For All dog lovers

ada

hi pegsfur,

my doggie is the tiniest dog in the world, and she is very human-friendly especially towards little kids. Yes, she is very gentle and would not retaliate or bark if the kid did hit her but luckily i carried her away hastily. I did stare at the mom for a while (in disgust) but anyway, she walked away like as tho it's no big deal !

I really hate it when people ill-treat pets, especially 'powerless' dogs and cats.

if i see that little girl one more time doing the same thing, i will smack her back for sure. Tic for tack .. hahaha !! :p

ada

hi francoise

i think the small kid ought to be taught a lesson, he could have killed your doggie since it's only a pup and the skull is fragile ! oh my .. i share your anger towards this cruel act.

i once saw a kid kicked a cat in the stomach real hard...poor kitty, it was grimacing in pain...i was so mad i just shouted @ him and scolded him...his mum, who was @ a distance away, quickly came to his aid...glared @ me and scolded "you are crazy!!! he's only a kid wat!!!"...then dragged her son away...boy! was i boiling mad! it's parents like that who'll bring up inconsiderate and cruel children...well, i always tell myself...these parents will learn their mistakes soon..till then, it'll be too late!

pegsfur

ada,

I thot my peggy is already mini size but didn't realise yrs is a tiny size
So wat breed is yr dog? Chihuahua?

pegsfur

ada,

Actually my peggy is also abt the size of the chihuahua, smaller than a cat.
Don't u think dogs of this size is very 'fragile'? I sometimes accidentally step on her paws becos I can't see her.

monica

Hi Hi Crackle,
hmmmm replied you leow leh.......
The last mail I got was about your wedding at 630am one right? I replied ok leow. : (
U never recieve huh.

Sorry huh my email have problems sending sometimes.

Ok I send you again. U let me know if you get it or not ok. : )

francoise

yeah ada...specially they can't say how pain they are in. i actually heard a 'knock' on the ground...sometimes you juz don't expect a small kid, i think only 2/3 yrs old to do such thing and so not prepare for it. poor little creatures.

KPO, not to say children, i ever seen an adult kicking at a kitten before when i was having dinner at east coast hawker center. That idiot did that in front of his kids juz because kittens loiter around them when they are eating. That's the way these people taught their children to be. Darn Animal Abuser!!!

francoise

no wonder pegsfur, maybe last time peggy kana ill-treated.
so now scare of strangers. or maybe she's not used to seeing strangers. did you bring peggy out often??

pegsfur

Francoise,

I don't think she's scared of strangers becos of the past, but more like becos she hates them
One of her leg doesn't look normal when she walks, so I agree with u that she kena ill-treated b4

Hey, I always bring her go kai kai one ok....

crackle

Hi Mon,

Got it ! Thanks...
Me... so gam dong !
U R SO SWEET !!!
Me... Waiting patiently, ok ? (For your studio work)

eunicetan

halo Francoise,

wat kind of breed is ur dog?

my dog doesnt really like to socialize with other dogs n ppl. whenever there r other dogs ard, he never bothers to approach them. many ppl always go googoo-gaga over him (they always say "lassie, lassie") but he just simply ignores them. he would always keep close to us n always turn ard to see if we r followin him. we think it's becos he has changed a couple of owners n we r his third owner so tat makes him insecure. how can we get him to socialize with other dogs?

another thing, he's very timid n we think it could be due to his castration. is there any way to make him more 'courageous'? he jumps at every tiny movement eg. newspaper fluttering, curtains moving etc. my hubby n i hav taken to calling him 'Courage', the cowardly dog (shake, courage, shake)

tulips

hi ada & pegsfur

my dog is very friendly to adult strangers but he's afraid of kids.. maybe coz little kids like to scare him. i get so mad when some naughty brat tries to scare my dog and my dog will run and hide away from the kid! i wish he's like pegsfur's dog - to bark at the naughty kid. but nope, he chose to hide and run away.

once, i even glared at the kid (who tries to scare my dog) and he dare to glare back at me!! the parents are around and they simply turn a blind eye to what the kid is doing! i was so fuming mad inside that i almost wanted to scold the kid. but managed to control myself as i don't want to create a scene.

now, i'll just drag my dog away whenever i see kids approaching.

pegsfur

Hi Tulips,

I think we all have the same problem with kids. Peggy's got a mind of her own - she stands by her principles

eunicetan,

Though peggy is fierce, she's afraid of the telephone wire. The telephone wire runs across the outside of my room & peggy dare not cross over. She'd stand near the door & look at u pathetically as if to ask u to carry her. Sometimes she'd cross but after gathering all her courage. U know becos she'd run very fast. She's a silly dog.

Is yr dog afraid of thunder? Whenever there's thunder,my peggy goes berserk & starts scratching everybody- me especially.

francoise

hi eunice

mine is a x breed: maltese with shin-tze. he's hyper active, sometimes we are very scared of bringing him out coz whenever he sees other dogs, he'll rush up to them no matter how hard we pull the leash. he loves to play. some dogs are like yours, very 'kuai' and shy. i used to have a maltese like yours, very timid. She likes being carried like a small baby.
A little single sound, she'll bark like no body's business. And she doesn't know how to fetch the ball we threw unlike the other one. i think it's junior's character that shapes her this way. if you play a lot with her when she's a pup, she'll grow to be very playful.

eunicetan

halo pegsfur,

ur peggy's afraid of the telephone wire, my junior is afraid of stepping on metal 'plates' n 'grilles' on the ground. he would always walk ard them, dunno why oso

dunno whether he's afraid of thunder cos no loud thunder at my place yet leh.

halo Francoise,

i've a fren who's got a x-breed: maltese n jack russell. her dog is oso hyperactive n often chases after cats too. luckily, junior not like tat lor
so we always bring him out on every occasion we could. we r goin down to happy daze/east coast tonite with junior. hav u brought ur junior there before?

pegsfur

eunicetan,

Hey, my peggy is afraid of those plates & grilles u mentioned too! I thot it's becos she's afraid of getting her feet/paws stuck in there cos she's got really tiny paws. Now that I know yr junior is afraid of that too, I wonder wat is it that scares them?

francoise

Hi Eunice

Jack Russell itself is a super active dog. so i think your fren has a hard time with her dog huh?
I haven't been to happy daze yet. so how was it?? Was it full of dog's smell when you are eating?? i brought junior to east coast though. wanted to bring him there again, seeing the dogs swim is so funny and adorable.

pegsfur

Francoise,

Do u bring yr dog to swim often? Sometimes my hubby & I will bring peggy to east coast for pinic too. Then we'll let her swim in the sea. Funny thing is she always U-turn to the shore cos she's scared.
It's really amazing to see them swim (esp the 1st time)!

francoise

hi pegsfur

we don't bring him for swim very often becoz of the sand and dirty water. how i wish people don't pollute the water. yeah, it's so hilarious. does peggy swim like a turtle with her arms flapping?
mine likes to u-turn as well. hahaha and we've a hard time convicing him to the sea. so what we do is: one person will carry him to the water and the other catch him at the shore and the cycle goes on. Quite tiring man but really fun!

eunicetan

halo Francoise,

Happy Daze is a very cosy place. no, it doesnt smell of dogs
n it's very much like ur own home. the food there is pretty nice too. some food tat ive tried n liked: mozarella fries, buffalo wings, topshell etc. last friday my hubby, me n sis-in-law went there with junior for supper n we spent $50+ on food n drinks there

we brought junior to east coast last sunday afternoon. usu. we try to bring him to east coast every sunday n he'll run along with us while we blade. n when we get tired, we'll ask him to pull us along
junior doesnt like to get near the water so i dun suppose he'd like swimming either.

worry

I have just bought a puppy yesterday. She is about 2 1/2 mths old. It's a 'multese' sorry I don't know the correct spelling.

May I know how to train my puppy to pee and poo on a newspaper? I didn't have a good sleep last night, cause she is making a lot of noise. I wonder this will last for how long
I did not let her run around the house because of the toilet problem, so I put her in a 'cage'...How long do I need to train her? How soon can I see the result?

Another thing is that she hasn't eaten anything since yesterday afternoon...I am giving her dried dog food. What shall I do?

monica

Puppies need alot of attention. Tha'ts why they whine alot when you're not in sight. They get anxiety attack. Toilet training can take a few months. When u first get a puppy for the first few days they are scared and not used to the environment. So they won't eat much. Try feeding her some milk. (Isomil) or any lactose free brand of baby milk. U don't have to cage her up the whole day. Just cage her up for 1 hour after she eats to let her pee and poo. Give her an allocated time (1hr) to eat if she doesn't eat by then keep the food don't leave it there. Cuddle her alot and assure her that you'll not abandon her.

monica

I've got 2 mongrel puppies (Female) for adoption. They are brown and black. And is 2 months old right now. Interested parties please call me at 98488199 or email me at [email protected]
Adoption is FREE OF CHARGE. : )

This is Angel
2301.jpg

This is Xena
2302.jpg

howesy

Hi worry,

I have a 5-month old Maltese, and let me share some training tips with you, and hopefully, they'll work on your puppy!!!

Okay, at two and a half months, they are feeling a little insecure, and will want to follow you around. It is okay to put your puppy in the cage at nite, coz you are then training her that her cage is her den, and it's a place where she can be safe, and hopefully, to sleep throughout the nite.

If your cage is not too big, and if you have enough space in your room, I would suggest that you put the puppy, in the cage, and in your room where she can see you, or at least smell you. It will give her a sense of security, knowing that you are there. If not, when you are cuddling and cradling her in the day, wear a t-shirt, and when it comes to the nite, drape the t-shirt over the cage, so that she'll be able to sniff your scent on the t-shirt. Remember, drape the t-shirt over the cage, and NOT put in the cage, becoz she'll destroy the t-shirt!!

At two and a half months, you will need to feed her often, and in smaller quantities. Try 4 meals a day. Please try Monica's suggestion to feed her puppy milk. Most puppy loves their milk, and usually, they won't reject it. Isomil is a good brand, and you can buy it at the pet shops. If fact, when you go to the pet shops, there will be at least a few other brands of puppy milk for you to choose. Try to give the milk to her with room-temperature water. My dog refused to drink warm millk, when he was young!!!

At all times, please DO NOT give them cow's milk, condensed milk, evaporated milk, skimmed milk or fresh milk. Many cases, puppies do get diahorrea, becoz their system cannot process these types of milk. When she is older, you can give her a little soya-milk, but not now. Also, soya and wheat products tend to induce skin-scratching, at least for my dog. So I prefer to just give him puppy milk!!

My puppy is the most finicky eater. When he was three months old, he would only eat dry kibbles from Nutro. There are 2 types of Puppy food, by Nutro (the brand). When you buy, ask the pet shop to tell you which type has the SMALLEST pallets!!! I worked on my puppy, so I'm hoping that it would work for yours.

As for toilet training, at such a tender age, they tend to "wee wee" and "poo poo" a lot! Do not let your puppy have free access to the whole house, unless you have the time to clean up after her. Generally, about 10 to 20 minutes after their meals, they will need to "poo poo". Get lots of newspapers ready, and put them either in the toilet or in the corner where you want her to "poo poo", and immediately bring her to the newspapers. Watch her until she finishes her business, and PRAISE her!! Repeat this process after she wakes up from her naps, early in the morning, and after vigorous play sessions. Toilet-training is generally the hardest, becoz it varies, from puppy to puppy!!! Have patience, becoz it's really important to teach her, when she's young!!

Anyway, enjoy your lovely puppy!!! Remember, she will only be young this once, and take lots of pixs of her.

Here are 2 links with a wealth of information, on Maltese.

http://pub32.ezboard.com/bmaltesefunzclub

http://www.malteseonly.com/

If you still need more information, let me know!

monica

Hi Pegsfur,
From the way they are growing yap guess they will grow quite big. We are trying to find them a good Home owner. If can't find last resort they will give them to Factories. But it's such a pity because they are such wonderful puppies.

pegsfur

Monica,

Wat a pity I don't have a big house for their big bodies, or else, Xena or angel is mine
They r adorable!

howesy

Dear Monica,

I think you can approach Canine Love, and see if they can help.

Here's their link -

http://www.k9love.org/

They try to rescue and rehome dogs. And with such well-take pixs of Xena and Angel, I'm sure they'll be a hit!!

francoise

hi eunice

happy daze sounds like a perfect place for dogs lovers and dogs. i would be trying it out soon

i was actually thinking of bring junior to east coast too last sunday!! what a coincidence...but we ended up meeting the property agent instead.

hi worry

another maltese lover! my vet didn't want me to feed junior with milk when he was young coz the vet was afriad that he'll get diahorrea or that his little stomach wouldn't be able to take it. hence, i only feed him with dry food soak with warm water.

monica

Actually as long as the milk is Lactose free it's fine. It's the lactose that cos the diahorrea.
Soy Milk is fine. There are also commercial milk for human babies whjch are Lactose free that you can get from Supermarkets. Eg. Isomil. For dogs u can try Animalac. Was advised by Dr Jean Paul Ly

aliblue

Wowz...we have a few maltese owners here!

Hi worry,
my benji is also a maltese. In 2 days time, he will be 7th months old.

What's your puppy's name? Do U stay in the east as well?
I, too, have problems with my little rascal in the beginning since I am also a 1st time dog owner(I adopted him when he was exactly 8 weeks old).
Luckily, I had friends who share tips with me how to look after my benji especially since he is a hypo-active & playful one! :p

Toilet-training, hmm...actually you need to lots of patience here. This is how I train my doggie to go to his own "toilet" (a corner where i put loads of newspapers) :-
I would bring my doggie to his "toilet" - point the spot to him & say "benji, pee pee & poo poo here!" Any "accidents" by him, i would bring him to the "crime spot", scold him, then bring him to his own toilet again to remind him where he should do his "business". I always remind him again & again where his/her "toilet" should be.
I praise him generously (a hug or a snack) when he goes to his "toilet" automatically.
Also, look out for unusual actions if your doggie wants to poo poo. My benji would turn 3 rounds 1st before poo poo. :p

OK..ur puppy not eating? Your pup may be frighten cos she is now in a new environment. Feed her with milk like what the gals suggested. Mixed the milk with some dry dog food if you worry she is not eating enough. Stay with her until she finish the food. My benji also like me to stay around him till he finish his food.

Try to get your pup some toys. Especially those chewy bones or toys that you can play "fetch" with her. Playing with her helps to strengthen the bond between U & her. Once she get use to her environment & acknowledging U as her owner, she will be fine.

Well, the above methods work for me. Hope the methods works for you too. Keep me updated, ok?

howesy

Hi Aliblue,

I live in the East, and would love to meet you and Benji!! I want to socialise Bailey, becoz for now, all he sees are humans, and haven't interacted with other dogs!!! My brother always joked that Bailey might start to think that he's a human, instead of a little puppy!!! He's super-friendly with strangers though..... and very good with kids.....but still a little hyperactive!!

Yup, my bailey also turns rounds, before he poos!! Actually, tonite is such a milestone for me, Bailey, and his toilet training!!! Today is the first time I left him unsupervised for 6 hours (coz my parents are in the States, and my boyfriend is in France, and I had an errand to run) and he did not create a big mess, or "wee wee" or "poo poo"!!! I was so surprised that when I opened my front door, he was smiling, wagging his tail, and sorta showing me that the entire house is still in good order!!!! I immediately carried him up, and took him to his usual "toilet-spot". Instinctively, he knew what I wanted him to do, and he immediately "wee wee" and "poo poo" on the newspapers!!!

I know I'm being long-winded here...... becoz I've never left him unsupervised, and he's giving me a sign that he knows how to behave himself, and not have any accidents!!! I'm so pleased, and I guess after months and months of training, it's finally paying off. So dear "Worry", take heart, toilet-training your puppy is not a walk in the park, but the first time when your puppy does it properly, you will be elated.....just like me tonite!!!!

Oops, and don't forget your puppy's vaccination, and de-worming tablet. My puppy loved being hand-fed, in the first month, and right now, he still likes to eat, with someone sitting right next to him. And toys will definitely distract her, and will quieten her down in the nite. I've been buying those soft baby toys from the One99 stores for my Bailey. It's cheap and he loves to chew on them. Best of all, they are washable.

When the going gets tough, don't give up. Just continue with your training, and tell yourself that she'll learn. Oh, and one more thing, if she has made a mistake and "wee wee" or "poo poo" in an inappropriate place, wipe the areas with vinegar, becoz it will remove all traces of smell. This is important becoz at such a young age, they tend to sniff for spots where they "wee wee" and "poo poo", and once they pick up the scent, they'll do it there!! So, to avoid confusion, just eliminate the smell with vinegar (mix with a bit of water), and then bring her to the proper place for her to "wee wee" and "poo poo"!!!

Dear Aliblue, can't wait to see your Benji!!! Finally Bailey can have a playmate!!!

eunicetan

halo Francoise,

if im not wrong, dog lovers from femalebridesonline forum r organizing an outing at happy daze this saturday nite at 7pm. there would be many ppl bringing their dogs along as well. dunno if i would be going cos i dunno them well. r u interested?

howesy

Hi Eunice,

Really? Go lah, I can get to see Junior? Whenever I roller-blade at the East Coast Park, I see a lovely young couple jogging with their beautiful Sheltie! In fact, their beautiful Sheltie sorta paces them, and it's such a heart-warming sight, to see all three of them running!!!

My rascal baby is very lazy, doesn't like to walk very much, so I always end up with him in my back-pack (super-heavy, he's one chubby dog), roller-blading!!

Oops, at 7pm, so early on Saturday nite?

worry

thank you for sharing your experienced. I just got home and I almost fainted. she's dirtied with all the ......
I clean and bathe her immediately although i am advised to bathe her only once a week.

I think I am not going to let her run about the house freely until she can 'wee and poo' on the papers.

Thanks god, she eats now. I mixed dry food with canned food. she loves it.

her name is 'chuen chuen' it's han yu pin yin of 'chuen jie' means 'pure'.

i'm staying in the south.

may i know is it ok if i put her in the cage even in the day? i let her out only when i want to play with her.

howesy

Hi Worry,

When my rascal baby was two and a half months old, I was constantly cleaning up and picking up after him. It's a phase and your puppy will slowly learn to outgrow it.

I am not sure how big your cage is, and if it's the metal cage, with a metal slide-out tray type, then I guess it's okay to put her in there, in the day, coz there's lots of room for her to turn. If you put her in the cage, put her toys in as well, so that she'll have something to play with. To make her feel more secure, put the cage in a place where she can see you, and you can see her. This is very important at this time, becoz you want her to feel secure, and it also aids bonding.

This is what I do with my Bailey. When he was very young, I went to the pet shop and got a harness and a retractable leash. DO NOT use a collar on her, coz she's really tiny. Use a harness instead. The pet shop will be able to recommend a size suitable for your puppy.

I would put the harness on my Bailey, hook on the retractable leash, and extend it to about 1.5 metres, so that he has room to move, but at the same time, still restricted by the leash. Oh yes, I hook (can also tie) the leash to a door, window, heavy furniture. I would put lots and lots of newspapers on the area, becoz it's easier to clean up, when he poos and wees. I was feeding him 4 times a day, and giving him water all day, so he was really "weeing" and "pooing" a lot!!! Immediately after he finish "weeing" and "pooing", I would release him from the leash, and let him run around the family room. Then after one hour, I would repeat the same process. It's a lot of work, initially, but you'll get used to it. After he turns 4 months old, I can better gauge his toilet habits, so, I've stopped using the leash. These days, he would alert us, when he wants to "wee wee", or "poo poo". He's finally learning!!!

Believe me, life will get easier. Now Bailey can sleep through the whole nite, sometimes for as long as 10 hours, withuot "weeing" and "pooing". And when we take him out, he never "wee wee" or "poo poo" in the car. He would wait until he gets home, and then dash to the newspapers. But occasionally, he still makes mistakes lah, for since last nite, he has soon me that I can trust him not to "wee wee" and "poo poo" anywhere and everywhere, when nobody's around. So, I'm letting him roam freely in the living room and the dining room!

pegsfur

Howesy,

I tried tying peggy's leash (abt 1m long) to the dinning table as I was afraid my MIL might forgot to close the door when she opens it. The thing is, when we came back, peggy is sitting below the dinning table, can't move at all as the leash was going round & round the table leg (which means she's been going round & round the table too). Poor peggy, I think she can't even drink the water from her bowl. From then on, I don't leash her liao, but I get my MIL to keep an eye on her whenever she opens the door.

eunicetan,

Where is Happy Daze? The place sounds fun to bring peggy there.

howesy

Hi Pegsfur,

Yup, agree with you, happened to my rascal also!! I've learnt not to tie the leash to anything that has legs!!! I tied to the door-knobs, put the leash under a closed door, so that the leash handle is trapped by the closed door, throw the leash handle over a window, and then close the window, so that the leash handle is blocked by the closed window. All sorts of wacky stuff, and anything to get rascal Bailey outta trouble. My boyfriend always laugh at my wacky ways, but when he was left all alone with Bailey, he also had to resort to doing the same thing...... so it was my turn to laugh at him......

Bailey is still hyperactive, and we always have to keep one eye on him. He has no concept of danger, and loves running towards moving vehicles. So everytime, just 5 minutes before anyone reaches home, we will call the house, and make sure that someone is holding on to Bailey, when we activate the auto-gate. We had a hair-raising incident when he was three months old. My boyfriend reversed his car into the wall, just to avoid Bailey!!! Luckily, nothing happened to Bailey, but my poor boyfriend's rear bumper was badly damaged!!

eunicetan

halo pegsfur,

Address is

Happy Daze Sidewalk Deli, 11 Maju Avenue
Serangoon Gardens
Tel 285 2885
Open Sun - Thur 10am - 1am
Open Fri and Sat 10am - 3am

maybe someone will organize a dog outing for us? (CL or monica got tat?

eunicetan

halo Francoise,

i dun think so cos i dunno anyone there. maybe would go there later (ie. 12am onwards) if got no program

how abt u?

worried

sorry to interrupt here, i have a question about injections for the dogs.

i brought my dog for heartworm jab where the vet told me that the needle is pretty big so alot of dogs would cry. and i noticed that there is a drop of blood after he jabbed. the vet cleaned it up and it stop the bleeding. is it normal ?

worry

Hi Howesy,

It works !!!! thank you so much...I put the cage outside of my room instead of the kitchen and she didn't make any noise last night!!!

The dog seller only asked me to feed him twice a day, is this enough? She doesn't eat much...

aliblue

Howesy,
I am currently staying in the east but will move to northeast side next month.
My benji would definitely love to meet Bailey.

Hi worry,
2 meals should be alright. I gave my benji 2 meals per day as well. I gave him 1 big handful of dry dog food for each meal.

Hmm..happy daze looks like a fun place.
Must force hubby to bring me & benji there to see see look look.

howesy

Dear Worry,

I think it varies from puppy to puppy. When my Bailey was the same age as Chuen Chuen, he eats very little each time, and I was feeding him something like 5 times a day. I slowly adjusted it to 4 times, then 2 times a day, when he was 4 months old.

If Chuen Chuen's appetite is good, and she eats everything that you place in her bowl, during her first feeding, then I think you don't have much to worry about. Maybe in the afternoon, give her a little dry food, and see if she eats. If she's not interested, then maybe she's not hungry, and then feed her during her usual dinner meal. It's usually a little tough to estimate, during the first week or too. But after the second or third week, you will be able to gauge how much she eats.

And yes, when she's teething, during the third or fourth month, she's likely to eat less.

howesy

Hi Aliblue,

Might be a good idea to let Benji and Bailey meet, while you are still staying in the East, so less hassle for Benji to travel. Maybe can also ask Pegsfur, since I think she lives in the East!!!

I'm okay on most evenings. It's just me and Bailey, for this week and next week, coz boyfriend away in France, for meetings!!!

Let me know, and we'll catch up!

francoise

Hi Eunice

I am going to this gathering. You also join lah.

Hi Worried

When i brought my dog for his 1st heartworm injection in Australia, it's like normal vaccinations. My dog didn't cry. Doesn't sound as horrible leh? Now i brought him to Dr Paul-Lye and we used those liquid type called Revolution that you put on its neck...very hazzle-free.
Maybe you can try this intead of injecting him.

worry

Actually I also don't know what to name my puppy leh....I think Chuen Chuen is a bit difficult to pronounce :p can you all give me some suggestions? I would like to have something related to white, because she is white in colour.

I have been keep on changing her name this few days, I think she also blur blur liao...:p

eunicetan

halo worry,

how abt snowflake? or "xiao bai" (as in 'la bi xiao xin'