.
Looking forward to my shopping trip...

zenn

<font color="ff6000">babyshannon</font>, baiyoke sky is near pratnium market. if you wanna walk to MBK, its rather far. slow walk could be 40mins or more

everafter

Hi peggy,

I'm goin BKK frm 12-15Oct and staying at Grand Diamond. U mentioned that there's massage at the hotel, izit gd? Anyone tried?? I'm thinking of goin to healthland, but not too cheap leh

pmiyakie

I confirm departing on 28 sept and changed my hotel to D'MA Pavillion. The tour agent recomended me so I will try. In fact, I wanted to change to another hotel but was told that i need to pay penalty. heard it was opened in 1997, less than 10 years, should be ok bah.

I never try the massage at the hotel. But heard from ppl that the massage not bad. Maybe can try.

andreal

hi gerls,
just to share, mi going fr 23rd -28th Sep by JetstarAsia

Btw some of us will be arriving at bangkok new airport, Suvanabhumi International Airport officially opened on 28th Sep but JetstarAsia will be head run fr 16th Sep aldy. Anyone fr JetstarAsia?

wedding9999

I'll be going fr 10-14 Oct.

Hv not book hotel yet but was thinking of staying ard Pratunamn area. Low budget but dun wat too bad hotel....;p

Any comments on baiyoke suite ? Any other suggestions ?

Thks !

everafter

Hi wedding9999,

I'll be goin on 12-15Oct
I will be staying at Grand Diamond, abit expensive though. Can anyone tell my btw Baiyoke Sky and Grand Diamond, which one is a better location?? I knw both in Pratunam (near market), heard that Platinum Fashion Mall is opp. Grand Diamond??

wedding9999

Mmm....Everafter, Grand Diamond a bit expensive for us.....;p

Btw, anyone knows how's PJ Watergate ? Heard it's also near Pratunam mkt.

Which is better ? Baiyoke Suite or PJ Watergate ?

Thks !

andreal

hey gerls,

I've not stay at Grand Diamond but my gal fren stayed b4 commented its good..tink she like the fact dat it got a kitchen (apartment style) Hmm heard its rate is slightly higher.

For mi stayed at Twin Towers b4, bery spacious room, newly renovated,nice ambience &amp; gd svc..eh but bkfast not dat nice, then location far fr shopping area.

For D'MA,
bkfast is delicious, room so-so (carpet like nvr shampoo for quite awhile,dusty), svc is bad (staff work v.slowly and hardly smile)

For Eastin,
Its the last hotel i tried after the above ones &amp; best of the 3
bkfast not bad, svc very good thou a budget hotel (eg they work more professionally) room is clean &amp; tidy. hotel carries a unique thai deco, classic style.

Heard lots of gd comments (from forumers/frens) abt baiyoke sky bkfast &amp; fantastic skyline view at the top. Baiyoke Suite, hmm nothing very much abt it (separate living rm from the bedrm)except its near pratunam bazaar etc.

However there's always changes rgds to hotel svc, room etc.For mi, hubby and frens got budget, so Eastin is our best choice.

Grand Diamond, Baiyoke Sky, Baiyoke Suite. Eastin, D'MA, Bangkok Palace etc all located in pratunam so transport wise is the same..not near to BTS. If want, from Eastin walk to Chidlom BTS takes ard 2-25mins. Eh if really walk to MBK/Siam Sq...tink unless u a super gd-walker/lots of time otherwise like me and gal fren walked till legs sng hehe (45mins-1hr)

blurrz

thanks andreal... if stay eastin, is taking cab easy to n fro??? like will those cabbies know their way to eastin hotel??? cos me cannot remember the route well n direct the cabbie back to hotel 1...

babyshannon

I just receive an email from Tiger airway that they will be arriving and departing from the new airport from 28 sep 2006. This means that I will be arriving in bangkok international airport and departing from Suvarnabhumi International Airport.
Do anyone have more info on the new airport? Is the airport taxes still the same?

furnana

Grand Diamond - Always my fav!!
I gg in Oct de..My FH want to change so we staying in Arnoma.
Anyway care to share experience this hotel? 1st time i'm staying.

everafter

Hi furnana,

Gald to knw that u've stayed in Grand Diamond and it's gd. I knw Grand Diamond is oreadi in Pratunam, but is the market jus below or some walking distance? heard that Platinum Mall is jus opposite?? Pls tell me the gd things u feel abt Grand Diamond.

furnana

Platinum Mall not opp, is right beside it. heheh

u came out from the side door (chinese restaurant) that face the main road, the mall jsut on the right....
Market then is opp... use the overhead bridge.

In fact, MBK, World Trade, 4 face buddha &amp; Pratunam is in square form..
i go do something, later post it here for u

By the way do u have the BKK map??

everafter

Hi furnana,

Thanks alot!!
in fact i badly need some good advise in order to plan for my itineary.

I've not get the map frm Thai embassy yet.

furnana

I dun have the latest map.. Seem like GD always not located in the map...
So u can look out for Platimun Mall

everafter

Hi furnana,

Thanks for your fast response &amp; the Map
I suppose the overhead bridge leading to Partunam market is as near as the bridge that is leading MBK to Siam Sq.??

furnana

yaya.. is the same..2 way traffic..hehehe hope i din confuse u..
i gg from 20/10/06 to 24/10/2006. Mine is a evening flight.

smurfy

I just came back from bangkok on sunday.

Arnoma hotel is good and clean but breakfast spread limited and same everyday.

Healthland is very good. Business there is also very good. Abit ulu to go by BTS but thats how we go there but we took a taxi back cos its late.

Heard from the thai guide that the new airport is further away and you will need to depart 4 hours before you departure from hotel (now is 3 hours).

everafter

Wah, that means i got 1/2day less! Argh~ should hv select to depart on 11Oct nite instead..

Smurfy,

any loots to share??

smurfy

Everafter,

hmmm.. nothing much for me. I think my best buy is 2 dozens of bibs from Bo Bae market. 1 dozen for 240baht (cloth with plastic underneath) and 1 dozen for 360baht (plastic with elmo print- good for feeding my son solid food).

If you like those stone necklace, bags, stationery, can get alot of cheap ones at Chinatown. Need to buy in bulk but very cheap. Chinatown can be very crowded cos the lanes are very narrow and every now and then got motorbikes go pass, very irritating. Don't think I will go there again.If you like bird nests and shark fins, go Nam Xing and Chinatown to try.

Platinum fashion mall - must go early. They start to close at 6pm. I went there too late so didn't get any good buy.

MBK- don't find the items cheap ley.. only good if you want to buy pirated DVDs (quality very good) and gameboy games. I bought all my local products here (eg. pork floss biscuits)

furnana,
Nearest BTS for Healthland is Surasak. Need to walk about 10mins along the main road.

feifei

Anyone knows the operating hrs of the Thai Embassy?cos I was tinking of graping a map there after work.

Heard that we have to pay 500THB per pax at the Bangkok International Airport as tax...is this true?

smurfy

feifei,

yes, 500thb when you depart from bangkok airport. Heard from news this morning that they are increasing it to 700thb when they move to the new airport.

andreal

checkout below links abt the new Suvarnabhumi International Airport

http://www.bangkokairportonline.com/
http://www.airport-technology.com/projects/bangkok/

Bangkok Tax remained the same till nxt yr Feb (700bht)? Its good for us to find out abt the transportation from airport to bkk.We nid to take shuttle bus to transport terminal to take bus, cabs,limo etc.My flight is landing at this airport on 23rd Sep,im also worried.

Just to share, Sam Peng at Chinatown (Yaowarat) carries alot of wholesaler eg accesories,toys, stationary etc.

Anyone know the weather in bkk ard end sep/oct?

andreal

Ling,

there's always cabs ard the hotel. For us, always take the hotel name card (some words in thai) very convenient. Once the cabby see aldy know where...cos D'MA &amp; Bangkok Palace both nxt to Eastin so im sure cabbies had drove to this road before.

Smurfy,

Can find out fr you what are e things we can get at Healthland. Hee I neber been b4.