Glass in BREADTALK Bread!!! Will kill You!

Ok.. so what IF initially the SHOP have done all follow up and have good explanation to the consumers, will the SHOP have the assurance from the consumers that he/she will keep quiet over such grave error? Let’s Bet =)

Of coz I dun agree to the SHOP from shrinking responsibility. But what U really want to hear from them???

“I SWEAR this is a one time error”
“I SWEAR that such thing will not happen again”
“I SWEAR will not buy flour from this supplier coz we found out that the glass piece is from them”
“I SWEAR I will sack the whole production unit”

Is this the kind of explanation U wanna hear?

If this incident happens on me, I don’t need explanation coz it serve no purpose anymore. These generic replies will make me more angry. Is either I make a big hoo-ha or I juz let the matter pass.

this is Very sporean... we take things way too personally and think we're being victimised over 1 incident.

NOW, u are the MD of Breadtalk... u have a long production line, several franchises across the country, u built your success on the very pple who patronise your bread... would u Put glass in the bread? obviously not... but the sporean who complain to u will often speak like u Ordered the glass to be put in the bread. That's sporean.

personally, i would give a benefit of a doubt... to the Chain.

snowbell42

reuse the broken glass?? ya tis i agree.. it's poss but shd at least explain how the reuse got into the pc of bread???

a big mystery floating ard in all our head now man!!!!

Iris,

no need to swear.
Instead, briefly communicate to TS on the follow-ups.
e.g.
we have investigated the incident and confirm this to be one off incident .....
To ensure that this will not happen again, we have reviewed and put in place .... in our process / gave strong warning to supplier and increased our sampling testing.

This is the kind of logical follow-ups. Not, shady body languages and challenging TS to sue. That's pretty stupid don't you think?

And the example of "I SWEAR" blah blah blah is equally dumb as well.

Betty,

"I dont agree with u saying that not every staff shares the objective of a company. Becos such objectives can be educated to everyone in the company from the mgmt."

I kind of disagree with that. We are talking about bread here. A commodity. Its a naive expectation to expect every biz to function as a top class corporate with excellent skill labor that will be so motivated to sell you buns for $1.50 or so. If you are talking about top class bakery for the exclusive, yes, you can expect this kind of management to ensure the kind of service you talked about.

In any organization, its about profit and market share. Having good reputation, branding and quality products are all part of ensuring the profit margin. In this competitive age, it is often challenged with efficiency and cost effectiveness. All these instilling of mission to the ground staffs etc. Sounds good. But, doesn't make biz sense for commodity market.

"I think as consumers, we can demand a high standard" Yes, you can demand all you want. But, at the end, its at what price r u willing to get it for.

While consumers like yourself continue to demand high standards, for yrs, trans-fat were added to most of our daily food products. And now, replaced with Palm oil. Most consumers are ignorant about all these as they continue to speak of their high standards and expectations.

milo - Aiyoyo.. in TS's initial post, she already mentioned that " A person in-charge met up with me to take a look at the glass and bread. An investigation was made and we were contacted at the end of the day. He claimed that the glass could be a chipped-off glass from the display. However, I disagreed as the glass was deeply lodged in the bread"........ She refused to accept this explaination..........

Heheheh,,, of coz "I SWEAR" examples is kind of "suan siao" coz isn't it what dumb dumb wanna hear??

What more can the SHOP explained if one refused to listen and accept??

About the "shady body languages and challenging TS to sue", I will keep reserved coz there MAY be hidden agenda that leads to this.......

Iris, putting it frankly, when something this serious happens, one needs to be alot more tactful to manage the customer.

They know, its an proven error here. Nothing to really dispute about. So, they shouldn't be defensive in trying to push aside TS concerns. Even if internally, they found nothing conclusive and have nothing to improve on. They still need to work on packaging the external communication.

Normally, when its the fault of a 3rd party, communication is very simple. It is when they found an issue internally, that's when one has to be extra careful. On one side protecting the company's interest and not saying something legally implicating the corporate. And at the same time, able to please the customers' unhappiness and concerns. They cannot treat the customer like dirt even if they are not buying their story. Its not easy, but its bread and butter for marketing and customer service.

It is not the shop's operation that is under scrutiny here - although naturally when there is a piece of glass in the bread - breadtalk need to review their operations.

It is more how they respond to complains. In this case, if we believe it to be true - a piece of glass in the bread then it can be quite serious.

I don't think the initial response that it could have been a "chip" from the glass cabinet is acceptable at all. I won't accept it - unless they can prove for certain.

A more appropriate response Milo already stated: and yes, it may not be conclusive but at least there is a reasonable closure.

Giving possible reason for the glass in the bread is not a good response. A good response is one in which the company has reviewed its production operations, and review their process/procedure and to tighten those areas that may need more strengthening.

Like if you car break-down it is not helpful to list 1001 reasons why it broke down. More helpful is to say that every 3 months, I will go for maintenance check. Yes it is not foolproof but at least it gives us peace of mind and minimize break-downs.

exactly, coming out with a stupid excuse and hope to squeeze it down the throat of the customer is plain dumb. It doesn't work.

Customer wants to feel important and heard. But, they don't need the company to start axeing people to be accountable.

Isn’t this a safe closure response from all and most people would love to hear?? I don’t buy such generic replies.

My point is the SHOP don’t have to answer me in such “lame” reasons. They are answerable to their reputation not me, though my life is at stake IF I ate that piece of glass..........

The excuse is stupid coz it's an excuse people won't accept...

C'mon lah, we can simply say people will only listen to what that soothe their ears. All reasons are equally LAME... Is how U said them in a more professional way =)

not equal.

Some insult our intelligence. Not just about how we market the communication. The reason should be credible enough to convince the customer. From the photo, it looks more like broken piece from a light bulb or something. The more likely reason is maintenance contractor coming to replace faulty bulbs while kitchen is not in work. And a piece of the glass from a bulb flew off into some bakery equipment. This went undetected when bakers started working in the kitchen and assuming equipment is good and clean.

milo - Hehehehe..... Maybe some are not as intelligent as U... and that so call SVP could have get away several times with such attitude towards different customers (wzout any hiccups).....

Wahahaha,,, U really scrutinise that pic? =) So do U want to explain on behalf for the SHOP?

iris,

It is clear that you are not customer facing?

And not these:

"SWEAR this is a one time error�
“I SWEAR that such thing will not happen again�
“I SWEAR will not buy flour from this supplier coz we found out that the glass piece is from them�
“I SWEAR I will sack the whole production unit� "

NO. We don't want to hear all these or sack any stuff or ask them to stop buy floor from that supplier.

Just an explanation of how the glass could have gotten into the bread (most likely scenario) and HOW TO PREVENT future occurrences...

Or if can't really find the root cause, at least how they will strengthen checks to minimize or prevent future occurrences.. not difficult for the VP or PR department to give a reply letter to TS right? and of course to apologize for the convenience caused.

no iris,
I'm making an more intelligent guess than swearing.

The customer isn't really going to audit the processes. So, the smart thing is really to come up with a reasonable but yet safe answer and Pseudo 'follow-ups' or 'corrective' measures that might not need to really take place at all.

sm - I do face customers.. I have given explaination why I used "I SWEAR".. it's more on the "suan siao" part....

I have also mentioned several times, I don't accept generic replies.

The SHOP don't have to explain to me WTH this piece of glass is found inside the bread coz it's ALREADY inside it.. The SHOP don't have to explain to me what will be their preventive measures... COZ, whatever needs to be DONE SHOULD BE DONE before this incident happen.... By giving me such a generic reply ONLY tells me the SHOP is not up to standard.. it's as simple as that....

"The SHOP don't have to explain to me WTH this piece of glass is found inside the bread coz it's ALREADY inside it.. The SHOP don't have to explain to me what will be their preventive measures... COZ, whatever needs to be DONE SHOULD BE DONE before this incident happen.... By giving me such a generic reply ONLY tells me U are not up to standard.. it's as simple as that...."

This is only this simple if its a one off biz transaction. More often, reputation is at stake. Customer unhappiness needs to be addressed to retain them.

As a customer, I have my choice. Since I have such an awful experience with the SHOP, I can choose not to patronise...

Whether or not the SHOP make an effort to retain me, is still my choice to or not to patronise right? Be it a one time business transaction not =)

iris,

Of course you have your right to patronise or not. No one can take away that right.

But to me, if the shop made the effort to explain and to address the concern and put in preventive measure.. I would give them the benefit of the doubt.. and possible may patronise them in the future.

But if the shop dun really care.. then like I said, I would never patronise the shop again.

sm - yup.. it is juz different ways which people address to same issue =)

Maybe I am in CS line for decades. I have seen tonnes of apology emails or letters... All are generic replies. Sometimes I really wonder if all writers know how the other party react upon receiving such generic reply.... Do a role-play between a customer & the writer.. U will know the feeling..........

Is there sincerity? Is the issue really attended to?? I am once such a writer who gave generic replies to "dumb dumb" coz I know I can mellow their anger with such replies....

So, I stand to my point, refused to be that 'dumb dumb' waiting for such replies... Heheheheheh......

ya I understand..

But reply to complains and writing apologies letter is still a must for customer service. And it is an art really to reply in a way that may not seem to be "generic" and addressing the customers' complains.

But i know, there are many dumb ass PR or customer service department that just reply using standard template - it is really laughable.

Wah.. u in CS for decades? So you must be old lady already? ha ha ha

It may be the Company's policy to use standard template.. But I really agreed with U that those dumb As* really dun bother to read customers' complaints/feedbacks before replying...... Kick their butt!!!

Oops.... decades minus the S.... it's more than a decade.. Me not old lady ok... Juz that I start working since school days... Been in CS ever since then.... Everyday listen to complaints/feedbacks/suggestions... Siao!!!!

company giving proper CS doesn't bind the customer to remain with them. Of course there is not obligation from customers unless they have the monopoly. Just as the Champs league broadcast in Sgp. Suddenly, we need to subscribe to MioTV as well if we watch both EPL and Champs league.

They have the sole rights to broadcast, as consumers, we LL.

Those standard templates maybe applicable for the usecases like this one.

But, when dealing with customer issues involving compensations, negotiations and future tenders, only a dumb dumb will use such templates. For sure kenna sack and no reputation to continue in the industry.

It is ok to have a template.. but it cannot be a exact copy... still need to customize and change the wordings according to the situation.

You must write in such a way that customers will be thinking that you are addressing their problem directly and specifically..

milo - heheheh, for all U know some Company have such templates for all issues (similar)... Juz change the name, address, abit of the scenario, touch up here & there... then post... wahahhaha....

It is easy to read and know that this is a generic replied letter.. =)

Iris, u got solid templates that is useful for negotiating compensations with customers to share? I'll be super rich if I can avoid compensation for my company each time we have an issue with customers.

I'm in a commoditized market. Compensation can easily eat into whatever revenue we have for the volumes delivered.

you need my service?

I can write pretty letter to handle complains. ha ha

when required.. I would do presentation..

And compensation.. sometimes it is "cheaper" to compensate than to explain.

I remembered once, I was explaining to a "Board of directors". First trick is to admit liability - although every tells me NOT TO and try to beat around the bush. My boss did not have the guys to do the presentation and wanted me.. so I said, I will take charge.

The "Board of directors" all were bailing for blood.. but since I admit "our mistake" they became sympathetic.. and the rest, I don't have to explain much. Some even defended me when others try to question my explanation!

then we compensate them a little.. a fraction of the other "goodwill" that we have to perform..

Mostly it is just human psychology.

sm, not so with my customers.

1st, when they need us to fix the issue, they keep quiet about compensation. Once the issue is confirmed and contained, they pull out their technical pple and bring in the legal folks to talk compensation. This is the approach we have here in the asian market.

jjfamily

Guess you guys want to know the latest update. They sent us an email to tell us nothing is wrong with their process and close case.

After we wrote them the reply highlighted in red, they never dare to reply again :x
---------------------------------------------------
Dear Mr and XXX,

This is a follow-up to the meeting XXX Koh and I had with Mr XXX on 4 Sep 2009, 1pm at Starbuck, Raffles City.

Our insurer has got back to us that they have completed their investigation and they have found no wrong doings or wrong practices at that point of time. <font color="ff0000">So does that mean that BreadTalk feels that there is no more necessity to carry out any more investigation?? To us, the findings and the fact that BreadTalk ACCEPTS the findings is a joke! Obviously something went wrong, that is why a piece of glass ended up in your bread and nearly resulted in the serious injury of 2 toddlers!!</font> Any further investigation on the piece of “glass” can only ascertain if it is glass, acrylic or hard plastic. <font color="ff0000">Do you think this sentence makes any sense at all?? -> This ascertaining of glass has already been carried out by Mr XXX Koh and your insurer. Either you are not aware of what has been carried out or it represents BreadTalk's refusal to carry out further investigation (to the extent of forensic investigation or whatever you call it) to trace the source of glass. It reflects your company's lack of sincerity and wiliness to get to the bottom of this incident. Bear in mind - it's not a fly, it's not a cockroach but a piece of glass with sharp edges. </font>

As spoken to Mr XXX, we sincerely apologize for the anguish caused and out of goodwill, we would like to offer Mrs XXX $500 cash to close the case and to move on. We have also reinforced our operations to ensure we continue to upkeep the good practices in our workplace. <font color="ff0000">So are you saying that Breadtalk is going to take the risk and close the case with an unresolved incident (since no one got hurt)? How can you so-called "reinforce" your operations when you do not know what is wrong? Are you sure you are going to continue to "upkeep" your so-called good practices when the end result is a piece of glass in your bread?? I seriously doubt that..I'm not an expert in good practices regarding food preparation...but when such a serious incident happened, I jolly well get to the bottom of this by finding out how it happen..It may not be the preparation process, it could be the source or raw materials..I do not know. But it's not my job but yours to find out. How can you fortified your castle when you do not even know how you got shot in the first place?? Thousands of people buy your bread everyday and that is why you must find out how the glass got there to prevent future such incident. At the same time, having a conclusive findings will also prove that the glass is not planted there by us. And to think that I have to rationalize this with you is RIDICULOUS! </font>

We hope to receive your positive reply.

Yours sincerely,
XXX Quek
Senior VP, BreadTalk

Copy to:
Senior VP, Group Brand Development
Legal Advisor
Area Operation Manager
Group CEO

JJ,

"So are you saying that Breadtalk is going to take the risk and close the case with an unresolved incident (since no one got hurt)?"

I don't think so. Rather, its something internally managed. Customers have no rights to become site supervisors / auditors / QAOs to start dig into their processes right? I think their follow-up here isn't so unprofessional frankly. Yes, I'm pretty sure that they will dig into the bottom of things. BUT, they will also not casually report it or disclose findings openly to customers to copy and paste into forums like this. They are running a biz here.

If every biz needs to publicize every mistake and findings to the general public, then they will all be out of biz in no time! Get real loh.

JJ,

They may not share any details but it is obvious that they are planning to close the case. The reply is short and to the point.

They have apologized, offered a little compensation and will reinforce their operations - I doubt there is anything that they will do or willing to do further.

They may or may not have found the "root cause" but they are definitely not sharing with you.

Either you accept or you simply don't patronize them in the future. Or you can continue to complain..

betty81

they r offering 500 cash. I suggest u take it cos there is nothing much u can do becos nobody was hurt , fortunately. Obviously, they dont want to disclose anymore details and they are not obliged to as they are not a public service company.