Furama City Centre

von_teh_su_su

Serene,
I was thinking of ROM on the stage on my AD. So Maybe will start to "book" david loh hahaha...
And by the way, what is GHA...??
Me, havent selected a bridal boutique leh...tot of Frame Bridal @ Yishun....seems good leh, cos my friend took a package from them...photos turned out to be nice nice.......

'Xia Ping'..i think mean get all the stuffs done...like wines...the golds....the no. of tables for bride's parent...etc.........just like a discussion..hahahah

Wow "xia re mo mo cha", the place i love it.....saw the show...wow clear sea too....hipppi......let hope all of us can visit there once in our life, hehehehe........

Okie, got to knock off liao....
take carez.....

dapipi

Hi Von,
GHA means Golden Horse Awards..Am I right, Serene?

Btw, can i check with all of u, if my ROM will be held at the registry itself, must i book a JP? Me a bit blur on all these...

I also been to redang b4...But the ride hor, can kill me ar...Go there once in a lifetime is enuff for me...I doubt i can stand the long journey for another time...Went there for snorkelling too...Very good experience with the fishes nibbling at my butt..

zhu_nai

Hi Ade
you are so cute... i guess you must be very attractive to have the fishes at your butt.. hahhaa... if you want to have your ROM at ROM, then no need to get JP.... just book the date and time through the website and you will be allocated one. actually, some of my friends told me that ROM at the ROM may be better if you want it to be more formal and professional cos the solemniser is more experienced... dunno how true lah... ya the journey to redang is long but ok for me cos i like to take coach and see scenary.. i prefer coach to airplane.. hhaa i get airsick easily...

Hi Serene
the BS in JB is value for money right?? my friend also went to on in JB called Venus i think... but me no car so very difficult to go in and out.. guess have to decide on one here...

serene_lee

Hi Ade, Zhu nai is right no need to book just book ur date only. GHA is golden horse award, Bingo but no prize for you.

Wow the fish like ur butt. I think I go they see my butt they will just swim away. SO big.... Ha Ha Ga......

Hi Zhu nai, My SIL also no car but she go take SBS bus go thru the custom then take cab from inside. U just need to go in abt 6 time only ma. Very easy one. Venus is more expensive then my one. Venue quite popular there location wise is better so pricing sure ex lor. Go in take is really very cheap lor. I still dun mind to waste my $1000 deposit at GHA leh.

Normal wedd photo in SG cost abt $6000 after adding this and that. So far my SIL finish her photo and adding now she only spend less than SGD$3000. So the different quite high. Somemore we can go Tioman and Malacaa for photo shoot leh.

dapipi

Hi Zhu Nai & Serene,
If book through the website,how do we noe that the other party had confirmed our booking? What if the system goes crazy and the other party din receive, but however we thought that we have confirm the date liao? Must go down to ROM to confirm our booking?

Zhu Nai, me different from u, i sit coach can go crazy...too hyper-active liao... Me can't take too long bus ride..If i take plane different, will lok for things to entertain myself...

Serene, ur butt big??? Wait till u c mine.. My fren said that maybe the fishes tot that FOOD is here,Never seen so big piece of bread,that's y all the fishes came nibbling...

serene_lee

Hi Ade, When U go ROM website, after booking they will ask you to pay a some of fee and then print out that booking. Just need to bring ur IC and that letter the day of ur ROM date. If U are doing ur ROM outside ROM then U ve to go down eariler to collect the cert and the rest. Must remember to bring both ur IC there ok.

For me Both me and my HB like the coach ride. We alway like to take coach to Genting. I told him That is the only time we will hug together and sleep. So I for sure take coach ride at least once in 4 month time. Hee Hee...... Am I crazy????

As for my butt, my mum alway say that my MIL sure like me cos my butt is big and can give birth to a lot. (The old folk tale) Ha Ha Ha..... I might not be able to come forum that offen le. My boss coming back next week. So sad....

lovely2005

Hi Ade,

Dun worry abt the sys goes bonkers... unlikely to happen unless u r so "lucky"

Urs is popular date so remember to do it fast, 3 mths b4 ur ROM date if u gonna have it inside ROM.

dapipi

Hi Serene & Renee,
Ok,ok, noe the procedure liao..If not i also a bit confused on the system thingy...Thanks for ur help...

U and ur HB very romantic hor, still got take coach once in 4 mths..I haven't had the experience of going overseas with my FH..U where got crazy?? I so envy...My FH very unromantic wan..Oni take bus ride...

zhu_nai

long time no see... me back.. i only log on when im in office.. keke..

hi Ade
just to add on to what Renee and Serene mentioned, after you book the date and make the payment over the internet, you will be given a date to go down to ROM and verify your documents. so when that is done, you are sure that yout date is confirmed ya?

Serene, you 2 are romantic.. at least you all plan trips more often than i do...for me and husband, always me make the request to go for short trips, he never bring up... perhaps wana save $$ for our weddingg and home ba... but somtimes after a few months of working and having nothing new in our lives, a short trip really makes a lot of different. it helps to add some sparks to your lives right???.. hhheheee

by the way, for those who have not booked with Furama, William called ma last Friday to inform me that there will definitely be a show in jul. prices will increase but he mention the price for grand ballroom likely to remain the same but perks will change, better or not is subjective. I will go and meet him this week. let you all know more details when i have them.

see ya!

zhu_nai

hi sashay

glad to see you..i tot no one toking here anymore....so quiet for these 2 days. i am trying to arrange to meet william this sat but have not managed to get him yet. Have you ardy booked with Furama? i can let you all know the details once i get them.

dapipi

Hi Zhu Nai,
Oh, still got a date to go down and verify ar...At least more secure...knowing that they will still give a date to go down...

zhu_nai

hi sashay

haven settle everything, everything not settled.. hhhaaa all things are halfway now... flat paperwork in process.. probably get keys in the last few days of June. reno contractor haven decided yet but have one in mind to take up. reno details hmm.... also done lah, but still looking around for ideas. BS not yet go find cos still q early. dinner venue, this sat will go see a few places, Carlton, Grand Plaza Park Royal and maybe Merchant Court (but they ardy have a confirmed booking on the date that I want, so may just give it a miss), also meeting William to find out mroe about the new package. But in our mind we q like Furama le, so if the rest are not so good then we will go with furama.

now the 2 main things on my mind are my flat and dinner venue... the rest i think can wait. My AD next dec mah.. keke

Hi Ade
good to see you again. how's everything on your side?

serene_lee

Hi all, I just called my coordinator today. I have already paid the deposit but haven sign any contract leh. A bit wori dunno if the contract is the sme as what they promise. He told me that he will ask me down one day to sign. By then have to read thru line by line then sign. Ha Ha Ha.......

Hi Zhu Hai and Ade, We not that romantic lah. Cos no much budget so choose M'sia as a form of relax lor. Hee Hee......

zhu_nai

actually i dunno how the procedure should be leh, should we get the contract and agreed first then pay the deposit or pay the deposit first then agree on the terms of the contract? confusing leh... dunno how, anyone can advise???

Serene, your coordinator who? your package is the old one or new one that they offering for the Jul bridal show?

von_teh_su_su

Hi All.....

Haha, finally we are all back....yah was quite quiet the pass few days..hehe

Serene, dun worry, their contract quite okie.....me read thru the contract carefully before i sign on it, and then pay for the deposit...As for those things that was give to us and not mentioned in the contract, perhaps u would like to inform william and he will add in for u....

Zhu Nai, I think both ways are okie....because once u pay for the deposit, it means that the date is confirmed by u liao....and signing the contract also mean u agreed to the terms & conditions...(which means the date too...) hehe this is way i think lah..... hehe

As for me, still looking for WIS flats....sob sob...now venue settled liao, waiting for flat only......good luck to me then! hahahaha

OliO~Moo~ (sashay), what industry u are working now...? so ur overseas guest use furama for their stay when they come to singapore..??

cheers.....

zhu_nai

Hi Vonz
very happy to see you back here again.. hhhaaa we are all back, except for Renee i think, haven seen her for some time. Now everyday i will come in here at least once.. part of daily routine le..

I think the same as you actually.. me scared that the date will be taken up leh so i thought maybe put deposit ardy can have a load off my mind le. I tot me very kiasu le looking for venue like more than 1.5 years in advance.. but got ple more steady than me leh... ardy booked merchant court for the date i wan.. hhhaaaa

and im very detailed one so i will scrutinise the contract i think.. hhahhaaa...

Vonz... when is you AD huh? forget liao... how much time you have left to your AD. you know you cna actually appeal to HDB to WIS for a flat in teh area you want, especially if you are near your parents. Try writing to them and appeal, it may help, you never know. explain that you still have not got a flat and you are getting married soon, etc..

sashay

hi Vonz, i m in teleco industry
Yupez my pple will stay there when they r here.

Zhu Nai, did u request for a receipt that states its a deposit to confirm ur wedding banquent on certain date??

von_teh_su_su

Hi Zhu Nai,

Hehe, me also everyday come in and have a look at all of u....esp lunch time, if not, maybe after dinner time...hehe also became a habit liao.....

Me AD is on the 21 Dec 05....mine is half more yr to go....my stuffs okie lah....parents handling all the details..hahah all the "ping li" & "guest list" and "guo da li" thingy.....me & hubby just need to settled all our friends & colleagues....... (hahaha)

Writing to HDB, can mah...?? i just called them up the other time asking them when will be the next WIS exercise going to be, wow they transfer me the call to thousand of dept..end up the telephone operation told me TO WAIT lor.......wow lau....! such services, me also dare not call anymore...sianz.... haha

So have to wait lor, for next launch.....perhaps, i will try writing them an email and enquire...... thanks for ur advise...

Actually u not kaisu.....u see @ merchant court, ppl already booked much more earlier than u do, haha...that means there are more ppl more kaisu than u, hahaha.......

Okie, got to work liao...see u then....
Happy friday today....yah.....weekends coming....

zhu_nai

Hi sashay
me haven pay deposit leh, meeting william only tomorrow and most probably will only go down and pay deposit next week if we really cfm furama. we will be going to a few venues as i mentioned yesterday...hehhee... but will make the decision fast in case date taken up wor.

Hi Vonz...ok, thats only half a year to go leh... not much time left liao.. ok, to fasten things, you know what you can do? your MP got Meet The Residents session or not? If have, you go meet the MP and ask the MP to write a letter to help you. This may be more powderful.. really, no jokes. My friend ever tried that before.. at least managed to get some progress...

ya i think me not really that kiasu lor... hehee

hope all have a good weekend....

lovely2005

Hehe... me still ard lah...

HDB will not anyhow release when is their next WIS, in case you spread the news. Coz last time my hubby also tried to ask some questions on new flats... but was disappointed with their ans lor. Haiz.
Try asking the MP but dun hv too high expectation, sometime MP also useless one unless ur MP is the power kind.

yeyebride

halooo, all coming bride to be! hehehe, i am new bride that just finished my wedding dinner at Furama City Centre recently, i think it's a bit late to the forum. But coming here just to give some feedbacks. On my dinner night, i would say the food might not be upto what i want, but service was good that day. Really have to say thanks to all the service staff. Manager that day was Sazali. Next, saw some of you talked about William. My coordinator also him, i would say you can rest assured him handling your wedding. My wedding was well taken care by him, and he is really a patience person, i would say i am so panic & naggy, everytime i bite at him on things, he is so patience enough to help me, check things for me, explain things to me etc...... overall experience i would say my wedding went well.

von_teh_su_su

Hi Zhu Nai,

Wow meeting MPs...?? Haha yah can try, hehe.....but me also accept that WIS must wait lor.....wait else if i want new WIS flat.....i think the next launch will be out soon...hehe...me waiting patiently each day!... ;)

Yah, agreed that meeting MPs sometimes help...my friends also got help and aid from their area MPs....they actually sloved her problem, which i think quite incredible...hahaha

Hi casschan (yeyebride)
Congrats to u......glad to hear that at least service was good from furama....wow, my coordinator was also william...hehe.....the decoration theme quite nice leh.....using fresh flowers..with their nice nice ballroom, wow really perfect.....

Me & hubby now also not anxious, hahha maybe time not up yet...hehe....planning to go for the food tatsing in Nov, then by then i will have a whole list of all guests list....and also must arrange for my jie meis / xiong dis.... hahah, now roughly start planning liao.....just write down what to do and what need to do.....nearer to the date then emphasize on it.....

Me also hoping that it will be an extraordinary experience for me & hubby, and i sure i will...

Okie, time to go back home.....happy weekends

summergirl

Hi casschan,

u were saying the food didn't meet ur standards, if given 5 stars, how many stars will u give? i thinking of considering furama city centre too...

Tks!

dapipi

Hi Zhu Nai,
Looking for photographer & videographer for AD now... Any recommendations??? other than this, dun noe what to do leh...Stuck liao..

Hi Von,
U so lucky, still got your parents to help u out... FH & i got to handle everything ourselves... So stress out...
kao_scared.gif

Hi Casschan,
Thanx for your info...Glad that your dinner went well for u...I also a bit worried that it may not turn out well...*have to keep fingers crossed*

yeyebride

Hi Ade,
You're welcome! Probably just nag them a bit more to really take care of your dinner. U tell them u dun want to lose face better be good.

Hi Christine,
I would say around 3 and a half out of 5-star! The food not very hot at sometime. A bit salty for some dishes as well.

Hi vonz,
Yes yes, the ballroom really looks good on the day.

serene_lee

Hi Ade, For PG, you can look for Wai Peng, sam wong and Nick. For VG, you can look for Mark, Mr Loh and Chris Tay. All this is a lower end pricing.

My PG is Sam wong and VG is Mr loh. If you need aome of the quote I can forward you. I try to see how many quote I still keep it.

Hi casschan,
I tot I heard that their food is not bad. Too bad my coordinator is not William. Just wonder if Jacky service is good? Just need to cross my finger for everything lor.

I paid deposit liao but still have not get any contract so dunno if they will keep their promises.

yeyebride

Jacky is a nice person as well, had spoken to him before, my coordinator was supposed to be him but he left his job then was passed to William. And he is back working for the Hotel again.

zhu_nai

long time no see le... me back after a long weekend. helped out my cousin on her wedding on sun. her dinner was at Holiday Inn Park View. ballroom was small and crampy for her 38 tables... but food wise, much better than what I had at Amara... hhahhaaa... the chicken was nice...
but din really like the reception area as there was a restaurant there, so not as exclusive as furama.

I met up with Ivy instead on Sat as William was sick...the new package sounds pretty good, they are offering free flow beer on weekends and if you sue DBS card to pay, you can get either an additional night stay at the suite or a carton of wine free. then you will get a free table for every 10 tables that you book... hmm... my husband now is rather set on furama le... think we will need to make a decision this week as Ivy promised to hold the date we want for us for a week.....

something need you gals to advise me on... actually i q like furama, but i still feel a bit hesitant to cfm because i tot i have not seen enough of other places and dun wish to make a decision so fast. now the decision is on me le, cos my husband ardy told me yesterday that he is ok with furama. do you gals think it would be a rash decision to cfm furama now?

on sat, i went to Grand Plaza ParkRoyal the ballroom is too small for us, the ballroom max capacity is 35. that day when we were there, there was a function going on and we went to take a peep. it was q crampy even though there were less than 30 tables. but the coordinator told us frankly that if we have exactly 35, it will be very cramp. if we have 30, it is fine... but we would probably have at least 35 tables i think.

Hi yeyebride
congrats! glad tha we can have feedback from another furama bride. so the service was good on that day? i heard some feedback that service can be q slow for furama although food is good. was the food ok even though it din really meet your standard?? me q emphasise on quality of food leh.. keke... but very happy that you say the setting was good....

Hi Ade
your question came at the right time. that day when i attended my cousin's wedding, got to know the PG and VG. i think they were both q good. Im not too sure about the $$ though but if you interested can give them a call and i can ask my cousin for some information too.

PG: Michael Guok, 9769 0901
VG: I dun have the contact with me now but he is Kevin from.... (dunno can post here or not leh..)i will PM you maybe when i get the info from my cousin.

ok...thats a lot for today... see you gals again..

von_teh_su_su

Hi All....

Wow so many posting again...me too so anxious to share any of my opinion to all of u......Hehe

I also dun know where to start from......

Generally, I think that there are sure to have some "little mistakes" for a wedding banquet....regardless of 4 stars or 5 stars hotel...I do have friend who hold their wedding in 5 stars hotel and the food is not that nice, service slow...(thought it is a 5 stars hotel), it is just the name, branding... Unless, you are willingly to pay for $900 onwards per table for a guaranteed service hotel. It all depends on how we look at the banquet....... WOW!!! me sound so serious, hahaha but all these are advice given by my "married" frends.......

To think that beside Hubby & ourself put in a lot of effort for this ONE & ONLY ONE DAY, others put in effort as well...like frends, parents....relatives....and not forgetting our hotel coordinators......it is like a puzzle...forming into one beautiful picture.

So my thinking is that...as long as everyone puts in their effort, it is a consolation to me liao, really appreciate their effort for making my DAY!......

Not hoping that it will be the best wedding, but as long that no big issue comes is rather fine for me liao....hahahahaha

Furama is nice as that it can accmodate bigger numbers of tables...me now roughly also have 40 tables liao...wow..........me think will faint if i see 400 paxs on that actual day. hahahahaha

As for contract wise, if there is anything missed out, can talk to the coordinators, they are nice ppl to work with...heheh

--- Zhu Nai, have to consider seriously before u confirmed the wedding venue. Don't regret after the deposit have been paid.....heheh just my thoughts...!

Been to Holiday Inn before for cousin wedding too...last yr i think.....everything is fine..no any other big issue...hehe...just that ballropm is another different concepts as furama ballroom...theirs is a bit "warm & home home" kind of feeling, where as furama is the one like very special concept of ballroom..... heheh (that is also the main reason for chosing furama)...

Hehe, okie that all for now.....
Good Day to all!!!!!!!!
Happy Working....

lovely2005

Wow,

Really so many posting... and lost in reading them. The perks are pretty attractive. Wish Ivy can give extra night or carton of wine too... hehe.
Quite busy with my hse reno but almost finising. Need to call Ivy next mth, for the inivitation printing.

zhu_nai

yesterday, william called me to ask me how the discussion with Ivy was. and he said that he will continue to hold the date for us until we make a decision or when someone else wants the date we want too. then he will call us to let us know. thank god... otherwise i would have to make a decision by this week... keke

ya i think the perks are really q attractive. my futur brother-in-law's sister also holding dinner at furama. I asked him and he said that her package dun include food tasting.. means have to pay if want food tasting.... i was q surprised to hear that.

Hi vonz...
ya, i think furama's ballroom is a different concept, more modern and young compared to most other ballrooms. guess its due to the colour theme as well as the lighting.....

jengirl

Hi All.... I am interested in Furama too... like the ballroom but the hotel very old leh :eek:(....

Any comment?

lovely2005

Hi jengirl,

Though the exterior is not nice but the ballroom is not bad, big and spacious, exclusive cocktail area. Food wise is not bad, u can see from the above posting. The location of the hotel is also quite accessible by car and public transport.
Hv u spoken to any of the coordinator?
Give it a 2nd thought.

dapipi

Wow, the perks for the new package very attractive...still got extra night, free table and wine too...I oso wan...Now feel a bit regret liddat..
Renee, maybe u can try and ask again for the perks...

Hi Zhu Nai,
Yup, Furama doesn't have any food tasting, but the previous time i signed up, got this $500 food voucher, so i exchange it to the food tasting...

Hi Jengirl,
Yup, the hotel a bit old, but as wat Renee said, can give a 2nd thought...At least inside is not that bad...

serene_lee

Hi Zhu Nai,
Can I check what is the price for the function room and ballroom on the week day? I want to know is there any price diff.

Hi Ade, I will forward a few to you.

zhu_nai

hi jengirl
i had the same thoughts as you initially, the outlook is really not impressive and the lobby as well. i had a friend who went to the hotel and when she reach the lobby oni, she told her husband that she will not choose furama. but i guess somehow she was too rash in that. cos when i went to the ballroom, i was pretty impressed leh. very futuristic and modern look. and the hotel rooms were ok also. so you should give it a second though like what Renee and Ade suggested. they are the 'old birds' in this thread.. hahhaaa

hi Ade
the new package got include free food tasting leh. last time package is full course for 10 pax, this time round, is 6 dishes for 6 pax. but i think can bargain for more lor. keke

I dun have the quote leh. i oni got the contact when i attended my cousin's wedding. you can call up that guy, but hor recently my sis went to meet him, not very impressed with his service loh, so up to you to judge.

hi Serene
not too sure about the price diff leh, the information i have does not say so.

serene_lee

Hi Zhu Nai, thanks. I will check it out with my coordinator. If got any news will let you know.

Hi Renee, Today I go thru the forum and realise you are a TP student graduate in Quailty Engineering. I am also from your same school but we are in diff year.

lovely2005

U mean u r from QE too? I was the first batch, think graduated in 1997. U graduated from which yr? Finally found someone same course as me... hehe.

jengirl

Hi Reene & Ade....

Thanks for your advise..... me still considering....

my FH dun like it becos too old.... I like the ballroom and the package is very attractive....

I am looking at Grand Plaza ParkRoyal too... heard the food is not bad....

Very difficult to choose ...

Should i go for better hotel (more expensive) or budget ??

zhu_nai

hi jengirl

i went to grand plaza park royal too. how many tables you have? cos GPPR is q small leh if you have more than 30 tables, my personal opinion lah... but i think the food is good cos the previous banquet chef is still there and will prepare the banquet food.

GPPR and Furama about the same price right? difference about 20 bucks? i think it also depends on what kind of concept you like lah... furama is very modern and futuristic kind, very young. whereas GPPR is more cosy, tytpical ballroom. but i heard they may be renovating the ballroom, so you may wana see if you can get any information with regards to this.

but think of it the other way... if ple go furama and from the outlook and lobby, feel its not sucha good hotel, but when they go to your ballroom and reception, they will probably be impressed and that is a plus point ya? at ;east ple will start talking about how impressed thay are. that's how i would position it. what you think?

Hi Serene, ya, let me know the price difference.

lovely2005

Hi jengirl,

Ex hotel might not give delicious food, vice versa. Personally I feel that u pay more for the grand effect (presentation) for the ex hotel not the food. So I rather go for food 1st then atmosphere 2nd. Lucky Furama able to provide on both.
So dun judge the book by its cover... u need to read the content to know it better...
How abt trying M hotel?

serene_lee

Hi Renee, I gradated in year 2000. I am the 1st batch gradated with Quailty engerineering and management. I wonder if I know you? I know the 1st batch got a guy by the name of David. He is my mum's fren son. Ha Ha Ha, I am also quite suprise to found someone of the same course.

Hi jengirl, I think U really have to consider the whole thing well. As far as I know now all wedd banquet lose money. I choose for cheaper hotel to save up the cost. Both side parent may end up calling alot of pple to attend. In order not to disappointed them so I just let them invite who ever they want. I went to few hotel before I decide on Furama. Let me name a few plus point for you and these are the plus point that I finally confirm with Furama.
1) Location - Furama's location is well known so pple can easily find their way there.
2) Honeymoon suite - It is large and nice, the room view is really prefect. this is the best room so far I had view. Still got mini kitchen and Jaccuzzi.
3) The price is within normal pple hongbao range. Now normally pple will give you hong bao of ard $60 each pax.
4) Ballroom and Function room is newly reno. Everything look attractive.
5) The perks given is consider quite good offer compare to other hotel.
6) The co ordinator service is friendly and flexible.

Hope these points above can help you on your decision on the hotel. but it is still very much on your liking.

jengirl

Hi Serene, Renee & Zhu Nai....

really appreciate your feedback....at least got someone to share my problem

I am looking around 25-30 tables.

Grandplaza parkroyal is having wedding show in July....their perk is 25 tables - 1 table f.o.c. which means 1 table is around $700 nett.

Furama is also having the wedding show in July... so perks is 10 tables - 1 table f.o.c. which work out to be around S$650/table nett....
But heard that their price last time is even cheaper leh.....

What is the package that you all signed?