Furama City Centre

hazel

hi July,

There were abt 40 to 50 tables.
i think the food is not bad. Only thing is their staff not experienced. I can see coordinators here and there in the banquet hall but dunno doing what. The banquet-waitresses are all around but they dun seem to see that our glasses are empty and needs a refill.

We always had to wait for the next dish for quite some time. In the end a lot of guests leave before eating the dessert. And it's already 11!

Overall the place is well decorated, the stage has two lovely scarved ice swans.

Just my thoughts, hope it helps .

blueangel30

I have signed up a package with Furama hotel. Attended by Cecilia, the asst. banq.sales manager. She's friendly and sweet, very helpful too. I don know abt their actual day service yet, but my hubby did stressed to Cecilia that we are very much bothered about services by the waiters on the day, make sure they dun disappoint us cos bad things always spreads fast! The reason why I signed up the package was becos I was too impressed with their new grand ballroom.Its jus what I have been looking for! Having seen too many hotel grand ballrooms that are really 'grand' or so-called classical in design, its not very much the modern theme I wanted for my wedding. I wont say that the package is cheap(mine is a weekday one) and with that price I could actually got for Swissotel Merchant Court(initial idea)...but its becos of the very 'european' ballroom, too oldish for me tats y I dropped it. I am looking forward for the actual day of my wedding in May 2003. Wish me luck. Prob aft that I will be back to this forum to share my experiences!

priscilla

Hi NAt,
Suprise to see me here?
Me going down to Furama this Saturday to confirm but hope to get the 28 Nov03 cos heard got two tentatively booking so really hope to get that only Friday left for Nov03 n Dec 03.

Really miss toking to you over the net, free e-mail me lar.... [email protected]

natash

Helo Pris,

I thought you have confirmed with the other hotel, merchant court or something, refresh my memory? But have you seen the ballroom yet or the honeymoon suite? kekkeke

Me have been abit busy lately....Going thru my guest lists and also making corsages for my ah yees...kekkekeke..Plus also the red packet box etc...

My wedding in May and I think if I don't do anything now, well, I might not get to it kekekke...Im kinda lazy...

My email is [email protected], drop me a line if you are free too kekekek.....

Blueangel30, mine wedding is in May too..which date are you taking? Its good you highlight to her about the services...I hope they really do something to it...

NAs

priscilla

Hi Nat,

Me actually make a tentatvly booking with M hotel but considering Furama but going down tomorrow to see Ceceil the assistant Manager to view the room and the ballroom, mostly will confirm with them cos MIL coming out some cash so listening to her cos she like the pricing n the menu. Got anything for me before me go down to discuss about the dinner package and maybe like what I can bargain for with them, pls let me know by today.

Hi littlerabbit,
Just curious to know which date you booked with Furama in the month of Nov03 cos me also in NOv03.

ocean

Hi Natash and shirley, do u mind sharing your quotation with me.
I'm interested to take a look at Furama too, if it is a new ballroom. My email is [email protected] Thks!

Last yr, ever attend a wedding a Furama under the old ballroom. Think the ambience is no good!! But from the pics of the new ballroom, it looks grand.

Oh, how abt carpark??? Think there is problem with parking within Furama as there is limited space leh...

natash

Helo Pris,

Bargain abit with Cecelia and see how much discount or freebies can get from her...At the mean time, tell her that I introduce you to them and you are a friend of mine....kkekekek

My wedding is in May 18, She should remember me...

Nas

priscilla

Hi Nas,
Check liao lar, now your turn to go check yours.........kekeke
You seems like a fun loving type hoh, really enjoy such company....
Free must call me huh, I gave you my number liao in the e-mail so must faster go read,hoh..!

Any update on what they can give me, I let you know tomorrow, ok!

makiyo

Hi Nas,

Long time no c...

Can i jus check with u gals, did anyone manage to exchange the Graceful Image cash voucher & Hotel VIP for other freebies?

Can the $1000 Furama voucher be split into denominations less than $100?

Pls kindly email me at [email protected]

blueangel30

Hi Nas,
my wedding date is on the 8th of May 2003. getting busy writing all the invites now. What about you? When's ur wedding date? I really hope they do something about their service.

priscilla

Makiyo,
ME just went down to Furama to confirm my booking and for what I know from them that they will be giving the cash voucher into denominations of $100, me plannning to book rooms for in laws and my parents to stay overnight n also my helpers.
As for those bridal voucher, I have tried exchanging for other things but they can't exchange it for other things cos this is the bridal shop wanted to give one.

Hi blueangel30,
Check with them today about the service cos I believe what you heard about their service is partly the couples fault cos some couples request to have their dinner serve slowly so cannot blame them, me also service is my main concern and they told me that 1 server is to take care 2 tables food and drinks so at first I don't really like the idea cos me prefer having 1 server take care of drinks and the other one taking care of the food servcing. Me in service line last time so can understand your problem. And heard from them cos there is 2 wedding on that day so not enough server on that day too.

natash

Helo Blue angel,

My birthday falls on the 8 May 2003 kekeke...which happens to be your wedding day too...Congrats congrats...

My wedding date is on the 18th May 2003....10 days after your wedding!!

Have spoken to Cecelia, rest my mind now...I presume everyone's expectation is different so I wouldn't think that the service is really no good because Cecelia is a nice lady to work with...She is very nice and accomodating so I think I can rest my mind with her...

I also understand that with the dishes that come out late, it could be or might be that the couple could have instructed them to come out at a certain time, could be later or something, so guests who are waiting for their food could have thought something went wrong with the operations of the banquet operations...when the food arrived later than usual...

Therefore, im ok with them...kekke have highlighted to cecelia so she is awarre of it..Rest your mind girls!!

NAs

makiyo

Hi Priscilla,

Thank you so much for your valuable info!

But I guess I won't be getting any VIP packages from Graceful Image cos I have already paid a deposit with another bridal boutique...

MaKiYo ~(^_^)~

priscilla

Hi Makiyo,
kekeke......
me too also booked my bridal package already so no choice lor, hubby said that maybe can post in the forum and sell it lor and maybe can sell at $300 also earn, right?

So have to wait for after your dinner then give me some comments that I should let Furama know....hehehe..very bad hoh..!
BTW where you booked your bridal package?
Sorry for being kpo huh...

blueangel30

Hi Naz,
thanks for the pre-warning...heeee....be-early happy birthday to you then....will get back to the forum as soon as my wedding is over..hahhhaaa...I understand that for this the kind of price we pay, cannot expect one to one table too lah...anyway I don wan to worry myself too much too...must relax and be a beautiful bride. By the way whr have you haken up your bridal package? have you taken the photoshoots already?

Blueangel

blueangel30

Hi Pris,
thanks for the advice too....great to hear that....anyway I only got to know about this thru words of mouth....like I said ...bad things always spreads fast...anyway there are always difficult customers ard...I jus hope for the best.
So when's ur wedding date? Wish you all the best too!
Blueangel

makiyo

Hi Pris,

I tot of selling the Graceful Image voucher too...but after checking with Graceful Image...they say dat only hotel guests are entitled to this voucher so I can't transfer to other brides now!

I booked with Bridal Link 1 year ago...super kiasu hoh? Haha...

MaKiYo

natash

Dear Angel,

I booked my bridal package with J & M and have taken my photo shoot last month...have selected my pics last 2 weeks so will be expecting my album to be out in April, probably mid month...

All the best for your wedding kekeke....be a beautiful bride!! Enjoy

priscilla

Hi Blueangel30,
My actual day is on 28 Nov 2003.
BTW thanks for the wishing, me hereby to wish you a happy marriage.

Hi Makiyo,
Heee... maybe can check with them whether can exchange a suit or a gown lor for your in laws or your parents, rather then just leave it there, right..! Me maybe making suit for FIL lor with the voucher.

makiyo

Hi Blueangel,

Thank you so much for your valuable info!

Hi Pris,

Have you manage to sell your Graceful Image voucher?

Maybe you are right...I will check with Graceful Image again...Thanks!

priscilla

Hi Makiyo,
I have recieve my voucher few days ago and on the voucher it stated that only can be used on their $3k plus bridal package for discount, so I think the voucher can throw on side liao.

Are you going to the bridal show on 6 April?

makiyo

Hi Pris,

Yup I think we can throw away the voucher liao...I'm going on 6 April unless I have to work AGAIN!

Do you know the carpark was full & our car kena scratched the last time we went to the bridal show? The place brings unpleasant memories but since we booked the package liao...den let bygone be bygone loh

priscilla

Hi Makiyo,
Heeee.. lucky me not driving any car. So no worries for me.
But heard that their carpark quite old and not so pleasent.
Natash is going to the bridal show tooo, what time are you going? Maybe we can all meet together, right?

priscilla

Hi Geneva,
Welcome to this thread.
Fuaram actually having a bridal show on the 6 Apr 2003 and maybe you can consider signing up during their show cos their package is very worth it for their promotion package for the show.
per couple is $10 per entry so maybe you can call them up to book as soon as possible cos believe its quite late to book a place now but you still can try.

shirlynn

Hi Geneva & Priscilla,

I have also called up Furama before for their offer last year... They were going to have a " wedding show" ( not sure did I address correctly).

The coordinator actually send me an invitation card for two which is entrance free...

Maybe you should call them up and ask them to send you an e-mail / fax offer.

They will invite you to the show....

sushi

Hi to all brides here,
i'm new to this thread. i've called up furama too, they are giving me free entrance tickets too. perhaps those who really wanna go, can give them a call to get the tickets free.
I'm also impressed by their new ballroom.

priscilla

Hi Shirlynn,
Thay have already end me the invitation card last week cos they give it to me cos I booked with them mah.

shirlynn

Hi Priscilla,

Good ... but by norm... they will give free entrance tickets to anyone who enquire their wedding banquet package..

So to all brides,

Don't waste money on the entrance tickets hor.. ask them for free....they would love to have you there..

makiyo

Hi Priscilla,

I dun tink I will be staying for the bridal show...my hubby can't sit still for more than 45 mins not to mention 2 hrs! I'm just going to show my hubby the ballroom & suite, that's all...

makiyo

Hi Priscilla/Natash,

How was the bridal show? I saw 2 wedding gowns...kinda like the one near the receptionist.

Btw did u manage to exchange Graceful Image discount voucher for something else other than VIP packages?

My fren says dat I won't get to enjoy the hotel facilities if I check in on actual day. She advises me to check in one day later. Is it true?

priscilla

Hi Makiyo,
Hee quite nice lor the WG design but find that their WG is quite common and lots of bridal shop also provide those design too.
Tell you something more worse, I and my hubby actually won the 3rd prize in the Furama Hotel lucky draw and the most angry thing is their prizes is mostly voucher and only can be use if you buy any package or things from the sponsor and then you can have discount or then can use their voucher. So don't know what to do with so many voucher.

BUt if you check in later a day where are you going to stay on your actual day?
Actually I think you can extend your check out time and just enjoy the last few hours in the hotel, btw they don't have much facilities for you to use too.

makiyo

Hi Pris,

What vouchers did u win? Is it like Graceful Image where we must book $3,988 VIP packages then we can use their discount voucher?

I think all these discount vouchers are gimmicks to induce us to buy their high-end packages but in the end, we are the ones who pay more.

Sorry but I am getting skeptical of all these vouchers thingy.

makiyo

Hi Pris,

Apologies for my tone on Wednesday...My opinion was only towards the bridal boutiques offering discount vouchers...

Becos when I called Graceful Image...the staff was so impatient to hang up on me upon learning that I dun wan to book their $3,988 VIP packages.

So did u manage to exchange Graceful Image discount voucher for something else?

makiyo

Do u noe dat MOM jus announced dat the actual day of Deepavali falls on 24 Oct instead of 23 Oct?

Is the rate for anyone's banquet affected?

cherry7

Hi Furama Brides,

My wedding oso goin to be held at Furama
on 30 May'03 (Fri). Mi rather worry abt the Sars
issue. Afraid all my guests will not come for dinner.Pls advise if i shd postpone my date.

makiyo

Hi Pris,

Maybe u r right...I shld extend my check-out time...But my wedding is on a Fri (Deepavali)...Dunno whether the wedding couple on Sat want to check in early anot? Btw hav u use any of your lucky draw vouchers?

priscilla

Hi Makiyo,
I have decided t othrow away the vouchers cos no use to me at all, and no point selling cos no one wants to buy such voucher that you have to buy their certain package then got discount.
Don't worry cos for the excutive suite they have it on every floor so surely can extend the check out time one.

Hi Cherry7,
Welcome, my wedding is on the 6 June 2003 and about the SARS never affected my wedding cos most of my guests are attending.

cherry7

Hi Pris,

Thanks for sharing your view.
I m rather afraid my guests may chg their mind last min... abt comin to my wedding.

Anyway, i have prepared myself for the worst attendance.

destitonia

Hihi ladies,

it's may now...anyone held your wedding banquet at furama oredi? me considering between furama and crown prince..

please comment..thanks very much..

natash

Helo Pris.......

How r u? My wedding date is gettign nearer and nearer!!!! Kekkeke

Stress up with the arrangements,,,,Drop by to say helo to you and also how are your arrangements???

NAS

blueangel

Hi Nat/everybody else,
I m back...have been missing for a while busy preparing for my big day(8th May-if u remember...ur b'day too!)! I am really excited.....and worried at the same time....frens and relatives have mentioned they will attend my wedding....but jus afraid some will back out last minute due to the deadly SARS! I don want to see too many empty seats.....
I remember ur big day is 18th May...wish that things are runnign smooth for u so far! I really look forward to my day.....will come back for feedback after my wedding....
Take care!

Blueangel