Getting married... but homeless!

studentoflife

well but once again the poor ppl who bound to suffer will be in China. China the world no1 factory. they are over hauling with production factories killing each other with their low cost and high inflation.

now their no1 customer is down with a bad fever. they will tend to suffer and lugi.

the rich ah pek in china have enuff fats to last them past winter. but what about the poor folks who depend on the little $ they can get from their "mac" job to tahan the high inflation

Well, not just the China people will suffer when americans start to spend less. Singapore too and many other countries. Americans have always been big spenders.

I am not comparing which country is suffering more lah. Just a comment that when americans have to tighten their belts it is not good for many of us.

i'm just so glad that we're abt to experience something so extraordinary in our lifetime!

i hope everyone here contemplate hard before making their financial decisions... all the best!

ivy_tan77

powder: r u referring to the (maybe) coming 'great depression of the 21st century'? if it comes, everything will go haywire , including the cash u put under your pillow, may become worthless. only gold is good to tahan war and economic depression

frankly speaking i am not so pessimistic lah...

hehe i'm an optimist... nomatter wat happens, i'll find a good reason to smile... the roads ahead are gonna be tough for some. i'm just abit cheesed tat the pple who got us into trouble, are actually paid millions to do so, and further millions to leave after their screwup.

i've personally lost a 6-fig amount in the last 6months in the financial markets, but i'm glad i lost the money. if only for the most fundamental lesson of my life... tat the best thing to invest in - is still Myself. and that financial lost i suffered is nothing more than a school-fee i pay Life to remind me of my humble beginnings. come middle next year, i'll be going back to basics and looking for value properties to buy instead...

it might take awhile for sporeans to feel the extent of what's happening. cos there's always a lag... businesses will close, employees will be laid off, no doubts abt it. i just hope we can all hold hands and keep each other going... it might turn out a good thing cos we'd otherwise be still individually engrossed in our own world.

i can't wait to start looking at property again...!

mark78

" r u referring to the (maybe) coming 'great depression of the 21st century'? if it comes, everything will go haywire , including the cash u put under your pillow, may become worthless. only gold is good to tahan war and economic depression "

gold not good enuff. buy potatoes better.. can fill stomach

ivy_tan77

powder- glad u r optimistic and hope the world is as optimistic and stop panic selling soon. if not world wide depression may well become a reality. like what u said, property price is going to go down. even if there's no depression, in 6mth to 1yr time i believe property price will drop... those who suffered huge losses in the financial market may find their property loan too huge to handle (especially if they have bought during peaks in 1996-97 or 2006-08)... even for those who never buy during peaks, most people will be wary to enter the market... given new supply coming in 2009/10, and increasingly weak demand, property price should go down. but price will definitely not drop much... hope it drop from current level to maybe 2005 level, (not expecting 2003 level) then i will be actively hunting for bargains

onizuka- potato can spoil leh... u mean u want to convert your life savings into a warehouse of potato and... eat potato for the rest of your life? hehe

mark78

well potato can make into fries, chip and other food.

well maybe eating raw potatoes will remind me of those world war 2 days.. nothing to eat so dig potatoes to eat..damn chaim

hi ivy,

on pty, i'm actually bearish on the suburban and abit bullish on CCR like orchard/river valley/clarke-robertson quay areas... most of these properties have locked in on rental for next 2yrs anyway... well even if prices go down, i hope the banks aren't too quick to recall their loans, cos normally the average-earners will be the ones to be called upon first.

Yeah.. with all the financial turmoils, the roads ahead are indeed tough.... my heart esp. goes out to the many retirees who've lost life savings in bonds w/o much knowledge on such stuffs in the first place...

Have a feeling that the stocks might actually come off worse in the coming days... let's see.

the retirees thing is heart-wrenching... i try to put myself in their frame of mind and i couldn't take it... feel very hopeless and lost... really hope some exceptions can be made by our gov to help ease the situation for them... they should not have to start over in their golden years...

ivy_tan77

its not only the average-guy-on-the-street or retirees in singapore who were conned, even reputable credit rating agencies like standard & poors and moody's gave AAA ratings for these 'mini-bonds' (or 'pseudo-bonds' which i think is a more appropriate label) because of clever marketing/packaging tactics.. (the sub-prime loans with zero collateral were packaged within the good loans backed by good collateral, and the entire package marketed as a AAA 'bond' that 'promised' principal guarantee and 'fixed' annual returns...*crap* ...read the small prints!) local banks market these instruments base on CRA's credit ratings... so its not entirely the fault of the middleman...

ivy, i can't help but point out that the financial advisers who sells these bonds might have a part to play as well....

i've met ppl like that who doesn't know wat the heck he's explaining or trying to smoke me...

ivy_tan77

the real culprits have already earned their big paychecks and declared early retirement (aka 'bankruptcy')... i can imagine these people now relaxing in their big houses, spending their big cash, while watching this worldwide 'joke' they've created on TV

mark78

after reading the news. the chances for winning the case on "misrepresentation" seems low esp when i believe the misleading statement are not stipulated in the contract but just thru the adviser mouth. Thus the overall chances for the financial institution to compensate them is low.

more heart-wrenching stuffs -

some foreign workers (from China,India, Bangladesh) paid like $8k to rogue agents to come to s'pore for work, but ended up having no relevant skills and getting sent back with debts incurred...

comparatively to the retirees and foreign workers, my generation is so much better-off now.... i really wish some ppl can see beyond the small, tiny-miny problems in their own life..

the foreign workers issue is another one... actually wat makes me really sick is pple making money FROM the poorer folks who trusted them. similar to the old folks who put their money into blind faith.

well in a way it's blind faith and ignorance...

vios, yes, they may not understand their product well and they are selling..

But we are the one buying.. so if we don't understand, we shouldn't buy.

Too bad, a lot of uncle/retirees parted with their hard-earned money.. it is heart-wrenching stuff but we got to brace for the worst.

To be fair to all, I don't think there is any mis-representation at all. Those financial instruments are fine in itself .. and .. it is just the complicated inter-dependency ..

The sub-prime crises happened a while ago but apparently a lot of people are still nonchalant about it.. a lot of them have not seeing it coming to this.. and we all thought that the US banking system are more robust that it really is..

ivy_tan77

so a huge population of the americans have been spending money which they dont deserve, money which has been created out of these fantastic Wallstreet financial products, and the world (including government bonds, pension funds, etc) has been buying these products without the slightest idea of the ongoing scam...funding the american's spending for the past 5years.. guess who's the biggest winner here? look at the top american imports in recent years. do you see china and saudi arabia smiling in the picture?

actually there are books in the market, written a few years back abt the us market/financial products, which forewarned the likelihood of today's situation.

mark78

agreed on powder statement. greenspan also said that the subprime going to cause big issue. it happening.

ivy_tan77

the real help comes not by government injecting cash into banks, but by cash-rich countries starting its spending and releasing money into the ailing US economy. the enormous US-asia (china in particular) trade imbalance must be put to a stop (in which the US imports, consumes and borrows while asia export, save and lend)

For awhile, the imbalance between the US and asia benefits the economies on both sides. Asians get jobs in MNC firms, and their american customers get high-quality, inexpensive goods including clothing, cars, appliances, etc etc. The US also gets cheap capital from asia because the dollars that asians earn for their exports often end up invested in the bonds of the US Treasury and mortgage-finance companies such as Fannie Mae and Freddie Mac (yah, the retirees in singapore included). These purchases of US securities help keep interest rates low, which in turn helps fuel the housing boom and create new US jobs that replace the ones lost to imports

However, the mountain of US bonds that foreigners are accumulating means the US is going deeper and deeper into debt to fund its import binge, to the tune of about $3 trillion as early as 2005.

but where does the americans find money to spend?

to answer to their spendthrift nature, the clever wallstreet guys 'created' free spending money for them. for eg, today i buy a house at 500k, next month i sell it at 1mil, i earn 500k of spending money that way. the guy who bought my property at 1mil may not even have any money for downpayment, or any collateral to support his 1mil debt, but he enters the market 'freely' anyway (lack of regulations and control), with the thinking he can sell his property at 2mil few months down the road...and his bad debt was marketed as AAA investment-grade instruments to the asians and the rest of the world

and when its finally time to pay-your-debt, those who cant pay (and in fact most of them cant pay) were forced to foreclose their mortgage loan. with an increased supply of houses in US, the prices go down even further, and more foreclosures as a result (collateral not being able to support the loan)... and so on and so forth...

so u see how the current financial crisis evolved?

ivy, keep it going...i like what im reading.

Questions:

Now that the US and European govt have pumped in emergency funds into the financial markets, will this really benefit the sub-prime/banking sectors in the long run?

Will we see a global financial sequel of such negative magnitude?

cassafina

Hi pple,

I got a 5 room flat ( Direct Owner ) in Seng Kang for rent from july to November.

- Not through agent but directly from owner!
- Wintin 8 minutes walk from sengkang MRT

Please email me at [email protected] for details !