Furama City Centre

zuo_er

hi renee,
i also choose mango sago but then when i go food tasting, they gave me honeydew sago.. in the end i opt for that ar bo later during banquet time the mango sago not nice then worse lor..

zhu_nai

hello all

glad to see all your postings.. Renee thanks for the infor on kua.. next time i also wana ask for nice nice kua.. hhhahahha

Zuoer... your hse reno in lunar 8th mth, but your wedding is 2 months away right??? wun be in time right? you move in after your hse is done up isit??? for me cos me not in a rush so i wait till a good month to do the work.

Serene when is your AD huh? have you decided on your BS ardy? i think now me the most relaxed one... not really gan cheong about anything... but i hope all of you will have smooth progress in whatever you all do...

serene_lee

Hi Zhu Nai, My AD is next year May. My BS is New York Classic at JB. Me not cheong type but like to settle everything fast lor. My Hse reno also consider finish. Me last year reno in Lunur Seven mth leh. I also very Chinese type but due to save cost so let them do it on 7 mth. But there are some procedure to do b4 let them start work. We need to take a hammer and knock all corner of the hse on a good date and say that you already start work. So that time a knock on Lunur 6 mth on a good date so everything when alright. You can try if you want to.

zuo_er

hi zhu nai,

my flat will not be in time cos both happen in lunar 8th mth.. haha.. so only will move in after the reno.. temp will live with either my parents or in laws side ba... but we also not rushin.. so dun really matter... of cos hope to have the home ready soon.. but jus dun like the idea of reno in 7th mth..

zhu_nai

Hi serene

ic.. then i am just like you. my AD is dec next year. this year we can have our hse ready. early next year then we start looking around for BS. so we also have more time on hand and dun need to rush. for me, we are more superstitious lah.. keke, our parents all think we can wait till lunar 8th mth and we also feel the same, so we hold lor....keke

zuoer
ya, in this respect, im like you, just dun like the idea of reno in 7th lunar mth. but cos the flat will be empty, i'm also a bit worried leh.. guess during the 7th mth we have to go back more often lor... otherwise not so good right???? we have asked someone to pick a gooddate, next thursday, to open the door le... so after that will be bringing contractor down to view the place and then discuss the reno plans.....

zuo_er

hi zhu nai
i not sure if empty hse ok anot.. but then me and FH also quite bz with wedding preps so dun think we have the energy to go and bother about the hse lor.. haha.. as for reno, i think may haf to wait til end of sept then can decided.. cos we also havent source for any contractor yet..

serene_lee

Hi Zhu nai and Zuoer,
Some typical chinese advise for you both. Remember to buy 1 pineapple(those already very ripe one) Very soft one. When the moment you open you hse door. Throw it hard onto the floor and shout "Wang or Fa". Bring some rice and salt to throw all over the hse. From inner to outer. This will chase away those "gXXXX". If you all are very belief in god then buy some prayer stuff to pray. Those shop do sell those kind of good luck things to throw too. Can check with them.

I do alot of this when I open my door. Ha Ha Ha.... Am I very Kiasu???

lovely2005

Me too... also bought pineapple to throw into the hse after gotten my keys. I din do the rice and salt thingy.
But this wkend gonna spring clean the house (reno finished) thus will bring the pomelo leaves to sprinkle every corners.

zhu_nai

Hi Serene and all

i was advised to use the salt and rice thingy by my mum's friend who sells joss papers, etc. but she din advise on the pineapple thingy... maybe i can ask my mum... pomelo leaves i think also good just before you move in...to 'clean' the place mah... keke....

my mum also dunno anything. everything i ask her then she go and check for me.. hahahhaaaa until she cannot tahan me say i superstitious. but most ple do this mah when they have a new hse... we all want the best right...dun wish to take any chance... esp with regards to those gxxxxx thingy.. want the hse to be 'clean clean'... ahhaha

dapipi

296601.gif

Me gonna change my ROM date to AD itself.. But me dunno what's the procedure to hold the solemnization o/s of the registry? Please help!!
296602.gif

lovely2005

Hi Ade,

U may refer to ROM website for the procedure.
U need to find a JP or Grassroot leader to solemnise your wedding. There's a list from ROM site.
U will need to dl a consent form for JP/GL to sign, obtain from ROM site.
Go online to register a date when is due for (3 mth period).

Can't really remember the procedure liao. I also had my ROM outside.

zhu_nai

Hi Ade

ya, refer to the ROM website... dun panic.. i think its rather easy... the instructions are q comprehensive...

let us know if you need more help

sashay

wow~ glad tt everyone's back!

gers!!! pls hor ROLL ur pineapple into the hse, dun THROW!!! *faintz* u wan a good "wang" not a "lan wang" rite???

I recently moved into my hse but din do the pineapple n pomelo thingy. Instead i was advise to do the salt n rice thingy, plus set up a "huo lu"; those charcoal thingy, make the fire very big n red n hot. Put rite in front of ur door, then put lotsa $$ in ur pockets and walk over it *grinz* Dun remove the "huo lu" untill the fire died down.

recca

Hi all, I am serene here. My account is being suspended now asking the moderater to resume for me so temp use this acct.

Hi Ade, It is very easy to have it outside. Renee already give you most of the part that you need to do. But 1st of all you must quickly find a JP of your choice fast. If not it is diff to book.

You can request your date online and pay a bit of fee. They will ask you to collect your cert and some doc 1 week b4 your actual ROM. You must go down with ur HB cos they need to verify on the IC. You must also get a form from the JP then bring it along with you when you go collect your cert. If you need anymore help maybe I can try to recall.

recca

Hi Sashay,

My mum ask me to buy those pineapple that can open up when we throw. That mean the Wang is already open up in the hse. When my HB throw that time the oineapple is not the ripe. Then he say cannot open leh. So till now my hse 4 number alway miss it.

Too bad, no body ask me to use the hu lu. If not I will follow everything. Ha Ha Ha.... Just wanna have the best.

zuo_er

aloha,
actually this is the 1st time i hear throw pineapple into the hse lor.. find it quite funny but interesting... cos the purpose to to be wang...

btw, Zhu Nai, i dunno at which thread saw that if wanna reno during 7th mth, not a prob.. but must start work b4 the 7th mth itself.. but if start on 7th mth itself, then i not sure liao.. keke

lovely2005

Hi Ade,

No prob... we r here to help.
Actually I e-filed to ROM inside but last minute I changed to outside. Very short time frame, abt 1 mth b4 my ROM. Lucky I was able to find a GL to do it. Was very rushing for me.
So where hv u decided to hold the ceremony?

dapipi

Hi Renee,
I intend to hold it at the hotel itself...Dinner starts at 7.30pm, ceremony at ard 6.45pm..Liddat more ppl can attend and everything within my budget..
296942.gif
Except that a bit sian for me..tot that can ROM in dec and feel so excited about it, now change to a later date...
296943.gif

zhu_nai

regarding the pineapple thingy.... i think as long as the pineapple gets into the house should be ok lah... keke... whether open up or not, got its auspicious significance.

Hi Ade
if you wan, you can actually hold it during the dinner.... then everyone can witness the ceremony. i attended one like this, very good, i feel. anyway during the dinner nothing much going on, so just take some time, to solemnise. dun feel sian, actually i think this is more special... look at it from a different perspective lor

zuoer
my parents also told me that if start before 7th mth then 7th itself can continue... but we thought we want to avoid the inauspicious thing lah.. so thats y we delay the reno..since we not in a rush to have the flat done up.

sashay
i tot the huo lu thingy is when you wana move in??? dunno different versions but the underlying motive is the same lah.. keke

zuo_er

very upset leh.. i got a videographer to do montage and express highlights of the day.. paid deposit liao also.. then kns lor.. then when he got back to his office, his partner told him that he already fixed that date for him to do for another couple.. after which he called us to tell us wat happened and he told us that his partner will do the above for us.. of cos we can view his partner's work 1st.. if not will refund us the deposit...

but very angry lor... cos spend our time viewing his work and discussing..and also dun understand y the partner himself cant take up the videography for the other couple.. he also said if we die die insist him to do (only after viewing his parnter's work), then he will try to get himself out of the situation.. but if he really cant then he got no choice to refund us...

if u gers are in my position, wat will u do??

no doubt can find others to do but then pricing wise, this is about our budget.. and also due to recommendation by hubby's friend.. haiz.. irritating loh...

lovely2005

Hi zouer,

sorry to hear abt this.
maybe u wanna give that partner's work a chance, go for the view. If dun like, then insist that VG guy to honour his word to do the VG for u. While that partner to do for another couple. If he cannot then make him refund and source for another one. I am sure there will be good and reasonable-priced VG outside.
Else u may find another one while waiting to view the partner's work. If u can find one then forget abt that guy liao... hehe.
I hv one VG but yet to view the work. If u wan, I can give u the details. Is also a recommendation by my beautician.

zuo_er

hi renee,
which VG u using? maybe can also let me noe the pricing also?? understand pricing might be diff.. jus want to know roughly... can PM me..
tks a lot...

lovely2005

hi zouer,

have nt really called them for viewing, perhaps this wk bah. Coz this kind of thing need to book early coz there are so many couples getting married every mth. Once I get the price, will share with you.

dice

Glad to hear so many good comments about Furama. Furam was never in my consideration. Somehow someone mentioned that the ballroom is very nice so we went down to take a look today. Hmm..I must say that the first impression was not very good. First of all, the hotel exterior and lobby looks so old. Secondly, I saw two Filipino singers in the bar and errmm...their dressing looks very low class leh. Thirdly, their suite does has a fantastic view but doesnt looks cozy enough. However, my FH and me were quite impressed with the Foyer and Ballroom. Erm, actually he was more impressed with the Ballroom than me. NOt all the lights were on so I couldn't really tell how fantastic looking it is. But one thing for sure, its more modern and contemporary looking than the usual hotel ballrooms.

We were more or less decided on Sheraton but now it seems that he's quite keen with Furama. And Zhu Nai, he shared the same thought as you on how the guests will be delighted when they see the ballroom...But as for me, I'm not so sure leh...

Serene,

Are u sure the market rate for ang bao is only $60?? I thought it was $80??

zhu_nai

im bakc after MIA for a while. was busy shifting office... hhhahhaa not house.. keke

Hi Dice

yea, i agree the lobby area not that impressive. Initially that bothered me a lot and i feel like hey im holding my dinner at such a lousy hotel???

but i came to accept that actually furama offers one of the better perks for weddings on a weekend, price is rather reasonable and the ballroom is impressive. it has the best ballroom i have seen so far... so even though other hotels' exterior looks more grand.. i think ultimately the ballroom is still where the guests spend most of their time. and i think the food is rather nice there too. i think as a guest to a dinner, these are the 2 most impt things that i would look out for. so i put myslef in the shoes of my guests and then finally came up with the decision.

but the decision is still yours. think through carefully before confirming. good luck

dice

So Zhu Nai, have you sign up with Furama or are u still looking around?

We might go and take a look at Meritus Mandarin too.

mshoon

I had my wedding at Furama City Centre(Chinatown) last year in dec in the Canton Function room..The table to table arrangment was a bit too cramp for guests to move ard...The service from the waiter and waitress was no good too..they got those 15/16 yo youngsters to do it..Maybe I suggest for those who plan to have a wedding at Furama can go for the ballroom wedding(35 tables and above)..

Can i check... Furama City ctr and Furama Riverfront are managed by same company? I read both treads till i sort of blur liao... Could someone let me know in terms of food and ballrm, which wihd actually be the better one? Same as Zhu Nai gal, the outlook is moot. Food n ballrm are more impt.

zhu_nai

Hi Dice

I have already signed up with Furama, after much consideration. I was thinking of looking around further but decided that to find one nice ballroom thats suits our budget for a wedding on a weekend, Furama seems to best fit the bill.

Hi skywolf
i have never been to furama riverfront. but i heard from friends that they dun really have a ballroom there. just function rooms, but im not sure how true. another thing i dun like is there is a nightclub there. makes the place a bit cheapo... my personal feel.

recca

Hi skywolf,

FRF and FRCC both have ballroom of different kind of theme, they are sister company. I can say that for price wise is FRF is cheaper but the ballrrom is not that high tech. The lighting effect and the design. Both ballroom have high ceiling and big enough for many tables. The function room of FRCC is nicer then FRF. I heard that food wise is FRCC is nicer. FRF have also come up with a new theme: Crystal. No flower all use crystal as the design. I heard it is nice but I never see before. Hope this help.

Hi Dice,

Doubt i'll be able to make it on this sat... will most prob go in oct...

Btw, anyone of you had a coord by the name of jennifer wong? How is she? She's the one who emailed me the package details.

lovely2005

Hi zouer,

How is ur VG coming along? Did u managed to get that guy to do for u? I found one cost abt $650 for two videographer (think so)

Hi Ade,

How r u? Long long time din u ard here... both of us suddenly disappear from this thread for sometimes... hehe. My hse is done up and slowly becoming a
300545.gif

Hv u settle ur ROM-AD thingy?

Hi skywolf,

Not heard of her, but my coord, Ivy is not bad, quite friendly. Some BTB mentioned another guy who is also good, can't remember the name.

Will be meeting Ivy this Thur to collect the invitation card...

lovely2005

<font color="aa00aa">hi hoon,

U can click on the Emoticons link below and copy &amp; paste the tag into mesage box. For more fancy ones u may search the web.</font>

zhu_nai

Hi Renee and Skywolf

The guy is William... keke.. he is my coordinator. he's q good. i think there was another one called Jacky or something...

i will be going for the show this sat.. any of you going? cos its gonna be a special one, that will be like a wedding dinner, so go and see the setting and try the food too... keke...

Ya, long time never see Ade le.. dunno where she gone to.

recca

Hi Zhu Nai,
I will be going to the bridal show too. My coord is Jacky, but I just received a call from William that Jacky had left le. So now my coord is William le.

Are we able to meet each other there? Ha Ha Ha.....

dapipi

Hi Renee and Zhu Nai,
300706.gif
I'm back...I've settled my ROM thingy, booked the JP liao, but haven't let him sign the consent form yet... Went for my 1st fitting 2 wks ago and i'm going down again this sat to choose my EG... Din managed to chose one the previous time and had to drop by again this time round... Really dissappointed in myself when i look in the mirror...Arms too flabby, makes me feel very demoralised.
300707.gif

Renee, glad that your house is almost done up.. Me also now looking for new furniture..Any lobang?
300708.gif

lovely2005

Hi Ade,

Dun be sad, cheer up. The photographer will hide ur flabby arms using the head veil, this was what mine did for me. He will take at an angle where u look the slimmest...u will look pretty.

I got my furniture from Star Furniture, at Beach Rd. They also got another outlet at Jurong East, opp IMM.
This is the link of my hse, reno has completed.
http://photos.yahoo.com/garfieldkit
300711.gif

lovely2005

Hi hoon,

Think I spend about $37k plus, everything include furniture, lights n electrical (not in yet), etc.
It is a resale 4rm unit. Now is clean-look perhaps few mths later will become messy...trying to not put too many things ard esp my soft toy collection.

zhu_nai

Hi Renee

Nice reno. simple and cosy. Is yours a corridor unit?? I am now waiting for lunar 8th month to start my reno... cannot wait to see my new hse as the current state of the flat is quite unsightly... we are going to transform it... hahha

Hi Ade
Dun be upset and too disturbed by what you see in the mirror. like what Renee say, the photographer will know which angle to cature shots. and they will do editing as well. just relax and give your best look. thats the most impt.

Hi Recca

so far William has been prety good. Of cos we will see each other there.... But I have not got the inivitation card yet. have you?

recca

Hi Zhu Nai, Nope I have not receive too. Is yours a complimentary invitation card or you purchase from them?

mshoon

Hi Recca,
If you book a wedding package from Furama,the wedding invitiation cards should be inclusive in the package..but u have to find your own printers to do the printing..
Remember to plan your guest list properly and inform them of your wedding early...I had the experience of poor planning and end up having almost half an empty table...(great losses ya...):p

lovely2005

I just collected my invitation cards, settled on the flowers for decoration. They have changed to use real flowers instead of fake. Can only choose between rose and daisy. The wedding favour they give me is little teddy bear tiwe to handphone. My coordinator passed one to me... hehe.