Four Seasons Hotel

ju_ed

Hi FS brides,

I'm on the verge of confirming my dinner banquet with them!

Could I check how much alcohol is usually consumed for say a 30-table banquet, in your experience? Is 30L of beer + 1.5 bottles/table of wine enough?

The crowd is a 50-50 mix of older/middle-aged relatives and working adults.

TIA!

cutiephinphin

Hi ju_ed

sorry but i can't advise you. I'm stumped myself although I told FS to just standby a 20L as for our wedding, we should have more wine drinkers than beer. What FS suggested was if the requests for beer aren't many, then they'll just charge by per glass.

Talking abt FS, anyone has any idea about their color themes? Although we are able to mix & match the colors but it's just so difficult to visualize how all the stuffs like flowers, chair covers, the canopy will blend in + with the gowns etc. So far I've only seen the white theme with red roses.

gingerbread_gal

Cutiephinphin,
were you shown the pics they have? Otherwise, gotta make trips down to FS when they have weddings of diff colour themes....that's what we're going to do.....
i've seen the all white, black and red and another theme with the baby grand piano in the middle of crescent ballroom....i think it'll be good to make trips down to see what the ballroom will look like in an actual wedding

cutiephinphin

Hi Jac

Yep so far I've only seen pictures from the 2 brides who's had her wedding at FS. Really? You've seen so many already? Did you take any pictures? I'm interested in the one with the baby grand in the middle...

Can you keep me posted if you know any weddings coming up? Can pm me. TIA

gingerbread_gal

Hi cutiephinphin,
Saw a few setups during the time when i signed up with FS....
I'll be contacting my co-ordinator in June (as that's the time she said we shld start preparing) to let us in on any weddings that we might be interested in.
No prob, I'll pm you if anything interesting comes up....

Unfortunatelt, I don't have any pics...but the grand baby piano setup was for the couple as they play the piano and i think gotta rent the piano from FS.

cutiephinphin

Hi Jac

Thanks for the info... and I'll be definitley waiting for your posts on the wedding appts
TIA

ju_ed

Hi cutiephinphin,

Thanks for the information. Yeah, we're also expecting more wine drinkers and lesser beer drinkers.

I've seen the gold seat covers with white table cloth, and white seat covers with maroon table cloth before at other functions there. My co-ordinator says they use the same ones used for weddings. I'm also interested in looking at more colour combinations. Perhaps we can keep one another posted on the board.

namipandora

Hey, new here. I'm considering FS, but just curious, has anyone tried the western menu before? WHich is the best option and whether is it a generous portion for lunch?

foodietravel

I just had my wedding at Four Seasons Hotel a couple of days ago... Just thought you might wanna read my feedback to the President of Four Seasons Hotel Group ;) which i'm concurrently typing.

Excerpt
"Pre-wedding:
Lewis met all my requests and we communicated via emails and phone calls. Ginny, who covered him during his few days of leave, was also very gung ho and relayed all messages correctly. Lewis even called me two days before the wedding, even though it was his day off, simply to make sure everything was alright.

Wedding Banquet of 20 Tables:
During the wedding banquet: Both Gibson & Daud handled everything professionally and all the banquet staff made sure the event was perfect. Food was good and service was exceptionally top-notch. We had an outside company set-up balloons with streamers just beneath the ballroom ceiling and when a guest was pointing them out to her baby, one of the staff actually pulled 1 or 2 balloons down to give to them. My family was really pleased that such little things made our guests happy. Other staff found a car key and a shawl and all were passed promptly to my helpers. As for me and my husband, we were very well taken care of throughout the entire dinner. From briefing my husband on the procedures and timelines, to helping me with my gowns onto and off the stage, we didn’t have to worry at all. Our wedding started VERY promptly, which is remarkable since we’re Singaporeans and we all know Singaporeans have a tendency towards arriving late at weddings and leaving early. In our case, our wedding started on time, and the guests lingered after dessert was served.

Hotel Stay:
We were allocated a newly-refurbished Executive Suite as part of our two-night wedding package. My traditional parents were pleased to note that even the room number was auspicious. The suite is divided into two sections (living cum dining room) and bedroom. The place was spacious enough for eight of us to have our marriage solemnization ceremony and this included our photographer and videographer moving about the area. My aunt booked a similar suite and we noticed the differences between the old style and the renovated one. I must say, the refurbished one is more well-planned. For a light sleeper like me, it was considerate of the hotel to arrange the upgrading works to be not as noisy as expected and also, to be carried out after late morning.

Concierge was good with security and made sure that my make-up artist, photographer, videographer was able to access my floor. Our parents were escorted up. The bell-hops were very polite and recognized us each day. Same to be said about one of the One-Ninety Restaurant staff. I can’t recall his name but I sure remember his face! He remembered our morning beverages. He’s probably a Captain or Manager etc."

In short -- to all Singapore Brides, no worries if you're planning to hold your wedding at FS!

cutiephinphin

Hi M

Firstly, truly thank you for sharing us this compliment letter. I am also liaising with Lewis.
Honestly, from the minute I stepped in the hotel, my worries were unfounded. After meeting Lewis, there wasn't much that I could fault with as well. The presentation was also done professional unlike other hotels that I've been to.

Your experience has just confirmed that we had made the right choice.

Btw are you able to share about the color themes you had? Some of the btbs here including myself are currently planning on the color themes. TIA

foodietravel

hi cutiephinphin..

gosh, i didn't really have a theme. FS does buy new linen maybe once a year or every two years or so... i just waited till a week before and chose my colours.

i think i went for black chairs all round, the VIP tablecloth was gold and the other tablecloths were maroon i think... red roses everywhere. I had balloons outsourced which were maroon and also gold.

you can ask Lewis to show you the album and you can see from there. He'll be able to advise you on the colours. The VIP table is served first. Then all other guests are served at exactly at the same time. Which means the staff portions the food course by course. They're very strict on timings.

gingerbread_gal

Hi M,
Congratulations! and thank you for sharing this letter with us.
Really happy to know that FS presented such excellent service to you and your guests. I'm sure that the service makes all the difference.

Like cutiephinphin, the presentation by FS upon our first visit left a deep impression. And the service presented by our co-ordinator impressed my fiance so much that he's been singing praises of FS to everyone who asked about our reception venue.

foodietravel

Jac -
It's my pleasure to let you know that we're happy with FS. Before signing up with any hotel, i was also worried about which hotel would give us gd service and food. But we finally went with FS because the presentation, the ballroom, the private foyer for reception etc were good.

cutiephinphin

My FH wanted FS the minute we looked at the ballroom. He also liked the private foyer which we will be doing our solemnization. Now looking and thinking of how we can decorate the area at minimal cost.

gingerbread_gal

M,
Can you share some pics with me? Would love to take a look at how the ballroom was decorated for you, esp with the balloons included.

cutiephinphin,
do you think the decor provided by FS will be good enough? If so, then will prob not spend much on decoration of the ballroom...will spend it on entertainment instead...

anyone has any recommendations for a live band?

cutiephinphin

I would love to have some pictures if you're comfortable showing.

Jac
did you get my message in Multiply? I have live band, using Dream A Little. Ya i don't wish to spend too much as I'm having entertainment already but i meant during the solemnization & cocktail. Just to bring up the atmosphere?

namipandora

Hi M, that's really nice. I like to use them, but i'm worried about the western food menu.

@ Cutiephinphin, how much is it to have a live band? Any contacts? Can you pm me?

Oh, and are traditional parents 'ban tang' against black and red tablecloth? That seems to be in fashion, but i'm just worried what the relatives may think :D

foodietravel

Jac & Cutiephinphin,

wish i could show you photos but i'm going for my honeymoon next week Tues and the photos will prob take a month.. I'm also keen to see what i looked like!! But the ballroom looked good with the balloons. Only added 125 balloons.

The black chairs blended in nicely with the maroon tablecloths. I'm traditional myself but with red roses along the aisle, no worries.

FYI,

200 guests used 29 bottles of wine. Didn't serve beer. Only free flow soft drinks.

I didn't get any live band. We've seen A Little Dream perform at a bridal show and they're very good. My bro will prob use them for his wedding in a couple of yrs time. But on reflection, didn't need any live band because the place looked great and the guests enjoyed themselves.

gingerbread_gal

cutiephinphin,
Yep i got your message in multiply...oops, i thought i've replied you...But a little dream isn't quite what i'm looking for....btw, where r u doing your solemnisation at? I'll be doing mine in the ballroom itself...

M,
Thanks for the info on the alcohol consumed.... I'm thinking of not serving any alcohol as mine is a day event...

Wondering if the balloons effect is similar to what a previous FS bride had as well...enjoy your honeymoon - where are u going?
Take ur time to show us any pics if you will

golden_bride

hi M, i read tt u have red roses along the aisle? do u mean fresh red roses petals? cos i tot of doing tt, but my cordinator say its not allowed leh.. ask me to use coffeetti instead..

foodietravel

Iam (sorry, did i spell ur name right),

I meant that Four Seasons includes a total of 8 candlestands with fresh roses and there were 4 placed on the side of the aisle, two by the door, two on stage. All hotels do not accept fresh petals strewn on the aisle because of staining. We didn't have flower girls etc.. The aisle is pretty short and it would make it difficult for the photographer to take photos if there're people walking ahead of us down the aisle.
We chose red roses and the roses provided are the bigger sized ones. Not the normal sized ones pple usually buy.
hth.

Jac,
I'll be going to San Francisco (my fave city and he's not been), Chicago (we've never been there)and Las V*gas. 2 weeks.
Like i said, i also waiting for my photos but will prob see them only abt a month's to six weeks time.

cutiephinphin

Hi M

Have a fantastic honeymoon! I love States too. Hope to be able to view your photos

Jac
Actually it was proposed to do it during the dinner but think my HTB & I are quite shy lah so we'll be doing it before cocktail at the private foyer. Lewis had suggested that if we are uncomfortable with doing it during the dinner. He will be providing the chairs & set up etc.

Btw what sort of bands are u looking for? Maybe you can be more specific then at least we can recommend. In any case, I think Compass would be the one as they have quite wide range from just instrumental to jazz & bossa nova. There are also other singers which you can ask for if you aren't comfortable with the proposed one.

I wonder if any of the other FS brides used other flowers or other colors even instead of red roses.

queeniech

Can anyone share how u have done your solemnisation at FS? Any other suggestions than having it in the private foyer and during the dinner?

golden_bride

hi M, oh i see... then its ok.. i tot hw much ur cord so gd, allowed u to use fresh roses then me cant.. heehee.. anyway, my AD is Jan09, so dun really need to plan too much.. jus tt i dun know wat theme i like, and i als0 hven seen any themes of any brides at FS.. if anyone cn share w me pics, that will be nice... tks..

hi choppy, hw do i invite u at multiply arh?

foodietravel

cutiephinphin,

thanks! two more days to go... looking forward to the trip.
---------
to all of you enquiring abt solemnisation..

like i posted earlier on May 15th.. we did ours in the suite. BUT!!! we only had about 8 of us in the suite and it was very private and quiet. I think you can't have more than 10 people because then, it gets too noisy and crowded.
If you do decide to have your solemnisation in the foyer, i'm sure the FS staff will help you arrange it.

golden_bride

hi choppper, i tried to invite u leh, my ID is strawberry10 .. cos cant use my own ID as lam as its taken, so got to use a new ID. hehhhee.. see if u can received my invite ba... tks!

chopperpiggy

Hi Lam, I have tried to invite you already. Mine has no theme because I wanted simple & romantic. Therefore, I went for dark theme with red roses, no cakes no petals............

golden_bride

hi chopper, i got ur invite.. Tks! ur gown is nice sia! bare back is wat i want. but my back no nice , got pimples and all.. heeeehhh, so still haven decide on the gown yet.. anyway, the AP box is so traditional.. u bought or hotel provide? i still thinking of doing a nice one apart from the ususal ones...

chopperpiggy

hey, when you invited me, what must i do to the multiply hur?

The AP box was from Hotel, is nice & elegant, I am the lazy type, so whatever that is provided & is not very childish or ugly, i will just leave it.............hehe. The guest book also provided!

When is your AD? how come you have not decided on your gown?

foodietravel

hi xlb,

i'm now at the biz class lounge of Singapore Airlines. free upgrade for me & my hubby but A LOT of point used up!! anyway, not on multiply. not on any internet chat thing... i'm hopeless at such stuff. ...waiting to board my flight to San Francisco.

to lam,

i bought an empty non-decorated gold box with angpao slits and then my cousin's girlfriend took it and one week later, she decorated it with scrapbook materials such as ribbons, shiny crystal stickers, etc... VERY NICE!! didn't really like the FS box which was loaned to us.

when i mailed my invitation cards, i included mini homemade 'admission tickets' which helped the reception allocate the guests to the seats.. Plus, these cards were blank on one side and the guests used it to decorate with stickers etc... I'm planning to buy a photo album style book to insert these cards and create my own homemade guest book. BTW, these cards meant that my wedding started at 7:40pm and ended early too!

antakusuma

chopper piggy! we're online buddies on multiply. hehehe...

M> there's no better time to use up ur points. =)

Jac>Regarding alcohol, i think u must standby la. people come to wedding must yumseng... Afternoon also can drink! If u want to save on alcohol, then don't serve for cocktail, just during the meal itself. I served for cocktail, basically i finished 30 bottles of wine and 1 20 litre barrel before the first course started.

For my AP box, actually i used a picnic basket! very practical and easy to carry around.

cutiephinphin

hi lovexialongbao

WOW... ur beverage sounds SCARY!
But i supposed your wedding was in the bigger ballroom? Mine will just be for max 14 tables at Crescent Ballroom.

gingerbread_gal

antakusuma,
i understand what you mean....actually not that i wanna save $$ on the alcohol...just that its a day event and I don't want people to drink and drive and get drunk in daytime....but yeah, i think should standby too cos there will be ppl who will ask for alcohol. I'm thinking of skipping the yumseng part - my least fav part of banquet esp the yumseng on stage :p

M, enjoy your honeymoon...i intend to fully utilize my points to exchange for air tix...hope you'll get your wedding pics when u r back

Hehe, I thought the FS AP box looks quite unique and cool

chopperpiggy

If possible, don't be too generous with cocktail, you will be surprise with the amount of FRESH ORANGE JUICE people can drink during dinner. You can say i stingy lah, but really not worth it to pay so much for orange juices or cocktail loh. Pay for Liqour ok lah, but paid so much for juices really heart pain, until now when i thought of the amount we paid, still makes me sad.............

Thanks antakusuma......

antakusuma

i got 28 tables. Alcohol and drinks were a huge expense agree with Chopper.

Jac> i think afternoon pple won't drink as much cos its a weird time to get drunk. But then again, who knows, there'll always be one or 2 people who will be super mabok. kekek

golden_bride

hi chopper... ermm, my AD is in Jan09 tats why hven choose gown yet, but wil be gg over to BS to choose end month le.. and PS will be in july.. anyway, talking abt the guest book and AP box, my cord dint tell me anything abt tt leh, shd i ask her or till nearer the date then ask her?

gingerbread_gal

antakusuma,
yep, its a weird time to get drunk....but like what you said, we should cater to those who wants to drink too...actually am thinking of providing each table with 1 bottle of champagne for wine toasting, but then am not keen on the yam seng - maybe do the toasting at tables individually...

chopperpiggy,
really? so many ppl drank orange juice? when i go for wedding banquets, i usually drink the orange crush.....how much did u pay for the drinks?

you girls know there is free flow of mixers right?? do you think that s'poreans hardly drink that? any idea what type of mixers FS have?

Iam,
your PS is so early?? hmmm, mine prob going to be in Sept....
my co-ordinator told me almost everything during the presentation when we first went down....

antakusuma

jac> actually alot of pple dun drink champagne, i realise. quite waste money, then can u imagine all the corks flying. hahhaha...

Actually i think singaporeans will order the mixers. Coke or sprite or fanta.

chopperpiggy

Jac,
Yes, we only knew it when we were settling our bill at the end of our dinner, we actually saw 1 particular table with so MANY glasses of FRESH ORGANGE JUICE and they were all unfinished. At least half glass full left, like I said, paid for Alcohol ok lah, but we paid about $500 plus for extra cocktail & jucies. Our bill for beer was only less than $200, can you imaging. I was so sad but my husband was very nice loh, he didnt mind at all. Most of our guest were from my side & they kind of abuse our generousity lor, I don't think they mean it lah, but all my life when i attended people's wedding, i never order extra stuff that cost so much. So I thought that people should limit themselve loh. Maybe I was been stingy lah, however, is just not neccessary to be generous with cocktails, just the free flow of soft drinks are just good enough. Save your expenses on Alcohol.

lam,
I think those little details are not so crucial, you can look into it 1 month before your AD. No worries...............

cutiephinphin

wow chopperpiggy

did you have full bar or what? How come orange juice can be served without checking with you? Free flow only applies to soft drinks and not juices. And I don't think fanta is included as well.

Anyway on my question on the themes, seems like no other FS brides had other flowers besides RED ROSES.