For All dog lovers

pegsfur

So sorry gotta make use of this forum for my project but I hope everyone can help me do a little survey since there r a no. of dog lovers here. I'm proposing a Pet Club where it's a 1-stop centre for animal/pet lovers for my final yr project.

Do u find it unreasonable to prohibit pets in shopping ctrs, commercial buildings & esp food establishments?

A. Yes. Pets are a part of us. Why can't they be allowed in if they r well-trained? It is pathetic that the only place they r allowed is the parks/beaches!
or
B. No. Pets are animals and they might spread diseases. They also pose a danger to public, esp big size dogs, if not controlled properly!

Any other comments are welcome. Tks alot!

eunicetan

halo pegsfur,

would be glad to help!

my answer would be B. i hav a shetland sheepdog but i wouldnt bring it to shopping centres or anywhere else other than parks n beaches cos what can it do there?? besides, im not worried abt him hurting others but others may hurt him unintentionally. moreover, my junior is a walking dustbin, he eats everything he can find on the ground n it'll be a disaster to bring him to a food court!

hi pegsfur,

my answer is (B)...my reasons:

1) vicious dogs pose as danger to public
2) fur in aircon env can be health hazard
3) for dogs that are not toilet trained...poo/pee all over the place!

candy

Hi Pegsfur,

Well my answer is also the same as eunicetan & KPO. B is my answer.

Though the dogs may be clean and well-behaved (all thanks to the masters!), I wouldn't like the idea of having these cute pets at the above stated locations. Imagine furs lying around? :p

dec_gal

Hi Pegsfur

Same as other gals..my answer is B.

Although most dogs are cute & well-trained, the furs will still fly around. Its quite bad for health especially in an enclosed place to sensitive ppl..(me 1 of them!!)

monica

Hi Pegsfur,
My answer is
A. Yes. Pets are a part of us. Why can't they be allowed in if they r well-trained? It is pathetic that the only place they r allowed is the parks/beaches!

Of cos they have to be well trained so must the owners too. Owners should know how to pick up their pee and poo. Our dogs should be allowed to dine with us. : ) And go pubbing with us. They should even have a doggy pool in the public swiming pools..... ??!!?
Would be fun for them too cos they will get to meet other doggies.

milo

hi pegsfur
my ans also B
s'pore is multi racial we got muslim ppl (they can't touch dogs) all around us everywhere we go so i don think its a good idea that you can bring pets into shopping center. i myself have 2 dogs but i still think its not a good idea.

trihok

Yuppe
total agreed with monica. BTW, my cute little doggie will be one of my bridemaid
can anyone suggest how can i dress up my doggie??

lisa

Much as I love dogs, I would have to say B.

If you asked me a few years back, I would say A, but after knowing how asthmatic some of my friends can be, I think it would be selfish to bring a furry pet into an airconditioned place where the fur might circulate for a long long time.

monica

TIRHOK!!!!!!!!!!!1
Me volunteer to dress up your doggy!!!!!!!!
SOOOOOOOO CUTE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
I wanted a doggy page boy but I don't think my dog was discipline enough for it. And I don't think my church would have allowed it too.
You can make a little skirt for her with layers of lace. Maybe a pair of wings would be cool too.
Then a Halo on the head? Or some ribbons.
Ooooooooooooo. I'd love to help!!!!!!!!!!!
Few years back we had a doggie wedding for our dog. I tried to make a veil for her but very difficult to keep it on cos my dog don't like to wear clothes. Does you dog like wearing stuff? If she's ok with it then it's easy. My woofer is ok with anything you put on him.

V

vivianti

my answer also will be B.

there are a lot of people out there afraid of dogs. i don't know why???
but just a sight of dog will make them scream.

so can you imagine, in a shopping centre so many lady will just start to shriek when they see you with your dog. =P
if not, others that LOVE dogs will just start to pat your dog and stop you from whatever you are doing. ogling at your doggy, 'oh... ah...., so cute..'

tab00

my answer is B too....
i have a phobia with dogs....not big "lazy" ones...but small hyberactive ones
been caught unawared & licked on my calf by a small dog in a community centre years ago. :b

pegsfur

Hi all (again),

Tks for all yr comments! By the looks of it, most of u are against it and probably the main reason is the fur thing. (Die lah....like that how to convince my lecturers on my project???)

Well, wat I'm trying to propose is that my Pet Club aims to support or integrate pets in our normal lifestyle. E.g people in the western countries treat pets like their family (like some of us here too). The French is most well-known for their love of dogs & most restaurants are known to provide fresh water & doggie treats when owners bring their dogs in. If they can, why can't we?

So, I think my proposed Pet Club will have to emphasize that it's for people who love animals & don't mind the furs & saliva!

Tks again for all of your valuable comments!!

Monica & trihok,

Tks for yr support! I totally agree with u pple, & yes, they shld be allowed to go pubbing with us!I actually have a dream - to open a doggie cafe! Wonder if the health ministry will approve of that?? U know, in my project, I proposed to have a grooming ctr, veterinary clinic, cafe, library, sports & fitness rm & a training rm. The govt is talking abt a more gracious society but nothing is being done to support or integrate pets in our normal lifestyle. Sigh!

Oh yes, Peggy is going to be in my wedding photos. I think Fluffy's choice has alot of wedding style clothes for dogs. I'll get 1 from them to dress my Peggy up!

eunicetan

just wanna ask if there's any way to stop my junior from being afraid of cats. it was kinda humiliating to see this big dog being scared of a little kitten.
yesternite, this cute little black n white kitten wanted to make friends with him n followed junior everywhere he went. my poor junior kept dodging here n there tryin to get away from it. i think he was ever swiped across the nose by a cat before, hence the fear of cats. everyone was laughing at him yesterday. sighz....i dunno whether to laugh or cry man.

also, my dog is a little anti-social. he doesnt get excited when he sees new dogs around him. in fact, he dislikes them when they get too excited over him, which is always the case. issit normal for a dog to behave like tat? like that how huh? anyone facing the same problem??

jojo

Pegsfur...My ans would be (A) I am all arms and legs for pets to be admitted into shopping centres...In fact, there is one at Simei...The Pets Safari...I brought my friend's dog there once. The cute doggie liked the place so much... It is a good place for the dogs and other pets to interact with each other. I think they are much a part of our lives too...

They had shopping for humans on the other side...separated by a glass door. I think...if people are open enuff to try it out...it should be a success!!!

JoJo

pegsfur

Hi eunice,

While yr junior is afraid of cats, my peggy hates cats. She never stop to chase one if she sees one, although some cats are bigger size than she is! Just make the 'meow meow' sound & she's all alert & going around the house looking for the cat!!!

My peggy also don't really like to be with other dogs. As I didn't raised her from puppyhood (my husband found her on the streets), I suspect she could be seperated from the mother & siblings at a very young stage which probably explains why she doesn't practice doggy 'social etiquette'.

My peggy used to bark at any dogs. So I try to bring her to socialise more. Maybe u can try to bring junior for his walk more often so that he can meet more doggy friends. It helps and now peggy has a good friend where she will somehow follow her friend wherever they meet. Although she still bark at some dogs, but she has learnt the doggy social etiquette of sniffing them 1st, b4 deciding whether she wants to bark at them. Naughty right?

pegsfur

Jojo,

Tks for yr comments. Yes, I've been there with my peggy several times & I really like the dog-friendly atmosphere. I certainly agree that it's a place that encourages human interaction. This is precisely why I want to push for this concept in my design. I always find it easy to talk to dog owners becos of the 'same frequency'. In fact, I've know more pple around my block than my mum does, as they'r all dog owners!

eunicetan

hi pegsfur n jojo,

may i know where exactly is this pets safari? wat can our pets do there?

it's hard for us to bring him out for a walk during weekdays cos we come back very late at nite. also, there was this time when i brought him out for a walk, two gigantic dogs came running towards us. one was a german shepherd n the other i dunno wat kind of breed. anyway, i was so scared when the 2 dogs surrounded us. the german shepherd kept harrassing my dog n i kept shielding him from it. it was a heart-stopping 5 mins until an indian lady came n brought her german shepherd away. the dog wasnt even on a leash! i tell u, i'll never wan to experience tat again. almost died of heart attack!

however, i guess during the june hols, i'll bring him to this pet shop near our place to interact with the 3 golden retrievers there. maybe he'll learn to be more sociable then.

do u gals bring ur pets to meet up with one another? if so, i'd like to go along too.

pegsfur

eunice,

The pet safari is at Simei, East point shopping ctr. Peggy doesn't do anything at the pet safari, she just go shopping with us! Actually, there isn't any activities there, juz that we bring her there to meet other dog lovers.

Did the 2 giant dogs want to play with junior? U might want to know that some dogs are very sociable & wld like to play the moment they see another dog. But not my peggy. Like I said previously, she will sniff at them, either at the nose, mouth or anus part b4 deciding whether she wants to 'friend' them or not. And I'm more afraid of her bullying other dogs than the other way round.

At my place, there r alot of pple keeping dogs & there r often 2 scenarios - either they bark at each other, or they'll be playing hide & seek! It's fun watching them!

eunicetan

pegsfur,

u mean we can actually bring dogs into the shopping centre??

pegsfur

eunice,

Yap. But we don't bring her to shop the whole place! Jus at the pet Safari. A few months ago when the chinese new year was coming, I brought peggy there bcoz I want to get her new clothes. I actually bought 1 b4 but the size was too big so I brought her there to get the actual fit. & everyone there commented she looked good on her new clothes!

pegsfur

I juz want to thank everyone here again for posting your comments. I just passed my final year project yesterday! Luckily the lecturers didn't ask me anything abt the fur, but bombarded me with wat materials I'm going to use for the pet club!!

eunicetan

congratulations pegsfur!!

me thinking of bringing junior to pets safari this weekend. maybe can buy him some clothes as well so that he doesnt get fur all over in the car.

pegsfur

Monica & all dog owners,

Just wanna ask do your dogs sun tan? I find that my peggy do that when the morning sun shines in. I thought only cats do that?

monica

Hi Pegsfur,
My dogs don't sun tan. Infact when we bring them out for too long a walk they will hide in the shade and refuse to budge. My rabbits did love sun tanning. Pegs, ur dog sure know how to enjoy!!

shih tzu

pegsfur.
i also thinking of getting my doggy into the studio wedding photos. are all the photographers open to this idea? i was afraid they would say no. pls share your experience with me? thks!

kiroro

Hi Shih Tzu,

Benny ang allows dogs to be included in photoshoots

by the way, i wanna ask if it is necessary to bring the dog to a vet if she vomits and had diarrhoe ? My dog ( 8 yrs old) vommited and had diarrhoe last night, and late morning today she had diarrhoe again. I've got her from another owner recently.

shih tzu

hi kiroro
thks for the info. is he the only one? any idea of any other photographers who allow dogs? like chris leng?

as for vomit/diarrhoe, i read somewhere that if it lasts for more than 2 days, then u shd bring it to the vet. sometimes it may be something they ate and it will usually clear up after they expel it out of the system. but if your dog doesn't have appetite at all, then i think it's better to bring to the vet.

pegsfur

Hi kiroro,

Shih tzu is right. Need to bring her to vet if it lasts more than 2 days. If it's only a normal stomach upset, they will get well themselves. My peggy in fact knows which type of grass to eat when she has diarrhoea.

She recently also had it again but this time she did not look for grass & it lasted longer. So I brought her to the vet & it seemed that she has got gastric problems. She's well after finishing the anibiotics. Think u need to keep an eye on yr dog & moniter him/her 4 another day.

pegsfur

Monica,

How did your rabbits sun tan? My peggy just sleep on the spot where the sun shines in the balcony for about 5 mins b4 running into the house panting heavily. My mum says she is the 'ang moh' dog (bcos ang moh like to sun tan)!

trihok

Hello Gals,

My Angel also lov to sun tan and me also thk of bringing my Angel for my photo shoot

May i know how ur gals dress up ur lovly doggie for the photo shoot?? Please share

kiroro

Hi Shih Tzu, pegsfur

Thanks for your advice ! I brought her to the vet 'cos my mom called my office and told me that she had diarrhoea again and puked 4 times in the afternoon. got me so worried that I went home at 5 to bring her to the vet and they gave her a shot. She seems better now, and the vet advise me not to give her food for the next 24 hours .

monica

Kiroro u can give her porridge water if she takes that. At least it something lite. Don't give her milk or anyform of chocolates.
Dogs can't take Onions too. Apple seeds are also a form of toxic to them.

Pegs,
My rabbit will lie down on the spot where there is sun and stretch long long with eyes close. She can stay there damn long. She only does that when there is sun shining on her.

U guys want to have a dog outing???? Any suggestions???

kiroro

Hi Monica,

Will she be less hungry if she takes porridge water ? She's a chiwawa, and always had tummy upsets and gastric problems 'cos very picky at food ( she loves burger king !

Q

qua

Hi Kiroro

Guess you spoilt your doggie. Your doggie is a senior citizen now. So, you hatta monitoring her diel carefully. Please go to the pet shop and buy those kibble that suitable for senior doggie for her. You can consider of Nutro or others. Avoid Pedigree coz it's too oily.

Say Hi to the pretty

kiroro

Hi Qua,

She was on Eukanuba since I;ve got her, but she always try to avoid it by begging us for our own human food, and sometimes we relented, sometimes we just ignore her and she will then eat her own dog food.
Also, she loves hiding those kibbles under her blanket and corners of the house that I've got to pick them up and throw. She'
s pretty heavy for a chiwawa .. 2.5 kg

Q

qua

Orh, Eukanuba is good. Doggie always think our food is better than theirs. But one thing is for sure, all nice foods are good to eat but bad for health. So, encourage her to eat her kibbles. Otherwise, other human food like fruits, vegetables like carrots, breads, cheese (less salty type) are good for the doggies as well. Avoid human's chocolates.

BTW, is she long hair or short hair? Hmmm... 2.5 kg is fine for her if she has enough exercise.

shih tzu

kiroro
Burger King?!? your dog is one lucky dog man! all my dog gets is fruits from me. guess she's used to eating her own eukanuba kibbles since young, so no prob with her begging for food :)

as for food for recovery, dont think there's anything specific to give. unless you are thinking of supplements/vitamins. otherwise, your dog's appetite shd be back to normal quite soon.

say, does anyone have a dog with a separation anxiety problem? just tot i might be able to get some advice here.

kiroro

Hi Shih Tzu,

you bet ! she's so lucky that I was 'instructed' by my dad (who dotes on her alot) to give her my chicken wings from my plate if she is eyeing on it .. haha
but your right, too much junk is really bad for doggies.

CAn u describe the anxiety problem ?

monica

Kiroro,
If she want's human food. You can give her some blend boiled chicken breast with rice. No salt or oil. Once a week I give my doggies "human food" I'll have chicken, peas, eggs and cheese mix with the rice. But your dog is abit older so she can't eat too much. Lower metabolism rate. This recipe was given to me by Doc Jean Paul Ly of Animal recovery centre. You can give her breast meat with rice and peas. That way she gets proteins and vitamins as well. But just boil it in water. Somtimes I give my dog the soup too. They love it. But after that they pee alot.

Shitzu,
My dog had anxiety problem last time when she was alone. When I went out she would howl and howl and when I came home the whole house was in a wreck. She'd have pulled down the table cloth and collected everysingle thing within her reach on to the table cloth which she has neatly layed out. The mops and brooms too. And she'd break my vases and pee and shit all over the house. Just to make a point that she didn't like being at home alone. Some will chew up your furnitures too. Mine chewed up one of my Barbie doll. (GRRRRRRRRR) Our solution was to get another dog. And now that they have each other they behave alot better. Less howling. And they hardly break anything anymore. But if I don't bring them down for too long. They will start their nonsence again.

kiroro

Hi Monica,

sounds like a good diet for my doggie. Guess I've got to 'cook' for my dog now with the peas, chicken etc. Think she will love it.

shih tzu

hi monica
your prob sounds exactly like wat i'm experiencing now! i did think of getting another dog to keep her company, but i was afraid it might make her jealous and the whole thing becomes worse. what do u think? from my username, i think u can already guess what breed my dog is, and they are the type that is very attn seeking and always want 2b in the spotlight

pegsfur

kiroro,

Did the vet say wat is wrong with your dog? For mine, like I said b4, she had gastric problems bcos she's also a fussy eater-won't eat until she can't find any more human food. So the vet suggested to buy dog food which incl. wheatgerm (or is it a supplement? can't remember) as it is better for her. My peggy is also abt 8 yrs old now and she is also very small - 2.4kg. She is a cross breed btw chihuahua & terrier I think.

Monica & all dog lovers

U think dogs have 6th sense? My sis always tell me that 5 or 10 mins b4 I'm home, peggy will come out under the table & wait at the door. Sometimes she will pace up & down at the living room. It's like she knows I'm coming home. Can't be that she can hear me bcos I live on the 12th floor.

shih tzu

pegs
how about mixing some of those canned doggy food with her dry food? always works for my dog and she gobbles everything up.

dont think it's 6th sense lah. i think it's more of "conditioning". i'm sure after the many many yrs of living wif u, she sort of knows when to expect u home! i'm sure they have their own sense of timing :)

kiroro

Hi pegsfur,

she suspect it was food poisoning and gastric also. Chihuahuas are very fussy about food. So does your peggy look more like a chuhuahua or terrier ?

pegsfur

shih tzu,

Don't think so leh. Bcos she doesn't do that when I come back from school everyday which is between 3-5pm. She only does it when I go out with friends or hubby & when I return in the evening or even late at night. I also noticed it with my own eyes once when she sort of anticipated my hubby's arrival. My hubby went to buy something & there's no one in the house except peggy & me. After some time, peggy ran to the door & make some noise. So I thot hubby came back. But when I checked, there's no one (& I didn't hear any noise outside). So I waited for abt 5 secs b4 deciding to go back into my room. Just when I turn my body, my hubby came back!

I mean, my sis has seen it everytime it happens bcos most of the time when we're not around, my sis is the only one at home with peggy. She's witnessed it a couple of times.

kiroro,

I don't know. Sometimes she look like terrier, sometimes she look like chihuahua. The whole head is like terrier (with the hair) but the shape of the head is like chihuahua. The legs also like chihuahua, very skinny. But the hair is mixture leh. The hair on the head is shiny & silky but those on her body are a little wiry. Oh, she also has the colour of chihuahua - beige/brown.

shih tzu

pegs
actually i wouldnt be surprised if it really is 6 sense then. perhaps it's stronger in some dogs than it is in others. my dog definitely doesn't anticipate my return! she's usually sleeping like a pig until she hears the gate opening and then she will make a mad dash out. must be nice to hv a dog that can "feel" you huh?

minimalistic

anybody know which bridal studio montage studios ties up with? am quite set on getting montage for my photography, but want to know who they work with so can get better pricing...

pegsfur

shih tzu

Yeah, I agree with u. I was quite surprise when my sis told me that. I also thot maybe it was a coincidence but I believed after she told me she has witnessed it a few times. Peggy is very attached to me though.