Furama Riverfront Singapore

magic_alz

mine's Bridal zone..n so far i'm very happy with their services la..went for my measurements today..n saw the drawing of my gown...so happy..! hopefu;lly the real thing will turn out to be what i want..

wah sounds like u had a real fun day! =)
i'm planning to go into JB for 2day 1nite shopping trip next mth..! looking forward to that/! =)

icywave

Ya Ya, tink the brand I used is colgate. I really tink its not bad at all. Very affordable - all of u keen on white teeth can try

Having my ROM at FRF too. Now busy with guest list, arrangement with JP, tins to bring etc. Will be going to bangkok on sat early morning as celebration! Very excited now!!!
Hahaha..

Hope will have time to go for mani/pedi later. Will be going chinese garden c lanterns tonite.

My EG oso not the color I prefer but now I find it a special instead of the normal blue, red, pink etc. Mine's gold color u c.. Haha..

magic_alz

hi icywave!
wow so fun!immediately after ROM can take plane together n go travel..

my skin quite fair, so i don't look good in dark colours..n yellow n gold looks washed out on me..mine's a bright shade of blue...empire cut..i think it makes me look pregnant..haha...but my designer n my friend says it doesn't, so ok loh...maybe alter alteration it'll fit better n look better.

what kind of cut is yours??

grievance_bride

HI Icywave,

My Evening gown also gold in colours.....but mine is from Daniel Yam and not from the bridal studio.....I have found a new BS through my sister's recommendation.....Focual at IMM....

sandsand

Janis.. What do u look for when u look for a BS? I've heard comments from friends, and majority of them have bad comments about IMM's BSs..
U dont stay near Jurong right.. Ever considered other BSs which are more renowed for their service? Ur evening gown is form Daniel? Those kind in the locked glass cupboard? or those outside?

Me also looking for a EG thats not common.. gold will be nice..

magic_alz

yeah i've also heard bad reviews..but i gues since its recommended by sister should be okay la..after all its repeat business man..n u can mention u've got a couplef friends getting married soon, then they'll be nice to u, coz they want your recommendations ma..haha..

hm..i'm torn between looking for my own EG...maybe at allure charix..then can get to keep..but if i take my EG off my BS package, can only take off 80 bucks the price..like not very much ley..or should i just take my BS EG...??

sandsand

Recommended by sister would be good, if her sister took her package from there too.. At least u will have something to compare against.. Janis.. i dunno about IMM bridals.. I would strongly advise u to take from other BSs.. Thomson wedding design, precious moments.. all quite good. Tanjong pagar ones also not bad.. I went into one.. in wedding at tangjong pagar wasnt too bad..
Yeah! So happy! Signed up with my BS today!!! hotel: DONE. bridal studio: DONE!!

sandsand

magical.. why u dont want to take from ur own studio? True lah.. taking it off wouldnt save u much and even if u rent from some cheapo studio, u'll spend more than 80 on rental..
Me also having some headache now.. dunno what sort of gown to take..

magic_alz

ribbons,
coz i'm kind of a perfectionist la..i got the whole idea of how i wnt my EG to be..so unless i MTM, i think very hard to find something thatfits eactly..the one i chose from my BS fits 80% only..but i think after alteration will look better..
my hubby also say no point buy another one..waste $$$..might as well use it for honeymoon...n i agree la...i think i'll stick to my BS's gown loh..

sandsand

at least u found something u want more or less.. when i went to my BS last sat, i went to see the gowns,, but dont like any. some look very cheena.. then the boss told me its cos most gowns have been taken out, cos a lot of pple getting married next week, (some lunar calendar thingy.. some auspicious date next week). she told me to go back next month to see more.. But i told FH already, if i still dont see any by then, i wanna MTM...
But magical, important thing is u like what u are wearing lor.. cannot have a frowning bride.. esp when u take pics during dinner..

magic_alz

sigh...yeah loh! aiyo..i'm driving myself crazy man...but what to do? don't want to spend more $$$ ley..argh!!!
but my friend who went with me says it looks good...so i think i;ll stick to it loh..unless i come across something really great..if not i think i won't look for it la..let fate decide for me~~~ =)
btw when's your big day?

grievance_bride

Hi Ribbon and Magical

I find that the Manager at Focual IMM was very reasonable and nice....He quoted me based on the items i wanted which is about $1,500....as compared to the package of $1,588 at Popular...I get more things.

He gives me time to consider without asking me to sign their package on the spot...As IMM is also near my residential area Bukit Batok...and my husband also like the BS....that why we went back to place a deposit after a few days of consideration....

Hi Magical

Your evening gown from your BS only cost $80??? if yes, then it is much worthwhile to take from your BS....but the ultimate choice is yours....

My BS charge me at least $180 to $200 for Evening gown, then why i resort to buying Daniel Yam which cost $157...

Hi Ribbon

I didn't choose the gown inside the glass cupboard although i like them...as it costs about $599.....I do agree with you that Tanjong Pagar BS are much better......but since IMM is near my place....I take up the package with them....Too bad is that, many bridal shops like precious moment has re-located.....

By the way, Ribbon, which BS did you choose?

magic_alz

hi janis!
my EG is included in my package, so if i opt to take it out, it'll only be 80 off the package price..but i think if wanna add on another gown on top of th package, will also be around 180 200 loh..
so u chose a gown on their racks? wow.. the cupboard ones are so expensive??!! i was thinking of going to allure charix to see..but their EGs also abt 499-599...dont think i wanna spend that amt of $$....n if i see something nice i will feel like buying 1...hehheh...

grievance_bride

Hi Magical

I agree with you, those evening gowns at the glass cupboard are indeed very nice but very steep as well....that why i choose mine outside the cupboard, more affordable for me...

My figure has grown significantly.....due to my pregnancy....and i have to buy large size for my evening gown.....

seabreaker

Hi icywave,

Me! I have not Rom yet. Will be soon..at early october but thought of changing it to a later date coz wanna have my rom and actual wedding on the same day. Alas, my fh is not supportive of that idea. He said it will be more tiring if it's on the same day..sigh.

Hi magical & ribbon,

I have bought the simply white from colgate after reading the post here. Hope it will give me a whiter and better smile (I won't have beautiful smile coz my front tooth is crooked and slanting to one side).

magic_alz

hi janis!
wow..u must be really tired, having to plan your wedding during early stage of pregnancy..my friend always look so tired...but so exciting! imagine your baby will be here in no time!i think that's even more exciting than the wedding...! everything going on well for baby? hope he (or she?) 's growing healthily.. =)

i told my hubby already...before we have a baby, make sure we have enought money for me to go marie france first...if not i won't get pregnant..haha..

seabreaker,
hey i couldnt find the simply white thingy...so i bought pearl drop whitening toothpaste...will use it for 3 weeks then tell u guys useful anot..
don't worry, only models have perfect teeth, most of us i think have some teeth slanting here n there..i know i do..=D
makes us unique wat..! ;-)

sandsand

MAgical: so far i have only seen that colgate white thing at guardian pharmacy..

Janis: my BS is Valentine Bridal in Tun Amirah.. Straight road all the way from causeway.. may be a little troublesome, but i love the couple bonding time we get to spend together. The studio looks nice, not cheena, photos are nice. and the outdoor different from the usual singapore scenes..
Seabreaker: i'm like u. rather have ROM and AD on same day. We dont have plans for ROM yet, but for sake of house (when we find one) we'll ROM.. but i always ask him, which day do we celebrate/ count as wedding anniversary? ROM to me is for legal reasons.. to me, church recep and traditional stuff have more significance and sentimental reason..what do u guys think? celebrate which one as wedding anniversary? ROM or traditional wedding?

sandsand

to me, i find the colgate whitening toothpaste works fine for me.. Quite effective leh..
PLus i dont have to look like goondo, dripping saliva around the house.
HEE!

silversky

Hi Seabreaker..,
Time flies,,my ROM over..it was so fast and was memorable.. =)

Magical/Ribbon: Thanks for providing the cost of doing pedi/mani..just in case u are wondering how much i did..it's 55 ringgit for both with free nailart for 2 toes..hee

Ribbon: I went holiday plaza did...didnt see ur msg earlier..if not we can go in together and do..where u went?

Abt the cab, yes..i agree...if can liaise with cabbie uncle direct then it will be so much cheaper..hee

As to qn which one to celebrate..i suggest celebrate both lor...haha...

grievance_bride

Hi Magical

I went to Marie France 3 years ago at Jurong Point and personally find their treatment very good and work well for me.....but i had to tahan the cold wrap.

My baby is fine and growing despite my constant vomitting.......thanks.....

I might goes back to Maries France again after the delivery of my baby........

sandsand

my FH gaveme a voucher for mani and pedi from this co. under esprit. RE* Ear*h. I was thinking of how good a deal it would be. $39 for both.
In the end, it was the WORST mani and pedi i've ever had. My threshold of pain is very high. BUt yesterday hurt!! When removing cuticles, she used the sharp straight side of it, not the rounded curved one. and she pushed it so hard into the corners of my nail bed till it bled! I never had a mani pedi which required digging into the corners so hard.. out of 20 fingers and toes, 5 bled. And i asked her if got sterilize or not.. she said, yah, my machine is inside. I dont care if ur machine is inside, do u use it or not.. THere was a customer before me, dunno if got change before me or not.
And a pedicure usually takes 45mins to 1hr? I took me 1.5hrs. Which made me totally late for class!She put on the base coat at 640. 645, i put on sandals and out of the shop liao..

Destineey: congrats!.... celebrating both days also gives more reason for more gifts and pampering right.. heehee!

Janis: eat small frequent meals.. Hope baby is growing well..

magic_alz

eew! so horrible! poor ribbons..
hm..for us we celebrate our 'day we got together'.. we wanted to have our wedding on the date, coz next year will be our 9th year together, so like 'chang chang jiu jiu' ma..but its on a tuesday, so we decided to have the ceremony on the sunday after that tues n the dinner the following mon loh...so we can celebrate the whole week! haha.. n my ROM on my bday, which is 1 day after his bday...so can celebrate together too..heheh...

hi destineey!
congrats on joining the holy bonds of matrimony! =)
wah 55 ringgit is so cheap! where did u go to? i'm going into JB next mth for overnight stay before all the exam marking comes flooding in.. so maybe i'll go do too..then can mark with pretty fingers..haha..

janis,
how much was the treatment? n how long did the treatment take? hope its not too ex..i just need to get rid of the normal problem areas..

preciousmoments

Hi Magical,

my birthday and FH's is also a day apart. He is just 6 hours older than me and we were both born in KKH. I always wonder if we were in the same nursery in KKH. Haha...

grievance_bride

Hi Ribbon

Poor thing, hope ur finger will be alright...

Hi Magical,

It cost me about $3,000 plus in total and i had about 25 to 30 session (3 years back)....They will design a program and the kind of treatment depending on individual's problem areas. And each treatment come with a cold wrap. The consultant do monitor your diet as well....However, the cold wrap is the "killer" and i have to tahan the coldness while wrapping up like a "dumpling".

Personally, i find their treatment not bad and at least shape up my "pear shape figure".....Even my husband was quite impressed by it.

partner

I hv jux signed up with FRF for my AD on 14 Oct' 06. Looking tru the forum seem that many of you hv good comments of the grand ballroom. A pity i couldnt meet their minimum requirement of 35. In addition, the cost per table oso exceed my budget as my Ad falls on a Sat.

Anyone out there hv hold their wedding or attend a wedding in Jupiter Rm. Can give me the comments on the atmopshere & the comfort of guests as i will be strectching to the max of 25 tables. Jux pray hard that the list dont get longer if not i will have to perform my "Slashing" technique. Haha.

magic_alz

precious moments,
hey us too!=) we were both from AH..n we also lived in the same estate when wwe were kids n studies at the same kindergarten..haha..but didn't know that until we got together lah..some times i think fate has a hand hor?maybe u n your hubby talked baby talk to each other when in the same nursery..haha..

janis,
oh...3k is okay la..i thought need to spend 7-8 k..*faint*..yayy...i hope they dont increase their price..but i think will only take their treatment after i have a kid..that'll be 3-4 years later..!

hello joanne,
welcome! i think most of us here haven't had our banquet yet..so just gathering around to chit chat on stuff.!=)

hm..i'v been to the jupiter room, but not full wedding set-up..it was during the wedding show in may.
i think the jupiter room has a very cosy ambience..warm lighting..same as the venus BR la..just the venus very much bigger, so get a grander feeling rather than a cosy feeling...
have to be careful abt guest list..my friend initially die die wanted to stick to 25 tables, but in the end when i came to consolidating, turned out they had invited 35 tables! luckily their ballroom (not FRF) was big enough to comfortably fit in the extra 10 tables...

partner

Hi magical,

Thank for your feedback. Like tat i veri worry liao cos i oso scared my guest list will get longer. Die die must stick to 25 tables else not the rest will hv to be seated outside.

grievance_bride

Hi Joanne

Welcome here as one of FRF's brides....I think the difference between Jupiter Ballroom and Venus Ballroom is the Menus and the ballroom itself..... Jupiter Ballroom is also not bad but got pillar.....For Venus ballroom is pillarless....

By the way, who is your co-ordinator?

sandsand

Welcome JOanne.. I saw the jupiter room before.. They were setting it up for a wedding. Me and my FH quite liked it actually, very cosy.. doesnt look small.. but we didnt take it cos we have 50 tables..

Magical: i signed up with De beaute about 2 years ago. 10 sessions cost about $700.. i have 20.. only used up about 8.. Cos too pain! I cannot tahan the part where they use the electrode thingy.. Haiyo.. The therapist will set the current then leave me alone in the room.. But everytime i wanna reach out to decrease the current, my hand will throw into a spasm, and cramp up till cannot reach panel.. Hee quite funny sight, quite pathetic sight too. And i didnt like the hot wraps that they use. Wrap u up in cling wrap then steam u. dont like that. PLanning to go use up my other sessions soon, but dont want wrap.. scared liao. I'm prepared for hard exercise, not going to depend totally on salons..
I do stair climbing.. since then my already loose jeans are even looser and FH complain say my bum flat liao.. and it is. less perkier than usual.. hee! YEAH! Anyone else wanna share their weight loss testimonies/ regimes?

magic_alz

hi joanne!
since u have a tight guest list, u can start compiling up your guest list now with your FH n parents n PIL so comfirm the ppl you want to invite. coz your wedding's another year to go, sure got more ppl along the way u think u might want to invite, or meet up with old friends who is not included in your initial list, but they get to know n u feel obligated to invite...etc..so if u have a strict list its easier for u to keep tract..

hey ribbons,
yours is hot wrap ah? hm..janis' is cold wraps..
i don't mind the wraps actually...but u should tell your therapist to lower the current if u can't take it ma...after all u paid for the treatments..btw which place do u go to?

but i like my bum ley..hha..i juts don't like my tummy, upper arms n double chin..urgh! how to get rid of these areas?

magic_alz

i need your opinions on buying gowns over the internet..i came across thie US site selling beautiful EGs, n from US$49-129 only! i love a gown from there, but i'm kinda worried about buying it over the internet, n give them my credit card no., n also the actual quality of the gowns too..what if i buy it n it doesn't turn out the way it looks on the site, or if it doesnt look good on me?
BIG headache now!! help!

partner

Janis: My co-ordinator Albert Liew. He the director of the catering & banquet dept.

Magical: Ya now i planning my guest list. Hope can be within the 25 tables range.

BTW have any of you tried the foods?

magic_alz

hi joanne,
i've tried the food at the wedding show.their refreshments was actually some dishes from their wedding menu...so far so good..fish was great! yum yum..but chiken abit dry, n sharks fin soup a bit watery..but overall its quite good la..=)
albert's my co-ordinator too! =)

partner

Hi Magical,

So you taking the grand ballroom& when ur AD? Like tat must take note on the above feedback. I will be going for the coming wedding show. Will tried out the foods.

sandsand

Joanne.. Do both sides parents know how many tables of friends they can invite? For my, we keep emphasizing to our parents to not go overboard.. who cannot invite to dinner, will be invited to church recep. Joanne, u ROM already?

Magical.. Safe or not? what i'm worried here is as what u say, quality of gown. what if it comes and it doesnt fit u/ defective.. then u'll have to spend extra money fixing it. (not even sure if can fix or not) Or worse case scenario is.. u've paid for it and it doesnt come. it is too close to ur AD..

Its a game of risk and take.. If me, i rather not risk my wedding day.. just my 5cents worth lah.. Which is ur BS anyway?

grievance_bride

Hi Joanne

I will be going for my food tasting on 25th October....

Hope the food during my wedding turn out to be good...if not my guests will definitely curse and swear.......

magic_alz

hi joanne!
my AD will be in may 06...28th tea ceremony n 29th banquet. mine's over 2 days..
let us know if the food's improved! =)

ribbons,
my AD still long way to go..PS in early dec..
hm..you can go n take a look at the website www.shopshop.com
they've got lots of beautiful gowns there...why doesn't singapore have gown like that ley? sigh..
my BS is bridal zone ..
sigh...that's precisely why i'm hesitating loh..argh! driving me crazy!!

sandsand

I havent tasted the food yet, but lots of pple tell me the food is good, service is good.. but quite a number of these people who tell me the food nice are those that i cannot invite to dinner one.. whoops.. hee..
Magical.. excited eh, about the PS.. where u plan to go for ur PS? me now must lose weight then can find gown to fit me.. then pics look nicer too..

Hey, theres a new colgate whitening toothbrush being advertised.. dunno how good it is..

preciousmoments

not sure if you gals know about this but I think there's a new night club in FRF annex block 4th and 5th storey.

I chanced upon this newly-opened night club from WAN BAO last night where they have a write-up about this place. Argh!! Can't imagine that there's another one on top of the one at the ground floor. Don't know if it will reflect badly on our choice of picking FRF as dinner venue.

partner

Ribbon,
Ya i hv already let both sides of my parents know that it impossible to invite everybody. Give & take haha..... I hv ROM since year 2001. But have been pushing my AD cos my hubby so concidentially got into NTU so no choice hve to wait till he graduate then we hold our AD & that is 2006......

Janis,
Ok so let me know how your food tasting. So your AD approaching? R u taking the grand ballroom. Heard frm Albert there will be 2 more themes coming up for next yr.

Magical,
Wow dec coming jux round the corner. Veri fast you will be taking your PS. So now must be kan cheong slimming, facial etc....

magic_alz

ah...got another night club? is it the hip kind of sleazy kind? eew...

initially i got lots of ideas for PS..like take orchard christmas lights, go to a nice place at dairy farm..bt now i too lazy to think about it...stressed out over work n money issues...ARGH!!!

i also give up on slimming already...haha..can't be bothered la..but facial i already got a place i go to often..so that's okay..anyway i heard PS make up so thick, doesn't matter if got facial anot..everything will be covered with make up anyway..=)
planning to go for haircut n treatment soon though..my designer told me not to cut my fringe for the time being..

little_sweet

hi magical,ur AD is on next year may wah,so fast u bked ur PS liao?Coz mine AD is next year june so duno when shld i go for my PS leh,pls advise?

sandsand

I hope that new place isnt Tianamen number 2.. Hopefully more hip.
Magical: diary farm not troublesome meh? Got to rememeber to keep ur gown from touching floor eh.. smelly.. hee. but will be cute.. unusual. Must share ur pics when u can k..
Little sweet: my AD is end december, and if by then, i can easily take OTR *fingers crossed*, he says take in May should be ok. i think give urself about 6 to 7 months should be safe.
I dunno.. i'm a kiasu person, i dont like to do everything last min.. i like to spread things out if i can..

cpchew

Anybody interested in taking over a package I signed up with Furama RiverFront (Venus Ballroom) during the last wedding show in May-05. I paid $500 deposit, open date. The package comes with free flow beer, 30pcs photo montage & $500 food voucher. The package at old prices - weekday S$448+++, weekend S$598+++. Understand that weekday price already up by S$40 & weekend by S$20. I've no choice but to let go b'cos the weekday date (23-Mar-06) already booked by someone & I want my customary, ROM & dinner on the same day. Please email me at [email protected] for further details/discussion.

grievance_bride

Precious moments

Wow, another nightclub, has it started business already?

Hi Joanne

Yes, i am taking the Venus ballroom...My wedding will be next month 15th October. I will let you know the result of the food tasting after 25th September.

magic_alz

hi little sweet!
cos i teach, the the only times i'll be free n fresh to take PS in june or dec..since AD in may, so take in dec loh..n early dec coz i dont want to kena the rainy season in mid-late dec...i rem last year rained whole day everyday!

usu they need 3-4 mths for album to be ready depending on if yours is digital album anot..so add on 2-3 weeks for photo selection n that should be a safe time frame to get your PS done..
can call up n ask your BS also ..they'd have a better gauge for u..

ribbons,
not the dairy farm with cows leh..! haha..but yeah will be cute..
i meant this place
312730.jpg

beautiful right? *dreamy paradise~~*

buffalo

Dear all, anyone have went for the food tasting? Which menu did you choose?

pyngpyng: whats is 30pcs photo montage?

seabreaker

Hi Magical,
I bought the colgate Simply white at taka watson pharmacy (cannot find it off the shelf). I won't be using it at the moment coz will be going for dental polishing & scaling before my ps this month. Will only try it near to my actual day on Jan'06.

Talking about tummy, double chin and big arms, I have all the problems too although I'm skinny. Sigh..these few areas is also the most difficult area to reduce. No choice..I think I will have to live with it.

Oh ya, where is this dairy farm? It sure look good for ps..will check out this place with my fh later.

Hi ribbons,
I did not especially pick a special date for my rom coz I need to produce the rom receipt to HDB during my 1st appointment. That's why I thought of postponing my rom now to a day that held special meaning for us, that's on our actual day. Think it will be easier for us to celebrate our anniversary too. Will try to persuade my fh again.

By the way, the mani & pedi shop you are refering to at heartland mall is it called "Relax nails and Spa"? If it is, who do you normally look for? My working area is somewhere nearby, maybe I'll give it a try.

Hi Joanne Yeo,
Welcome to FRF thread! I cannot give any comments on Jupitar coz I signed up Venus Ballroom and mine is on sat. I myself do also hope that the food and service quality at FRF is good coz my parents is very particular about food and has been asking us to go noble house. But as my fh likes the venus ballroom, we finally settle on this hotel.

Hi Janis,
Being pregnant can be quite taxing during the 1st 3 months but you should be feeling better when you are in your 4th month . Hope you can be a pretty bride cum mother-to-be.