For All dog lovers

shane

To start off, we can intro ourselves and our doggies.

Me married and working.
Own 1 chihuahua, coming to 6 mths age now.

cubby

hi shane,

tats a good idea! i'm doin my studies and planning my wedding in 04. have a shihtzu...think 6 yrs...old dog liao

charcoal

Hi shane,

Me ROM liao but customary dinner end of this year...me have 2 doggies..both miniature schnauzers..

1 male 4yrs+ and 1 female 8mths old..

26450.jpg

pegsfur

Shane,

I no need to intro liao rite? Me upgraded to 'ah soh' category since last year ... coalie now 6 mths old

26452.jpg

shane

halos halos....

wah all planning for wedding huh .. so exciting !

cubby,
old dog is gd, i find them so much more obedient. i get a headache from mine !

charcoal,
2 ms ! that's my hubby fave doggie ! but i was afraid of their maintenace so we got a chihuahua instead. they look lovely.

ok let me try to attach my doggie pic. here goes:
26451.jpg

shane

hi pegsfur !!!

ya most of us all know you hee hee ...

how's coalie ? btw, how did u come up with this name ? very unique leh.

my doggie name very common, i just anyhow hamtam one cos can't think of name ha ha....

pegsfur

shane,

Coalie's coat was orh-orh when we got her as a pup. My sis was saying she black like coal, so we call her Coalie lor

shane

gals,

gg to ask stupid qn. how to put plaster on doggie body ? my dog got hotspot. it's healing but he scratchs it so taking longer to heal. I want to put plaster but can't seem to stick. Want to bandage but very awkward position to bandgage also.

charcoal

hey pegsfur,

See you here..
hehhe...

Yeah, the blacker one is twinkle...
so small she is compared to charcoal leh..your picture of coalie so cute! Its like those 'The Dog' pictures...very cute..

Shane,

Wah, your picture so big..
Whats your doggy's name? Its a male or female? So cute leh chihuahuas...but they are really tiny..me afraid I will trample on them..Heee...

pegsfur

Hey,

Our dogs are abt the same age!

Coalie - 6 mths
doreamon's shih tzu - 7 mths
twinkle - 8 mths
shane's CHH - 6 mths

Maybe we can meet up & let the pups make some doggie friends!

Cubby's shih Tzu maybe can join charcoal for the adult group

charcoal,

Coalie act cute one lah .... she's also very naughty one ...

shane

hi doreamon,
of cos !

charcoal,
agree coalie pic very cute. like peek a boo hee hee ..

ya lor, my file too big liow. wait for chin leng to remove.

my doggie is a boy boy hee hee, very noti also. his name is coco.

actually hor, he not very small leh, i have seen older chhs abt 2 yrs old same size as him ! i think my is giant chh

pegsfur,
hee hee ic. that's cute. it's a nice name.

actually same for me, i feel my doggies like chocolate so call him coco lor hee hee ...

charcoal

Pegsfur,

you are rite..all out pups age group are very near to each others..

Doremon,

Wats your puppy's name?

My Twinkle also very naughty ah...loves playing with newspapers! She will shred everything into pieces when she is in her play-pen..How do you gals toliet train your pups? I put her in the toilet in the mornings and after meals..at times she will be very 'kwai' and seems to know where to do her business but sometimes, she just do anyhow!

Cubby,

yeap! Charcoal can play together under the 'adult category' with your Shih Tzu..

shane

charcoal,
same same, toilet training is tough ! coco also accident esp for poo poo. *sigh*

i already give up liow. i just HOPE one day he'll get it. In the meantime, i'm his maid and his daddy is his playtoy. ha ha

pegsfur

shane,

Actually hor, I've never seen dogs put plaster one leh ..... Which part of the body got hot spots? Maybe u can try to put on doggie clothes so that he will not scratch it?

charcoal,

My Coalie oso leh ... she always pee & poo on the floor to retaliate. She does it when we put her in the play pen. I oso headache leh ....

charcoal

Pegsfur, Shane...

Guess we all share the same fate leh..all of us headache when it comes to toilet trainings! Me also a maid to Twinkle and Charcoal these days seems to be kinda jealous when too much attention is given to the small one and he will retaliate by anyhow peeing (even though he knows he is supposed to do it in to toilet!)

Shane,

Hmm..me also never heard of plastering for dogs leh...previously my charcoal had skin prob also and I applied cream and just put the 'elizabeth collar'..maybe you can consider what pegsfur mentioned and let coco wear doggie clothes?

kris

hello all!
Can I join your thread? I have a 1 yr old maltese named Cookie.
I LLLLLOOOVVVEEE her! Hee.. Oh, I'm also married and expecting my baby in 6 weeks' time.

cute1008

Anybody wants to mate your puppy ?
I have a male pomeranien , very cute , 6yrs.
I am looking for a female dog of same breed to mate... any one interested ?

shane

pegsfur, charcoal,

hee hee... ya i also know it sound ridiculous to put plaster for coco. i tried last nite and it couldn't stick, just fall off. so just trying my luck if anyone has any ingenious ideas hee hee ..

ya i bought the e collar also but he's so miserable wearing it, i couldn't stand it, so didn't let him wear.

i think the idea of the shirt it gd ! but do u think coco will be hot ? i'll go find one, the thinner the better.

charcoal,
did u get ur 2nd dog recently ? i think it takes time for dog 1 to accept dog 2. so just try to divide equal attention. but hard hor, puppy always need more attention.

toilet training ... ya man, really tough ! Think will be easier to train if supervise full time. but i can't afford the time leh.

shane

hi kris,
welcome !!!

wow, baby ... how nice

cute1008,
If you're thinking of mating, pls do adequate research before u proceed. I know puppies are so so so cute and also the hope of letting ur dog have decendents but sometimes breeding does bring it's own set of probs as well. There could be birthing problems (mother could have prob giving birth and die, or there could be complications and pups do not survive) and if the dog have health defects, u could be passing on the defects as well. Unless u r willing to keep all the puppies, u will also hv to find GOOD homes for the pups.

2 cents worth of thots.

pegsfur

shane,

You very funny leh ... trying to paste the plaster on Coco
Hey, Coco is very cute leh ... is that his pillow? He has big ears like Coalie

Cute1008,

I agree with shane. Pls think over carefully before you breed any dogs.

My hubby actually wanted to let Coalie have babies when she's matured enough but the thought of it just makes me worry. You'll never know what's going to happen when she's giving birth. Luckily he dropped the idea when my friend told him abt the cons.

Maybe in your case it's alot easier cos yours is a male ... just need to do the act & wait for the female to give birth. The female might be more prone to complications as it is a small breed.

charcoal

Shane,

Yeap, I just bought twinkle about 1mth back..
Its quite tough not to pay more attention to her cos like you mentioned, puppies need more attention..I try very hard to hug charcoal first when I get home but this twinkle will keep getting into my way! So I tell my hubby to hug twinkle while I put my attention to charcoal..then we will swap! hehe..guess thats the only way..

Cute1008,

I bought twinkle cos I was thinking of mating her with my other dog charcoal...but decided to scrap the idea too..cos I dun want her to suffer shud anything go wrong..also I cant bear the thot of selling or giving away their descendents..if they really do mate, I think I may end up keeping all the puppies! haha..

cubby

hi shane,
wah ur pic real big man... my dog old but stil very naughty!! no one can tahan him sometimes haha.

hi pegsfur,
i think my dog the oldest here...hehe...prob the naughtiest too!

hi carcoal,
i think my dog and ur can form an adult gp...but so pathetic..only 2 mbrs haah...min age gp is 3 and above!

i think its good idea we arrange an outing with our dogs one day!!

doreamon

Hi pegsfur, shane and all,

His name is wye wye. That is the name given by the pet shop so we decided to stick to it. I did have a hard time toilet train him initially but i tried to let him out of the cage whenever we not at home rather than locked him up. So i noticed that actually make him easier to toilet train. He adapt faster this way.
However, i pay a heavy price for it. He destroyed my new TV console and dining chair = $1100!! FH very very angry.

Plus he also eat his poo poo sometimes!!
Wye wye has a habit of throwing tantrum whenever we are late. Either he bite the TV console again or he will go into the toilet and play with the toilet paper. The latter seem to be his favourite. Newspaper and tissue paper also become his toys.

So charcoal and the rest,
Maybe what u all can try is let your puppies out of the playpen and monitor them. I guess they are still very young so tend to retaliate by doing their business anywhere and tearing newspaper.

Btw, i am thinking whether to send Wye wye for operation as a precaution for testicle cancer. Was told by the vet that after the operation, he will be less aggressive but there are other school of thoughts too. Any opinions to share?

We should meet up one day so all the puppies can play with each other. I stay in sengkang. How abt the rest?

Hi Shane,
Your doggie very cute!

shane

pegsfur,
ha ha, ya my hubby also say i siow. he was like so worried cos he scared coco fur stuck to the plaster. i cut the plaster till small small so wun BUT the end result, can't stick cos not enuf sticky part ! sigh.

i find his ears too big ! and it's like even bigger on photos.
but think that's the characteriestics of CHH. coalie also got big ears ? ha ha cute ! must see her.
that's the hse pillow but BELONGS to him liow. all the cushion i have at home all his, he like to pull, bite, drag. sometimes don't know to be hapi or angry.

told my hubby abt wearing shirt for coco. he also say very gd idea. so we'll go and find one hee hee. see expert means expert hee hee

shane

charcoal,
ya can't escape, puppy always need more more attention. But i think wat u're doing is very good. Over time charcoal will be ok abt her already.

how's life with 2 dogs ? my hubby sometimes thinks of having another one when coco is older but i'm holding back. scared very tiring and also if got only 1 then can shower all the love on him ... heehee ...

cubby,
ya lor, so pai say, post liow then realise come out so big !

actually i find noti dogs cuter and more fun. but they can be a headache at times ! hee hee ...

shane

doreamon,
he can be cute but very noti !!! sometimes buay tahan.

my coco also eat poo when we not at home !!!!! i so headache. always scold and scold but of cos he don't understand cos when we reach home the deed has been done already.

when u say u let him out when u r not at home u mean the whole hse ?! can share wat u mean by he adapt faster ? i'm interested to try. i once tried to leave him in the whole kitchen but he mess up the whole place !

ha ha ur wye wye so cute. know how to throw tantrum somemore ha ha ....

for the biting of furniture, i heard there's some spray to be used but not sure effective or not. u can try. then at least when u're not home, he wun bite the furniture.

recently, i noticed coco seems to be more accurate on the papers (thks to my bro cos i left coco in his care when i was out of town and he laid newapaper all over his pen) then when i brought him home, he seems to know must pee and poo (sometimes) on newspaper. But still got accident. I'm thinking he forgot must go back to kitchen to do it. Cos when we play ard the kitchen, he will pee on newspaper cos nearby.
so now thinking of giving him whole kitchen but very scared. wat u all think ? can try ?

yes yes, should have doggie gathering !

i stay woodlands

shane

doreamon,
i'm also gg to neuter coco leh. at first don't want cos very sim tia but heard it's better esp to prevent him from marking, aggressive and getting diseases.

i think it's gd to neuter. wat other thots do u have ? if u don't intend to breed at all then neutering is gd. furthermore breeding is not very advisable as well.

one more thing, if don't neuter then when they grow older, they will be very xin ku also cos need to 'release' but can't release. then u'll get all the humping action liow. also hear from my friend who have 2 female dogs, the unneuter dogs always attach her dogs one and it's quite irritating. So i don't want coco to be like that and suffer.

any other views ?

shane

Here's an update :

<TABLE BORDER=1><TR><TD>mummy</TD><TD>residence</TD><TD>doggie name</TD><TD>breed</TD><TD>age</TD><TD>sex </TD></TR><TR><TD>pegsfur</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>Coalie</TD><TD>silky terrier</TD><TD>6 mths</TD><TD>F </TD></TR><TR><TD>shane</TD><TD>woodlands</TD><TD>Coco</TD><TD>chihuahua</TD><TD>6 mths</TD><TD>M </TD></TR><TR><TD>doreamon</TD><TD>sengkang</TD><TD>Wye Wye</TD><TD>shih tzu</TD><TD>7 mths</TD><TD>M </TD></TR><TR><TD>Charcoal</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>1) Twinkle</TD><TD>m schnauzer</TD><TD>8 mths</TD><TD>F </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>2) Charcoal</TD><TD>m schnauzer</TD><TD>4 yr+</TD><TD>M </TD></TR><TR><TD>cubby</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>shih tzu</TD><TD>6 yrs</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Kris</TD><TD></TD><TD>Cookie</TD><TD>maltese</TD><TD>1 yr</TD><TD>F </TD></TR><TR><TD>cute1008</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>Pom</TD><TD>6 yrs</TD><TD>M </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD></TR></TABLE>

shane

opps, the other one didn't come out rite. trying again:

<TABLE BORDER=1><TR><TD>mummy</TD><TD>residence</TD><TD>doggie name</TD><TD>breed</TD><TD>age</TD><TD>sex </TD></TR><TR><TD>pegsfur</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>Coalie</TD><TD>silky terrier</TD><TD>6 mths</TD><TD>F </TD></TR><TR><TD>shane</TD><TD>woodlands</TD><TD>Coco</TD><TD>chihuahua</TD><TD>6 mths</TD><TD>M </TD></TR><TR><TD>doreamon</TD><TD>sengkang</TD><TD>Wye Wye</TD><TD>shih tzu</TD><TD>7 mths</TD><TD>M </TD></TR><TR><TD>Charcoal</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>1) Twinkle</TD><TD>m schnauzer</TD><TD>8 mths</TD><TD>F </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>2) Charcoal</TD><TD>m schnauzer</TD><TD>4 yr+</TD><TD>M </TD></TR><TR><TD>cubby</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>shih tzu</TD><TD>6 yrs</TD><TD>M </TD></TR><TR><TD>Kris</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>Cookie</TD><TD>maltese</TD><TD>1 yr</TD><TD>F </TD></TR><TR><TD>cute1008</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>Pom</TD><TD>6 yrs</TD><TD>M </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD></TR></TABLE>

trihok

hey!! can i join in but they r nolonger
puppy. They have grown up
they r ANGEL the CKC - 2+ (Left)and VOLKA the Malties - 1+ (Right).
your_image.gif

cubby

hi trihok,
welcome..of cos u can join in lah...my dog already 6 yrs liao haha. ur angel can join the adult category hehe now got 4 mbrs keke

i stay serangoon. my dog name's cubby!

shane

<TABLE BORDER=1><TR><TD>mummy</TD><TD>residence</TD><TD>doggie name</TD><TD>breed</TD><TD>age</TD><TD>sex </TD></TR><TR><TD>pegsfur</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>Coalie</TD><TD>silky terrier</TD><TD>6 mths</TD><TD>F </TD></TR><TR><TD>shane</TD><TD>woodlands</TD><TD>Coco</TD><TD>chihuahua</TD><TD>6 mths</TD><TD>M </TD></TR><TR><TD>doreamon</TD><TD>sengkang</TD><TD>Wye Wye</TD><TD>shih tzu</TD><TD>7 mths</TD><TD>M </TD></TR><TR><TD>Charcoal</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>1) Twinkle</TD><TD>m schnauzer</TD><TD>8 mths</TD><TD>F </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>2) Charcoal</TD><TD>m schnauzer</TD><TD>4 yr+</TD><TD>M </TD></TR><TR><TD>cubby</TD><TD>serangoon</TD><TD>cubby</TD><TD>shih tzu</TD><TD>6 yrs</TD><TD>M </TD></TR><TR><TD>Kris</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>Cookie</TD><TD>maltese</TD><TD>1 yr</TD><TD>F </TD></TR><TR><TD>cute1008</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>Pom</TD><TD>6 yrs</TD><TD>M </TD></TR><TR><TD>trihok</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>1) Angel</TD><TD>ckc</TD><TD>2+yrs</TD><TD>? </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>2) Volka</TD><TD>maltese</TD><TD>1+yrs</TD><TD>? </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD></TR></TABLE>

shane

gals,

ask u hor. ur furkids one day poo poo how many times ? i think my coco poo at least 4 times leh. if poo too much means we feeding too much food is it ?

doreamon

Hi shane,

Yup, i let him run abt the whole hse. I tried kitchen once and he messed up the whole place. So after that, we tried whole hse and he is better. Usually 2 to 5 months, u will still see accidents happening. Just need to clean up. Sometimes, very angry but no choice.

In this case, i should think again. Thanks for your opinion.

Wyewye will poo after each meal. When he is young, 2 months to 5 mths, he poo a lot. Once reach 6th mths, he will only poo after every meal. We still feed him 3x a day but once he reach 1 years old, we will revert to 2x a day.

Thanks for coming up with the table. Very informative.

kris

Shane, I live in Woodlands too! which part of woodlands are you in? I'm near Admiralty MRT.
Which part of your dog is the wound on?

Doreamon, you can get a bitter spray from pet shops and spray on the legs of your furniture or anywhere else you dowan your dog to chew at. That's how I trained cookie. But the strange thing is that I had to buy 2 different brands as one works on furniture and the other one works on her. What I mean is that if I spray the one I usually spray on furniture on her (to stop her from chewing her paws) it doesn't work. She will still lick. Then I bought another brand and it worked on her! Basically the bitter spray works so well with my dog that she doesn't even wanna smell the place we spray at. Try it!

kris

Shane,
cookie poos only once a day after her feed. She used to poo twice a day but ever since I changed her kibble her poo became less. The shopkeeper that I bought the kibble from said that that brand of kibble (Innova) will produce less poo, less smelly poo also. But I think poo 4 times a day like a bit too much leh... is it just a little bit everytime? Howe many times a day do you feed coco? I used to feed cookie twice a day from the time she was 2 months old to about 6 months old, then now we feed her only once a day (but increase amount). If I feed her twice then the next day she dowan to eat liow.

shane

doreamon,
oic. i think i'll try to let him have the ktichen first then c wat happens. it's really very tiring to clean up esp after work. if he's toilet trained on paper will be much easier only need to throw the papers.

kris,
hey that's gd. we can meet up to walk our dogs

i'm also near Admiralty mrt.

his wound is on his back, near where the spine is. just now bought a baby tee shirt to let him wear but must do own modification then he can wear hee hee, he look so funny.

re poo poo
after every meal is normal. that y i wonder y coco poo so much. he poos after every meal and inbtn meals he also poo. his poo is quite substantial leh. hee hee. not abit abit kind leh. my guess is i'm over feeding. now i'm feeding him 2x aday. when he reach 1yr then i'll reduce to 1x.
now i'm trying to feed lesser but still 2x a day.

doreamon, i think dogs 1 yr and above only need 1 meal a day ?

trihok

Thanks for everyone..ok allowed me to do the introduce
:
On the left is ANGEL LAW - Cavelier Kings Chales Spanier, she is 2 yr 11 mths and on the right is Volka Law - Maltese, she is 2 yr 3 mths. Their current task is to protact my daughter, Cerilynn Law who is only 5 mth old

oh ya
we r staying at Bukit Batok West. Both hand up for gathering

cubby

i think quite normal for dogs to poo ard twice a day.
so sad that my cubby wasnt toilet trained properly. he is very funny sometimes...he wld wipe his legs after he pee at the cloth on the floor. any of ur dogs does that too?
after he pee at one corner of the newspapers, he refused to go back to the there to pee again although there are still alot of portion still clean! funny right? always got clean up the mess also

trihok,
ur daughter look so cute between the dogs!

kris

Shane,
doubt i can bring cookie for a walk liow... when my baby comes I'll be trapped at home for the first couple of months.
You know, sometimes doggies poo a lot due to the type of food they eat also. basically the more natural the food (i.e., little or no preservatives) the less poo they should have cos almost all nutrients are absorbed. btw, how to put pix with our message ah?

doreamon

Hi Kris,

I tried the spray, those for the furniture but failed to work on wye wye. Can u share what is the brand name of the spray that u mentioned worked very well on cookie? I don't mind trying that.