For All dog lovers

ada

hi qua,

i tell my doggie alredi, but she never listen.

we also pretend to yell at her when she does that .. but she's not 'threatened' by us ..

eunicetan

halo ada,

my dog loves to stick with us n doesnt like doors shutting him out. he would also 'paw' at the door or whine but when we ignore him, he would just sit outside the door quietly. maybe u could try ignoring ur dog? let her bang the door till she's tired and maybe, just maybe
, she would stop after some time

ada

hi eunise,

i let her bang and ignore her .. and she bang for one hour before she stops .. and next day she starts again ! i think she just wants to play and seeking attention

pegsfur

ada,

My peggy wakes me up in the middle of the night after she goes wee wee cos she wants to sleep with me on my bed. She will scratch at my bed till I'm awake. Then I'll put her up on my bed & she'll continue to sleep till I wake up.

Sometimes when she's having her menses, I won't allow her to come up. When she tries to scratch my bed, I'll say 'no' to her in a long & loud tone. She'll get it & sleep at her own bed.

pegsfur

ada,

I once read a book that a dog can pee for as many as 90 over times a day!!

For me, I bring her to wee 3 times a day - morning, evening when I come back from work and night b4 going to sleep. Most of the time she'll pee in the middle of the night too.

ada

i dunno whether my doggie is holding back or not when she needs to pee .. cos only bring her down in the afternoon 12 noon and 12 midnight. she never pees at home ..

Q

qua

hi ada, your doggie is still not toilet trained huh? anyway, 2 - 3 times a day is considered normal.

eunicetan

halo pegsfur,

click on the 'getting started' on the left menu, go to 'formatting codes' under 'contributing to discussions'. then finally click on 'other formatting'. there u'll learn how to attach files.

eunicetan

halo pegsfur,

no prob

hey, i think ur peggy looks cuter with shorter 'facial hair'

i will upload a new pic of my junior in another 2 weeks time after the professional groomer has groomed him

pegsfur

eunicetan,

I think peggy looks differnt with the 2 'hair styles'. She looks intelligent with the shorter hair (the typical terrier look, btw, this pic was taken when she's eyeing a cat), & I think she looks more lovable with the longer hair.
Is the groomer going to cut short junior's hair or just regular trimming?

eunicetan

heheh...no wonder ur peggy looks so alert!

the groomer's gonna trim off excess hair from junior's behind n to comb out the matted hair. dun think he will be cutting junior's hair short. we pretty much left it to the groomer to decide since he's quite the professional type (ie his way must be right)

pegsfur

Cindy lim,

Tks. But she's a tiger inside. Sometimes people walk past & commented,'hey, so cute!' & they wanted to touch her, she'll start to bark. Very naughty. She's not very good with strangers. But then again, she's got preference. She's most likely to bark at Indians & dark pple (no offence to any indians here ) I don't know why.

eunicetan,

How much do u pay for the grooming? I paid $45 & I think it's pretty expensive.

eunicetan

halo och,

the groomer charges a minimum of $70. if ur dog has matted fur, then he would charge even more. the good thing is tat, he comes to ur place n u can see n learn how he grooms ur dog so next time can diy n save $$

pegsfur

eunicetan,

So have u tried to do it yrself? I find mine expensive, considering peggy is a small dog (mini,in fact)& we have to bring her there. I've seen advertisement for cheaper ones like $25 or $35 - with transport somemore....

But the only thing good is that they always do a good job & always do a 'body check-up' for peggy. If there's rashes or soreness in any part of peggy's body, they will let us know. Sometimes they will refer peggy straight to the vet as it's only next door.

Yr junior is medium-size right?

eunicetan

halo pegsfur,

junior is medium in size but apparently he's slightly bigger than the normal shelties
i never tried trimming junior myself before except once when i tried to trim his nail but gave up after cutting just one. it's just too hard n im afraid to hurt him cos cant tell where the blood vessels r as his entire nail is black in colour.

which petshop do u bring peggy to? for me, i think it's always better to pay more to hav a reliable groomer. i mean, wat if our dogs get ticks from other dogs at the groomer rite? btw, do u know of any effective ways of preventing dogs from gettin ticks?

pegsfur

eunicetan,

Peggy's groomer is at katong, next to the OCBC bank. I think it's called The Pampered Pet Corner or something like that.

Prevent ticks? I think the hair plays a big part. Peggy will have ticks whenever her hair is long, though it's not alot. I think the grass also contributes as someone told me sometimes ticks live in the grass. I always ask the groomer to cut peggy's hair as short as possible so that ticks can't live there
. However, I find that sometimes they 'moved' to her head or tail cos that's where she's got more hair.

howesy

Hi! That's my little rascal!!!

Pegsfur, do you live in the East too? I'm also thinking of sending my dog for grooming, but can't quite figure out where's the pet-shop you mentioned. Is the OCBC bank on Katong Road, or East Coast Road? Any other landmarks, besides the OCBC bank?

pegsfur

hi howsey,

Aiyo, I also dunno whether it's east coast rd or Katong. All I know is that it's somewhere opposite the famous red colour confectionery. Oh, i know! It's actually inside the Mt Pleasant Clinic.

Yr doggy look like he/she is smiling

howesy

Hi Alibue & Pegsfur,

Yup, my little rascal is a Maltese, and he smiles alot....that's why my parents dote on him, and he has them wrapped around his little paw!!!

Pegsfur, okay, I know the Mt Pleasant Clinic!!! I just didn't pop my head into the clinic, so didn't know that there's a groomer there!

Actually he needs a hair-cut pretty badly, and so I thot it would be a good idea to send him to somewhere near my house. Do you live in the east, Pegsfur?

pegsfur

howesy,

How come u don't send him to yr regular groomer? Btw, I think u need to make an appt with the groomer 1st. U can call Audrey at 3455345.

I used to live in the east but I moved to Hougang abt 3 yrs ago. U can still consider me living in the east becos my hubby lives in Bedok & I'm staying there every weekend.
U live at east coast rd?

Alibue,

Peggy's cute becos she is very tiny. But anyway, I think she always act cute

monica

SOOOOOOOOOOOOOO CUTE!!!!!!!!
Here is my Tiddy and Woofer and their little puppies.

/image{woofer&Tiddy}
/image{Samoyed & Pup}

aliblue

Hi Pegsfur & howsey,

Howsey, I also have a maltese! Benji's his name.
My benji loves to smile too.

Pegsfur, I think all dogs like to act cute lah mine also...hehee... :p

aliblue

Hi monica!!!
Rem me? *wink wink*
wowz...nice pics!
ahh...next time must ask u to take pics of my benji too. hiak hiak hiak...

howesy

Dear Pegsfur, Aliblue, Monica,

Pegsfur, my rascal is just 5 months old, so this will be his first grooming. My parents lor, didn't want to risk sending him to a groomer when he was just 4 months old, coz they're afraid that he might either pick up fleas or worst, ticks from the groomer. Now his hair is unbearably long and untidy, and he's starting to look like a messy boy, so I think his hair-cut is long overdued. Thanks for Audrey's contacts. Yes, I live in the East, quite close to Bedok and Siglap!!! Maybe one day can meet you cute puppy???

Hi Aliblue!!! Soooo goood to know another Maltese Mummy (that's what my friends call me)!!! Actually, I wanted to call my little rascal Benji, but my overly doting parents wanted to call him Baby instead......sigh..... So, to compromise, I call him Bailey, and thankfully he responds to that name. How old is your puppy?

Hey Monica, all your pixs are soooo well taken!!! Me now, very paiseh...... coz still don't know how to take decent pix of my puppy!!!

monica

Hi hi Aliblue,
Yah lah of cos remember you lah. So sad didn't get to see Benji the last time due to the rain. Can't wait to play with your little baby!!!

Hi Eunice,
That samoyed belongs to my friend's friend. We took this shot outside the pet shop.

Here is another one of my FAVOURITE PuP Clover and another friend's dog. Dog De Bordeux

2228.jpg

Howesy & Pegsfur,
The photos our your precious are very well taken!! Love the one of Peggy Basking in the sun. You can almost feel her enjoyment!!!!

eunicetan

monica, clover looks soooooo cute n sweet

btw, do cocker spaniels hav tails??

pegsfur

Monica,

Tks, she's just one old lady who knows how to enjoy life!
She'll sleep there once the sun shines in. Btw, are these puppies the 'latest' batch?

Howesy,

eh....my peggy is not a pup anymore... she's a 8 yr old toothless lady
She's always been mistaken to be a puppy becos of her size

aliblue

Howesy,
My benji is going to be 7th months old in a few days time.

My family also gave a few nicknames to my benji. But I prefer to call him "gou gou" (chinese : dog dog). hehee...lucky he responds to that as well.
He just got his 2nd puppy cut 3 weeks ago.

Just be prepare to see your groomer often as maltese fur grow very long very fast. :p

Monica,
Next time got chance I bring him out lor. :p

monica

Hi hi
My darling Clover is the first batch puppy. He's the cutest of all. And my favourite. But he's been sold to a very good family and is now called Rover. He's very cute. Just got a picture of him from the owner recently. And this is him all grown up.

2238.jpg

Yap cocker spaniels are born with long and beautiful tails. But due to the breed standard their tails are docked at when they are 2-3 days old. The amputation is less complicated when they are young. It will be more painful for them if you dock it when they are big.

aiyoohh...all these cute little dogs really make my heart melts!!! would really really love to have a dog someday!!!

crackle

Hello Mon,

Wrote you another email... am still waiting for your reply whether can it be done or not... ;) Also.. do you have sample copies of your studio photography? Forgot to ask you to show me the other time... ;)

francoise

Woh, impressive, Monica...awesome pictures. Btw, my maltese also goes to Animal Recovery.

Eunice, both our dogs have the same name.

Howesy, there are a few groomers at Geylang as well.

ada

hi monica, pegsfur,

you've got very beautiful and cute doggies!!

I was bringing my doggie downstairs and along came a little girl and the mother. The girl was rushing happily towards my doggie and my doggie was wagging her tiny tail.. i thought she wanted to pat pat my doggie .. and guess what !! she wanted to smack my doggie and frighten her by stamping her feet at my doggie ! I was so appalled by her action and intention .. and that damn mother did not even scold her ! lucky i quickly scoop up my doggie and walk away. Fuming mad inside me.

I have not got a scanner so can't scan my doggie pics here yet.

hi ada,

ur poor doggie...i'm sure the little gal must have learnt to do those things from her parents?

ada

hi KPO

The funnny thing is .. the parents don't scold or teach their kids when she did that. Sometimes, i read and heard stories about kids being bitten by dogs (big or small breeds) and i wonder if it could be becos they antagonise the doggies first ?
Some kids are weird and cruel, the moment they see little doggies or kittens (as long as smaller than them) they will take sticks and hit or chase around them.

pegsfur

ada,

I'm always very 'happy' whenever such brats do the same to my dog becos instead of frightening my peggy, peggy wld bark at them & they'd be scared like hell. Hahaha! Serve them right! It has happened several times & when such things happen, I don't scold peggy becos I think wat she did is right
But of cos I will always hold the leash tightly in case she really bite them.

I've seen my neighbour's kid doing the slamming to a cat a.k.a WWF style & I gave him a good scolding. Just can't stand brats like that!

Hey, I think yr dog is like u, so gentle. If I were u, I wld have passed sarcastic remarks to them! But anyway, remember to always keep an eye on kids approaching yr doggie.

francoise

hi ada

my doggie had bad experience with children as well...when he was a puppy, this small kid smacked hard on his head that it hit the ground.
and you know how mad when we cant scold in front of the parent. worst thing is that parent treats it as if nothing has happened. but deep down inside cursing and swearing. i guess some people juz simply don't understand that dog is also a living thing and like our baby. so now i think my doggie has phobia with kids already.

pegsfur

Hi Francoise,

Maybe that's why my peggy retaliates? She was picked up from the street by my hubby, so we do not know her background.