Furama Riverfront Singapore

magic_alz

dairy farm is off bt panjang..
do u live near this area? if so easier to explain..coz this place has no road signs, n must walk in a sandy path for abt 10 mins..but the end of the walk is all worth it..i know abt this place coz of my geog field trips..=)

exit BKE at dairy farm..there's a path just before a sign that says "MOE Adventure camp (or somethign like that)". the path is blocked off by a barrier, but u can just climb over it n follow the narrow pathway..
erm..i don't know how else to explain leh...

sandsand

Welcome back Seabreaker.
The shop that i usually go to is inside the extension wing. A small one.. but good service. I usually look for a malay girl called Adek. (dunno if thats how u spell it but its pronouced like that), Went twice she wasnt around (never make appt) but her colleagues are just as good too. I regret not going there and going to re* ear*h instead. There is another nails salon outside (quite visible one and very open) dont go that one. not very good.
Ramon: u will have a choice of 30 pics, but instead of using power point to present, its more like a show kind of thing..more smooth transition lah. I'm not totally sure, but thats what i think lah. Montage refers to a collection of photos. I didnt get that..

silversky

Thanks all for ur well wishes! =) It has agin been some time since i last came in so a lot of catching up to do..haha...I will try come in more often..hee

Hi Ribbons: it's really hard on ur fingers and toes...shd ask them compensate for the pain u suffered and the blood u lost!!
Yes,,,celbrating both days means more special days to look fwd in future to spice up a bit of life... =) Of course can receive more presents but meaning u need to spend more too..hee

Hi Magical: I went to holiday Plza in JB...i cant remember what the shop name but it is the first shop along that stretch of mani/pedi shops. I just walk and ask the cost and settled for the one that provide the best offer cos i feel that the paints no matter how good quality is, it wont last long. As long as it can stay nice on that special day then i am happy..haha...it turned up to be very nice so phew...hee
if u going down to JB then must do man...dun waste the trip! =)

Opinion of buying gown online...I feel quite a risk leh...i still like to visit the shop and try it to see if i look nice on it..some clothes may look nice but when put on may not suit u...very dependent on ur skin colour i feel...it is just what i feel la..hee

Hi Joanne: Welcome to the gang,,,

Hi Janis:When u go for food trasing u must give them ur true comments leh so that they will improve on it on ur AD.Must tell us how they taste k?

oh no....any night club? i think the tiannamen is bad enough...it almost affect my decision to sign with them...we have no chance to turn back. However, till now i am still happy with decision i made..haha..hopefully the new club will not make me feel otherwise...
There is also one thing i dun like...smoke smell quite strong at lobby....they shd have a air refresher or those air filters installed somewhere la...most high class lobby has very clean smelling lobby...this is one area they need improvement

magic_alz

yeah i also realised smoke smell at lobby quite strong, but coz i come from the car park, there got no smoky smell..i think its ppl from outside smoking so the place near the glass doors smell loh..but from recep onwards got nothing already..

okay if i can i'll go n take a look at the shops at hol plaza..will DEF do mani pedi n maybe even hair treatment while i'm there..haha..but poor hubby will have to wait for me..

hm..that's why until now i haven ordered yet loh..the colour def suits me, coz i already tried on that colour at my BS..its 2 tones of pick..on top light baby pink, then fade to a brighter shade of fushsia pink..that 's what i like..coz i think i'm too fair, if whole gown fushsia pink i;'ll look gaudy..but this got 2 tones...very pretty!!
n the cut i also tried on at my BS...
i'm just waiting for my friend to decide if she wants to get anything from that site (her wedding's this year)...if not hten i'll go ahead n order..will feedback to u if anything..hubby says use debit card safer..=) i agree too! got no money for those hackers to steal..haha

sandsand

Hi destineey.. U just came back from ur bangkok trip right? FUn eh..

I agree about the tianamen.. When we went there for the first time, i told my FH that i dont think i would want to hold the dinner there cos of the club. Then when we went back to sign, he had to remind me," U sure ah. u were the one who didnt like the hotel cos of the hotel".. But i think the hotel and service provided convinced me lah. In any case, my dinner is not going to be held at the club what.

Now that u mention it destineey, the lobby does quite smell a bit. its all their rich indonesian guests that are smoking and cannot tell them to not smoke mah.. Hey, would anyone know if the reception area outside the grand ballroom, if smoking is allowed there? I dont think i would want guest to smoke there.

sandsand

sigh.. why is my name always appearing at the achives? Always so accurate meh? Alwaysthe last entry. Haha.. now i shall be know as scarlet RIB!

cpchew

Hi Ramon
Photo montage - 35pcs of photos into a slide show. Nowadays, people have it shown before the entry of the bride & groom.

seabreaker

Hi magical,
I'm a direction idiot..not familiar with most of singapore roads except where me and my fh stay..hee. Will update my fh about this place and show him your description since he's the driver. Thx for the info!

Hi ribbons,
Ya hor, you are very lucky to post at the end of the thread each time. ;)
I have checked the "Relax nails and Spa" namecard and saw Adek's name on it..definitely will give it a try. By the way, how long does it take for a classic mani & pedi done? Do I have to pay extra for parafin wax and foot scrub? Sorry, this is the 1st time I'm getting a mani & pedi done so would like to know the details.

magic_alz

ribbons,
haha..hey maybe u should get FRF to deisgn a new theme "ribbons".that'll explain why your name is always at the archives..
hm..i'd like my theme to be 'magical'..=D

seabreaker,
no prob...the place can be quite hard to find if u're not familiar with it...like i said, its not open to public n i only knew abt it coz of my goeg field trips..

erm..if it helps, that was the place where the rock climber fell n died..doesn't sound very encouraging hor? heh...but its a really lovely place..

sandsand

Sea breaker: A mani and pedi "should" take about 45 mins each. To be safe, give urself min 2hrs, cos sometimes u may not like the colour, or feel that some parts not well done, u'll have to spend time doign it again. And yes, u'll have to add extra for those two. Normal mani and pedi would have soaking, removal of cuticles, shaping, polishing. Sometimes they add in foot scrub/ salts, which is extra. Up to u if u want.

MAgical: I dont mind if they have a theme with all diff sorts of ribbons.. But i think i will want to go with destineey's theme...All full of Lee HWah's Destinee Diamonds!!! hee..
Urs sincerely,
RIBS.
Hee..

vivo

Hi Joanne and all the beautiful babes.

I signed up for FRF as well at Venus Ballroom. Can anyone let me know how many tables you gals taking for Venus Ballroom? Confirming guest list.

Joanne, is yours Venus or Jupiter Ballroom?

Thanks..and btw, a slim body on the way to AD can begin with choice of healthy food options for your diet. Try it. :D

buffalo

Hahahaha... Thanks ribbons. I din know that FRF provides the 30pcs photo montage. Hmmm...
Btw, any of you ladies went for the food tasting? = )

icywave

I'm opting not to have food tasting eh.. Coz heard too many stories that the food on the "food tasting day" & the actual day taste different. Esp for my sis case, the food she had for food tasting so good that both families were marveling abt it. But on her actual day, the food's so bad that all guests ate little & gave only bad feedbacks abt the food.

So it's like no point having the food tasting?

magic_alz

wow...all the guests will be blinded.. n think they'll all be very happy with thewedding favours at that theme...1 destinee diamond each! =)haha..

hello violet!
welcome!
i have 30+2 tables for venus..hope i won't need to increase tables when my time comes! when's your AD?

icywave,
yeah..my hubby was saying , coz we have 500 food vouchers ma..then we can opt to have food tasting or vouchers right? he says better if we take the vouchers coz if no money can go have good food for free..haha..but my mum wants to have food tasting ley...so how? anyone has any comments on this?

hi icywave,welcome back!
sobsob..i'm stuck in the middle of reality...work, work, work, deadlines, deadlines...marking, marking, ,ARGH!
looking forward to 2day 1 night stay in JB next mth for our 1 year ROM anniversary plus bday celebrations!

buffalo

Icywave, congrats on your ROM. I can only imagine to be so so wonderful. Can imagine the beach, the wind and love in the air. Hehehehe.. Btw, your Sis had her food tasting in FRF too?

grievance_bride

Hi Destineey

Sure, i will let you guys know the outcome for the food tasting on this coming Sunday...

Hi Magical

I got the same number of tables as you...30 + 2...Which menus are you choosing?

magic_alz

hi janis!
i haven't looked at the menus yet coz my AD still a long way away..

violet,
why are u apprehensive? have u heard bad reviews?

hope u two have fun tastin the food!
i still haven't decided if i should take the food tasting session or take the vouchers..hm..

partner

Hi Violet,
I am holding my AD in the jupiter room. Cos i cant meet the min requirements (35 tables) for Venus ballroom.

If the foods @ FRF bad?????

icywave

Halo everybody!!!

No wori no wori! My sis's case only taught me tat food-tasting or not before the actual day don't mean much. But her wedding dinner not at FRF so no wori no wori! Hahaha...

In fact, I heard gd comments abt FRF food, tats one of the main reason I choose FRF coz my parents & relatives very particular abt food.

I wld prefer the voucher personally. Tink its great to treat my frds or family with the voucher. But m hesitating coz my dad seems to be in favor of having food tasting.

Hmn.. but tink we will opt for the voucher moz likely.

sandsand

I'll go for the food tasting. On the actual day, i wouldnt get to eat the food that i paid for and I dont like the feeling of "Oh, the food at the wedding was nice/ bad" How to tell if i never eat? Besides, makan time's always a good time for bonding, be it with future in laws or friends.

silversky

Magical..think the smoke is from inside..the cafe area is open for smoking...shdnt have allow that since they trying to follow higher class hotels..

scarlet RIB> No la..it's not ma..i didnt go Bangkok...hee...u confused liao is it? Maybe we shd feedback to the hotel management not to allow smoking inside or get them to install air refresher or at least do something with the ventilation if they wanna allow smoking..
I think 2nd floor onwards not allowed to smoke so u need not be worried abt that =)
Yeah to Destineey's team..then we can have diamonds as favours to guests..haha

Icywave & Magical> Think it is good to have food tasting..just treat it as a 2 family gathering and it is a good time to let the parents from both sides interact a bit...hee =)While i was typing this, i saw RIB msg...i agree with her =)

jassy

Hi Joanne,
im new in this thread. Im thinking of chosing FRF too, wat do you think of the Jupiter Ball Room? Care to share with me?

icywave

Hi Hi Jasmine!

Im using Jupiter too, same like Joanne. Personally, I quite like the room compared to other hotels. I tink the room give a nice & cosy feeling. Juz nice - not too big nor small if you have abt 25 tables.

Guess the moz important tin is whether you can accept the pillars in the room or not. For me, Im ok with the pillars (less grand) coz Im seriously into cosy style and not the grand style for my wedding dinner.

Have u been to c the room personally? with the set up? I've seen it with the full set up less than 2mths ago & I do like it

magic_alz

hm...seems like food tasting not a bad idea loh...after all i like the sitting down to a nice chinese dinner idea..heh...

dunno if they'll have new themes next year ley..
anyone has pictures of the venus ballroom in wedding set-up? can share? i havent seen their actual set-up yet..n hubby thinks its too soon to go n see coz might have new themes next year..

icywave

Ya true magical.. I believe they wld have new themes next yr. Haha... dun b too anxious okie.. stay calm huh

For me, I tink using the vouchers to give my frds a treat more fun. Imagine eating the good food at The Square Restaurant wif a whole bunch of frds - free!! (coz have voucher mah) Haha.. tats my idea of fun.

Chinese dinner only can have 10person max & my family & hubby's family often have dinner gathering at restaurants tats y food tasting dun appeal to us.

partner

Hi jasmine,

Lik wat Icywave mention, the rm is quite nice & comfortable. Although i yet to see the full set up of the rm.

So have you decided to take up the package in FRF?

silversky

hmm...HEard they changing the wallpaper too...hopefully it will be brand new when we use... More concern with wedding favours but i believe it will definitely be better than the current few they have

Oh ya, if anyone has the pics of ballroom set up do ahre with me too! thanks in advance!! =)

grievance_bride

Hi Destineey

Yes, they will be changing the wallpaper....Are there any new wedding favours coming up? My wedding favour is the current red heart and tiny bear......

magic_alz

hehe..i'm kan cheong spider ma..=D
oh they're changing the wallpaper? hope they dont make too drastic a change...coz i kinda like the old warm rustic feeling of the venus ballroom..

jassy

Hi Joanne & icywave,
thanks for your precious opinion for me... Ive yet to view the ballroom, maybe will be dropping by this week... such a big headache for me to choose the venues for the banquet... Im thinking of Plaza Park Royal or Furama Riverfront... Sighz.. Any opinion for me gals?

grievance_bride

Hi Jasmine

Do you mean Plaza Park Royal at Beach Road? I understand that the dishes are from Si Chuan Dou Hua Resturant. Not bad.....

Firstly, are you looking more at ambience or foods?

jassy

Hi Janis,

actually am looking more on the dollars & cents & the food... went to FRF this afternoon to look at their Jupiter Ballroom, actually as wat joanne & icywave said is really quite cosy... still considering which hotel to book...

icywave

Hi Jasmine

Plaza Parkroyal was one of my choices previously. Did go & view the place too. However for me, I find their ceiling very low - mking the room feel small & cramp, thus I don't like it. I'm scared of the "being trapped" feeling. Their room mk me feel like sardine fish in a can. Thus my not selecting them. I met with their coordinator Yvonne, she's like quite commercialised too. She actually asked me "How keen I am to tk up their wedding dinner pkg? If you are really keen then we'll touch on what our hotel can offer you."

I find their hotel lobby very small too, unlike FRF which gimme a kinda grand feeling.

But all the abovementioned is my personal feelings lah.. nutin against them but juz for your own reference.

jassy

Hi Icywave,

thanks for ur opinion... I did talk to the one of their coordinator Vincent, he's quite commercialised as wat you said too... Im wondering is all the coordinators the same there?

sandsand

Hi Jasmine.
I can't speak for other coordinators cos i havent met them before, but i think our coordinator,Selest was quite professional, not commercialized at all. Of course she asked for our budget first, then from there she could recommend. But she was not pushy, she was quite friendly and was very willing to offer us suggestions on the package and all..

She was really friendly (no other coordinator in other hotels offered us drinks, she did. Other hotel's coordinators only talk about the dinner and money, she offered us a drink first then talk)
We went to Bridal Concept once, the BS in marina square. After telling us the package,they asked us for our decision. Being a big amt of money, we said we wanted to discuss first. Straight away show their black face. Thats what i call unprofesisonal. (ps: we were pulled into the shop unvoluntarily)

We felt really comfortable with our coordinator, a big factor in our decision. Thats something u should consider. If my coordinator didnt make me feel comfortable, no mattter how much i like the hotel, i wouldt feel comfortable with handing my money and wedding dinner to her right..

jassy

Hi Ribbons,

mayb wat is said is right... the decisions we made is really depend on the coordinators attitude and professionalism.

Hi this is new to me. My 1st time in a chatroom. I have jus signed up the wedding banquet package with FRF. Albert told me there will be new wedding favours coming up in the bridal show on 23 Oct. But after reading the sharings from here, i start to worry if the food is good???

sandsand

Did the readings here say the food wasnt good?
I havent eaten the banquet food yet, but alot of pple have told me that the food's good.
ate at the square before though... SHIOK!!! So nice! Worth my money..

icywave

Hi Ribbons, the bad attitude coordinators are from Plaza Parkroyal dun wori.

I've signed up wif FRF basically bcoz of Seles good service & professional attitude too! I'm really happy wif their good service

My BS photographer oso immediately turned very very black face when we refused to top up our no. of pixs too eh. Really disappointed with his bad attitude. Sigh..

Lin, If u read carefully, u wld realise tat moz of us have good comments abt FRF food so dun wori. I really got good feedbacks abt their food from my sis's frds & colleagues.

I've eaten at The Square too! Yum Yum! Really delicious! And I actually was quite full when I went there for my dinner. But the food was so good that I even had desserts. Every mouthful of their food mk me felt so wonderful.....

cpchew

Hi Violet
My AD at FRF on 26-Feb-2006, when is yours? Please share with me your views on food tasting after you had it this Sun. Thanks.