Furama City Centre

crayon2512

Anyone had suggestions on having wedding@Furama Hotel? How's the ballroom and the food?? I have booked my wedding at a Restaurant but thinking of changing over to Furama. Yet to see the venue.

cy

Forget it. Use any other hotel or restaurant. How about Corpthorne Orchid, their food is definitely better and the ambience is classier.
For Great Food, go to dragon city restaurant and its cheaper than furama.
if u want ambience, furama is not the place and prepare your own wedding song. they have no selection at all..only the "deng deng deng deng" wedding song

askabride

Any1 can give some comments on giving the newly furnished ballroom at Furama Hotel a try? Is the package price reasonable with good service? Good/Bad comments are welcomed, thx!

jocelyn

hi askabride,

I went down with my friend last sat, the ballroom is still under renovation, can't see a thing, but according to the manager(can't remember his name - he's an angmo - very tall man) - it's on the 5th entire 5th floor... so it's pretty big and looks great on the design.

He brought us to the 4th floor where the other smaller ballroom is. On the 4th floor, there are the chinese restaurant, 1 small function room (max 10 table) and the other banquet room ( max ard 25 tables). But the smaller ballroom is quite wierd in layout.

There is a staircase on the 4th floor that leads to the 5th floor ballroom. SO the entire 5th floor is where the new ballroom with the new cocktail foyer is.

Think the price is quite ok, but it's out of budget for my friend, so i dun think she'll be signing up with them.

We initially tot that the cheaper package can also be held at the new ballroom, but unfortunately not. Only bookings with min 30 tables will be held in the new ballroom unless on that day, you have both couples having like 25 max, then they'll let u both share the ballroom(they have a partition), but still u might need to pay a bit more than the ballroom on the 4th flr.

I still have the package with me, i can email u if u want.

askabride

Thx a lot Jocelyn. I have already gotten a copy of the package, just that I havent really gone down and was thinking of asking around for some advice. ;)

jocelyn

hi askabride,

okie ...

there isn't much to see actually cos the entire floor used for the new ballroom is closed, except you can visit the 4th floor to help u visualise how big the 5th floor would be.

They will also be touching up the smaller ballroom as well, the entire hotel renovation will complete by Jan next yr. The new ballroom will complete by nov.

natash

Joy, not yet....I still waiting for my mum to get it from my auntie...

Just that its been a while since I last visited the place so I am not aware how the reno going to look like and its one of the wedding banquet I thought of having there...

If any of you girls got any updates beofre my mum lets me know...keke Cannot wait...

see ya

natash

The new reno ballroom looks not bad to me...what do you think?

Don know whether the food taste nice and how the deco will belike? Not the typical chinese type, I hope...

Any ideas?

natash

HI joy,

Going down to meet the banquet manager tomorrow lunch time at Furama to see the packages...

Let you know again

Nas

natash

Hi JOy,

Thanks for your mail, already recieved it.
By the way, I willl be meeting Derrick tomorrow to take a look at the place.

Did Derrick say anything about free complimentary rooms if the number of table booked is above a certain number or complimentary carpark etc?

I will only book about 25 tables, that means i should be taking the smaller ballroom but the reno you were talking about, will it be as nice as the big ballroom? Do you know anything about it?

If nothing goes wrong, then I should be booking there. Its really a hassle trying to go around looking for more hotels. Make me only more confused.

Initially was looking at Apollo , Prima revolving and dragon gate...or charming at Orchard Inn...and furama too..

Don know which one is good...Headache...

Nas

jocelyn

Hi natash,

no problem .. I've dropped u another mail... getting a bit too lor-soh.... better not post my message here b4 pple starts to yawn

natash

Hi JOy,

Im back...met Derrick and saw the ballrooms...the smaller one is abit werid as you have mentioned..I went up to see the bigger ballroom and the package is $588....

Will talk more in my email...going to email you now

fong

Hi Natash,

Did you book the your dinner with Furama, me too is considering them, maybe you can tell me more.

?

???

Hi Natash, Joycelyn

I am interested in furama as well, can yuou kindly post all your finding in this forum coz I think it will def benefit the rest..Thanks in advance

jocelyn

Hi ???

maybe u can drop a mail to me instead cos i dun hv the package with me right now in the office, it's in my home pc.

Click on my nick for my email.

kitty

Hi Natash, Joycelyn

Me too is looking at furama hotel can you share it with me ?

?

???

Thanks Jocelyn

May I know the packasge price is the latest?? So which date have you booked w them??

Thanks a million!!!

jocelyn

Hi ???,

I've got the package emailed to me by Derrick last month only.. so shd be the latest.

Anyway, I've dropped u a mail liao... I'm actually co-ordinating for my friend, so i'm not the one getting married...mine is over liao

kitty

Hi Jocelyn,

rec'd the package liao thanks. Did you attend any WD at Furama hotel , any idea is the service and food there good ? Did your friend meet up with Derrick ? I would appreciate if you can share more with me.

jocelyn

Hi Kitty,

I've not attended any WD so far, not so sure abt the food or service.

We met up with another sales manager.. can't remember his name but he's an expat(angmo)... a very huge man but very friendly and frank too.

It's from him that we heard that they have not taken in any weddings this year bcos of the renovation in the hotel and ballroom. But all renovation shd end by this year and officially completed and reopen next yr jan.

They have already a few couples booked for next year's wedding using the new ballroom.

natash

Hi Joy,

As I have heard, First wedding for the New ballroom will be held on the 12 January 2003..Ballroom only be ready in Jan 2003 and as for the new ballroom package we have got, they only just release for the booking next yr...Kekkee
Maybe I try to take a peek for the first wedding and see how it goes...Anyway, mine;s fixed already...but want to KPO and see the first wedding....there

jocelyn

Hi natash,

actually that sales manager told me say end of Nov will finish the big ballroom liao, but they are still going to do the smaller ballroom, so everything will be ready by Jan lor...

ya... think u shd go down and see what's the deco and ambience like.... then u can also prepare for ur own.

kitty

Hi Natash,

Did they show you the bridal suite and how do you find it? Seen their packages can we negotiate for more compliments barrel of beer, seat cover etc...with them.

jocelyn

Hi kitty,

natash has gone for a short break over the wkend, she won't be back till nxt Mon/Tues.

Think u'll hv to wait for her to reply u nxt wk, but i did not remember wrongly, i think she mentioned that Derrick has thrown in the seat covers for her.... hope i got it right.

Maybe u can try asking for an additional stay as well???

littlerabbit

Think that mayb can help ur ans some of the queries ur hv with Furama as I myself had booked my banquet dinner there which would be held in Nov 2003.

Yes kitty and Jocelyn,

Seat covers are thrown in the package if we have our bookings b4 end of this yr.

As 4 additional night stay, in fact I've tried n seems not possible. But if anyone of u do manage to get add'l complimentary do let me know.

Feel free to drop me an email if ur have any queris. Will try 2 help.

pucca

Did anyone signed up Furama Hotel after attending their new ballroom today?

Pls share your views...

natash

Dear Pucca

Have already booked my wedding with them for May 2003...Have you seen the ballroom already?
I already seen the ballroom on the first wedding held on 12 January...

Nas

natash

Hi KP

The ballroom is very futuristic and the lightings are computerised...and of course, very new...I understand that within the yr 2003...Only Furama has the newest and latest Ballroom loh..

Anyway, relatively it is not too bad...

Pucca: drop me a mail in private at [email protected]
Natash_sg with the underscore

Nas

shirley

natash, do you mind to share qith me the quotation that furama gave you? I'm very impressed by their ballroom, have not seen it for real, only seen the pic. How's the food?

Thank you in advance. My email is [email protected]

natash

Hi Shirley

I have seen the Ballroom and its very nice and new....and the carpets glow in a way when the lightings dim...pretty nice effect....

If you like more quotes to compare, you can go to the thread on Slimming Salt...Look for Tiazzy and Ivory...I think both of them have also quotes from there....by the way, Pucca from this thread also has been quoted...And the food is nice too cux cooked by Hong Kong Chief...I don't know about h0ow others feel about the food but its good enough for me already.....cux always eat at the Furama Palace...

My quote is alittle bit different from the rest of the girls, not convenient to release here due to personal reasons...Unless you want to know the reason kekeke...You can drop me a mail at the above address.....ok

Nas

hazel

i ve attended a furama wedding at the new ballroom just recently. I personally think the place is ok but they are definitely short-handed.

The food was served late. quite awkard for first dish..some tables have some tables dun have.
and the staff are not doing what they should be doing, filling up the cups and just be around when we need them.

july

Hi Hazel,

Thanks for the infor, I will be having my WD this Sept, how you find the food there is it good ? and also how many tables are there that night. Mine will be 45 to 50 tables , getting a bit worry now.

July