Glass Door for kitchen

acer27

Anyone use glass sliding or push open glass door for kitchen? does it help to keep the smell from sneaking out of the kitchen

I have not take any pictures yet.
Will do so during the weekend, will email to both of you on next monday, can ?

zoeanne27

Just sharing a piece of info:

If anyone is doing anything on glass, u can call this company up called, A-Plus.

80% of my house's glass are done by this company.. it is cheap and quality is good... this company is a supplier.. not really commercial..

I did on my study room wall glass, kitchen door also glass, my backsplash for kitchen, my bed head, bath room..etc.. : )

Telephone : 6862 1173

I was recommended by someone at this forum too

lilacgal

hi zoeanne27,

Do u hv pics of ur kitchen and toilet glass door? Would like to know how much as well.

zoeanne27

Hi Lilac and gals
This is my MBR toilet.. everypart of my lovenest is done by individual suppliers.. did not engage any main con or ID... This toilet is ok la..
As u can see, the door, the shelves n the mirror , are all done by A-Plus ( The glass partition cost about $300 plus, mirror about $100plus, shelves about $30 plus i think... cannot remember exact.. all is 10mm glass, shelves is 12mm, i think.)

326999.jpg

zoeanne27

This is my Kitchen

From the 1st pic, can see my glass kitchen door.
The Black backsplash also....

The 2nd pic, left corner, i put a piece of rectangular glass on the partition and also the "greenish" backsplash along the table top..

327008.jpg
327009.jpg

lilacgal

hi zoeanne, oh i think the shower screen 300 plus is quite cheap then....

did u hack & do ur toilet walls and floor tiles as well? may i know how much u pay for your entire toilet? it look simple and nice....

can also see ur kitchen glass door? thanks!

lilacgal

hi zoeanne, the kitchen is very nice with the glass backsplash & all! how much u paid for all the glass feature?

im quoted $650 for kitchen glass sliding door...think i should call & check out A-plus how much they charge...

zoeanne27

Hi Lilacgal
I hack the toilet flooring and lay with new tiles. The wall tiles are original..

Er.. i did not actually did a full calculation on the entire toilet cost as I did not engage a main contractor nor ID to do my house.. All individual suppliers at different parts..

Whole toilet rough calculation about $800 for everything...
New toilet bowl, new basin, tap, shower , solid top..etc etc

acer27

Hi zoeanne,
How much is your kitchen door?

Lilacgal,
For your kitchen glass sliding door, does it come with frame for the glass or just a piece of glass screw to the glider?

lilacgal

hi zoeanne, thanks for the info....btw where is your lovenest?

hi acer, it is 2 pcs clear glass kitchen sliding door no frame.....4ft by 7ft.

the thickness and size of the glass door and kind of hindges used will affect the pricing. I have a big swing door similar to those in shopping mall. Its definitely nicer than the common hindges used for shower screen doors. Can't remember how much I paid for my kitchen door. It blocks all wind and smell. Really good.

pearlyshell

Hi Zoeanne,

Can I just check with you how much did you paid for your black backsplash for your kitchen wall? Been trying to find the supplier who can do this at a reasonable rate. Cheers!

zoeanne27

Hi Lilacgal
My lovenest is at Pasir Ris...
I do not remember the kitchen glass door price already.. surely not over $400 i think..

Hi Milo
Yes.. agree with you. Our tempered glass thickness is 10mm. if not wrong.. rather thick n heavy. We realise that they did this kind of hinges for us N it is too late to ask them to change. Its partly our fault that we did not specify on the "shopping center" glass door. It will cost about $100 more for that..However, if we insist of changing, we will have to pay for totally new glass again. Therefore, we stick back to this
but hor, this glass also block the wind n smell la

Hi Pearly
The black backsplash cost about less than $100.

contentedbride

Wow, Zoeanne, i really like your kitchen. I am very interested in installing a door bet my kitchen and living. Also, in the backsplash u have installed... Like to confirm w u, with the backsplash, the main purpose is for easy cleaning after cooking right? Mine currently is tiled, and it is very hard to clean those white cement lines after cooking, so i m thinking of changing to the backsplash. do u think it is helps?.. Thanks..

zoeanne27

Hi Contenedbride

Yes. it does help. Like mine, behind is the white tiles. so after much cooking, it will leave the lines in between yellow in colour after long term.

The glass did help.. easy cleaning with any solution for glass.

angel19c

Hi Zoeanne,

I like your glass backsplash too especially the black one . How much did you pay for the green backsplash?

Btw, Do you have any problem mounting any of your sockets or switches on top of your glass backsplash ?

Do you have any pics on your study room wall glass and bed head to share too ?

zoeanne27

Hi angel
The green backsplash cost about $300 plus , quite a huge piece of glass. The glass are being cut to fit the sockets box...Can mount over the glass la..
its illegal....

We did this glass as behind the glass is a huge beam.. we made at the side of the beam with cabinets. Like false wall..

My study room with glass wall and MBR glass...
333613.jpg
333614.jpg

angel19c

Hi Zoeanne,

Thanks for sharing. Yes, my MBR also has a very big beam (~28cm) above my position of my bed area. Many ppl told us that it's not good to sleep directly under the beam. But If I were to level the beam area like you, I would left with very limited walking space cos directly in front of my bed is a wardrobe. Now still thinking of the best way to do something to it. sigh *stress*

am_blessed

my contractor quoted me S$580 for 1 pc 10mm clear sliding tempered glass door (3'x 7') and top track. Is the price reasonable?

also, which one is more durable and safe ...sliding or swing glass door?

anybody can advise me, plizz. Thanks ^_^

poogle

after reading and seeing all the beautiful pic of the glass door, i called up A-plus to make enquiry. But they told me that they only do works for company not HDB flat. so disappointed..
By the way i also searching for contractors for my hse reno. and one of the contractor quote me S$850 for one tempered glass door.

bungy_jumper

its cheap considering i paid $1500 for my kitchen glass door. The hinges alone already $300. This hinge is floor and ceiling mounted and i can open the door any direction.

I dunno i may have overpaid but i love that door. Although my dog keeps running into it and hates it.

358303.jpg

hapict

zoeann
how did u manage to get A plus do the stuff for u since poogle checked n found tat A plus dont do HDB?
poogle
my clear tempered glass 10mm thick costs $600+. think mid range?

poogle

hi hapict,
i dun really know the price range, cos one of my fren d hers at abt $900+ and from a website (besglas) is abt $700.
But i like one of the design from besglas, so may be get from them but i have not go to their shop to see the actual door.

hapict

ah blur, i think cos of fengshui, something pressing on u or sth...

hi all i have a qn.
when i first saw the sliding glass door the contractor installed at my kitchen entrance i was shocked. there was a big gap abt 4cm wide at the top. i told my ID i paid $600+ for a door so it could keep the fumes out of my precious living rm n yet there's such a big gap to let out the smoke n fumes which we all know is lighter n goes up at the top n out thru the gap. she said ours is frameless so it comes like tat. i mean u could even see the mechanism. she said if i wan to block it up, i have to pay $100 for 1 sided pelmet (hope i spelled it correctly here) to block the fumes n to cover up the tracks/mechanism. in this way, i could also oil the mechanism. my sister begged me not to pay the $100 said i was being cheated. where got door just comes with the glass door, track at top and u can see everything???? but i m paying the $ as she has been v nice n accommodating towards us who r very finicky n difficult customers n she repainted the MBR for us cos we din like the colours we chose.
so *took long breath* wat my qns are:
1. frameless glass doors really comes just like tat? need to specify must have pelmet?? if not by default dun have?

2. how much shld it cost to have the pelmet?

3. not qn but advice here: pl watch over your contractors when they installed things. i was too paiseh to check things out oni told them where to install now got to ask them reinstall a few things cos we also din have time to check. they literally ran off after installation!!!!!!

jackohy

Hi hapict,

i also did a sliding door at my kitchen entrance. Same like yours, there is a gap at the top with the sliding mechanism seen. I'm quite pissed off as it looked really ugly so in the end my ID constructed a pelmet infront and back of the glass door.

However the pelmet that my ID suggested is quite big so it will make my kitchen entrance so short that its only like a hand length away from my head. So in the end i asked my ID to shorten the pelmet but the sliding mechanism will still be visble when walk near to the door .... haizz....

Hope somebody here can tell us that there is a better design such that the sliding mechanism will not be seen

fiona

Hi ahBlur, if I don't remember wrongly, from my understanding, sleeping under the beam is bad for health.

hapict

hi jack

u r so tall??? see pic of the newly constructed n painted pelmet below:

387222.jpg

the glass sliding door with the bare mechanism hidden fm view fm living rm but not fm kitchen:

387223.jpg

did oni 1 side cos so x. n my FH actually said he likes the bare look - the track n mechanism. *shrugs*

how much u paid? all included inside the door quote?

jackohy

mine cost around $850 and its not very nice covered by the pelmet.

I'm not really very tall only 1.75
One thing for sure ... my sliding is super big and ugly.
Will try to take some pictures and show u during the weekend.

acid

hi hapict,
so your dining and kitchen area is separated?

if separated, do you find it difficult to slide the door in and out when placing the dishes to the dining table during cooking?

as i guess the sliding door would be quite heavy

acid

hi Zoeanne,

Do you find your stove area cramp during cooking?
As i am thinkin of having similar design like yours. But few id mentioned if employ this 'c' or 'u' rather then 'L' shape, the space would limited to 1 man cooking only, addictional helpers would not be able to squeeze in

blurbaby

thanks for ur informations on the glass door.... seems like it is an expensive thing to have! still thinking if i really want to have this! but there is pros and cons of having the glass door...

hapict

hi jack

ya u better show us the pics. i cant imagine such a big pelmet! my FH hates the new pelmet but i insisted. ;p

hi acid
yea it's separated. living n dining rm areas together. i havent moved in yet so duno leh. not too difficult to slide though.

hi ahblur
if u wan to have the glass door in the end, mayb u wanna consider frosted areas as i m v worried now my guests would bump into the clear sliding glass door. mayb wil hang some stuff there or stick some stickers.

acid

to slide the door with hands holding cooked dishes ...

how about installing sensor to open and closing ;p

jackohy

This is my glass kitchen door.
387648.jpg

387649.jpg

notice the big sliding mechanism ... tat y my id want a bigger pelmet to hide it but i refuse as it will really make my kitchen look small.

hapict

jack

you... are...kidding!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

how far down is your pelmet? it looks like it's halfway down from the ceiling!

sorry i cant really see the 2nd pic, the black thing with the silver hook like thing is the mechanism?

hapict

ok wait sorry jack mayb i see wrongly. is the white thing the frosted part of glass or ?? ;p

the pelmet din look too bad, both sides installed unlike mine. tho u can see the mechanism. dun worry lah, ppl wont look up one. [but got gap or not?if not the fumes leak out]

yr kitchen seems v white n clean. :D

blurbaby

can i check how much do u spend on the glass door? did u hack down any of the kitchen door? what are the criteria to meet for hacking of the wall?