Gg to marry without parents' blessing...sad...

ggoldfish

S'rene

envy tt u n ur htb can overcome the obstacles...congrats to ur upcoming wedding too...u mux be looking forward to it...for my case, i did try to stand up n speak for my bf bt it seems to fall on deaf ears...my parents dun believe in 'if it's meant to be, it's meant to be'... i told them if it is fated tt i will end up with someone nt 100% healthy, no matter hw healthy the person is b4 wedding, he will still fall sick sooner or later...bt my parents said it is only considered 'fated' if the person only found to be unhealthy after the wedding...if the person already unhealthy b4 the wedding n i choose to walk into it, then it is stupidity on my part, destroying my own future...no matter hw many times i explain to them abt our contingency plans, they jux refuse to accept...

ggoldfish

'The world is a simple place its the ppl and their funny expectations who make it complicated.'

michael, u r v right...btw, this stt sound v socialogical...anyway, glad tt ur wife stood by u all this while...hope you ve understanding PIL who din give ur wife any pressure...

ggoldfish,

My advice:

a) Just wait a while longer. Ok this may not be fair to your bf but if he truly loves you and understand your difficulty, he will try to accommodate. Otherwise, you should let him go

b) Once you have made up your mind to wait for a specific period of time (say 1 or 2 years) and have listed out the things to achieve (in your opinion) reasonable things that would secure your future with your bf (say specific amount of savings, etc etc etc) - then at the end of the period, you simply get married.

How old are you? And how old are your parents. They should know that you decide your own life as much as you want to respect their wishes. The worse thing for them is to lose a daughter. Also take these 1-2 years as a test of the resolve of your relationship.

ggoldfish

powder,

thks 4 speaking up for my bf...the future is unpredictable bt i do hope my bf do remain the way he is nw or even better in future...

tulipzz,
i understand where u r coming fr...to me, every marriage is a gamble...there r also many marriages which r approved by parents bt din turn out well...of cox nw i cant guarantee abt the future, nobody can...bt i jux wan to be given a chance to make my own choice which i will blame no one if it din turn out the way i hope...bt if they force me to make an unwilling decision which i may regret in future, i really dunno hw i will think towards my parents...anyway, thanks for ur advice n hope ur husband will realise ur disappointment soon n revert back to the same guy tt you fell in love wif...

ggoldfish

rafflesjay,
the way u say my dad does make some sense, sth i nvr think so...anyway, it's quite funny...

i dun want to make it 2 events(rom n customary wedding) bec i dun wan to be sad for 2 times in the event tt my family nt attending...

for a decision tt i ve the freedom to make, i vow tt i will blame no one bt myself if it goes wrong...bt the funny thing is, my parents keep insisting tt i CONFIRM will blame them if things go wrong...no matter hw many times i repeat tt i will nt blame them if things go -ve, they jux refuse to absorb it...all they keep saying is they dun wan to be blamed by me when i m suffering in future...

avante

Hi goldfish, you are a graduate, surely you deserve a better man ?

Do you think he can support you or is it the other way round ?

ggoldfish

rafflesjay,
the way u say abt my dad sounds funny, sth i nvr tot of b4 also...

i dun wan to separate rom n customary wedding bec i dun wan to be sad for 2 days if my family eventually really nt attending...

i vow tt i will blame no one bt myself if i make the wrong decision...bt the funny thing is, no matter hw many times i told my parents tt i will be responsible for my own decisions, they refuse to let tt sink in n keep saying tt they dun want to be blamed by me in future if i suffer...

ggoldfish

sm,
i m 28yrs old...parents early sixties...we ve already been together for 7yrs...sad thing is, i m sure no matter hw many yrs we wait, my parents' reaction will remain the same...we r nw both financially stable n already ve certain amt of savings...

ggoldfish

xunny,
dun mind can tell the disapproval was fr which side? so did your/his parents really give the wedding a miss? sorry if i ask too many sensitive qns, it's ok if u dun feel comfortable to reply...

avan,

"Hi goldfish, you are a graduate, surely you deserve a better man ?

Do you think he can support you or is it the other way round ?"

I find your remarks regarding goldfish's bf a bit condescending. What you mean a non-graduate.. can not be a better man?

And cannot support a wife?

ggoldfish,

If you are 28 and have waited long enough and you know you have found the right man, my gut feel is that you should go ahead with the marriage.

Your parents may not be happy but they will come to accept it in time to come.

goldfish,

My take is you can't change your parent's mind overnight. Mostly they think that you would not go against them. And if you are brave enough to marry without their blessing.. then after a couple of years, they will see the light.

You can still be a filial daughter after you get married.. And once you have kids, they would most probably be more receptive.

I always believe that we should fight for our happiness. You are responsible for yours. Your parents may object this or that.. at the end of the day, you will to live with your decision. If you don't want to defy your parents, don't blame them for being unreasonable.

laundry_woes

I'm perfectly fine wif a non-grad wif shitloads of monie. But his mum will prob think he can do better too.

Signing off,
a grad (I shld add tis to my IC)

Avan, u are so right.

a graduate lady definitely deserves a better man. maybe a graduate man of equal status, earning potential, compared with the rest. he is guaranteed of a good job, a good pay, a good future. sure to make it.

u have very good view indeed.

simplyserene

ggoldfish... I'm a fighter. My parents brought me up to be independent and fight for what I want. So same here, I definitely want this man to be my husband and I would fight to the end and do whatever possible to convince them that he is good for me. That's why I keep emphasizing courage.

Ummzz... powder... I don't know whether to smile @ your post or make a face... =P But sorry Avan, I certainly beg to differ from your opinion as well.

well depends on where u're standing... but smile anyway...

guys and girls who think like Avan find the truth at a point where they can no longer turn back to undo the decisions, tat's all i can say.

i enjoy screwing with pple's heads, especially the mothers and fathers who strongly link academics with some super bright future. but tat's how the world is and those who discover early will enjoy the wisdom, whilst those who discover late look back at a life of toil... it's not surprising actually, everyone is so preoccupied in making themselves useful Tools that they forget to be the Sculptor of their own lives...

wow_wow

Avan you must be some grad who think too highly of the education system of Singapore.

Provision of needs does not necessary come with academic qualification. good try.

Avan, my ex-husband is also a graduate but no less a gambling addict and compulsive liar. Do you think he deserves any of your graduate sisters, female relatives, female friends, or female colleagues?

janie_wawa

wow....tink i shld juz get lost.....im only a local diploma holder...but yea..i 'deserve' to be with my husband coz he is oso ONLY a dip holder..

& NO, i better not upgrade myself & get a degree else my hub doesnt deserve to be with me... ??

brown

janie, i lagi jialat, my hubby's a grad, me also local diploma with lots of sub papers taken too... oh no... i don deserve him !!

tulipzz

ggoldfish,

You've emphasised that your bf earns more than you altho he's not a grad. I would like to highlight to you too that my husband earns more than I do, yet he's still waiting for me to pay his hp bills.

Before and after marriage may be two different stories.

redshoes

Graduates are a dime a dozen these days. With so many people running around with post-Grad degrees like Masters and PhDs, I hide my bachelors degree in the cupboard.

Ggoldfish, I hope that one day your parents will come to realise that good values and the willingness to work hard is what really matters. Not just the material things.

Yes, you ought to respect your parents. But your parents should respect the choices that you make too as long as you choose the right thing to do. Your choice to marry your boyfriend is NOT wrong. They merely do not like him. Your parents brought you up, and perhaps they think that you have an obligation to them. You do, to a certain degree. But they have led their own lives making their own choices, and now it is your turn to lead your life and make your own choices.

You have been given the gift of love and you're using it to the fullest. I admire your courage to love him despite his 'imperfections'. And his courage to love you despite your parents' objections.

My cousin got married to a guy against her mother's wishes. Her mother didn't turn up for the wedding. But a year later, when my cousin had her first child, her mother softened and all is good now.

It will be a difficult path for you but you have already weathered 7 years of it! These problems will be stressful at times, but take it in your stride and you'll come to appreciate with your boyfriend the times that you've gone through together. Be strong, and you have my best wishes!

m_and_n

Hi goldfish, you are a graduate, surely you deserve a better man ?

Who judges who to be a better man? Can a graduate make better judgement calls? better decisions? Its not about how many books you read. or your "blue blooded" pedigree.. your big shot ivy league degree. Never was, Never will be.
Condecending, maybe. Outright callous in my humble opinion

I think we all understand that its not about a persons current situation but future that is important. if Threadstarter feels that HTB is a person who can and will be willing to work hard to support the family.. to give her what she wants, isn't that in itself enough?

the desire to want to do something is worth much than a piece of paper.

gracelourdes

ggoldfish, i've been following this thread since u posted but didn't really have time to post till now...

it's really sad to read ur story...i can relate to ur story cos my story seems similar...however, let's not go into tat as it's not the crux of tis juncture....

frm wat u have written, i believe ur parents love u alot n want the best for u...however, alot of times parents dun realise tat by doing tat, they place lots of expectations as well as aspirations on us...things tat they never had a chance to do, things tat they were never able to do cos of finances or due to their families' environment...it's sad but they dun realise it....

and cos of tat, they want their kids to get married to a rich man (for gals) so tat their daughters need not work hard n slog their asses off at work....the simplie tiking tat such would erase all probs of society etc...to be honest, i've had frds who actually did get married to rich guys but sad to say, it didn't work tat way...

nevertheless, i want to applaud u n encourage u to continue to 'fight' for ur relationship...believe in him cos it's him whom u've loved in the first place...i believe u r a fighter just like s'rene...

it could also be such tat ur parents r jealous in a way tat u r giving ur life to him n u'd be away frm them after u get married...it's sad to noe that as many parents love to say tat they love to see their kids married but when it actually happens, they get jealous, angry n upset n worried that they would get ignored...

i guess u can't really do anything abt them cos it's their perceptions n expectations tat's driving u nuts...the only thing u can do is, just to be respectful to them still...honor them n respect them as ur parents n family cos no matter wat, the blood ties r still there...but at the same time, do stand firm with ur hb n persist cos i'm v sure that eventually, ur parents will relent n understand that no matter wat, ur love for each other is strong...

it's also sad to noe tat ur parents n family have actually threatened u with such drastic measures just to get wat u want...to be honest, there's really nothing u can do if they insist on being tat way n not understanding that u love ur hb v much...

for me, my situation is so similar to urs save for the threats n drastic measures...wat i did was to reassure my parents n family over n over again tat no matter wat happens, i love them alot...even if i get married, tat wouldn't stop or cut off my love frm them....but i also stand firm to my beliefs n love tat in the event no one in my family wants to bless my marriage, i will still go on with my wedding no matter wat...even if it's going to be only me and him at our wedding, so be it!

it may sound rash but eventually, it's ur life to be honest...ur parents can't decide wat they want to do for ur life since u r of tis age alrd...

"Its not about how many books you read"
frankly, a degree isn't gained by the number of books read too lah.

Education, knowledge and wisdom is alot more than than pieces of paper and volumes of books read. One can achieve the knowledge, wisdom and experience in many ways. Its just a oommon mindset that it is achievable only in schools.

While rebuking on how shallow it is to judge a person based on their qualifications, don't commit the same shallow mistake about how a degree is gained too.

tulipzz

powder,
I'm telling ggoldfish some of the bits that I've gone thro in the hope that she'll be very aware that her parents want the best for her and are worried for her, and that there're grounds for her parents' worries, whether or not her bf is a grad.

What a man promises before marriage and do after marriage can be very extreme. Like what ggoldfish says, it's a gamble. And we don't have a choice. There're some things that we can only see and know after marriage, especially if one party has hidden some of his secrets well. What a man does before marriage cannot be compared to the long term commitment that he has to make after marriage.

My husband shared with me his 'ideals' before marriage that he would like me to stay home if we have children, that he would discipline his son really well becos he's the one who would clothe and feed him, that he's prudent in his spending - he went down to the level of counting his everyday expenses to keep track of his spending and other nonsense that I can't remember now.

Right after marriage, he told me he needed me to give him my support by not asking him for allowance, and supporting my own child. A year after marriage, I get knocks on the door every other day - lawyer's letters, bankruptcy notices, creditor friends, banks.

From then on, he keeps asking me for money. At first, I gave him all my savings until it's down to zero. And he still thinks I have more. He doesn't foot the utility and internet bills until they're cut off, he doesn't pay the conservancy fees, he doesn't foot the residential phone bill and his handphone bills, and now he blames me for not helping him out to pay his debts.

I live in fear and stress all the time. I don't think any woman deserves to marry any man like this.

To make matter worse, I got pregnant.

I am making plans to divorce him.

True, ggoldfish, you'd like to make your own choice in life. It's as if we'd never regret it if we'd made that choice and it's wrong. I thought so too. But now that I'm older, I realise that by making the wrong choice, it creates alot of unnecessary hurdles, wastes years of our time, and makes one bitter about life.

Don't put love to the test. Love can't take the test.

My advice is to continue to ask for your parents' blessings and get your bf to build relationships with your parents. If he's not able to build a relationship with even your parents, you'll find that things will get difficult after marriage, and your relationship with your husband will also be strained.

Now that I've gone thro much, I am convinced that old people do have their wisdom and sharpness in judging people. We're the ones who are often blinded.

gracelourdes

"Don't put love to the test. Love can't take the test."

Tulipzz, i totally disagree with ur sentence...if love isn't tested, how then do u noe that it's true love? true love can withstand all kinds of tests...

to be honest, ur story is really sad...but i dun tik putting ur parents in the context is the real issue...cos it seems that before ur marriage, ur hb wasn't honest to u abt his debts...i doubt his debts occurred only when u guys got married...i do highly believe tat it was alrd there while u guys were together, just tat it was hidden frm u...

my whole point is, while ur story is such tat it's similar to ggoldfish's situation with parental objection etc, it's still not her story...

nevertheless, i still agree with u on ggoldfish asking for her parents' blessings n her bf building rapport n relationship with her parents despite their objections to show his sincerity for his love for her...however, if her parents still refused to accept her bf despite watever she n her hb tries to do, alot of times there's really nothing much we as younger generation can do except to continue to respect our elders n persevere...

to be honest, old ppl may have their opinions, wisdom n sharpness but weren't they young once as well? pls do understand tat just cos they r old, it doesn't allow them to judge anyone...

let me tell u...a guy can fall frm riches to rags within 1 day...it's possible...

however, no matter wat happens, when u feel enough is enough, then i would say, tulipzz...move on in ur life...cos life is always abt ups n downs...just cos we know that our life is going downhill, it doesn't mean we try to find the best 'escape' or anything rite?

My 2 cents on this...

I don't think its has anything to do with seniority of a person. On one hand, we cannot choose our parents and we should honor and respect them. On the other hand, we have our life and happiness to fight for.

As children, we need to be understanding and forgiving to our parents because we know they did it out of concern. BUT, that doesn't mean we need to comply to their every demands.

If Goldfish decides to marry her bf, there is really nothing her family can really do to stop her. Yes, there would be nasty dramas. But, if she stands firm on her decision, they cannot stop her. My only advise is, don't burn your bridges with your family. Do what you need to fight for your happiness but bear no grudges for your own family.

With time, no matter how strong and fierce your parents are, sincerity can move them. Afterall, they do what they did out of concern for you.

I don't think we need to intentionally test love. Marriage and relationships is a gamble. It will be tested naturally. Let it take the natural course to grow either stronger together or apart. Its all part & parcel of life. Its our life, live it to the fullest.

tulipzz

Gracelourdes,

How many of us have put love to the test and discover that it isn't what it seems?

The great love stories that are written and heard, how many of them are not fictional?

Going by the number of divorces, even in singaporebrides itself, how many of these love stories actually stand the test - not to even mention trials of life - of time?

What is true love? That you'd die for your loved one? Or that you'd continue to pump in money into the bottomless pit of debts? Or that you're merely faithful to your partner? Or slog for a lifetime for your partner when he's disabled? What I'm saying is there's no one definition to 'true love'.

It's precisely the old people were young once that they develop their wisdom and sharpness when they are more advanced in years.

Thanks, Gracelourdes, you said the exact words that my sister did,"when u feel enough is enough ... move on". I do feel that I've hit the bottom of the seabed. I don't wish to fight this losing battle anymore.

Tulipzz,

What is true love? We often get disheartened and disappointed when things are not up to our expectations. But frankly, is it the fault of the love we have? No, when we do not have the maturity to maintain the sustain the love, but LOVE itself remains as geniue and true. Even the youngest kiddo that doesn't understand much is capable of true love. It exists in the hearts of almost everyone. Some people just choose to denial it or have totally lost the faith for it.

There is alot of truth in the saying one does not survive on love alone. Love to me is something wonderful that is shared and cherished by a couple. It is build upon by the couple themselves. It takes alot to sustain and grow it. And of cos, it takes 2 to tango. When one party is not responding, there is no way around it.

Most of us will end up loving more than 1 person in our lifetime. But not everyone we love, is suited for us. I do not fault the love and emotion that we have. I fault the character, personality, maturity, discipline of individuals and ALSO FATE that failed the love.

gracelourdes

Tulipzz...sorry i didn't mean it tat way....when i say true love, of cos i dun mean the typical romeo & juliet love where one dies for another...

i guess in love, it also comes along with expectations tat u have of ur loved ones as well...those identified n non-identified ones also of cos...

many a time, when reality sets in, love prob just seem like it either didn't exist or it existed for the wrong reasons...

wat i'm saying is, dun ever lose faith in finding love n finding ur soulmate...it's just as good as saying tat just cos the apple u've picked in tat pile is rotten, the rest of the apples in tat pile is prob rotten also...tat's not true...

i believe wat u really need now is to calm down, tik abt wat u want to do n wat u have to do...no matter wat, life still goes on...

nevertheless, watever ur parents, frds or relatives can say abt ur guy, it's still ur life n it's still ur choice to decide to be with him...

hi Tulipzz,

i guess given wat u're going thru, u're more inclined to see it that way, which is fine. do hope u close the chapters on your book and find a new one to write.

i believe some older folks have their wisdom... but to me that wisdom is applicable in the old days, not Today. and that's only Some.

it might so happen that they might be right in your case... but to me, i look at your case and dun give credit to the older folks, rather - i will question how u arrived at marriage in the first place. and your judgment on hubby.

otherwise, just move on...

pinkhippo2002

I agreed with this statement '"Don't put love to the test'

Frankly speaking, there are so many tests in a marriage. Conflict with ILs, that's a test. Quarrel over money, that's a test. Affairs with 3rd party, that is a test. How many marriages can survive one if not all of these tests?

It's tough enough to maintain a loving relationship & keep the flame alive even without any major hurdle in the marriage.

I always tell hubby, if no major tests, I can forsee us staying married. For example both of us remain faithful & don't subject our marriage to test from 3rd party. Of course we must do our part to keep each other happy

I can't be sure if there's a test to our relationship, what will we do? Probably we will forsake each other, who knows?

I cannot agree with the statement. Its unreal. It is NOT our call to say put it to test or not at all. We just don't intentionally look for trouble to stress test it. That would be totally uncalled for.

Yes, its tough to maintain a relationship. But its preciously what makes it mature and grow. Only then, we know how to appreciate and cherish it. Marriage is like a beautiful flower, it needs constant care and commitment to florish. You cannot freeze the flower.

Face it, its life. Its a journey you have to walk. Happily ever after only exists in story books and Korean dramas.

Here's an analogy, relationship is like a boat in the sea. There will be choppy waves, strong winds and bad weather. We will be tempted to hop aboard other's ship and to stand on both boats. But, we cannot say get out of the sea and happily put your boat in a swimming pool. We are all in the sea. This is a fact that cannot change.

gracelourdes

well said Milo...these tests are unavoidable n not sth tat we, as humans can control...basically, tat's just the way life is...

ultimately, it's all abt managing ur expectations, rebuking your beliefs (no intention for religious beliefs though) and realising the choices tat u have....

pinkhippo2002

some tests are unavoidable (unforseeable) whilst some tests are totally avoidable...

for instance remaining faithful to your spouse. It's a matter of choice

totally avoidable? I don't really think so loh. Its more than just choice alone. No one is perfect and immune to temptations and errors. Its human to err. How many people actually choose to get married with the plan to have affairs and eventually divorce?

Its not so clear cut as we wish it to be always. And I'm not talking about those that intentionally go out for a fling. Affairs do not only happen to people with low morals. It can happen to anyone of us. The best prevention is to be alert and watchful over ourselves. But, this is no guarantee.

ggoldfish

really grateful for all the comments n advice given so far...

from the encouragement n advice rec'd, i will still continue to strive for my parents' approval...regardless of the outcome, rest assured i will still continue to fulfil my duty as a daughter to my parents...

S'rene,
u r right...COURAGE is really what we need now...bec we have all along been trying to avoid getting my parents worked up, hoping my parents will understand and appreciate what we ve done one day, scared tt my dad will really attack my bf, tt is why we are still stagnant at the same spot...

we only ve ard 1 yr b4 our wedding, so upon ur advice n what we gather fr frens, we will find a chance for bf to come to my hse...although me still v scared tt my father will slash him, my frens say its a gamble to take to show his sincerity...we had our reserve at first, bt upon consideration, my bf feel tt it is worth it if my parents eventually approve...he promised to bear n swallow whatever insults they make cox they r after all my parents n they r doing all this bec they love me...hopefully my parents will soften upon seeing his sincerity...really praying hard tt there will be no bloodshed...he is someone's else son after all...me sure his mum will in turn disapprove us also if her son get hurt...thinking of the visit really gives me the creeps but we still ve to give a try after all...hai...dun be surprised if u happen to come across my case in the newspaper...hai...

tulipzz,
sincerely thank you for ur advice...although we do nt know each other, can feel ur concern of nt wanting me to become another victim of marriage...i will bear ur advice in mind...fr ur posts, i suppose ur folks were also against ur husband too b4 u marry him? sorry tt i miss out if u ve mentioned in ur prev posts...understand tt you r v dishearten bec of the financial burden piling on you...bt was his attitude, care n concern towards you v diff fr the past?

lyndy

one can't live on love alone. so if you're marrying just for 'love', without considering other factors, well then i wish you all the best. someday perhaps, many many years later, i'm sure you'll understand what i mean.

anyway, this is how i feel (at least for now) - men are men.

marry rich, he may cheat on you, your heart will ache but at least you'll get half of his 'estate'.

marry poor, there's no guarantee he won't cheat on you, if he does, you end up with nothing, lagi worse.

life_like_dat

Gosh, you sound alike to my dad, Lyndy. Same sentiments.

Ggoldfish, I am in the same shoes as you. I am a local grad who is dating an O'level holder. Worse still, I earn more than him and has more savings and investments. Family background wise; my parents are white collar employees and we live in a condo in the east, his parents run their own retail business and have a flat in the west. Having said that, ALL THE ABOVE COMPARISON DOES NOT MEAN A DIME TO ME... The only reason we remain together is because we care deeply for each other and we want to build a family in the near future. In my eyes, I see someone who has been trying hard to improve himself for our sake and who is willing to stay by my side and see things through with me. For that, I am contented.

My parents are not very receptive towards him initially. However, we managed to get their approval by showing them our sincerity. We always make it a point to buy gifts for his and my parents during festive seasons, birthdays and other family gatherings. And make it a point to attend extended family functions together (hopefully your parents would not make a scene infront of the clan). At the beginning, your parents might reject the gifts or even put them away but don't be disheartened, one day, they might come to accept your choice and let you and your bf be. Chill. Others have been through the same "hardship" and their love has stood the test. Your chance is just as good as any other. Don't give up trying.

Aiyor, you think the rich will be stupid enough to share half of his "estate" with you? Think again lor.

"marry rich, he may cheat on you, your heart will ache but at least you'll get half of his 'estate'."

only a naive woman would think that by marrying a rich man, she is entitled to half the estate.

If you have read some recent cases, mostly the rich man will hide asset, transfer it, etc etc..

and even then in the court proceeding, they can spend a lot of time and deplete all your resources.

it's embedded sometimes... life has its stereotypes embedded in us...

u wonder why some guys prefer to go prostitutes and pay $150 each time, and why some men dun wanna commit.

some women have the most expensive 'privates' in the world... u have to spend your life supporting them with half your money. And it's a matter-of-factly thing. more than a number feel they deserve it...

i dun really see guys having this thought of marrying a rich chick and if divorce, getting richer for it nor needing financial support once separated. of cos if it's a mother, i nothing to say. but healthy working ladies having such thoughts... i seriously wonder why need to get married lor... will encourage more guys to stay single. no point really...

and we keep thinking china women are gold-diggers...

Frankly, it beats me how come there are still so many naive women among us despite a high literacy rate in the country. Will I get the excuse that "O, they never teach me this in school" next, I wonder...

slog

Hi ggoldfish,

I can empathise with u. I met my love when I was 18 after JC and he was doing his attachment in poly. After that, I went on to law school NUS but academically, he didn't do so well and was retained in poly for 2 years. So we ended up graduating at the same time. Of course, as a 1st yr lawyer, my pay was more than his by almost double. My family is well-off and his family is unfortunately, not well-to-do at all. But it never mattered to me...I encouraged him to get a degree which he did, and supported him every step of the way.

My mum objected (my dad is dead)from the start too. She said he was not good enough for me. But he was a very devoted, sincere and loving man. When things spoilt in the house, he would fix it for me, he would also fetch me everywhere and spend lots of quality time with me. I loved him with all my heart, all my soul...nay, I adored him enough to lie to my mother and defy her instructions not to spend my life with him. I have had my own thoughts of defiance - I thought I would run away and have a wedding with him - just the 2 of us in greece or a nice church on some island. Even if the church were empty, so long I can be with my love, it never mattered to me. My mum threatened to disinherit me, she said if I married him, I would not only not get her blessing, but all the monies in the family would go to my sister, or to charity. I would not see single red penny. She kept telling me that he was not good enough, no matter how hard he tried, he could never please her. She always found fault, simply cos he was poor and less educated and earned lesser. She could not see how hard he was trying, when I tried to tell her, she would go hysterical and curse me. She said if she had known I would "throw away my future", she would not have let me go to university. She said if I was going to marry the son of a saleswoman in a store, I might as well work in a store. I remember that he bought cakes and pastries for us, when he started work. But there was 1 day when I brought home the pastries from Delifrance, she threw it all in the bin and called it rubbish from rubbish. She told me again and again he is not our kind of people.

And that really hurt me. I spent many days wondering what kind of people I belong to. Does background make such a big difference? Does educational level make such a big difference? The killer blow my mother struck me was to ask me if I was being fair to my own children if I were to marry him. She said if I marry someone who is so stupid, our children will be stupid too. She said no one in his family even lives in private, all taxi drivers, nurses, low-paying jobs, not like 90% of my relatives on dad and mum side who stay in private and are millionaires. She asked me how I could let down the entire family, how I could risk having my children having such lousy genes. That really hurt. I felt it was a low blow. To me, nothing mattered except being with him...and for children, I trust that this is God's gift. It is God's will if my children with him are normal or not. Not his genes.

But this is all I lived with for a long long time. One hand, all this negativity from my mum, and sometimes it ate at me...so when my love and I quarrelled as couples are bound to do, I ended up asking myself why I had to put up with him. Worse, I even repeated some of my mum's words back at him - I told him he should be grateful I was with him. In anger, in rage, in my frustration, I hurt him so cruelly...because I ended up resenting him for not being able to be who I wanted...someone my mum would accept and not someone my mum would drive me half mad over. My mum also told me that all men are cheaters and said I might as well marry a rich cheat than a poor cheat. Worse, in the case of a divorce, since I earn almost double what he does, I will not end up with a cent and have to support the kids. Sigh.

Needless to say, the relationship didn't work out. Words once said, cannot be taken back. I was not strong enough to stand up firm against my mum and not let everything she said eat away at me. I blame myself wholly, not her.

He found someone else in the end...someone, who as most people would say, is more his type. And he told me he is happier with her and they seldom quarrel. He wanted to come back to me but I told him no. It wasn't because I didn't love him, but precisely because I did. I know I can never give him that complete acceptance and approval that she and her family can. For most normal men, I believe having approval and acceptance of the girl and her family is very important. Which man wants to be made to feel they are not good enough? Which man wants to feel unwanted and unappreciated no matter how hard he tries.

All I am sharing from my own painful experience is that it's not easy for both sides, the man and the woman, to be together happily without the approval of both familes or one family. I was young, well I am not over hill yet, but yes, I was once young and defiant and I believed with all my heart the two of us would make it. I am not saying it is impossible but the two of you need to be doubly strong and give double the commitment for that to happen. And you see, ggoldfish, a relationship needs two. Not just one. For me, I was strong to the end but weak in the sense that I let my mum's words get to me and hurt the relationship. Don't let that happen. For him, he was weak and he chose to give up right at the last stage. He told me he was tired, so tired of being unappreciated and my mum's diapproval and he could not stand the fact that I repeated what my mum said to him. even in anger. So as I said, please don't make the same mistake as I do. If you choose to take your boyfriend despite your parent's disapproval, when you are quarrelling, please don't throw all this in his face. And your boyfriend needs to be strong in his love for you not to give up despite not receiving the approval from your family. U need to work doubly hard at encouraging him and building him up.