Four Seasons Hotel

providencia

Chopperpiggy, tks tks for e template. Now thinking very hard on how to get rid of the Yam Seng portion, cos really hate it. I attended a wedding without the Yam Seng, but got lots of awkward moments - not nice. So must think of how to fill the time.

chopperpiggy

at first i also thought of taking out the Yam Seng thing, then think think think, like kind of fun also, so i keep that loh.

You may wanna consider to go table-to-table cheers instead?

fashionistadiva

Sigh sigh sigh, hi gals, I think my wedding is postponed to Dec or Jan. I haven't got nothing sorted out though I've done my H/W for hotels. Torn between Oriental and FS.

BTW, I saw some really good photographers in KL, plus cheaper cloths- thinking of making my gown in KL. Very particular abt material - dun like the typical polyester-based duchesse satin that most BS here use (except for the high end ones like Silhoutte, Renee L etc) If any of you want contacts, let me know. Saw a design done after Vera Wang's current collection with silk chiffon - very good workmanship RM3000.

Looks like all of us are like-minded in terms of wedding procedure. I also dun like yamseng, not even the fake cake.

Recently went to an old friend's wedding - so upset with her. I've never gone to a wedding where my friend does not even talk to me a bit more, at least at the exit door. She bought 5 designer gowns including Vera Wang, and I didn't get to see the wedding gown at all - what a waste, and I agree with Jac - it's nicer to take photos in the wedding gown rather than evening gown, esp since some girls at the tables may wear very elaborate gowns!

gingerbread_gal

Hey fashionista diva,
what's the lure for you at Oriental and what's the lure at FS?
If I rem correctly, you said that your HTB is concerned that service at FS won't be good since they're stingy on freebies?
I think with regards to their service, they are top-notch. A PG whom I talked to said that of so many weddings he did, FS leaves a lasting impression cos of their service.

I'm not in favour of yam seng...but I gotta admit that it does add on to the atmosphere esp if all the guests join in.

Wow, your friend bought so many gowns? Did she wear them all?

For me, I feel that its only once that I'll be wearing a WG, so must make the most out of it. That's why I insisted on not having a EG. Besides, I'm so excited abt the gown from my BS. So, only WG for me!

fashionistadiva

Oriental themes very nice too, esp the Love theme. Go check it out. They are very very flexible, and very generous. Their flowers are very fresh, all the tables are nicely done up. Actually FS the only draw is the ballroom-very English classy kinda feel, and more western. The people that choose FS also more "english"?

providencia

Hi fashionista diva, I was caught in the same situation last yr, htb is keen on Oriental and me on FS. Decided on FS, cos of capacity. Think FS has a classy feel, that's what a lot of pple say. I feel you sound more keen on Oriental, so why not go with your desire?
Why does your friend need so many gowns? Vera Wang some more.
Yam Seng part really no go for htb, so we'll fill the time with something else.

fashionistadiva

Do I sound like I prefer Oriental? Actually I prefer FS coz it suits my taste. I listed more positive things abt Oriental only coz they really are more flexible so although I like FS ballroom and the simple, elegant western feel suits me more, there's nothing for me to list abt them!

Sigh.

I dun like the religious carvings and other things around Oriental either.

fashionistadiva

Oh, abt the gowns - there's Vera Wang evening gown, Reem Acra wedding gown, Tan Yoong cheongsam and evening gown, and one more I dunno from where. Anyway she's no longer my friend coz this is no way to treat an old friend. I'm quite pissed.

gingerbread_gal

Fashionista diva,
hehe, yeah you sound like you prefer Oriental. How abt going with your gut feeling? Have u fixed your AD date yet?

Abt your friend, could there be a misunderstanding? Perhaps she was really tired?
But really, it seems a bit too extravagant...so many gowns...unless there's more than one wedding reception...

providencia

FS is known for being inflexible, when i complain abt it before i sign, they say that they want to be fair to everyone, so that what u get will not based on your negotiation skills. does this sound like an excuse? it makes sense to me leh, very comforting to me at least, cos i hate to bargain, i always pay more than what i should.
Ur friend must have spent like 30k on the gowns, so rich.maybe like what Jac says, ur friend was tired.

fashionistadiva

Tired? Nope. She certainly was not. Actually the whole wedding - MC, all the cheers etc were all from the groom's side, who is a surgeon. So it's very male camaraderie kind of thing. For her - nothing. If this is the way she treats old friends, I won't be surprised.

No lah I really like FS, but inflexible and Oriental is a bit Chinese (I'm a err banana)

providencia

really? can't find any excuses for her at this time of the night. hee hee
just for curiosity, what is it that you need to change at FS?
If you decide on Oriental, then you need to dig up whatever chinese roots you have, ha ha. But seriously, both hotels are fine, it's whatever makes you happy.

mage

Sorry for the late reply gals...

Pongy – I had a lunch buffet. Table setting is as per my photo that I posted.

fruitchick – Long table settings for 9 course… hmmm… maybe the hotel will do individual servings instead. Not sure if there will be extra charges for that. I didn’t like the idea of individual servings though. Buffet allows the freedom of movement and its easier to mingle too. Mr Ho is good! Very experienced and usually what he suggest works! Flexible or not depends on your definition. Inflexible towards perks but service is superb, they try to accommodate us as far as possible, like changing of menu items, etc. They even arrange for me to collect the wedding favours 1 day earlier so we can dress it up on our own. Basically they do whatever they can to make your dream wedding come true.

Jac – I only did a rough assignment. I broke down the guests into categories and assign a a table row and a section to them, for e.g. table 1A for my colleagues, 1B for groom’s relatives, etc. Specific seatings was not assigned. I left it to them to choose who they want to sit with etc. Saves me a major headache of doing table and seat arrangements.

I did 2 march-ins although I didn’t have a change of gowns. Basically in my WG throughout the whole reception. To me its the WG that matters.

providencia, I only did my food tasting in Dec and my AD was in Jan. So ya FS is right, its too early now. I didn’t have a yam seng. Hubby was against yam seng too. We just did the champagne fountain then my emcees just announced let’s cheers to the couple and we all just said “Cheers!†that’s all. It turn out quite alright, just the way we wanted it.

gingerbread_gal

Hi Mage,
Its cool to hear that you wore your WG for the entire reception. I am going to do that too. On my AD, will be wearing WG from morning till the end of lunch reception. Like you, I thought that WG is the one gown that matters the most

Do you have any more pics to share?

providencia

Hi Mage, tks for the reassurance, i'm a gan chong spider, dun like to wait for things to happen. so happy to hear that mr ho is good cos i was transferred to him, never met him before. Also happy to know that I can do without Yam Seng, yeah. U never go honeymoon?

mage

providencia, me also kan cheong spider try to plan this and that before hand also then found out usually people decide on the banquet stuff 1 to 2 months before hand only. In the meantime you can start planning for your WG, invites, favours and other traditional GDL stuff, if any, that you need to get. I only went on a short getaway to Krabi that's all.

pongy, I have about 136 guests. What my emcee did as ask the ladie and children and old folks to take first then then guys take later. I didn't go out and see leh so I'm also not sure if the line is long or not hehe! I just let nature run its course! hehe!

providencia

Mage, thks for ur advice, htb says he wants to have max capacity for the ballroom, so long table's out for us too, sticking to the traditional round. Eager to see ur photos too.

mage

providencia, depends on how your setup the ballroom, long tables with just a headtable and no stage can fit about 148 guests. Traditional round is also nice

fashionista, how come have not decided on venue? what's the obstacle?

fashionistadiva

actuali, if can, i'd rather have a more western-themed wedding, with a beach wedding followed by dance and reception....sigh. i guess following the last wedding i attended which i was complaining abt, i really question what's the point having all these wedding dinners, only to leave friends and relatives unattended to. and every dinner is more or less the same, nothing to remember by. maybe i am too idealistic or what. i haven't settled anything, not even wedding gown.i will probably do pre wedding shoots in kl, malaysia - like i was sharing, i was so surprised at the quality and creativity. as for the wedding gown, since i am not getting an evening gown,or if i am, it would probably be some gown off the rack which i hope to buy on my trips overseas, i am thinking what shd i do abt the wedding gown itself. no poin going to the bridal shops here right? and then, to top it all off, we're looking for our house now. and my HTB is changing job (kv myself) does it surprise u that i am quite overwhelmed?

fashionistadiva

anyway jac to answer yr query, once we book with FS they cant change the dates at all, wherelse oriental will consider, within limits. we are now possibly postponing to jan 09...sigh

cat_quek

Dear all, i just had a wedding lunch on 23rd feb in crescent ballroom....

many people commented food is nice. The ballroom simply look gorgeous with the high ceiling and chandlier...

I use white cloth for tables and chairs..

dark gold cloth for tables and chairs of VIP table.

jaster

Hi PlainGal,

if you do not mind, can you send your photos to me? I am considering FSH as well.. May get Crescent room since my dad said "sui sui bian bian" can already (cos he doesn't intend to invite our relatives.. Sigh)

thank you!

mage

Should be no problem. Its a nice number to have. My setup is 3 rows of long tables and 1 head table and the Crescent ballroom can fit up to 148 guest based on that setup. So 130 plus guests is a comfy number.

providencia

Hi Plaingal, tks for sharing your pics, you looked lovely.

Hi Mage, my guestlist is abt 300, so long tables are defintely out.

Fashionista, for me, a wedding dinner is a chore,but i'll make the best of it and enjoy myself during the process.

I better ask FSH for samples of their colour theme cos going to decide on EG colour soon, dun want to look like a table cloth.

mage

providencia, I'm referring to the Crescent ballroom. I guess with a guestlist of about 300, you should be using the main ballroom right?

cat_quek

fashionista diva =>
Do you mean the wg or EG?
EG it's similar...but it looks nic eon a model. Doesnt look so flattering on me when it's worn on me thou...

maybe i not so slim..cannot carry out the evening gown....

mage

pongy, sorry I dun have any... Both my emcees very good... I left it to them to work it out and say what they want... in a way its a surprise for us too ...