Furama Riverfront Singapore

lynda_low78

Hello magical

You are so pretty and the gowns so nice... Which bridal shop u go to?? So nice... Too bad I cannot change mine... Jus sign up with French Bridal on Sunday...

Currently not much preparation on the wedding stuffs except my new home which is completing end of this month... Will need to do a lot of cleaning and washing this Christmas in my new house... haha

Selest has sent me the contract but is checking with her on a few points so waiting for her repsonse... Most probably will meet up with her again next mth cos my hubby works shift so it is pretty hard for us to coordinate the timing...

magic_alz

hi delphine!
in the end my WG is MTM..haha..its the one in my PS album..
my BS is Bridal Zone..

hi lynda!
thank you! =)
i think french bridal is not bad..heard they're quite popular...dont worry..=)

wow so fun! i still cannot get my flat! want those at bt gombak..but the last WIS my Q no. was too far back..sob sob... now still waiting n waiting... where's your new flat at?

are u getting venus or jupiter room?
dunno if the new invitation cards are in yet...i need to get some samples coz i'm printing the inserts early.. need to know the measurements for the cards b4 can print..haha..

little_sweet

hi magical, can send me ur pic, me eager to c ur mei mei pic, can email me at [email protected]. Tks

lynda_low78

Hello Magical

Not sure if we have tried the selection for the same area.. My FH & I tried for Bukit Gombak then Redhill and Tiong Bahru.. We failed to get any... Heard from my frends who tried in the last WIS for these areas that those flats that are still available are of lower level which are left over from the previous WIS...

Finally my FH & I decided on Jurong West... We just bought our flat this year in June during the WIS....

You have any areas in mind tat u would like to apply for... Seems like nowadays not much places... It is either Punggol, Sengkang or Jurong West... The others are all quite competitive...

lynda_low78

Hello Magical

My FH & I have treid Bukit Gombak previously but failed to get a unit... We have then tried Redhill & Tiong Bahru but failed too... Finally we decided on Jurong West and has gotten a flat in June this year... My new flat is completing soon..

You have any areas in mind cos nowadays is either Punggol, SengKang or Jurong West that has more choices...

sun__cloud

Can anyone give us recommendation of the menu? Can the dish be inter-changed? We intend to replace the shark's fin. Does anyone know what FRF replace the sharks fin with?

Thanks!!!

sandsand

wah.. Jo, dot know if can change shark's fin or not leh.. We're swapping some of our dishes, but if i am not wrog, both menus have sharks fin right? What u intend to replace shark's fin with?

magic_alz

hi lynda,
yeah..so hard to find something good these days..its either too expendsive or too out of the way..
did you get jwest the 98X blks? we went to see those flats...found that they were quite nice..peaceful n quiet..but didn't like the fact that the foreign workers dorms were just opp..plus we feel its too far out from anywhere..so skipped it loh..

think now will just wait for gombak..if dont have then will just moce into in law's place..

hi jo!
hm..i think sharks fin can change..but have no idea what they'll change it to..maybe you can give them an idea of what you'd like n see if they are able to accomodate your request?

lynda_low78

Hello Magical

Nope, we got the ones nearer to Jurong Point (within walking distance).. It is at 68x blks... Think that is the only blks around JW that is still available and near the MRT...

BTW, have you thought of getting resale??? Maybe the chances is higher cos nowadys those flats that are still available in teh prime area are left with units that is of lower floor, if I am not wrong...

sun__cloud

Hi Ribbons,

Which package are you taking? I just wonder if anyone replaced their shark's fin. I've not asked about the substitute but from the forum I see people replacing with Lobster/ Fish maw soup.

Hi Magical,

Thanks. Will check with the hotel...

magic_alz

hi lynda!
we're not considering resale coz of budget.. also coz hubby is part time housing agent, he feels that's its more worth it getting a first hand flat coz we're planning to upgrade soon..if we buy a resale flat then profit margin is much smaller.. so no point..

oh the 68x ones are good! location is good.. but dont think will be able to get anything there liao..
alos we both work in bt batok, bt panjang area..so that's why we feel jurong is too far out for us...

hi jo!
no prob..=)
have u been to see their ballroom yet?

delphine

Anyone had/going to have a wedding banquet on weekday?

How's the response?

Had got some of the aupicious dates from MIL but all on weekdays... really worried that the turn up rate is not promising...

Personally felt that weekend should be better...

sandsand

Delphine: Got good got bad lah..
Weekday: Much cheaper, but cos the next day will most prob be a working day/ school day some may not come or leave early lor.

Weekend: More ex, but cos its weekend, pple dont have to work, ur guest and ur fiends can enjoy themselves more.

For me and hubby, we would prefer our friends to enjoy themselves and not worry about work/ school the next day..

delphine

Ribbons:

My package at furama is the same price for both weekdays & weekend. so it would be more worth it if it's on the weekend...

But MIL said it's our wedding shouldnt care about others whether is it convenient for them..

but I think the turn up rate wouldnt be good lor & feel bad for my helpers too if they had to help till so late yet next day still need to work & now trying to change her mindset..

magic_alz

hi delphine n ribbons!
mine's on a monday..
hm..initially planned on a sunday, but felt that on sunday, next day also got work, on monday, next day also got work.. so no diff in this way, but BIG diff in price!
anyway, for me it'll be the first monday of the sch hols, so my colleagues will be free but no one's going on hols yet..
hubby' colleagues also many are working on own time..so decided on monday dinner loh..

here;s some of the pros for weekdays i read somewhere..

1. ppl can just go down after work.
weekend they have to specially dress up go out n might have no-show if they last min feel lazy to go out ..
they also have to plan their time around your wedding..

2. weekday nights less alcohol consumed so more $$$ saved

3. weekday is cheaper for us, but usu ppl will still bao usual amt of $$$ as on weekends

4. you get the cheap thrill of knowing you can sleep late the next day n not have to go to work on a weekday..haha...

but of course in order to lower no-show rate, you have to be mindful of who u're inviting, n also to call up n double confirm their attendance like a week before.

sandsand

Delphine: No offence to ur MIL, but if i'm ur guest and it is very inconvenient for me, i dont think i will go leh..Have wedding dinner is to share your joy with your friends and relatives what, so its for them that u have this dinner right.. ANd if its incovenient for ur guest, then sure got low turn out one leh. And what u say about ur helpers is very true.. u get to enjoy ur marriage leave/ AL, they dont.

Magical: I TOTALLY LOVE UR 2nd POINT!!! Lesser alcohol means more money saved and lesser chances of sabo!!!

delphine

Magical:

Ya i agree that it's true if there is a diff in price for weekdays & weekend

But my packages's is the same for weekdays & weekends. Moreover, my package include free flow beer.. so no diff if they consume more...

think got to sit down with my FH & think about it...

magic_alz

haha..ribbons,
yeah thats a very impt point..coz its $$$$!!

my helpers very poor thing..coz my wedding on 2 days..sunday tea ceremony, then monday banquet..
but i spoke to them, they were supportive of me having a monday dinner..

hi delphine,
yeah think its impt that should talk to your MIL..but before u talk to her, must know what u n your hubby wants first..no point talking if you're still not sure..

oh yours is same for weekdays n weekends ah? then its easier to settle..like what my FIL says, 'just pick a day where its convenient for everybody can already'..
although got free flow of beer, but don't forget you stll gotta bring your own wine..etc..

frankly speaking i also thought very hard abt deciding to have sunday or monday dinner..i guess it was easier for me to decide coz my colleagues are on holiday n most of his colleagues are working on own time own target basis..
plus our relatives not too many, n i know they will turn up no matter on weekday or weekend..

i suppose you really have to look at it from all angles la...

sandsand

Yah lah.. If price is the same for both days, then just choose the better option lor. Only thing to settle in ur case would be the difference in perception of 'better' or 'convenient' day..
discuss with ur hubby first, agree on something. Then go talk to ur MIL.. or get ur hubby to talk to his mother..

For me, if both same price, then i'll go for weekend cos moe wu hua!! =)

me wanted to have on two days also, cos i wanted my friends torelax and enjoy, rather than busy about like a ant in one day.. but yet, if we hold it over two days, they have to work for two days..

vivo

Dear all brides-to-be,

I would like to alert you on the card printer, T-Dragon. Please note that they have service problems and also they are not IT savvy.

I had the experience of after putting the deposit, the sample card was not ready as promised. The boss which handled our business did not inform us that they couldn't make the minor amendments themselves and therefore, could not print. She 'disappeared'- as in she could not be contacted on the mobile phone. She didn't reply to sms as well.

The entire printing was delayed by a week. In the end, we decided to cancel the order and get back our refund.

Well, some may think that at least she refunded the deposit. But I can tell you that it is definitely unpleasant to waste time sitting down with the printer to discuss printing details etc and end up being delayed on the printing. We even told her from the start that we are running a little tight on timeline for the printing, yet this happened.

When we went to another popular printer also mentioned on sg brides forum, after i briefly mentioned the problems we experienced with T Dragon, right away, the printer knows who it is.
So, well?? Case close... nothing much to say...

Just want to share with those who are thinking of using them...you may want to schedule your printing at least 1-2 wks earlier in case this happens.

delphine

Hi Ribbons & Magical,

Thanks for the advise.. will really had to talk to my MIL... hehe personally think weekend more wu hua....

magic_alz

hi violet..
aiyo... but u managed to settle the problem?
sigh..its these kind of things that brides on a tight schedule DO NOT need...

anyway i'm not planning to send my cards to a printer..will print the inserts myself..going to buy those transcluscent papers n print in black ink..i tried one n it turned out looking not bad!

thanks for sharing this with us!

hi delphine,
no problem...=)
yeah since yours is same price of cos weekend more wu hua!! ;-D

sandsand

Eh... what photos.... why i no have... i want to see too!!! Send to me can Magical and seabreaker?? Need inspiration for my PS too.. send to me please? Anyone else got photos? [email protected]

Magical: where u plan to buy the translucent paper? Mind sharing that contact with me? Cos we're going to do our own printing too. i designed my own invites.

icywave

Hi Everyone!

Long long time not here. Been very busy with my wedding..

I want to let you all know that Seles & the banquet staffs have all been really helpful & simply wonderful with their service! Hubby & I hav completly no complains about FRF. U gals have made the rite choice of holding yr special day there. Haha..

The hotel's staffs service were so good that even our helpers for our wedding could not helped but praised that their service's really good!

Comments for their food were all positive too. No one feel that the shark fins were diluted. Food portion sufficient - everything's great!

Cheers everyone!

sun__cloud

Hi Magical,

We went to see the ballroom 2 weeks ago. Saw the setup in the Jupiter room and the Venus room and find it quite nice....

vivo

Hi Magical,

Thanks. We have sent the cards to another printer, now waiting for them to be ready. Hope the printing quality would be good and everything will run smoothly from there.

vivo

hi Icywave,

Thanks for coming in to share. Sorry, but... When was your big day? Selest was there on the actual day to oversee things?

Happy for you that all went well and your guests are delighted.
Hope so for mine too.

vivo

hi Icywave,

Thanks for coming in to share. Sorry, but... When was your big day? Selest was there on the actual day to oversee things?

Happy for you that all went well and your guests are delighted.
Hope so for mine too.

magic_alz

hi seabreaker!
i just viewed your pics...you're so pretty!
the photos look very natural too..=)
which BS did you go to?
i haven't gotten my photos back..think will only get them in mar-apr..sigh...must wait so long...
=(

hi ribbons!
i'm just gonna get them from popular..haha...easiest...but i think bras basah have those, although i haven't been there to see yet..my friend said papers are all about that price..cheap also can save a few dollars only.. so just gonna get from popular loh..
wow u designed your own cards! at first i also wanted to..but after seeing the new invitations FRF has, i changed my mind..can take theirs..so just gonna print inserts loh..

hi jo!
yeah i also fell in love with venus the moment i saw it...i was like..'wah...ok. this is IT!'..=)

hi ivywave!
wow so fast your big day over liao ah..! seems like not so long ago we were talking about it..
glad you had a wonderful time! n i feel really fang xin that our big day is in their hands...

hi violet...
yeah best to forget bad experiences...after all its your wedding...everything should be happy-happy... =)

sandsand

Magical: Popular got meh.... dont think so leh. unless u planing to buy those that go by weight kind. I think those shops at brash basar will have them in bulk. (as in sold in a pack rather than loose at popular)

I'm designing the invites for my church reception.. Dinner still use FRF one..
Oh, my friend just gave me her church recep invite. Very nice.. There was one portion that had a scissors printed out and i was wondering "huh? reception must have coupon one ah?" then i realised its for guest to cut out and keep as a reminder in their wallet! the portion to be cut out has all the details and is card size. Very unusual, but i think very ex. cant afford. Mine is going to be simple.

magic_alz

hey ribbons!
i went to popular today, n counted out one by one..i wanted 250 but they only had 150..coutn like siao n legs were almost breaking (it near near to the ground shelf)..then the lady told me they have another brand in PACKAGE!! ARGH!!!
its packaged in 25 pcs, per pack is 3.90..so i just grabbed 9 packs..so total i got 225 pcs..the ones i counted out were at 1.50 per 50 grams (abt 9 pcs), so if i times its actually cheaper..but coz they only had 150 pcs (per piece ones), i just took the packaged ones loh..it think difference about 2 plus dollars only la..

wah quite a good idea! the cut-out portion...but who will actually cut it out?

hi janis!
i havent gotten my photos yet..but thos i took are on my multiply site..they're only available to multiply account users..u hae an accoutn? can register for free at www.multiply.com

sandsand

Magical: I'm sorry but i couldnt help laughing at what happened to u!!!!! So cute lah!! So farnie!!!!!!! *ok ok ... compose myself..*

See.. so much better right, cheaper and u dont have to worry about a few of them being damamged just cos someone b4 u mis handled them..

DUnno who will cut it out, but i think it was a very nice gesture of the couple to do that.Considerate to their guest, so they dont have to carry around the whole card.. But i wouldnt cut. too nice, cant bear too..

magic_alz

ya la...so stupid right!
n the thing was, i asked the lady if she sold it in package coz i wanted 250 pcs before i went n counted the papers, then she say don't have, whatever they hve is on the shelf..so i say ok loh. then AFTER i counted nicely i went n asked her if its charged by weight or per piece (coz got a sign say its 45cents per A4 piece; the 1.50 per 50 grams was for the envelopes), then she say 'wah so many pcs sure by weight.if per piece very bo hua'..then she paused a while then continued' actually if u want so many we've got another brand that's packaged in 25 pcs for 3.90'.. then she happily brought me to the place while saying'aiyo sorry ah just now i very busy so i forgot that we have this too'... wah lau...

yeah anyway, back to the point, its now sitting nicely waiting for me to print it...=D

magic_alz

hi ribbons!
yeah..just use the FRF ones loh..i'm gonna print the words on those papers then tie it to the cards with gold string..those are selling at popular too..

seabreaker

Hi magical,
Me not pretty lah..don't be misled by the photos. My BS is Golden Horse Awards Tampines branch. Their service is good and I'm quite satisfied with them so far. By the way, you have some photos in multiply accounts? May I know how to view them?

Hi ribbons,
I have just sent my pics to you.

magic_alz

hi seabreaker!
its true! really very pretty!
my friend's sis also a GHA bride, but i dunno if she's from yishun or tampines..

u have a multiply account? can register at www.multiply.com for a account..then can add me in. its something like friendster, except this has unlimited photo storage..

my user ID is fionazs

seabreaker

Hi magical,

Me really not pretty coz people always said I look prettier in photos but not the real person..sob. You will understand if you happen to see me..you will be disappointed..hee.

Okay, will create a multiply account this instant. Having more and more accounts after I start surfing singaporebrides. ;)

seabreaker

Hi icywave,
When did you get married?! No wonder we did not hear from you for such a long time! Glad that everything went smoothly for you on your wedding day. My wedding is coming too..in another 3 weeks time..crossing my fingers and toes, everything will run smoothly for us too.