Furniture from JB

ding dong

Hi I am just wondering if furniture shopping will be cheaper in JB than Singapore since most of the furniture companies actually have their factories there. Anyone has experience in this? Can share-share?

doremon

HI Ding Dong,

I also planning to get furniture from JB becos i noticed that i can get better quality and more stuffs over there at the same price in SGP. Eg, if i spend $1k on dining table in SGP, i will only get 4 chairs but if I spend $1k in JB, i can get 6 chairs in the same pattern and quality. Designwise: dining table got more choices. For Sofa, quite the same over both sides. For TV console and Coffee table, more choices over in JB.

For bedroom set, more choice also. But do be ware of certain shops which upon knowing that u want to get furniture over to SGP, will try to mark-up the prices including the delivery and custom taxes. And some also requested for full payment.

Go and visit city square: American Homes. They have furnitures that suit chinese more. I don't mean to discriminate over here but I find some of the shops cater more for Malays.

The correct payment for furniture shopping in JB should be:
Custom tax: RM$200
GST: 3% (S$)
Delivery and installation: Free for some shops, some shops demand a fee.

HOpe the above info. help u.

ding dong

Thanks, Doremon. The tax and GST info is really useful!

So you still hunting for furniture? Do you think there is a concern about the quality of good deliver (like the IdealHome horror stories)? American Homes is reliable? Do you know if they have Celini there?

Anyone knows of other reliable furniture malls in JB to visit?

Pai Seh, a lot of qns hor....:p

heroin

Hi ppl,

I am also seriously considering getting my furnitures from JB, can anybody share their experiences with me?

Any recommendations?

HeroIn

berypig

i just went to JB on sat to buy furniture. I bought a big sofa (3 and a half + 2) seater , a divan set of mattresses (top mattress is king koil, bottom mattress is simmons), a tv console, a small coffee table and a small shoe rack for only RM4600 (with levy + gst included in). This shop that i went to does not charge any transport fee. They gave me 4 pillows and 2 bolsters.

Here's the shop if anyone of u is interested. It's located in JB.

The Colour Collection
6, 6-01, 6-02, Jalan Molek 1/12
Taman Molek, 81100 Johor Bahru.

berypig

Hi Blue Bear,

i took taxi from causeway to taman molek. think it takes abt 15 or 20 mins to reach there. The taxi fare is abt RM15 , of cos it varies according to each driver.

real angry

why still support their economy? Look at the water agreement between us n them!

With sporeans continue to support their economy, no wonder they so ya ya.

heroin

Hey real angry, i guess our main concern is our own pocket and not whether we are supporting their economy.

The bickering between us and malaysia will always be there so, WHY BOTHER!

berypig, can you invite me to your place and take a look at your furniture? :p

Heroin

ding dong

Thanks for the info,berypig.
Any other recommendations other furniture shops besides The Colour Collection?

Are their designs the zen type?

Thanks for whatever inputs.

starlight

Did anyone buy their furniture from Malaysia recently. We are thinking of buying ours there but dun know where the shops are located.

slam72

Hi heroin,

don't quite agree with your idea. Why buy furniture from JB where you can buy here in Singapore? Furthermore, have you ever consider the tax that is going to incur and the transport cost? What if they deliver the items to your places and few days later, the furniture found faulty and they will charge you more cost, have you consider that? Who knows, malaysia goods are not really worth considering. I don't quite like going to malaysia as I don't trust the people there.

try in Singapore, you can get better price elsewhere.

simon

Come on, a lot of furniture you find in Singapore are made in Malaysia. We are a globalized world, people buy things from all over the world! If you don't like to go anywhere, it's up to you, why bother to advise people where they should go?

violet

Sometimes it is not that I don't want to buy furniture in Singapore. But if a dining table set (with 4 chairs) costs RM300 and something similar in Singapore costs >S$300, it is not hard to see which I will choose. It all boils down to cost. And I agree with Simon that actually a lot of the furniture in Singapore are made in Malaysia and more often than not, they are 50% cheaper too.

aiya

I absolutely agree with Simon and Violet.

I think ultimately, our pocket is important. I mean, who is going to pity us if spend more than what we should.

I mean, we all need to save as much as we can for rainy days. Esp in times like this when retrench could happen anytime.

I been eyeing on JB furnitures even b4 i started my reno. If not becoz my boss dun allow us anyhow go out of SG, i will surely save alot of $$ on furniture.

Very sad to part with my hard-earned money.

I've got many friends who bought furniture from JB and after 3 years, their furniture is as good as new. Wherelse a few others who spent S$4K more than them, their furniture are starting to wear off. And they dun even have kids yet....

hersheys

Hi Aiya,

It's a pity that you can't get your furniture from JB cos of your company restrictions.

My dad bought the dining set from JB and I when I saw it, I fell in love with it. During the Xmas break, I went with him to look-see the furniture at the shop he got the dining set. I loved the furniture I saw at the shop... and I know I was definitely going to buy all my furniture (if possible) from JB when I get married and have a house.
Hehe... I will only ROM this Sept. Planning to get a flat (resale, near my parents) first... and then saving money for customary. >.<

starlight

Hi Hersehys

Can you share with us the address of the furniture shop that you and your dad went. I'm also trying to buy fr JB if possible.... much cheaper there....

Thks

aiya

Hi Hersehys and Starlight,

pretty envious of your can go JB to buy the furnitures.

and guess what? Lots of furniture from Silver River and Courts all exactly the same as JB's. The same bedroom set in JB cost RM$3800. But the same one in Courts cost S$3500. Phew.

I guess just my suay luck. next time if furniture spoilt, hope JB's furniture still going cheaper. coz nowadays, Jb's economy is catching up with SG. So things turn abit more ex than few yrs back.

hersheys

Hi Starlight,

I wanted to check with my dad last night, but it slipped my mind... will try to remember to check with him tonight. Not sure if he has the address... if I am not wrong, it is near Taman Sentosa... where the Giant supermart is... :p I know how to get there, but dunno address, hehe.

starlight

Hi Hersheys
I also got this pbm myself, know how to go but dun know the actual address. Heehee....

My dad is quite familar with the roads near those major supermarkets like Giant etc, so if you dun know the actual address, can just give us some road directions.

Hi Aiya
Perhaps you can just get some furniture from Spore first, then get the rest from JB later on. At least, can still save a bit. Or how about ordering thru the net?

matsu

any1 know is there teak wood furniture like those @ 'The Life Shop' &amp; 'Rainforest' ( dark stain zen style ) in JB? can recommend some of these shops with contact/address, thanks.

simon

Juz to share something I found out over the weekend. I was in KL and happened to turn to the mid page of The Star (A Malaysian newspaper) and guess wat, I saw a picture of a 2.5 seater micro fibre fabric furniture which I wanted to buy in White Collection, Marina Sq 2 weeks ago, going for RM1190. It was selling at White Collection for S$1199 and I was told it's on promotion! This is a very distinct piece as it's sort of
designer-styled and made of micro fibre fabric, so I can instantly recognize it. I can't believe the difference in price is more than 50%.

I took down the address and tel no of their outlet in JB and they are:
Rozel by JKL Furnishing,
L2-L4, Blk E,
Complex Lian Hoe,
Taman Sentosa.
Tel: 07-3358850

I'll be making a visit there sometime. So if any of you like the furniture from White Collection, you may wanna consider going there. I believe this Malaysian supplier supplied their furniture here.

hersheys

Hi Starlight,

Paiseh paiseh... the supermart there is Extra, not Giant. Hehe... haven't been to JB for 1/2yr liowz. :p

Asked my dad, he didn't have the address of the furniture shop, but he did give me the address of a restaurant which is in the same compound/building. Food there is good and cheap... the herbal chicken is yummy! It is Lot, L2-JA5, Southern City Hypermarket, No. 3, Jalan Suria 19, Taman Suria, 81100 Johor Bahru (restaurant's address). The furniture shops are on the 2nd level... by the way, dun expect the shops to be posh looking. :p

Oh, juz realised that I have a map that shows the location of the Extra Hypermart. Let me know if you need it.

starlight

Allo Hersheys

Thks for the direction. Will check with my Dad.

Hi Simon
Wow you are so lucky, can find the exact sofa that you like at half the price. anyhow, thks for sharing this tip.

akh

Hi Simon,

Is the price of RM1190 inclusive of custom tax and 4% GST and delivery charge? Thanks.

hersheys

Hi akh,

I have a feeling it hasn't included those charges (hehe, better wait for clarification from Simon)... but still, even after adding the "other costs", it'll still be cheaper than buying in Singapore. :D

simon

RM1190 does not include the custom tax and GST. I dunno if they charge delivery, probably will especially if ship across the causeway.

girlgirl27

Hi, anyone bought furniture from Malaysia recently? Thought of going there to take a look but not sure where they are located.

merydith

Hiyee, mind sharing the shops u recommend and what u have bought + price?

Would be great if someone knows if there's a mall there that has alot of those shops selling furnitures? I think its easier because I do not need to hop one place to another and find out that the shop has closed down.

dappy

just wanted to share an info with u. I found out abt this furniture shop which sells nice and modern furniture, smilar to those furniture shops at IMM and Marina Sq and at a lower price.
It's a small shop but you can check their catalogue. they got many new designs dining table, wardrobe, bed frame, mattress and tv console etc. I ordered most of my furniture from them.

You can visit them at

Name of shop: S &amp; C Furniture Dynamic
Addr: Blk 338, AMK St 32,
#01-1647, (S) 560338.
Tel: 65525208
(Look for Melvin)

cookies_gal

Hi dappy,

Do you know if this furniture shop does custom-made furniture as well? Eg, use an existing design available in their catalogue but customised to your dimensions, color &amp; even material (plywood instead of compressed wood)

dappy

hi cookie's gal,

B'cos i got their furniture based on the design &amp; dimension in the catalogue. But I rem the lady boss telling me they do take measure for kitchen cabinets so maybe they do custom-make furniture. You can call them up to check.

need_help2

Hi all;
just to add to jasmine said. Anymore recommendations from JB? Especially those w dark coloured/solid furnitures eg. zen-ny stuffs

actually the furnitures from jb are much more cheaper than here. about few months ago, i was scanning thru the furnitures @ "angsana" and came across this marble top w design dining table. i couldnt remember exactly the price but when i saw the same table @ imm, the price was the same except one in RM$ and S$.

ashly

My sister is residing in Malaysia and she deals with furniture that is in dark in shade. She said her own dining table is made of solid wood with US-imported table top (I think it's veneer or something like that). Do drop me a line if you're interested to get furniture from Malaysia with discounted prices. Yes, according to her, furniture there is much cheaper. She was hopping mad when she knew that my fiance spent close to a thousand sing dollar on a dining table.

ahfaye

yea went to taman molek and saw SAME furniture set that i saw at Brighton for instance. but the price is much cheaper in JB... sigh i have got my set from SG@!!!

ashly

Hi gals and guys,

I must offer my sincerest apology. I've checked with my sister and she told me she's only dealing with wholesale in bulk. She doesn't sell furniture as a retailer. I'm really sorry. She's my sister but we don't know each other's field of work very well. She scolded me for getting an expensive dining table (in her opinion) and said she could get very cheap ones for me so I thought I could help her clinch some deals here and there not knowing she doesn't need them.

I'm really sorry!

rosel

<font color="aa00aa">hi liamliam,

i bot some of my furniture from JB last year. I had to pay 5% GST (in RM), RM200 levy, RM60 for custom form on top of the furniture price. i was exempted from paying delivery charges of RM300 because i purchased above RM6000.</font>

pannie

Hi.

I would like to find out whether anyone could reccommend any reliable &amp; good furniture shop in JB to me. I am currently sourcing for furniture for my new home.

i think its not worth the risk.
they could be dange during transportation,
difficulty in co-ordination etc.

alice916

I had ask one of the furniture shop from Kulai (johor), if i purchased more then RM2000 they will waive delivery charge, but need to pay 7% GST. But they didn't mention about the levy fees and other's charges..
This weekend will need to verify again when back to kulai.

alice916

Hi, i had check another furniture shop from kulai ( johor) which have delivery to singapore. They need charge the delivery ( if full lorry it's Rm700 as i remember, less items less delivery charge, start from rm200 onwards), Custom fees Rm100, install fess RM50+ GST.
Then we went to another shop which's we had ask before, purcharce more then RM2000 free delivery fess and levy fees.
We had bought 3.5ft dressing table, tv console with hall and display decoration- 10ft, tv console 5ft( for mastebedroom), shoe cabinet, dining set with 6 chairs,coffee table.totaly RM4600 ++ included gst.
WOW, we thot we only able to pucharce 2000+.. so supprice that we purcharce more then rm4k..

Sofa and masterbed platform with matress we bought from sg.